We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gullivers Hotel

12a New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gullivers Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Superb hotel in Kemptown with great bars close by. Easy reach of the town and beach. Lovely clean rooms and a great breakfast.Would recommend for couples or girlie weekend like we had and we felt safe and were well looked after.

Helpful?
Thank Kate R
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked for a very reasonable price, and wasn't expecting too much - a decent single room to sleep in overnight. Very pleasantly surprised to be upgraded, and discover there was a wonderful restaurant on site; good quality food, and lovely wine list. Fantastic and friendly staff, who were attentive but not intrusive. It was just a quick visit, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank ikanto
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ikanto, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your lovely feedback here with others. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you had the opportunity to sample our award winning bistro! We hope to see you again soon and please don't hesitate to... More 

BRIGHTON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

A clean and suitable hotel for a short trip ...., located in a vibrant area near kemptown . I did not eat whilst I was at the hotel so overall the single room was suitable for a short break . It had a seperate toilet/ shower for my sole use that was fine. I would recommend this for a short... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew J, Thank you for staying with us recently and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We are sorry to hear that you incurred come problems with the temperature of your shower and will be looking into this immediately so that we can ensure the issue is regulated for our future clients. We look forward... More 

Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

We booked a room in Gulliver's Hotel, Brighton. On arrival, they told a triple room was not available in Gullivers, so they allocated a room in nearby Hotel(New Steine) without any prior notice. They informed us only after we have arrived in Gulliver's Hotel. I came to know that Hotel Steine is a Gay friendly hotel after I vacated the... More 

Helpful?
Thank PRAWIN2014
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PRAWIN2014, Thank you for booking with the Gulliver's Hotel and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the service provided. We are the owners of two hotels on the New Steine square and at times we do like to offer our Gulliver's clients a free upgrade into our 4 Gold Star rated sister hotel, The New... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

We booked through hotels.com but they had not passed the booking on to Gulliver's so when we arrived they had no record of booking and were fully booked. The lady at reception gave us a complimentary drink and found us a room at another hotel, she even asked a member of staff us to walk to the other hotel and... More 

Helpful?
Thank icedpossom
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear icedpossom, Thank you for your lovely feedback and it is such a pity that you did not have the opportunity to actually stay with us this time around. We are delighted that our staff were able to take such good care of you and we are looking forward to having you with us on another occasion. Please don't hesitate... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

We stayed at Gullivers for one night and it was absolutely fine. The location is good - in Kemptown just a short walk from the sea front and close to shops, bars, restaurants etc. The room was very small and the bathroom was tiny but it looked like it had recently been refurbished and was very clean. Breakfast was in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chiora
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chiora, Thank you for staying with us recently and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do look forward to seeing you again sometime soon and perhaps you can try our award winning bistro next time, located just two doors down in our sister hotel. Kind Regards. More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015 via mobile

Perfect little place to stay so close to everything reasonable price friendly staff and lovely breakfast . Only little complaint is that the room was roasting hot which meant the window had to be open and meant I could hear all the noise from outside but that said I will definitely be back .

Helpful?
Thank cris2908
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cris2908, Thank you for your lovely feedback and we are sorry that your were too warm during your stay. We have taken your notes on board for the benefit of our future guests and sincerely look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015

We were so disappointed with our room that we decided not to stay for our second night. The makeshift bathroom with its dark brown walls, ragged carpet and wobbly saniflow toilet was not pleasant. Thankfully our full english breakfast, which was served in the sister hotel a few doors down, was good as was the location. The front of house... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle L, Thank you for staying with us recently and we are sorry to hear that you were less than satisfied with your room. We sincerely hope that you spoke with one of our manager's before deciding to leave, as we always endeavour to find a satisfactory solution for our guests. We above all, wish you to have an... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015 via mobile

First ever trip to Brighton for me, what an excellent place!. Very pleased with this Hotel/B+B. Room was spotlessly clean. Staff were friendly and helpful, whilst the food was freshly cooked and always hot. Stayed at the very top of the hotel. Only gripe was that the shower wasn't great as the fixing was pretty poor. Competitively priced rates. All... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon B
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon B, Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed your comments regarding the shower onto our maintenance team and hopefully by the time you visit again, all should be fixed! Kind Regards. More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night over the weekend. W got there after dasrk and had trouble finding a park and finding the hotel. We had to call the reception desk person who was in the hotel next door. We got the parking voucher and then had to move the car some distance to find a park suitable for the zone of... More 

Helpful?
Thank John D
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John D, Thank you for choosing the Gulliver's Hotel during your visit to Brighton and we are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be a good base to explore Brighton from. Unfortunately due to the high capacity of residents in Brighton, very few of the smaller independent hotels have private parking. As such we have done... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 2,002 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre
Ibis Brighton City Centre
#15 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 4,298 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 1,422 reviews
0.4 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay