We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 100 Brighton B&Bs / inns

Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Black Lion | London Road, Brighton BN1 8YQ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
42%
Ranked #71 of 100 Brighton B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
revitalise15 High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
23
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for 2 week-ends, travelling on my own. The place is basic & could do with a lick of paint, but more than makes up for in the lovely & friendly staff. I stayed at the front of the Inn & one the windows were closed I could not hear anything. The restaurant is always busy but that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon. More

Swanage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Brighton is not a cheap place to stay and parking is expensive. Patcham is a good location with easy access from the main trunk roads and the city centre and all it's attractions are about ten minutes away. The Black Lion is an old Inn, now part of the Harvester group, and is not without charm or character. Authentic creaky... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge, Brighton a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible. More

Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just stayed for three nights at this hotel. My reservation said "double room with a double sofa bed" this was all that was available when I booked although I was travelling alone. What I got was a small double room (204) with no sofa bed or sofa in sight, it wouldnt have fitted in the room anyway ! Room decor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge, Brighton, Patcham . We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every guest the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this. More

Biggleswade
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice staff. Breakfast adequate. Room very poor and had signigicant black mould on ceiling and wall and around windows. Dirty net curtains, broken blind and more mould around assistance bars in the shower. Felt very damp and a bit grubby. Pillows very thin and hard. I wish I'd paid more and gone to another hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied, and we have replied to you personally about this. More

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the disabled room, which was ideal for me as I have mobility problems. The room was lovely and large and fairly comfortable, but the bathroom had a bit of a mould problem, and we were supplied with about a quarter of a roll of very cheap and nasty toilet roll, with no spare supplied. The worst part... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We are sorry that you had a disappointing visit to The Black Lion, Innkeepers Lodge Brighton , and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. More

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed before and was impressed whilst hotel is ok it needs some TLC in decorating & updating. Food value for money but disappointed with breakfast as they had run out of porridge this is not impressive when porridge is a basic item.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton. More

Cumbria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was our third visit here as we use it when visiting our Son.If you noted my previous review you would see it was not that favourable due to the downstairs noisy room so when I booked this time I asked for an upstairs one which is what we got. The room was a family room plenty of space and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Black Lion. Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Spent two nights at the Black Lion on a very stormy February. The room we was given was fine (204) but was rather small with a travelodge style open wardbrobe. The bathroom was as small as you could get with a 10" step up to get into it, no bath just a shower. The shower was however very good, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge, Brighton . We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments. More

Surbiton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Was not pleased with the room, was put in room 106 - noticeably adapted for disabled use. Room was nice and big however bathroom was very cold and not very inviting. The door was difficult to open! Someone with a disability would likely struggle a lot! There was a constant sound of running water that could be heard as the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter. More

Amersham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Having just returned from a long weekend at The Black Lion I only have praise for what is a very good inn. Our room was nice and comfortable with little noise heard from the adjacent main road. We ate in the restaurant every night and our food and drink was good value and of a very high standard with good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Black Lion, Patcham , Brighton . We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham

Also Known As:
Black Lion Harvester & Innkeeper`s Lodge Hotel
Black Lion Harvester & Innkeeper`s Lodge Hotel Brighton
Black Lion Harvester And Innkeeper`s Lodge
Address: The Black Lion | London Road, Brighton BN1 8YQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles from the seafront, in the Sussex jewel of Patcham, this large, welcoming lodge provides ideal budget accommodation for short breaks in Brighton.It's a comfy base for those summer or half-term seaside trips, with several family rooms available and a Harvester restaurant serving tasty grills and unlimited fresh salad.Popular Brighton needs little introduction. One of the most vibrant, diverse cities in England, it's home to a bustling seafront, bars and clubs aplenty, a sealife centre, the iconic Pavilion and Victorian West Pier and the charming boutiques and antique shops of The Lanes.There's plenty to see in Patcham too, with windmills, a 12th century church and a conservation area full of pretty listed-buildings. Nearby Hove and Lewes are also well worth exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.