We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Brighton accommodations

Kipps Backpackers Hostel

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   76 Grand Parade, Brighton, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kipps Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
83%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
AnzelvanZyl Pretoria, South Africa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (63)
  • Photos (23)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    15
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
15
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a beautiful hostel. Stayed in a 10 bed dorm with 2 friends. Very cheap and included breakfast. Sparkling clean, comfy beds, free wifi, friendly staff. Every night they offer free nibbles to the guests, we had delicious bruschetta one night and yummy desert kebabs the next. Will not stay anywhere else in Brighton ever again but here. Was an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at Kipps for quite a while now and would definitely recommend it. If you're not only looking for a place to sleep but one where you are received cordially by the incredibly friendly and welcoming staff that are always there to help and make you feel comfortable at all times, Kipps is the place to go! I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Was a terrible and uncomfortable stay due to leakage and shifting of room, and rude behaviour of day staff (a lady), never bothered to appologised even. I checked in at midnight, reception staff was friendly, awesome & welcoming, guided me to room (private, double bed and en-suite). Just in five minute, there was leakage, on the ceiling, I complained to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KippsBrighton, Owner at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi I will post the same reply I wrote to your comments you left on our Facebook Page. and now the same comments/ ratings you have put up on Trip Advisor. At the moment you haven't replied to my comments, or taken up my offer of a complimentary stay to show you that it was just an unfortunate maintenance issue,... More

Thornbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I have made several stays here over the last year, and have never been disappointed with the lovely friendly staff, comfortable clean accommodation and good value for money. There always seems to be a friendly, safe sort of atmosphere - highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KippsBrighton, Owner at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us again We look forward to seeing you again and again :) Kipps Staff More

Western Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We recently spent two nights in a private room. As a middle aged couple we were a little worried Kipps may have been to young for us but we were pleasantly surprised at what a great place it was. We were greated at reception by a very happy and friendly face and quickly given all the information about the place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kusadasi, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The hostel is very good for short stays and you get what you pay. I'd totally recommend it. Location is great, you can easily go to beach or the city centre by walking. Staff is very friendly and the hostel has a lovely design!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Thanks for the special moments our goup of students from Salzburg got to spend at Kipps over the Easter holidays. I had a lovely time with my friends and would have loved to stay longer in the hostel and in Brighton! Great Hostel. Perfect location - close to the Pier and attractions in Brighton. Friendliest staff we could have imagined.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was the first time I've stayed in a hostel and I absolutely loved it. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a plus. Being close to the pier and the lanes with cute little shops made it a worthwhile experience. I would definitely return and recommend it to anyone visiting Brighton UK.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salzburg, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I brought 23 students from Salzburg for a writing retreat. What a smashing hostel! Easily the best I've stayed in. The location was perfect, the accommodation very nice and the staff fabulous. We will all be back for sure. Thank you so much!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Brilliant staff, lovely room, great location. Breakfast is bread, spreads, coffee tea etc and on a hangover we were very happy about it's existence. We stayed in a lovely double room great nights sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi We do like the comment "Best Hostel Ive Stayed in" Thanks we appreciate the comments More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kipps Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kipps Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipps Backpackers Hostel

Address: 76 Grand Parade, Brighton, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kipps Backpackers Hostel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kipps Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Kipps Brighton We are central to all of Brighton and attractions, including the Pier, Beach, The Lanes, The Theatres, Music, Bars, Cafes and Gay District. The Train Station and Bus Station are just a few minutes walk away.We offer a very friendly atmosphere, comfortable, affordable accommodation with excellent facilities including a licensed bar. We also offer free Wi-Fi Internet throughout and a free internet terminal. Guests can also relax on our terrace or in our lounge area.We have a variety of room types, including.Private Rooms - Single/ Twins to Double Rooms TV, Radio/ CD player, Tea & Coffee making facilities, Shower and Wash basinDormitory Rooms - Dormitory Rooms for larger groups or individuals with ensuite facilities and free security lockers. We have free nightly events at the hostel including pasta nights, pizza nights and XBox Nights. A great way to meet other guests and the staffWe look forward to welcoming you to vibrant Brighton and to Kipps Brighton. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer