We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Brighton accommodations

Kipps Backpackers Hostel

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   76 Grand Parade, Brighton, England
Hotel amenities
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kipps Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
CarmenJoness Dublin, Ireland
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    15
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
16
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (73)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

comfortable bed, spacious room, amazing location just a short walk from the beach. I traveled for work and had a nice sleep here, plus breakfast copious enough. Lovely staff, truly recommended! I would come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I thoroughly recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Brighton. The location is fantastic, just minutes away from the seafront and shops/bars respectively. The entire place is so clean and well looked after and the staff were very friendly and helpful,mgiving me a tour of the whole place and answering any questions I had. The facilities in the room are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KippsBrighton, Owner at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

What a nice review !!!! Thanks for that Hope to see you again soon, I have passed on your message to the staff Regards More 

Ipstones, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was attending an event at Brighton University and booked well in advance being 'a poor student'. As a result, I got excellent rates but was very nervous, having never stayed in a dorm or hostel previously. I need not have worried. I would have like an accessible 'list of rules' in advance - maybe a consideration for the owners... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KippsBrighton, Owner at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your lovely review and again taking time out to review us - we do appreicate all comments Regards Kipps More 

Uxbridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Excellent hostel! great staff ( the guy on reception/bar thank you for having us) just a great atmosphere I would recomend this to anyone coming to Brighton i will be booking this again and again. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
KippsBrighton, Owner at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your nice comments and rating We do appreciate you taking the time to review us and you are welcome back again and again :) Kipps More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We stayed at Kipps for 2 nights in August as part of a business trip. We stayed in a double room on the top floor, and were very satisfied with all aspects of the accomodation. Firstly the location is very central, about 10min walk from the beach, and less than 2 min to the Pavilion(one of the main attractions in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your nice comments, and we appreciate when guests notice the little touches the hostel has We look forward to you returning to Brighton and staying at Kipps Regards Kipps Staff More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Just leaving today after excellent 4 nights .i agree with all the positive comments already said , well set up, well run by such hardworking and pleasant guys and girls ..breakfast great at £2 50 p..( I would have liked it a bit earlier than 8 15 but everyone else still asleep so I guess it's just me!)....evening snack a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Richard Thank you for your nice comments and rating. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we enjoyed your guitar playing:) Kipps Staff More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

What can I say, this is the best Hostel in Brighton, after returning again it gets better and better. It has great staff in helping and providing good service. It has various amenities that you need and the Facebook page is great in connecting with friends. Can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi We appreciate your nice comments and rating. We are pleased to hear when guests enjoy their stay at Kipps Hostels See you again soon hopefully Regards Kipps More 

Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

What a beautiful hostel. Stayed in a 10 bed dorm with 2 friends. Very cheap and included breakfast. Sparkling clean, comfy beds, free wifi, friendly staff. Every night they offer free nibbles to the guests, we had delicious bruschetta one night and yummy desert kebabs the next. Will not stay anywhere else in Brighton ever again but here. Was an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kippscanterbury, Owner at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

hi Thank you for your nice comments We are glad you enjoyed staying with us at Kipps, and that you enjoyed the nightly events we offer free to all guests We look forward to welcoming you back to Brighton Kipps More 

Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I have stayed at Kipps for quite a while now and would definitely recommend it. If you're not only looking for a place to sleep but one where you are received cordially by the incredibly friendly and welcoming staff that are always there to help and make you feel comfortable at all times, Kipps is the place to go! I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Was a terrible and uncomfortable stay due to leakage and shifting of room, and rude behaviour of day staff (a lady), never bothered to appologised even. I checked in at midnight, reception staff was friendly, awesome & welcoming, guided me to room (private, double bed and en-suite). Just in five minute, there was leakage, on the ceiling, I complained to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KippsBrighton, Owner at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi I will post the same reply I wrote to your comments you left on our Facebook Page. and now the same comments/ ratings you have put up on Trip Advisor. At the moment you haven't replied to my comments, or taken up my offer of a complimentary stay to show you that it was just an unfortunate maintenance issue,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kipps Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipps Backpackers Hostel

Address: 76 Grand Parade, Brighton, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kipps Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Kipps Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay