We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 50 Hastings B&Bs / inns

Medieval Lodge Bed & Breakfast

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   51 All Saints Street | Old Town, Hastings TN34 3BN, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Medieval Lodge Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Medieval Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
89%
Ranked #21 of 50 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    13
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
77
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a one night stay at Medieval Lodge (part of a three night weekend trip for my husbands birthday) and couldn't have been made more welcome by Ricky and Jane. We had an excellent experience, really appreciated the wine, chocs and card for my husbands birthday, it's the little personal touches that make all the difference.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
janet999hastings, Owner at Medieval Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

thank you so much for the lovely kind words in your review .we hope you had a good time at beachy head we would of love to of had you back to stay with us again its such a shame we have to close but its seems we tend to get people that have to pick pick and pick at... More

Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room has very dated decor and furnishings. Smelly. Poor quality Lidi food for breakfast, owners don't sense when to chat and when guests would like to be left to eat in peace. Way too many rules - about 15 notices in the room about what not to do. Felt most unwelcome - entrance is through the owner's lounge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
janet999hastings, Owner at Medieval Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

could not believe how sad this review has made us and cant beileve people can make such rude comments about your home ,every part of this review is totally untrue part of going to a bed and breakfast is it being some ones home and every one is different and to say it was cheap lidls food is utter rubbush... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

From the moment we knocked on the old door knocker we was greeted by a friendly Ricky and Jane who showed us to our room which we had booked the on-suite 4 poster room The room was outstanding clean a good supply of different tea/coffee milk sugar soup etc. A large towel hand towel and flannel laid on bed The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Letchworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the Medieval Lodge this weekend and I had to write a review ! Jane and Ricky are wonderful hosts, very kind and caring and could not do enough for us from the moment we arrived until we left ! Our room was beautiful & we loved the little touches from all kinds of complimentary hot drinks to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
janet999hastings, Owner at Medieval Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

thank you so much varity for such alovely review just could not believe it when i saw it come up on t/a just love our reviews like our home and our guests and to get a review like this makes us really proud we cant thank you enough. be so lovely to see you both again may be in better... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband and I spent a night and we were so impressed. The owners were really friendly and helpful, and every detail was taken care of, from handwash and shower gel to a 2l bottle of water in the room. The hotel was beautiful , so old, and so much character, and the owners were able to tell us about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
janet999hastings, Owner at Medieval Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

thank you so much for taking the time to do such a lovely review for us.every review is special to us as well as our guests comfort,we try to look after every guest as much as we can so to read this review makes all our hard work worth while,once again thank you so much and perhaps see you both... More

Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife had to spend three days in Hastings and we decided on Medieval Lodge for location and the reviews being so good. Our wedding anniversary coincided with our visit and excellent, lovely hosts Ricky & Jane not only surprised us with a bottle of bubbly and chocolates but our anniversary breakfast was served with a congrats card too! What... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
janet999hastings, Owner at Medieval Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

thank you much for such a lovely review. once we knew it was your 1st anniversary we knew we had to spoil you both,congratulation as well for all you did for our college we are so proud of what you achieved here ,so lovely to have such good news for hastings in such drab and depressing weather it cheered us... More

Comet, Qld
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We pre-booked 2 nights based on the high percentage of 5 star reviews which, unfortunately, we didn't feel it lived up to. It is certainly a quirky building and with the black and white front, low ceilings and uneven floors - exactly the sort of thing we were expecting. Our ensuite room was large enough and had a lovely little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
janet999hastings, Owner at Medieval Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

we would like to thank the guest for taking the time to do this review but cannot believe how hurtfull it has made us feel but we were prepared for a review from this guest and already knew this guest was going to put some nasty comments on as we just didnt feel good enough for them, we were made... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you want a very reasonably priced B&B in an authentic medieval building with an excellent location in Hastings Old Town, then this is the place. The hosts Rick and Jane are delightful and we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts with them. I have never seen two people more committed to making their guests welcome and comfortable. They have undertaken a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bexhill-on-Sea, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Everything about this place is first class, should be no 1. Great hosts fantastic breakfast lovely building and good value. When in hastings this is the place to head for. They have a four poster bed and a reading room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The outside of the building is stunning and it is located on a street that looks as if it has come out of the pages of Harry Potter. There were lots of original features that were unique and clearly a lot of work has gone into restoring the property. There is a mismatch between the fabric of the building and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Medieval Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medieval Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: 51 All Saints Street | Old Town, Hastings TN34 3BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Medieval Lodge Bed & Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medieval Lodge is a unique bed and breakfast situated in the heart of the Old Town. Built in 1489 the property houses warmth and charm. With every little detail thought of including bubbly and chocolates brought to your room for a special occasions. From entering Medieval Lodge to leaving you will be spoiled. With luxurious bedding and fluffy towels and bathrobes you won't want to leave. You've tried the rest now come and try the best. Guaranteed you will come back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Medieval Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medieval Lodge Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.