We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham

The Black Lion | London Road, Brighton BN1 8YQ, England
Hotel amenities
Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #72 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Essexfarmers Essex
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    22
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
22
32
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 nights together with my elderly Mum, convenient to where we wanted to go. The check in was painless, rooms OK, but looking a bit tired. We had a twin room 210 at the back with a "balcony" (access to a flat roof overlooking the car park!) which was quiet, good size, clean and nicely furnished (a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests. More 

Sandwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights as we were wanted to explore Brighton for the first time. On arrival we were an hour or two early than the check in time but the manager was very happy to let us into our room as it had been cleaned. He informed us of a nearby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights over the May bank holiday weekend. The staff were helpful and friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. Just a short 10 minute drive to the centre of Brighton and very close to the motorway. Will stay again if I'm ever in the area again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chinnor
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

We had booked to go to a concert at the Brighton Dome and then looked for hotels in Brighton itself. They were all very expensive and car parking proved a problem on top. We decided to stay here as it was considerably cheaper, with a free car park too and frequent buses into Brighton nearby. This worked out very well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We read every review and try and take all guest feedback on board so we can continually improve. More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 via mobile

We are very familiar with Harvester and use them a lot. We visited whilst on holiday for a breakfast. Staff were miserable and unhelpful. The breakfast was missing quite a few standard items which were part of the breakfast deal. We felt that we were being 'difficult' as we wanted fruit tea and marmite! I'm glad that our local Harvester... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We’re sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to The Black Lion, Harvester, Patcham, Brighton. Thank you for raising this with us, we really value all guest feedback, and we are working closely with the staff to ensure that this doesn't happen again. It is our aim to give every guest the very best service we can, and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Called in here for breakfast, it's an eat all you can affair which is £4.99. There were around 20 other diners and only one waiting staff, who in my opinion did an incredibly good job. The food wasn't at all bad. It did take a while for the food to arrive as it was cooked to order. In conclusion a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive comments. We’ll make sure the team receives your feedback. More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Restaurant was nearly empty but still took over 5 minutes to get seated. Waitress seemed to have gone missing. Our server was polite and the food was typical mass produced inferior Harvseter fare. Ok for a quick cheap bite if you're not too bothered about quality. Venue is tired and in need of a refit. Drainage covers open outside, at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Black Lion, Patcham, Brighton was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review. More 

Diss, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

I don't usually say loads of bad things about a hotel but this one is the exception. Rooms are clean and tidy thou cold only has one heater which even at max output hardly heats the room, the plan would be to have a hot shower and then lots of steam helps the room get warm! TV OK, desk a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Black Lion, Patcham, Brighton was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

A one night stay whilst attending a family function. This is a busy pub/restaurant which has some rooms for overnight guests. When we arrived it was bedlam kids running about everywhere, screeching (which I accept the establishment can't do a lot about) but it doesn't lend itself to a positive experience. Once we'd battled through this to get to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us at The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Patcham, Brighton, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us. More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Benefits from free on-site parking and on a regular bus route into Brighton. Friendly bar and check in staff, very accommodating. We had the family room which was huge. The bathroom was a little tired but it was clean (new shower curtain required) and we had beautifully white fluffy towels. The 4.99 all you can eat buffet breakfast looks very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge, Patcham,Brighton. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#14 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre
Ibis Brighton City Centre
#13 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Downs Hotel
The Downs Hotel
#69 of 98 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Gather Inn
The Gather Inn
#59 of 98 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
3.0 mi away
Adastral Hotel
Adastral Hotel
#11 of 16 in Hove
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
2.9 mi away
Churchill Brighton
Churchill Brighton
#49 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay