We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kipps Backpackers Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
76 Grand Parade, Brighton BN29JA, England
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    81
    24
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
28
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (117)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for the weekend, it was a lovely place to stay. I wouldn't call it a hostel it was just like a hotel. The staff was very friendly and helped you with anything....even offered to help us with our bags. The room was very up to date and the bed was very comfortable, always good to have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your ratings/ comments, its nice to hear you enjoyed your stay at Kipps Sorry you didnt get that English Breakfast, but enjoyed the continental breakfast we offer :) Regards More 

Province of Livorno, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been here last week for 5 nights, I felt like I stayed in a hotel: every room of the building is extremely clean, the furniture and lots of details have been chosen with great care, the staff is always nice, smiley and ready to help you with everything. I traveled alone and booked a bed in dormitory: when I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi A nice review of our hostel :) Thanks for the feedback and nice comments. We do really appreciate it! Happy travelling Kipps More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel is so affordable yet so nice, with breakfast included in our cost at 81 for two for a night you couldn't ask for more! Our room was nicely sized with a tv and a fan in it (the fan was great in hot weather), comfy beds in clean, safe surroundings. The staff are lovely, allowing us to store... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Glad you enjoyed your stay and would return on your next visit. Remember book direct next time, and get a 10% discount :) Thanks for the comments!! and the nice rating. Kipps More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights in a large mixed dorm and was pleasantly surprised by this hostel! For the very agreeable price, I wasn't expecting such cleanliness, friendly and helpful staff, well-maintained individual bathrooms (both inside the room and additionals outside - large, clean, seaside-themed and airy), free food in the evenings and full continental breakfast each morning for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking time out , to write such a nice review. We are happy when we see reviews like this, as this is what Kipps is about :) Happy travelling Kipps More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My girlfriend and i only stayed one night as we just wanted to visit Brighton for a short time. I really wish i could have stayed longer at Kipps as the place had events on every evening. The rooms were quiet and cosy and breakfast in the morning was very nice indeed. There was a nice bar and seating area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Kipps Thank you for the feedback/ nice comments and ratings. Hope to see you again soon Regards More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

I was staying at this hostel with my girlfriend for 2 nights. The staff was nice and we really liked the chilled and down-to-earth vibe there. We got a tour through the building which I - personally - liked a lot. Other pluspoints are the daily events the hostel organizes to bring their visitors together (cocktail nights, spanish food evenings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and rating. We are glad you enjoyed the vibes of the hostel Regards More 

Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Very impressed by Kipps. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The facilities were decent and the whole place was very tidy and clean. It is in a great location in Brighton. The courtyard was a lovely suntrap and was a great little place just to sit and chill. Very good value for money and I would recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the rating/comments and recommendation :) We look forward to welcoming you back Regards Kipps More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed at Kipps, and despite his reservations about staying in hostels, Kipps completely won him over! It's extremely clean, staff are all very friendly and chatty, free wi-fi, comfy beds, gorgeous outdoor patio area in the sunshine. Breakfast was good and they had an event each night which was a great way of meeting others staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and rating We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon !! Kipps More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

I stayed here with 4 friends (all over 45 !) in a hostel BUT boy what a hostel....its fabulous, outside courtyard, great breakfast included, nice coffee, staff amazing all of them ! chilled ambience, lovely communal areas, travel mags, PC's to use free wifi and also just so central to the Laines its great ! 10/10

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Kipps and enjoyed the facilities and atmosphere Hope to see you soon Kipps More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

I stayed at Kipps with a friend for one night whilst in Brighton, and we weren't disappointed. The price of one bunk bed was rather inexpensive (about £13) and towels, shampoo and soap were all provided. The beds were comfortable and there were various toilets on our floor (one in our room, shared with 8 others) to avoid clashes. Everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your rating, and comments We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us Regards Kipps More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#14 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre
Ibis Brighton City Centre
#13 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#8 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,680 reviews
0.6 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#17 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 45 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay