We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Lewes hotels

White Hart Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High St., Lewes BN7 1XE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
White Hart Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
36%
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Lewes
  • Reviews (533)
  • Photos (125)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (188)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    148
    102
    97
    148
See reviews for
74
226
28
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

4 of us stayed here whilst walking the South Downs Way We had 4 rooms. One room had a leak from plumbing in the room above. Another room was like an airing cupboard. My room suffered from traffic noise. The 4 th room we had was in the annex at the rear. This suffered badly from noise pollution and people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The review from Empen sums up a lot of what I was going to say really, suffice to agree that we were also there for the festival, so this place was just a place to lay our heads for a couple of nights. However, the beds and pillows were comfortable, soft and clean, the toiletries were above par, and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a balanced review, we appreciate your comments particularly those relating to the positive attitude of the staff. Yes there is work to be done and we continue to make improvements. Thank you we look forward to welcoming you again. More

eastbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is not worthy of 1 star ! It's terrible, we had the unfortunate opportunity to stay here last weekend for a friends birthday celebration. I've never stayed in such a run down , dirty, miserable place. I've tried to contact the owner without any luck so I'm resorting to this review and please look at the photos too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate that you did not enjoy your stay with us , but did you really have to make such a 'meal' of your review? You state that you had no correspondence from the management and this is simply not true. A timely, but full response was given by e mail to you and despite much contact with your group... More

UK
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel a while back as part of a weekend away to attend a nearby festival, and nearer the time looked at some of the reviews on here - so were prepared for a not particularly comfortable stay. However, we were very pleasantly surprised with the hotel - our room was spacious, clean and good quality toiletries were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much, I was delighted to read your review and to know that we surpassed your expectations! Your comments are very encouraging as we continually strive to improve. I was pleased to be able to get you to the festival on time! More

United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We simply needed somewhere to stay for two nights whilst fulfilling a lifetime ambition to visit Glyndebourne (a mere 3 miles drive away). The White Hart came up trumps - great value for money and a friendly, warm welcome in the heart of the enchanting town of Lewes. We weren't expecting The Ritz, neither did we want a Premier Inn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we are all delighted that we 'came up trumps'! A trip to Glyndebourne is a special experience and we are pleased that you also enjoyed Lewes and the hospitality here. We are continuing to make improvements which you have kindly acknowledged and we look forward to seeing you again perhaps next year. Your support is much... More

Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was a lovely place to stay, conveniently situated on the high street and only a few minutes walk from the train station but also has parking if you need it. The staff were friendly and attentive and the food was lovely. The hotel itself was very quaint, obviously a very old and furnished appropriately for the age and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review, we really do appreciate your comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and of course in Lewes. Your kind remarks are very encouraging. More

Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed overnight at this hotel while visiting Brighton. Parking was interesting as it's a tight turn off the street under an archway and I was glad we'd brought the small car. This is a very old building and is full of wonderful old stairways, uneven floors and exposed beams. Our room was right in the attic and was clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, the staff are particularly pleased with the compliment you have paid to them. Sorry about the sausages, I think we were trying out some new brands, but have resorted to the original as they could not be bettered! Thank you for your honest remarks and I hope that we will see you again soon More

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fancy a noisy night listening through cardboard-thin walls to neighbours having sex, banging doors, people in the corridor, all sounding like they're in the room with you? Fancy stained towels and glasses in the bathroom with the remnants of the previous guests' drinks still in them? Fancy wartime-era scratchy blankets and a carpet so grubby you won't want to put... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

I don't know how to respond to this review: 1. Our Groupon deal finished in April. 2. In September last year we replaced all blankets with duvets. 3. Other guests' comments on trip advisor would support our standards of housekeeping. It all seems a bit odd to me! Perhaps the guest could identify him or herself to me by contacting... More

Lewes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Adequate for our requirements for 1 night stay breakfast was overcooked and the TV could be a bit bigger also there could have been better air conditioning and the bathroom needed upgrading and the whole rooms a upgrade

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we continually review standards and we value the feedback. Breakfast is normally very good, I am sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion. We hope that you will visit again. More

London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were conscious that the hotel had mixed reviews and can see why. Our first room (22) on the top floor (no lift) which was small and had a very uncomfortable bed. We switched to a better room in the annexe which was more comfortable. True much of the decor is overtired but it is a historic posting house and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this review, I am sorry that it has taken so long to respond. I can quite see why you had mixed feelings and your comments are appreciated as we continually strive to improve our facilities and standards. Thank you for your support. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: High St., Lewes BN7 1XE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Lewes
White Hart Hotel Lewes, East Sussex

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (115)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Legacy White Hart Hotel is an unusual 16th century coaching inn. The original Tudor building has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a good standard of facilities whilst retaining its wonderful historic character. The public rooms boast period features, original oak beams, stone Tudor fireplaces, oak paneling and creaking, sloping floors. Then step into our leisure facilities complete with heated swimming pool and fully equipped gym offering treadmills, weight benches, cross trainers and much more. The hotel is within close proximity of Brighton and Falmer and Eastbourne. The train station is a short stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
51

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer