We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
The Black Lion | London Road, Brighton BN1 8YQ, England
Special Offer
3 nights for 2
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Innkeeper\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    22
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
22
33
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mixed feelings about this place. The location is excellent – it is just off the roundabout joining the A23 and the A 27, at a place called Patcham – basically it’s the edge of Brighton and on the main road into the city. Staff were very polite and attentive, which makes me a little sad that I am going to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights together with my elderly Mum, convenient to where we wanted to go. The check in was painless, rooms OK, but looking a bit tired. We had a twin room 210 at the back with a "balcony" (access to a flat roof overlooking the car park!) which was quiet, good size, clean and nicely furnished (a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests. More 

Sandwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights as we were wanted to explore Brighton for the first time. On arrival we were an hour or two early than the check in time but the manager was very happy to let us into our room as it had been cleaned. He informed us of a nearby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights over the May bank holiday weekend. The staff were helpful and friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. Just a short 10 minute drive to the centre of Brighton and very close to the motorway. Will stay again if I'm ever in the area again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chinnor
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

We had booked to go to a concert at the Brighton Dome and then looked for hotels in Brighton itself. They were all very expensive and car parking proved a problem on top. We decided to stay here as it was considerably cheaper, with a free car park too and frequent buses into Brighton nearby. This worked out very well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We read every review and try and take all guest feedback on board so we can continually improve. More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 via mobile

We are very familiar with Harvester and use them a lot. We visited whilst on holiday for a breakfast. Staff were miserable and unhelpful. The breakfast was missing quite a few standard items which were part of the breakfast deal. We felt that we were being 'difficult' as we wanted fruit tea and marmite! I'm glad that our local Harvester... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We’re sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to The Black Lion, Harvester, Patcham, Brighton. Thank you for raising this with us, we really value all guest feedback, and we are working closely with the staff to ensure that this doesn't happen again. It is our aim to give every guest the very best service we can, and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Called in here for breakfast, it's an eat all you can affair which is £4.99. There were around 20 other diners and only one waiting staff, who in my opinion did an incredibly good job. The food wasn't at all bad. It did take a while for the food to arrive as it was cooked to order. In conclusion a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive comments. We’ll make sure the team receives your feedback. More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Restaurant was nearly empty but still took over 5 minutes to get seated. Waitress seemed to have gone missing. Our server was polite and the food was typical mass produced inferior Harvseter fare. Ok for a quick cheap bite if you're not too bothered about quality. Venue is tired and in need of a refit. Drainage covers open outside, at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Black Lion, Patcham, Brighton was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review. More 

Diss, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

I don't usually say loads of bad things about a hotel but this one is the exception. Rooms are clean and tidy thou cold only has one heater which even at max output hardly heats the room, the plan would be to have a hot shower and then lots of steam helps the room get warm! TV OK, desk a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Black Lion, Patcham, Brighton was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

A one night stay whilst attending a family function. This is a busy pub/restaurant which has some rooms for overnight guests. When we arrived it was bedlam kids running about everywhere, screeching (which I accept the establishment can't do a lot about) but it doesn't lend itself to a positive experience. Once we'd battled through this to get to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us at The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Patcham, Brighton, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
2.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre
Ibis Brighton City Centre
#13 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#14 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,251 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Downs Hotel
The Downs Hotel
#71 of 97 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
The Station Hotel
#8 of 22 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
3.0 mi away
Adastral Hotel
Adastral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Hove
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay