We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
27 St. James's Avenue, Brighton BN2 1QD, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Boydens to your Saves list
Boydens
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
96%
Ranked #20 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Catherine M Lancashire, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (61)
  • Photos (12)
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
23
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for a weekend with friends and we really enjoyed our stay. The hosts are lovely and welcoming and go the extra mile. Excellent location. Lovely breakfast. Very good value for money. Highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Boydens. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. More

Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Warm friendly welcome from Helen. Very clean room. Delicious cooked breakfast each morning. Free Wifi. Quiet street, ideally located base from which to explore Brighton on foot. Free street parking outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Boydens and Brighton . Thank you for the review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. More

Portsmouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked with boydens for two night stay. Helen greeted us when we arrived and showed us to our room. The room was very clean, it had tea and coffee making facilities, code for the free wifi and flat screen TV, the ensuite was very clean and looked brand new! The bed was so comfortable and they have clearly spent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review and high ratings. We are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was a memorable experience and we both look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More

Giessen, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

It was already our second time we visited Boydens Guesthouse. The Guesthouse lies in a pretty quiet street but is still really central. It just takes 5 - 10 minutes to walk to the seafront and to the Brighton Peer. Our room was really nice and very clean. The full english breakfast was made fresh by Helen every morning and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

We are very pleased that your second stay at Boydens was a memorable one and it was just as pleasant as the first. We hope we can welcome you both again in the future. Thank you for writing a reveiw it does mean alot to us. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Great say, wonderful welcome, excellent location, great breakfast, plenty to eat after a great night. I will go back again. very cosy, clean and tidy, very conformable. Helen and William wonderful hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to add a comment on your recent stay at Boydens. I am delighted that you and your wife enjoyed the hospitality and service that we pride ourselves on. We hope you welcome you both again in the near future. Best wishes Helen More

Cheshire UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Lovely last minute find during a night away in Brighton. Met by Helen and William on arrival who couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Helen kindly upgrading us to the front room downstairs which was clean, well equipped and very homely. Nice touches throughout the room and bathroom really demonstrated why Boydens has such a good reputation for good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

Thank you both for the really kind review you posted. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Boydens and the complementary upgrade to our Superior room. Very pleased to hear you relaxed ready for the onward journey. We look forward to the next time you visit Brighton and hopefully you can stay longer to sample our hospitality at... More

Townsville, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Boyden's guest house is probably one of the best places I've ever stayed at! I stayed here for 3 nights with my other half over New Year and it was the perfect choice! We stayed in room number one which had partial sea views and an incredibly large, comfortable bed with more pillows and cushions than I could count! Every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to make sure your stay was a comfortable one especially as you had just arrived back in the UK from Australia. I look forward to welcoming you again if you are passing this way again. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The house was lovely and 'homey'. The owner Helen was an excellent host, very friendly, helpful and accommodating, which always make a difference to the place. The room was nice and clean, breakfast was yummy. Would definitely recommend this place to everyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

Thank you for adding a comment and that you enjoyed your experience at Boydens. We very much would like to welcome you again the next time you are visiting Brighton. Kind regards Helen More

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The B&B is ideally situated being only a short walk from the pier / sea and shopping areas. The room we stayed in was compact, quiet, very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. Unfortunately as I was a bit under the weather I didn't have the breakfast but my other half confirmed it was very good. Helen was an exceptional... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

Thank you for placing a review we look forward to welcoming you again when you visit Brighton the next time so you can experience the breakfast! More

whyteleafe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spent our 10th anniversary here. We had originally stayed here 11 years ago on our first trip away together. When we arrived the owner was lovely. Asked if we had been to brighton before and was prepared to explain everything about the area. Comfy bed, nice room and great breakfast. Only problem was the rain the next morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

It was a shame about the weather so you couldn't stay longer in Brighton, but at least you managed a night away from the children on your anniversary. Thank you for taking the time to give a review. I am glad that I played a small part in your celebrations. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Boydens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Boydens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boydens

Address: 27 St. James's Avenue, Brighton BN2 1QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Boydens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boydens Hotel Brighton

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer