We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Steine Hotel

4.0 of 5 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Hotel website
Special Price
10% off room rate
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Steine Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
New Steine Hotel
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    159
    43
    24
    22
See reviews for
54
212
48
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (462)
  • Mar-May only
    (108)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (144)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (103)
All months
Bristol
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars

Over time it has become pretty clear to me that the hotel star rating system is to be ignored and that only user-driven ratings are granted rationally. We visited the New Steine hotel whilst staying in Brighton for the weekend, at £100 and with a 4* rating we expected a fairly decent hotel. The location is good and distanced sufficiently... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you felt we were not up to your expectations. We are regularly visited by the AA for our star rating and have maintained this standard for a number of years now. The room you had is on the 3rd floor, and it was up a set of 6 flights of... More 

Nottingham
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend booked us in to this hotel for Valentine's Day as Brighton is one of my favourite places to visit! He says the rooms looked better in the pictures and that may be so as our bedroom was quite small and basic however it was very clean and had every amenity you could need. It was raining when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your comments to our team with regards the service being a bit slow, as we always aim to make improvements to our guest's experiences. I am glad you enjoyed the meal and the room, and noted the new shower you... More 

United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location (not sea view though). New Steine has some very real weaknesses and they still overcharge for the actual quality that they offer. When we arrived, no one from the staff offered to help us with our luggages (which were small by the way) and there was no lift. I honestly did not have any problem with the lift... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sorry if the Hotel was not as you would have expected. We do encourage our team to offer assistance where required and as this was not apparent on this occasion, I will be speaking with them to ensure that guest's are offered help with luggage within our Hotel. As for the room,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here back in April '14 having stayed twice previously. Something has gone very wrong at this place from the chaotic management style, rude staff, poor cleanliness and uncomfortable beds. We were given incorrect information re the parking permits and inadvertently voided it, the manager on duty told us (visitors unfamiliar with the Brighton Parking Scheme) that is was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tom O, Thank you for your commentary. The owner of the hotel has already addressed the majority of your concerns directly following your stay with us and so I will not go in to too much detail again here. It is disappointing that you hold such disdain for us and on behalf of the hotel I apologise that you... More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015 via mobile

Booked into this hotel (17th jan) but was then moved to the sister hotel next door. Rooms where shabby, with fixtures falling apart. The tiny shower had no hot water in the morning. The only positive about this hotel is its location

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear suzannec88, Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is an incredibly rare occurrence that we relocate guests to our sister hotel and we are sorry if you were disappointed on this occasion. Please be assured... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

we stayed here for our anniversary over 10 years ago,the place was fantastic. we stayed this January and found it had changed. the room was comfortable as was the bed, but for the price it was expensive. we had a broken window which made the room noisy. the door lock was not secure. the shower head was also broken which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John K, Thank you for staying with us recently. Whilst we are delighted to hear that our staff made you feel welcome during your visit, we are disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay. I have passed your comments on to our maintenance team so that they can look into them straight away and hopefully prevent... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

i have stayed in this hotel many times on both buisness and family stays and found the service and hotel itself to be of an excellent standard. The rooms are always clean and well presented ( i believe that i must have stayed in all of them at some point) and a good night sleep is always had due to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Whatcanisay2013, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here for others to see. The value of our returning guests is second to none and we are so happy that you choose to stay with us time after time. We very much pride ourselves on our quality of service and sleep quality and it is much appreciated... More 

London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Comfortable stay in a well price guest house in Brighton. Slept well in a comfortable bed. Rooms are basic - but it is not a 5* hotel and therefor I wasn't expecting it to be like one. Breakfast was incredibly well cooked and they use excellent produce. Kind staff. Would recommend and stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alex M, Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our award winning breakfast, of which we are very proud. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon! Kind Regards. More 

dorset england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here this is a lovely hotel the staff can't do enough for you The rooms are very nice the Breakfast is to Die for would highly recommended this hotel very reasonable too loved it

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear karenwareham13, Thank you for coming back to stay with us again and for taking the time to share your experience here with us. We are delighted to hear that you have chosen to come back to us again and we sincerely hope to see you many more times in the future. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly for... More 

dover
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

stayed at the new steine hotel in brighton had a wonderful stay, staff very friendly food was great room really comfortable and right in middle of shops would not hesitate to stay again next time i have got to stay in brighton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear colin r, Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much hope to see you again soon. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly should you be coming to Brighton again, as we always have special... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to New Steine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Steine Hotel

Address: 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Steine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your New Steine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay