We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Cosmopolitan Brighton

29 - 31 New Steine | Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PD, England (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Cosmopolitan Brighton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
New Cosmopolitan Brighton
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    67
    65
    58
    144
See reviews for
39
121
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (375)
  • Mar-May only
    (95)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (113)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (106)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

slate missing from bed, room filthy including, bed, floor, shower, walls and windows. TV occasionally didn't work. Bed extremely uncomfortable, hardly slept, shower was leaking the whole time we were there. And yes the shower was mouldy. Never stay in this hotel. Staff were very polite ad breakfast was acceptable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It's not The Grand or the Ritz but it is welcoming, clean and pleasant. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, comfortable bed, TV ,coffee making, toiletries provided. Wifi available by smiling at the receptionist! Walking distance to all amenities. Would not suit disabled, having steps, stairs and very narrow corridors

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently visited this hotel on a business trip & found it to be adequate for our needs. The upstairs hallway, stairs & rooms are dated, & stairs are creaky, but it IS an old building, so perfectly in character with itself. We had a lovely sea view & balcony, & the room has all you need, although we did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 1 night at the New Cosmopolitan & can honestly say we had a lovely visit. We paid £42 for our room including full English breakfast, which we thought was excellent value for money. After reading mixed reviews, I admit we were a bit wary but were impressed with our room No 22 seaview included, decor was little tired... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
newcosmopolitan, General Manager at New Cosmopolitan Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Jamesey, Thank you for your feedback, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.We are looking forward to seeing you soon. David Vales General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friends and I stayed in this hotel for a short visit we made to Brighton for my birthday. Location is fantastic! Minutes from the pier and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Only down side was we came back to a very cold room at night, the heating wasn't on and there was a draught coming in from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
newcosmopolitan, General Manager at New Cosmopolitan Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Sara, Thanks for your feedback, the problem with the heater has been sorted and currently we are in renovation process what means if you come back to brighton and you consider staying with us again you will be staying in a better and improved New Cosmopolitan. regards, David Vales General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This hotel was in a perfect situation for the beach, pier, shopping and places to eat that were open for 24 hours.The pier and wheel could be seen from the sea view rooms. A small commemoration park is in front of the building and parking, although paid, is convenient.The room was clean and up to date with plenty of storage.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Great location, clean family room, comfortable enough. Service and attention to details was sloppy, and we wish they did not include breakfast because it was probably the worst we have ever had in terms of quality. We couldn't drink the coffee, and the tea was not good, the table was 'sticky' i.e. not cleaned properly. The staff were friendly enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
newcosmopolitan, General Manager at New Cosmopolitan Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Larry H, I apologise for any problem you found when you stayed at New Cosmopolitan ***b &b , usually our guests find our staff really profesional and they say our breakfast is yummy . We try to keep our price as competitive as posible and if you consider staying with us again I will personally make sure you have... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

I feel I must have surely stayed in a different hotel to some of the other people on here... The room was clean, warm, nice hot shower, fab sea view, a warm welcome, friendly staff and a decent cooked breakfast the next day for the price of £31. Downside noisy plumbing, but I can live with that. All in all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

My Review of this hotel : Staff- The staff are very friendly Room- We had a family room, 1 double bed and 2 singles. My reaction when I opened the door was I cannot stay here for 2 days. The room was spacious, we had our own bathroom which was tiny but at least we never had to share with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Arinsal, Andorra
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

So - just taking the most recent handful of reviews here as gospel might stop you visiting the New Cosmo; and it is in new hands, so it's the new New Cosmo I guess? As it happens, I didn't read any reviews pre-visit as my in-laws have stayed a few times in the past and found it fine VFM for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question