We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 97 Brighton B&Bs / inns

New Steine Hotel

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added New Steine Hotel to your Saves list
New Steine Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
82%
Ranked #47 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Ken J London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (435)
  • Photos (75)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (57)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    155
    36
    22
    19
See reviews for
51
202
47
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
devon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here at the last minute as we did not realise it was the gay parade week and very hard to find a hotel / bed and breakfast. We had a warm welcome from one of the staff and we proceeded up stairs to our triple room, i noticed straight away that the stair carpet was old and very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Manofwexford, Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your experience. We are very dissappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. It is a pity that we were not aware of your concerns with your room at the time as we would have endeavored to make you and your friends... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My fiance and I spent the weekend in this hotel and I would highly recommend this place. Its very close to the beach, the staff are helpful and friendly, and it was extremely affordable. I will definitely book them next time I go back to Brighton.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted to hear that you and your fiancee enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate all of your kinds words. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly the next time you book and don't forget, we have a delightful honeymoon suite with private patio and garden! Kind Regards. More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here only for one night but the hotel was really nice and clean. Staff was helpful and very friendly. We had a room with the breakfast and the food was really good. It was good value for money. I was really surprised that room had these little bottle not just with shampoo but also with mouthwash, conditioner and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eskimacik, Thank you so much for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your experience here with others. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated all of our services during your stay. We look very much forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards. More

Lee
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I would not recommend this so called hotel! The picture on web site is showing their super deluxe room. The other rooms are nothing like it. The en-suite is like a closet you can't move! The shower trickles when lots of guests are using them at the same time. Breakfast nothing to shout about. You will be lucky if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie2u, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay. Please be assured that we are regularly monitored for our services and work very hard to meet the requirements of our 4 star rating. Our goal is very much to provide quality... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and i stayed in this hotel to celebrate our anniversary. It's been many years since we were last in Brighton and the hotel was in an ideal location for us to explore and reminisce. We booked one of the deluxe rooms at the front of the hotel. It was very bright and spacious and had a view of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave C, Thank you for choosing the New Steine as your place of residence in Brighton. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and furthermore had the opportunity to dine in our Bistro. We are always eager for our guests to enjoy our French cuisine and we offer great room and dinner deals for... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here as a group and as one of the organisers I saw and heard what happened to all of us over our two night stay. Let me just start by saying that what you see on the New Steine's website isn't a true reflection of this place. It's a B&B and it's 3* by anyone's standard, not 4*,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laura F, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Many of your points have already been addressed in previous commentaries left by your travelling companions and so I will not delve into them again here. We are sorry if some of your group also incurred a noise disturbance during their stay. Please be... More

Redhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

How this property was given a 4* rating beggars belief. It is a bed and breakfast and not a good one at that. Staff not at all friendly, Jane the deputy manager unable to give a refund for an appalling stay as she didn't have that authority and the Owner/Manager was out of the Country! We were a large group... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janice V, Thank you for your review. Feedback from our departing guests is always an invaluable source of information, so that we may continually maintain and improve our services to a high standard for our guests. We are disappointed to hear that you did not find our staff friendly or welcoming during your stay. We are often commended by... More

London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked as a group & had 5 rooms in total, the rooms were pleasant but much more like a b&b than 4*. One of our party quickly discovered they didn't have a working toilet or shower & running water that couldn't be turned off. They were unable to sleep from the noise on the 1st night they were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leah Francis, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and for allowing us to take this opportunity to address some of the concerns outlined in your review. We are very disappointed to hear that you were so dissatisfied with our service. We do apologize for any problems that were incurred during your stay.... More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed at New Steine Hotel 7/07/14 to 11/07/14. Must say how pleased we were when we arrived,Pleasently greeted on arrival, checking in very easy, we booked a twin delux room and it was very clean, comfortable, nice large bathroom , really served our needs. Toilettries very good and notice saying if you needed more just ask. Food of a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hilda A, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and we are so delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time. It is always a pleasure to see that our guests have appreciated our services and we are most definitely proud of our locally sourced breakfast produce. We look very... More

Norfolk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

... when booking with this hotel when staying with young children. Both on their website and on the website in which we made the booking they stated that they were child friendly and offering cots/cribs and children's television stations etc. However, upon booking and providing our bank details we were informed that children under three were not allowed in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wayne R, Thank you for taking the time to write about us online. We are sorry to hear that you feel you have been wronged by us. As a 4 Gold Star establishment, our aim is to provide quality accommodation to our guests and it would never be our intention to deceive any of our clients. Unfortunately many of... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage New Steine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to New Steine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Steine Hotel

Address: 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Steine Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your New Steine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Brighton with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Steine Hotel is an elegant and fashionable five-storey Georgian Townhouse in central Brighton. With a modern design of hotel that exudes warmth and style, a cheap boutique hotel right in the heart of Brighton city centre, with a hint of French influence, the New Steine Hotel offers exceptional value and cheap rates comparable to most hotels but retains the same level of service as any more expensive hotel in Brighton. New Steine Hotel's facilities and budget are suited to both business travelers and tourists alike who want a hotel in Brighton at the right price.New Steine Hotel is a boutique hotel right in the cultural centre of Brighton. Within a short walk of the hotel are the Royal Pavilion, the Brighton Museum and of course, Brighton Pier and Beach. We would class ourselves as a boutique hotel. Why boutique? Well, we are a small hotel with a difference, offering a personal service at reasonable prices. Contemporary, with lasting appeal, a statement in design that exudes warmth and style, delicious French food, wines and drinks, impeccable service 24 hours a day and original art all around you - The New Steine Hotel is all these things, and more.From the moment you walk through the door to our boutique hotel you are pampered and welcomed. Upon check-in your assistant walks you to your room and explains all the facilities your room has to offer. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. A personalised concierge service is at the guests' disposal 24 hours a day for all requirements and needs and each of the bedrooms has been designed to incorporate comfort with modern needs. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from New Steine Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer