We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham

The Black Lion | London Road, Brighton BN1 8YQ, England
Hotel amenities
Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #70 of 96 Brighton B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Bea W Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Review This Hotel

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
20
28
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Restaurant was nearly empty but still took over 5 minutes to get seated. Waitress seemed to have gone missing. Our server was polite and the food was typical mass produced inferior Harvseter fare. Ok for a quick cheap bite if you're not too bothered about quality. Venue is tired and in need of a refit. Drainage covers open outside, at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Black Lion, Patcham, Brighton was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review. More 

Diss, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I don't usually say loads of bad things about a hotel but this one is the exception. Rooms are clean and tidy thou cold only has one heater which even at max output hardly heats the room, the plan would be to have a hot shower and then lots of steam helps the room get warm! TV OK, desk a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Black Lion, Patcham, Brighton was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A one night stay whilst attending a family function. This is a busy pub/restaurant which has some rooms for overnight guests. When we arrived it was bedlam kids running about everywhere, screeching (which I accept the establishment can't do a lot about) but it doesn't lend itself to a positive experience. Once we'd battled through this to get to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us at The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Patcham, Brighton, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us. More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Benefits from free on-site parking and on a regular bus route into Brighton. Friendly bar and check in staff, very accommodating. We had the family room which was huge. The bathroom was a little tired but it was clean (new shower curtain required) and we had beautifully white fluffy towels. The 4.99 all you can eat buffet breakfast looks very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge, Patcham,Brighton. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here on Tuesday 24 February for 1 night.I found the staff to be pleasant friendly and helpful. Bedrooms clean but need updating. Good breakfast. Good location for our needs.as park + ride to the football ground A short walk away, pity about the Result. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks for last night Paul.room 210 .Billy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible. More 

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Good value for a family stay. Large room with 2 double beds and still room to move around. Shame there was no bath but can't complain with the rate we got! Great breakfast and good to have a bar onsite in the evening when we turned up late. Friendly helpful staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review. . More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014 via mobile

We are staying for 2 nights for the price it's great. The harvester is great. The rooms were ok but the shower curtain is gross the beds are clean but the duvet could do with being thicker. The room was not as warm as I would like. The staff were very nice and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review. . More 

Bourne, Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

We booked a room here for two nights due to a family gathering in Lewes. We arranged for an early check in and I had to smirk to myself as we were handed keys to room 101. We literally dumped our bags and headed off to Lewes. On returning later that evening we were greeted with an incredibly cold room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Your review is very helpful to us, and we will take note of the points you have made following your visit to The Black Lion, Patcham, Brighton. More 

Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Arrived for a nights stay. Free parking and bus stops very close. Freephone to taxi. And free wifi. We stayed in room 210 I cant not hear any cars from the a23 which im very pleased about. Staff very pleasant and willing to help. Bed comfortable enough. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible. More 

Bicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Pleasant, comfortable rooms that are clean and warm and have TV and hot drinks available. It is nice to have the pub on hand. A good car park at the rear, but be careful driving into it as there is a very sharp right hand turn at the entrance. Great for Brighton as there is a regular bus service just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question