We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham

The Black Lion | London Road, Brighton BN1 8YQ, England
Hotel amenities
Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #72 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
A recent review
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
21
29
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Chinnor
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had booked to go to a concert at the Brighton Dome and then looked for hotels in Brighton itself. They were all very expensive and car parking proved a problem on top. We decided to stay here as it was considerably cheaper, with a free car park too and frequent buses into Brighton nearby. This worked out very well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We read every review and try and take all guest feedback on board so we can continually improve. More 

Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are very familiar with Harvester and use them a lot. We visited whilst on holiday for a breakfast. Staff were miserable and unhelpful. The breakfast was missing quite a few standard items which were part of the breakfast deal. We felt that we were being 'difficult' as we wanted fruit tea and marmite! I'm glad that our local Harvester... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We’re sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to The Black Lion, Harvester, Patcham, Brighton. Thank you for raising this with us, we really value all guest feedback, and we are working closely with the staff to ensure that this doesn't happen again. It is our aim to give every guest the very best service we can, and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in here for breakfast, it's an eat all you can affair which is £4.99. There were around 20 other diners and only one waiting staff, who in my opinion did an incredibly good job. The food wasn't at all bad. It did take a while for the food to arrive as it was cooked to order. In conclusion a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive comments. We’ll make sure the team receives your feedback. More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Restaurant was nearly empty but still took over 5 minutes to get seated. Waitress seemed to have gone missing. Our server was polite and the food was typical mass produced inferior Harvseter fare. Ok for a quick cheap bite if you're not too bothered about quality. Venue is tired and in need of a refit. Drainage covers open outside, at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Black Lion, Patcham, Brighton was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review. More 

Diss, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

I don't usually say loads of bad things about a hotel but this one is the exception. Rooms are clean and tidy thou cold only has one heater which even at max output hardly heats the room, the plan would be to have a hot shower and then lots of steam helps the room get warm! TV OK, desk a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Black Lion, Patcham, Brighton was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

A one night stay whilst attending a family function. This is a busy pub/restaurant which has some rooms for overnight guests. When we arrived it was bedlam kids running about everywhere, screeching (which I accept the establishment can't do a lot about) but it doesn't lend itself to a positive experience. Once we'd battled through this to get to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us at The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Patcham, Brighton, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us. More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Benefits from free on-site parking and on a regular bus route into Brighton. Friendly bar and check in staff, very accommodating. We had the family room which was huge. The bathroom was a little tired but it was clean (new shower curtain required) and we had beautifully white fluffy towels. The 4.99 all you can eat buffet breakfast looks very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge, Patcham,Brighton. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

I stayed here on Tuesday 24 February for 1 night.I found the staff to be pleasant friendly and helpful. Bedrooms clean but need updating. Good breakfast. Good location for our needs.as park + ride to the football ground A short walk away, pity about the Result. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks for last night Paul.room 210 .Billy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible. More 

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Good value for a family stay. Large room with 2 double beds and still room to move around. Shame there was no bath but can't complain with the rate we got! Great breakfast and good to have a bar onsite in the evening when we turned up late. Friendly helpful staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review. . More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014 via mobile

We are staying for 2 nights for the price it's great. The harvester is great. The rooms were ok but the shower curtain is gross the beds are clean but the duvet could do with being thicker. The room was not as warm as I would like. The staff were very nice and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review. . More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities