We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jenny Lind Inn

69 High Street, Hastings TN34 3EW, England
Jenny Lind Inn
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
There are newer reviews for Jenny Lind Inn
See the most recent reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a really nice little B&B/hotel. Clean rooms, very friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. The location is very central in Hastings Old Town, which unfortunately has the drawback that the street noise level is fairly high.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Jenny Lind Inn, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry you had noise issues during your stay. Due to us being such a central location to the high street, noise is inevitable, especially on such a week as this, carnival week. We hope that you had time to... More 

Stjordal, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a free house which means they can stock any beers they want. It also seems they can also offer lower prices than some of the tied houses. In short: great place, good service, good beer. I'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Jenny Lind Inn, we appreciate you taking the time to let everyone know what a great freehouse we are. We pride ourselves on having a good range and are pleased that you noticed this. We would love to see you again soon. More 

Cove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

great little place for an evening with friends, just when in for a peaceful drink and before we know it we playing in the pub quiz a fabulous night was have not to blow my own trumpet we came second a wonderful evening get people and wonderful ale. we never had food has we had all ready ate but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing the Jenny Lind Inn, we are sure that you had a great evening visiting the public houses in the old town and would love to see you visit us here again. More 

Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

1. Great rooms 2. Great staff (James was great) 3. Great location 4. Great pub downstairs 5. Great cafe across road for breakfast 6. Only very slight negative was some grumpy long haired young man , maybe the cook, who appeared unhelpful when we asked to leave our bags behind when checking out while we went out for a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Jenny Lind Inn, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you back anytime. As for the grumpy long haired young man, he has received some lessons in customer service (and also a haircut)! More 

cornwall
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Visited this pub on Sunday night and what a find.They had a vinyl night and people had brought all their own records to play.Fantastic music,great atmosphere,lovely bar staff,a real pub.Would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, fun was had by all at the vinyl night, which we have every Sunday evening after our live music finishes in the afternoon. Please do join us again, check out our website for an up to date list of music and other events. More 

Warlingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
7 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Visited here on a Saturday afternoon and the sun was out so was lucky enough to sit in their beer garden. Great staff, great atmosphere and reasonably priced beer.......er what else can you ask for!! They have live music most weekend evenings which I heard is brilliant but unfortunately we already had plans so couldn't make. BUT we will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the Jenny Lind Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed the beer garden, we are hoping for some lovely sunny days to make full use of it!! Please do stay for the music next time, you will not be disappointed! Check out our website for future events. More 

Duncan, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Second time in Hastings but first time at the Jenny Lind.We were not disappointed.Our room was tremendously clean and welcoming with plentiful amenities.Our beds were so comfy and we slept tremendously well.. KC should be proud ,, I tried Hastings beer and definitely approved lager and beer prices are truly reasonable . We enjoyed the Friday night entertainment and listened... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review of the Jenny Lind Inn, we are glad that you decided to stay with us and we would love to see you return! More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A great location in the centre of the old town. Friendly staff and a very relaxed atmosphere makes you feel very welcome. Our room was at the front of the Pub with great views towards the East Hill and railway up. Given that the pub is a period property who ever is doing the cleaning deserves a mention as our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of the Jenny Lind Inn, we will let our cleaner know how pleased you were with her work! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you here again! More 

Brookland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Whenever we come to Hastings we always find ourselves in this pub. Never dissapointed, excellent service and a great atmosphere.Having recently lost our local pub its pleasing to see that there are still places like this left.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the Jenny Lind Inn, we pride ourselves on keeping the local Public House feel and are glad that you took the time to notice this. We will see you soon! More 

Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a little gem of a pub, which my wife and I discovered on our wedding anniversary break. Although we didn't stay here, it was the perfect retreat on a chilly afternoon to enjoy a few drinks by the heat of the log fire. The traditional decor, laid back, warm and inviting atmosphere and friendly chatty staff, provide the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the Jenny Lind Inn, we are pleased to have a range of ales including guest ales that we think you'll love. Maybe next time you visit you would like to combine your visit with a stay at the Jenny Lind Inn? More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question