We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Steine Hotel

10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
New Steine Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

530 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a warm welcome on arrival. We were a hen party of 9. We had three rooms - mine was a triple single bedded room on the top floor. No lift, but it wasn't a problem climbing the stairs. I was a bit worried, when I read some previous reviews, but I was very happy with the accommodation. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank zeteclynn
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at the New steine hotel with my partner for the weekend and we really enjoyed it. It was a last minute decision to go down (we come from London, so not too far) and the hotel offered us a great deal for two nights. Breakfast was yummy, especially the Continental style creeped with maple and cheekily I asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra_ACA
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were clean and well equiped. No lift facilities, but this didn't bother me much as was only on the first floor and anyway, that's to be expected in those kind of Victorian buildings. Breakfast was good, much better than expected. Great sausages ! Reception offered some ideas on what to do. Particularly good that they sell SeaLife Center Tickets... More 

Helpful?
Thank RAMUNTCHO S
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had to stay overnight in Brighton due to a conference that I was required by my company to attend. Altrought my office only booked me a single room, I was pleasantly surprised to be upgrated to a double upon arrival. Needless to say, after a few hours of travelling it was much appreciated! Breakfast was enjoyable and they were... More 

Helpful?
Thank AaronDelo
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

good hotel in a great location, nice breakfast, friendly staff, comfortable clean rooms. Have stayed there many times and can recommend it. Easy walk into town and along the sea front. Only problem is parking, but often get lucky and park in the square nearby.

Helpful?
Thank julianhead
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Only stayed here for one night for a last minute break, and booked the day before. The staff were friendly & welcoming, and they gave us a free upgrade to a superior room. The hotel was clean & comfortable. I felt it was good value for what we needed & would stay here again

Helpful?
Thank essexdean
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear essexdean, Thank you very much for choosing the New Steine Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you found your stay comfortable and that we were able to offer you an upgrade during your visit. We hope you enjoyed our beautiful city and please don't hesitate to contact us directly for any... More 

Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On the first evening we arrived (26 January), someone entered our room whilst we were out and stole our camera, SD cards, spare battery, charging cables, and camera bag. The manager informed me that there are no CCTV cameras in the hotel and suggested that I should file a police report in order to make a claim against my insurance.... More 

Helpful?
Thank S P
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear S P, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and we are very sorry to hear about your experience. Please be assured that situations such as this are by no means a common occurrence in the hotel. Rest assured that we do have CCTV within all public areas of the hotel, but of course we do not... More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was booked through an external company called UKGirlThing (just as awful) for a Hen party. This was booked months in advance and so the hotel were full expecting 11 of us and SHOULD have been prepared. When checking in the staff were rude and unhelpful, we were not given the usual vital information. I asked about breakfast and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer F, Thank you for staying with us recently and we hope that both you and your group had a safe trip home. We are very sorry to hear that you found so many elements of your stay to be sub-satisfactory. We work very hard to accommodate groups and very much value your custom. Unfortunately we are a small... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Got to the hotel and not so bad.. However, they double charged me for the room and when I tried to explain to the so called duty manager her only response was "this is policy". She had pre authorised the funds in my account on Tuesday then took a I her payment when I arrived... She was just so unhelpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank David D
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David D, Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time the time to share your experience. First and foremost, we would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused by this situation and sincerely hope that it did not wholly detract for your stay in our beautiful city. To fully explain the pre-authorisation system: when we... More 

Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed by this hotel. I booked for my husband to stay whilst I was in hospital having an neuro operation for Friday, Saturday nights. When speaking to the lady booking I explained why the room was required. Due to unforeseen circumstances my operation was cancelled at the last min and rescheduled for the following week. I called and fully... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lauren S, Thank you very much for providing feedback regarding your recent experience with us and we regret to hear that you were not satisfied with the service provided. Unfortunately as many other hospitality establishments both large and small, it is very important to uphold a strict cancellation policy. We are very sympathetic to our clients personal circumstances. Unfortunately... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (71)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 2,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,801 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre
Ibis Brighton City Centre
#15 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 976 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 4,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay