We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crown Inn

191 High Street, Lewes BN7 2NA, England
Hotel amenities
Crown Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lewes
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    15
    14
    143
See reviews for
23
89
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (197)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Horsham
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Popped in for lunch to see if things had improved. Had they ? Well....yes and no. The menu was much improved - it's all home made now and the portions are generous and prices very reasonable and the service is good too. Probably the best value in Lewes. That's the good bit. The downside is the state of cleanliness. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

I have travelled with work most my life. I started at 16 and am now 52 and this is the worst hotel I can remember staying in. After entering the hotel I normally would of turned straight back round but because of a tight timescale on the job we were to do in lewes left no time to look for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
ldsLondon, Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review

Why didn't you talk to us, instead of hiding behind the Internet. The shower room is a hotel pod. They can be purchased throu many companies. As the building is grade listed, it's about all we were allowed to have. Towels are boiled, and dried on the line. Nothing wrong with that. Lewes is a expensive place to stay. Enterprise... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lewes hotels

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

After going into the hotel to book a room directly and calling 2 weeks beforehand to check all was still ok we arrived at the hotel at 6.20pm to be told that our room had been given away to someone else as check in closes at 6pm. They had our phone number and no means of contact to us had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
ldsLondon, Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review

We are only a small inn. We don't have a 24 hour reception. Guests are asked to telephone and let us know if they are going to be later then six pm. I don't feel that's much to ask, but the amount of guests that turn up at all hours is unbelievable. Unfoutunately this guest didn't telephone, we were not... More 

Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Three of us stayed during our walk along the South Downs Way. Tired and hungry, our hearts sank when we were shown to our rooms, 19 and 20. The carpet was so sticky I didn't dare touch it with bare feet. My friend described her bathroom as being like a British Rail toilet, and the rooms were so cold we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Extremely bad! We left after one night but had to pay the three nights we had booked although the rooms didnt meet the presentation made on the web site. Later, Karen Lloyd promised to refund for one night but that was a promise she did not fullfill. Do not stay at the Crown Inn, Lewes! Lars Svensson, Gothenburg, Sweden.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
Plumpton, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Where to start .. this is a disgusting place that looks like it's never been cleaned and never had a penny spent on the upkeep. Nothing about the crown inn even meets the very basic standards for hotels today. The poorly spoken, rude staff smoke downstairs before opening and after closing which obviously meets health and safety when fire exits... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
ldsLondon, Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review

I have every reason to beleive that the person writing this never stayed here. I have been having a long dispute with-this person. What is written is not indicative to the service we offer at the Crown. Please if you are thinking of visiting The crown, Look on the booking sites reviews. These you have to stay at the crown.... More 

blackburn
2 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Stayed here 27th January. What can I stay! It's a pre - demolition excuse for an establishment. It has the potential to be an absolutely beautiful building after the furniture, fixtures & fittings have been skipped & the place absolutely gutted & modernised throughout. Let's hope someone with experience snaps this project up soon & make it in to what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 25
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

This hotel/pub is a little run down for the reasons other reviewers have highlighted - it isn't the landlady's fault. However, if you want a cheap and centrally located place to stay in Lewes and you aren't too fastidious then this is a fantastic place to stay that is steeped in character. Karen the landlady is very welcoming and provides... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I was surprised when logging on to write a review to find such negative comments. I visit Lewes every couple of months and The Crown is always our choice for lunch despite the proliferation of trendy cafes and bars. It's a real pub. Decent beer, decent food, decent prices and a relaxed atmosphere. I really can't comment on the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

There is no doubt that this old hotel is not quite what it used to be but thats not the land ladys fault, enterprise inns carry the blame there, however we were warmly welcomed and looked after superbly during our two day stay, the food was fine and the beers excellent, an intresting clientel but knowledgable about the lovely town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay