We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Langfords Hotel

8 - 16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langfords Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    45
    99
    54
    36
    56
See reviews for
44
94
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (290)
  • Mar-May only
    (99)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here in July and October last year - could not write a review for the second stay as it was too near the first but I had another great experience. This time - not so. Room 405 - the valance is stained and dirty looking, the window blind is grubby and has a hole in it and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As someone who visits Brighton from time to time with work, I know how difficult it is to find budget accommodation in a central location. Sadly Brighton isn't somewhere you can find great value on a tight budget , so please don't expect anything great in the town without paying 3 figures a night! My room (404) was ok... Nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After a long journey, where we got lost in the midst of London, missed about ten trains and had to sit by various questionable strangers before narrowly avoiding an accident after getting into the taxi of a psychopath, we finally arrived at the Langfords Hotel in Hove, Brighton. First impressions of the hotel were overshadowed by our hunger and exhaustion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our booking was initially lost, we were told someone would ring us back, no one did. We then called on our way to the hotel and were told that it would not be a problem, we could book the room at the same price and claim our money back on the lost booking. When we arrived my husband was accused... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Regrettably this prospective guest was unable to provide any details of their booking when they telephoned prior to arrival, nor were they able to confirm which agent had been used. It would have then been a very simple matter to find the alleged booking, armed with this information and if we had made an error in somehow losing the original... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Wendover
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Langfords is not the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. But it is far from what it needs to be to charge the prices it does. I booked recently for two rooms for my family, one double for the two adults and a twin for my two teenage boys. I asked for them to be adjoining if possible, near... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This is clearly a rather mixed and disappointing review for all concerned and we were sorry it was not possible to place you closer to your teenagers While our rates are market driven and the Langfords will always strive to offer value for money, it is clear that on this occasion you felt your stay did not hit all the... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading previous reviews I was initially disheartened. But on arriving at the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff and had a basic standard yet lovely clean room. I can't comment on the comments regarding the breakfast as we never had it. Personally I would return again, you get what you pay for and is a lovely hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely critique and just what the doctor ordered after some rather unfair reviews from other "guests" whose only motivation it seems was trying to strong arm a refund from the hotel By equal measure, you were quite delightful patrons and make it all worthwhile so we are greatly looking forward to your next visit. Meanwhile thank you so... More 

Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Secured a last minute booking on a double room for a business trip. Comfortable bed and quiet room which was great after a gruelling day. Yes, decor may not be as swanky as a boutique hotel but for the money and location, it's a non issue. Staff helpful and courteous. I'd stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this great, no nonsense review Andy. We were delighted the Langfords could be there for you. There team really do try and deliver so thank you for your affirmation Hopefully we can see you down from the West Midlands again before too long and meanwhile, renewed thanks More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately we had planned a last minute trip to Brighton and the only available space left was at the Langford. We initially thought that £165 a night was ok for a 3 star, we are very well travelled and stayed in hotels all over the world. We thought for that price it would be a pretty lush 3 star. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

By their own admission this was a spur of the moment booking and we were delighted the Langfords could be there for these guests. While perhaps not ideal for a couple, a tripe room was all that was available and had this not been acceptable the guest could have returned to reception and we would happily have suggested an alternative... More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Travellers beware, I can honestly say that this is the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in. The experience was terrible from start to finish with the reception staff very rude and abrupt on arrival. Our room (601) which was on the top and was extremely hot and uncomfortable despite us opening all windows. The decor was very dated (not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

While we can readily understand why any guest would be upset in losing a treasured possession, happily and subsequent to the guest posting this review, the watch was retrieved from the hotel safe [where it had been stored pending the guest coming forward] and is now back with its owner, with our compliments Now for the bad news........having assured us... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I paid £320 for 3 nights at this hotel. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were old and shabby. The room was small and the old, rotting, single sash window only opened 4". It was a very hot and humid weekend and we could barely breathe it was so hot in our room. The décor was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Clearly a disheartening review but, as ever with these things, of greater regret is that the guest elected not to articulate their concerns whilst in house, thereby denying the hotel the opportunity to put things right - the very worst outcome for all concerned We delight in welcoming our patrons from across the border in Wales and while we have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 45 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#14 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#34 of 45 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre
Ibis Brighton City Centre
#13 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#23 of 45 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#10 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay