We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 97 Brighton B&Bs / inns

Gullivers Hotel

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12a New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gullivers Hotel to your Saves list
Gullivers Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
Ranked #61 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (174)
  • Photos (23)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    57
    24
    25
    9
See reviews for
17
78
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely place to stay. Worthy of its 4⭐️rating. Not the quietest place we've ever stayed but out of their control - seagulls & pride demos outside the door. Rooms are clean neat and tidy, liked the compact bathroom. Comfy bed, TV and room for your bits n bobs. Overall very enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked our stay as a surprise for my boyfriends birthday. I contacted the hotel before our trip to enquire about parking, they got back to me straight away & were very helpful. When we arrived the girl on the desk was very helpful & welcoming, showed us where we can park & to our room. Our room was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hilary W, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is wonderful to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely hope that it made for a wonderful surprise for him. We are delighted to know that our staff took good care of you during your stay and that you enjoyed our... More

Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Despite being called a budget hotel, this place is clean, has great facilities, and offers delicious breakfasts. I've stayed in more expensive hotels that have been much worse.The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. The stairs look like they've not long had a lick of paint and a new carpet. Its location is ideal for Brighton pier, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you and we hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards. More

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mum and I got home today after a lovely 3 nights at Gullivers, and 3 fantastic days in Brighton. We shared a twin room and it was lovely, really clean, nice size (enough for us two anyway). Breakfast was served downstairs and was exactly what it said on the menu. The staff were so nice and really responsive. Turn right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It is a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff took good care of you while you were here. We do hope that you get the chance to come back and stay with us again one day! Please don't hesitate... More

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm giving this review so future travellers can be warned (reading other reviews) ...... the stay will be good unless something goes wrong - then it will be one of the WORST paid experiences you've ever had! All was ok until the third evening of a business stay, when the door handle of my closed en-suite door wouldn't work -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and I am sorry for your impression of our Hotel. I note that you had already posted a review on our Google+ page which we responded to, but you have made some further points on this site, to which I would like to respond. The issue with the door was an unusual one... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had a lovely stay at this hotel. The location was excellent, right by the beach, pier and the shops. Many pubs and bars near by. Didn't struggle to park and managed to park very close. The room was small but clean and modern. The beds were extremely comfortable! The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to seeing you again one day! Kind Regards. More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here over valentine's weekend and despite the weather we really enjoyed our stay! The hotel was lovely and the breakfast was great, anything you wanted they were happy to offer it, couldn't fault this place, would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Perhaps next time you could visit us when the weather is better, as Brighton is full of things to do in the summertime! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards. More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed one night. Hotel is well stuated just off the front and short walk from the Brighton Pavilion and The Lanes. Room was comfortable and all you would expect from a budget hotel. Staff were very efficient and friendly and a Parkingt Permit was provided at a cost of £7.50 for 24 hours (Permit only parking in area surrounding the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were able to help with any needs that you may have had. We are proud to offer fresh, locally sourced produce for breakfast and it is a pleasure to see that this is appreciated by our guests. We hope... More

Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I have stayed in the sister hotel the New Steine and in Gulliver's. Both are excellent as rooms are well equipped and comfortable. One of the outstanding features of Gullivers is their staff who are so helpful and accommodating. Nothing is too much effort or trouble. They value their customers and encourage you to return by keeping... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in offering an efficient, welcoming and personalized service to our guests, so it is wonderful to see that our staff took such good care of you during your stay. We hope to see you again in... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Me and sister stayed for the full weekend for our sisters birthday and this hotel came up the cheapest. We booked on the day of arrival and everything was ready for us. The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough. We had the french continental breakfast and it was delicious. Room was a twin room, comfy beds, clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you again soon! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gullivers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gullivers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gullivers Hotel

Address: 12a New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gullivers Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Gullivers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gulliver's Hotel and B&B, Brighton is a charming, elegant and tranquil Georgian Townhouse, offering cheap accommodation in central Brighton. Recently refurbished, Gulliver's Hotel Bed and Breakfast offers cheap accommodation comparable to most B&Bs bed and breaksfasts, but still It also offers a mix of baroque and contemporary design and the most personal and friendly of service.From the moment you arrive to your departure, you will be truly looked after. During check-in you can take in the relaxing surroundings of our Gulliver's Hotel Lounge and Hallways - surrounded by original artwork and caricature murals - you will be personally shown to your bedroom and all the facilities your room has to offer will be explained. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer