We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 97 Brighton B&Bs / inns

Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Black Lion | London Road, Brighton BN1 8YQ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
47%
Ranked #72 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014
LondonEnfield London
  • Overview
  • Reviews (55)
  • Photos (24)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
24
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Excellent value for money! Rooms were spacious and clean, nice comfy beds. There was a bit of a mix up with our booking but Kerry on reception was most apologetic and sorted it for us. Nicely decorated too! No bath, but big showers. Breakfast is taken in the Harvester, nice cooked breakfast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review. More

Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stopped on a long day trip around Sussex and enjoyed an extremely satisfying breakfast with excellent service, from a young lady who although very busy, was never too busy to be friendly and helpful. Plenty of choice for all those dining.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Patcham, Brighton on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible. More

England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here for one night on bank holiday Sunday. We paid £70 for a family room b&b. Location is good and very easy to find as straight off of the m23. Car parking is free which is always good. To get to Brighton town centre you would need to drive or get a taxi tho. Room was very big and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

The time you have taken to leave us a review following your visit to The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton is appreciated, and we will use your comments to ensure that our standards do not fall. More

Kettering, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Just got back from an amazing weekend in Brighton and stayed at the Black Lion. I was very pleased with the hotel, especially for the price we paid. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the room was clean and spacious and breakfast was good. We were in Brighton for a concert at the Brighton centre and knew we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible. More

Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Easy to find, positioned on the main road into Brighton. Large, free car park to the rear of the property. Reception is at the end of the bar, where you are greeted by the most friendly and helpful of staff. After checking in, very nice young lady carried my suitcase up to my room. I don't know if this service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

May we thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback, it is good to know that you found your visit to be a pleasurable experience, and we have replied to you personally. Innkeepers Lodge Brighton. More

Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Located right at the top end of Brighton on the busy A23 London Road, The Black Lion is a Harvester pub with rooms under the Innkeeper's Lodge brand name. Rooms are OK, nothing special, but clean & comfortable - at the price I paid, though, quite good value. My wife & I had room 206. I thought having check-in in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to Innkeepers Lodge Brighton. More

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 week-ends, travelling on my own. The place is basic & could do with a lick of paint, but more than makes up for in the lovely & friendly staff. I stayed at the front of the Inn & one the windows were closed I could not hear anything. The restaurant is always busy but that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon. More

Swanage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Brighton is not a cheap place to stay and parking is expensive. Patcham is a good location with easy access from the main trunk roads and the city centre and all it's attractions are about ten minutes away. The Black Lion is an old Inn, now part of the Harvester group, and is not without charm or character. Authentic creaky... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge, Brighton a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible. More

Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just stayed for three nights at this hotel. My reservation said "double room with a double sofa bed" this was all that was available when I booked although I was travelling alone. What I got was a small double room (204) with no sofa bed or sofa in sight, it wouldnt have fitted in the room anyway ! Room decor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge, Brighton, Patcham . We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every guest the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this. More

Biggleswade
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Nice staff. Breakfast adequate. Room very poor and had signigicant black mould on ceiling and wall and around windows. Dirty net curtains, broken blind and more mould around assistance bars in the shower. Felt very damp and a bit grubby. Pillows very thin and hard. I wish I'd paid more and gone to another hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Black Lion, Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied, and we have replied to you personally about this. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham

Address: The Black Lion | London Road, Brighton BN1 8YQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Brighton, Patcham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lion Harvester And Innkeeper`s Lodge
Black Lion Harvester & Innkeeper`s Lodge Hotel Brighton

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just a few miles from the seafront, in the Sussex jewel of Patcham, this large, welcoming lodge provides ideal budget accommodation for short breaks in Brighton.It's a comfy base for those summer or half-term seaside trips, with several family rooms available and a Harvester restaurant serving tasty grills and unlimited fresh salad.Popular Brighton needs little introduction. One of the most vibrant, diverse cities in England, it's home to a bustling seafront, bars and clubs aplenty, a sealife centre, the iconic Pavilion and Victorian West Pier and the charming boutiques and antique shops of The Lanes.There's plenty to see in Patcham too, with windmills, a 12th century church and a conservation area full of pretty listed-buildings. Nearby Hove and Lewes are also well worth exploring. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
14

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer