We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gullivers Hotel

4.0 of 5 12a New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gullivers Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gullivers Hotel
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    61
    27
    25
    13
See reviews for
20
85
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (189)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this hotel for my parents in-law through late rooms, which was fine... but the hotel dealt with our booking once we arrived in the most unprofessional way. They were rude when trying to deal with an issue which took two days to resolve. Junior staff could not even communicate the simplest information like breakfast times. The 'general manager'... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fromhove100, Thank you for booking at the Gulliver's Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry to hear that your parent's in law encountered some problems during their stay. We are a hotel which very much promotes training schemes for young adults hoping to advance in the hospitality industry. Unfortunately during their training period,... More 

Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Stayed here for one night and we were really impressed! the room was a little on the small side but it was perfectly clean and nicely furnished. Bed was lovely and comfortable. Nice little touches such as soaps and biscuits that you don't see much more these days in hotels. Our room did have a little window with a view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kerrycake, Thank you for staying with us recently and for your constructive feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Brighton and that we were able to help you feel comfortable during your visit. It sounds as though you might have stayed in our Budget Double Room with Private Separate Toilet. We apologise if... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We stayed on Saturday 8/11. Efficient check in and parking permit was explained really well £7.50 for 24 hrs. Clean room, very comfy bed. Tiny bathroom and shower a squeeze but shower was lovely and hot. Floor vinyl a bit tired. View of blocked guttering and back of buildings, but we weren't there for the view from the hotel room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CharleyBeeCharlton, Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be happy to welcome you again anytime. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly for future bookings, as we always offer discounts to our returning guests. We... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights , very helpful staff, room was clean and as it was a smoking room, it didn't smell of smoke or musky it was on suit , my husband and I cannot fault this hotel, at all, the breakfast were of a high standard, with a variable menu to suit all types from cereal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sian2668, Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to leave such wonderful feedback for us. We are delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Don't forget to contact us directly for your next booking so that we can give you... More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

A little gem. This hotel was very central, rooms were clean and all the staff are excellent. Breakfast was absolutely superb. All locally sourced produce, great selection and toast made from proper bread. No pan loafs here! Would not go past this hotel, or its sister hotel, if visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Quingdao, Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your experience here with others. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services and that you particularly enjoyed our bread loaves which are sourced locally from one of the best patisseries in Brighton. We look very much forward to... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights last week with a friend.Great location,lovely staff and a good sized room.We had booked a smoking room (not many hotels offer this) and was expecting it to be a bit grotty to be honest.It was great and i would highly recommend it

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nicola060479, Thank you very much for your feedback and for staying with us recently. We are delighted to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in the fact that we are able to offer smoking rooms to our guests as we understand that very few establishments offer this anymore. Consequently we put... More 

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I booked this Hotel through Expedia. I tried to book for Saturday night but somehow the booking was made for the Sunday. I phoned both the hotel and Expedia immediately, (the hotel hadn't even received the booking) and was told it was non refundable by both companies. I understand hotels need notice for cancellations etc but I tried to cancel/change... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kat-kai, Thank you for staying with us at the Gulliver's hotel. We are sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with our policies. As with many other establishments, we maintain a strict cancellation policy for the mutual benefit of the hotel and our guests alike. During peak months of the year we operate a two night minimum stay... More 

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
652 helpful votes 652 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

This is an average budget hotel If you have the right expectation you'll be ok Here is what was GOOD a. Close to Beach b. Its on a Nice Street c. Pillows in the room d. Close to Main Attractions and Restaurants - Everything within 10-15 minute walk Here is what was AVERAGE a. Breakfast is a typical english breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KevinTorontoCanada29, Thank you for recently staying with us at the Gulliver's Hotel, Brighton and for taking the time to be so specific with your feedback. Feedback both positive and negative is always very valuable to us and we appreciate all our guests offer so that we may continually maintain and improve standards. We make every effort to ensure that... More 

rochester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

This hotel is absolutely awful. They have absolutely no customer care. You are asked to pay for the whole room cost upfront. This is because if you were asked to pay when you leave you would be unlikely to do so. This is an independent hotel and so there is no comeback when things go wrong. We booked a "deluxe"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wendy j, Thank you for staying with us recently at the Gulliver's hotel and for taking the time to comment on your experience with us. Although we have already corresponded privately with you about many of your concerns raised here, we would like to take this opportunity to address them once again for others. It has become increasingly more... More 

Welsh marches
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We had a night in Brighton this month and stayed here. The staff were friendly, the room clean and quiet. Perfectly OK for a quick visit. Be aware that you have to ring the bell on arrival and it is not always attended. If this is the case, pop next door to steins, which is the sister hotel, and someone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear oldkiwiagain, Thank you so much for choosing the Gulliver's Hotel as your place of residence whilst in Brighton and for taking the time to share your experience here with others. We are delighted that you enjoyed our services during your stay and that all of your needs during your short visit were met. Please be assured that we conduct... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gullivers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gullivers Hotel

Address: 12a New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gullivers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gullivers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay