We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 97 Brighton B&Bs / inns

Gullivers Hotel

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12a New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gullivers Hotel to your Saves list
Gullivers Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
66%
Ranked #63 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
oldkiwiagain Welsh marches
  • Overview
  • Reviews (179)
  • Photos (23)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (24)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    58
    26
    25
    10
See reviews for
18
80
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Welsh marches
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a night in Brighton this month and stayed here. The staff were friendly, the room clean and quiet. Perfectly OK for a quick visit. Be aware that you have to ring the bell on arrival and it is not always attended. If this is the case, pop next door to steins, which is the sister hotel, and someone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed 1night recently, booked very last minute only 1 night so didn't give it a lot of thought.. i cant remember staying in a more dated room ever.... carpet in the bathroom, stains on the carpet in the bedrooms, didn't want to get undressed for bed, got up early and had to get out, didnt even go for breakfast...

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mick B, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our facilities. Our rooms and communal areas are renovated on a yearly basis and so we are dissappointed to hear that you did not like some of our decorative choices. We always try to... More

Ham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The accommadation was clean and tidy beds were very comfortable but the en suite in the room lacked space shower cubicle to small breakfast was perfect the location was great close to all attractions shops pier and eating places

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jayne S, Thank you very much for choosing Gulliver's during your holiday in Brighton. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed on your comments about the bathroom to our General Manager and hopefully she can address the problem to make things more comfortable for our future guests. Thank you for drawing... More

u.k.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in august. We had booked 2rooms next door at New Steine Hotel were moved, they blamed the double booking on the internet but did ring us the day before to advise. staff pleasant, rooms ok although one of the rooms had a shower In The room and the toilet opposite. Better than the other way round I suppose. Furnishings... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elkan31, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Customer feedback is an invaluable tool for us to continually maintain and improve our services to the satisfaction of our guests. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused with your booking. We always endevour to contact our guests when a change in booking is necessary... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As long as you're not expecting the Sheraton, this is pretty much the next best option. It was a nice sized room and had loads of amenities. True Brighton style accommodation, friendly staff and very worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ken J, Thank you very much for choosing the Gulliver's as your place of residence whilst in Brighton and also for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards. More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely place to stay. Worthy of its 4⭐️rating. Not the quietest place we've ever stayed but out of their control - seagulls & pride demos outside the door. Rooms are clean neat and tidy, liked the compact bathroom. Comfy bed, TV and room for your bits n bobs. Overall very enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our services. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I booked our stay as a surprise for my boyfriends birthday. I contacted the hotel before our trip to enquire about parking, they got back to me straight away & were very helpful. When we arrived the girl on the desk was very helpful & welcoming, showed us where we can park & to our room. Our room was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hilary W, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is wonderful to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely hope that it made for a wonderful surprise for him. We are delighted to know that our staff took good care of you during your stay and that you enjoyed our... More

Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Despite being called a budget hotel, this place is clean, has great facilities, and offers delicious breakfasts. I've stayed in more expensive hotels that have been much worse.The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. The stairs look like they've not long had a lick of paint and a new carpet. Its location is ideal for Brighton pier, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you and we hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards. More

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Mum and I got home today after a lovely 3 nights at Gullivers, and 3 fantastic days in Brighton. We shared a twin room and it was lovely, really clean, nice size (enough for us two anyway). Breakfast was served downstairs and was exactly what it said on the menu. The staff were so nice and really responsive. Turn right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It is a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff took good care of you while you were here. We do hope that you get the chance to come back and stay with us again one day! Please don't hesitate... More

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I'm giving this review so future travellers can be warned (reading other reviews) ...... the stay will be good unless something goes wrong - then it will be one of the WORST paid experiences you've ever had! All was ok until the third evening of a business stay, when the door handle of my closed en-suite door wouldn't work -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and I am sorry for your impression of our Hotel. I note that you had already posted a review on our Google+ page which we responded to, but you have made some further points on this site, to which I would like to respond. The issue with the door was an unusual one... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gullivers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gullivers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gullivers Hotel

Address: 12a New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gullivers Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Gullivers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Brighton with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gulliver's Hotel and B&B, Brighton is a charming, elegant and tranquil Georgian Townhouse, offering cheap accommodation in central Brighton. Recently refurbished, Gulliver's Hotel Bed and Breakfast offers cheap accommodation comparable to most B&Bs bed and breaksfasts, but still It also offers a mix of baroque and contemporary design and the most personal and friendly of service.From the moment you arrive to your departure, you will be truly looked after. During check-in you can take in the relaxing surroundings of our Gulliver's Hotel Lounge and Hallways - surrounded by original artwork and caricature murals - you will be personally shown to your bedroom and all the facilities your room has to offer will be explained. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gullivers Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer