We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kipps Backpackers Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
76 Grand Parade, Brighton BN29JA, England
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Apart from being woken up every night by inconsiderate guests in the room next door it was ok. This made me quite grumpy about my experience here. It is however very central and the pier and palace are literally 2 - 5 mins away. Bed was comfy and it was clean. The staff were really helpful and nice. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank mills21
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking time to rate and comment on your recent stay We wish you would have come to reception (Staff available 24 Hours), who would have spoken to the guests in the room next door, and you could then have enjoyed your stay more - thats what we are here for. Regards Kipps More 

Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hostel is in a good location in the very centre of Brighton. It provides clean rooms, breakfast and there are also some games and computers with the Internet available. The staff was friendly. It is possible to borrow a socket converter for free which is really nice.

Helpful?
Thank Jakub L
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your nice comments and ratings. Hope to see you another time at Kipps Regards More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is phenomenal value. We went to Brighton specifically to visit the Pavilion and you can't get any closer than this: it's literally across the road right in the old centre. The staff are friendly and totally professional. They cater mainly to a young crowd, but there were a few oldies ourselves there like ourselves who were clearly enjoying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for such lovely comments and a nice review Enjoy your travels Regards More 

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

I stayed at Kipps during my summer holiday to England. The staff were very nice and guided me to the City. The building has great character and it's very central. The view at the balcony was very nice, you could see the Pavilion at night. Breakfast was lovely, rooms are very clean and comfortable. Thank you to Angela and Lee... More 

Helpful?
Thank roxana i
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your nice comments and ratings !!! We are glad you enjoyed brighton and Kipps brighton Regards More 

Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

Kipps met and exceeded my expectations. Both the rooms, the bathrooms and the common spaces are bright, tidy and nicely decorated. The staff is nice and accomodating, escpecially Humphrey the Mojito Expert. If I visit Brighton again, Kipps Backpackers Hostel is where I'll be staying.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank 280sagan
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your nice comments We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the Kipps Experience and also the cocktail night Hope to see you soon Regards Kipps Staff More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015 via mobile

One of the loveliest hostels I've stayed at. The staff are friendly, and provide a brief tour of the facilities before helping take your bag up to your room. I was booked in a 10 person dorm, and was so surprised to find a cozy looking bunk with a towel, map, and even a little candy! Every night at about... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erica L
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the great rating/ great review. The staff really do try with making the hostel inviting/ friendly and homey, as well as ensuring we keep up with those little touches - that make us unique :) . I will pass on your message to the staff about the vegan cake, as they were a little worried, as it... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

For the money, it was fine. Staff where sort of indifferent, dorm room I stayed in was about what you'd expect for £17 per night. It was too hot and the traffic noise, even at 2am, was quite disturbing. As a cheap place to lay my head for one night it served but that really is all you can say... More 

Helpful?
Thank kate b
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments and ratings. I am not sure we agree that we are an average hostel, you only need to look at the comments/ratings either side of yours, of other guests that stayed in the same room as you. £17.00 for a Saturday Night stay in Brighton , when other hostels were charging £28.50, without a... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

Friendly, personal staff with nice facilities and breakfast provided. Balcony area is a really nice addition along with front room and games room, good for making friends etc. staff are very good at giving suggestions for clubs to go to and above all else, price was perfect!

Helpful?
Thank Jamiehamm
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your nice comments, and rating We are glad you enjoyed the nightly events, and the facilities of the hostel Happy travelling Regards Kipps More 

Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

We stayed here for the weekend, it was a lovely place to stay. I wouldn't call it a hostel it was just like a hotel. The staff was very friendly and helped you with anything....even offered to help us with our bags. The room was very up to date and the bed was very comfortable, always good to have a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky H
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your ratings/ comments, its nice to hear you enjoyed your stay at Kipps Sorry you didnt get that English Breakfast, but enjoyed the continental breakfast we offer :) Regards More 

Province of Livorno, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

I've been here last week for 5 nights, I felt like I stayed in a hotel: every room of the building is extremely clean, the furniture and lots of details have been chosen with great care, the staff is always nice, smiley and ready to help you with everything. I traveled alone and booked a bed in dormitory: when I... More 

Helpful?
Thank FrancescaChicca83
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi A nice review of our hostel :) Thanks for the feedback and nice comments. We do really appreciate it! Happy travelling Kipps More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre
Ibis Brighton City Centre
#15 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 976 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,801 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 4,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay