We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Langfords Hotel

8 - 16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langfords Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    85
    46
    29
    43
See reviews for
36
81
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (244)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Thatcham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We visited the hotel for the Brighton Marathon weekend, as I was running the Marathon and my family came along to support. Throughout the stay the staff were interested in the marathon and they took time to ask me how I got on when we returned afterwards. We arrived on the Friday and stayed to the Monday. Our stay was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Comfortable hotel for this last minute decision to visit Brighton. We had a good sized family room, 3 single beds. The bathroom was a little small, but all in good working order. The beds were very comfortable and we all had an un-disturbed nights sleep. Breakfast was ok, the portions of the cooked breakfast could have been a bit bigger,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this no nonsense review. Your kinds words mean a great deal and we were glad the Langfords could play a part in what sounded like a fun, impromptu visit. Your feedback is much appreciated, more so coming from a senior TripAdvisor contributor and we hope your plans will allow you to visit us again before too long More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I stayed here with my friends for a small hen party. The hotel was clean, tidy and not bad to sleep in. The reception lady(brown hair, Spanish maybe) was very very rude. Did not even want to bother talking to us. To busy on her computer! Told us she called a taxi for us but hadn't then shouted at us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Reading between the lines it would seem that the overall guest experience here was positive but clearly marred by the situation when ordering a taxi. The hotel has a direct customer line to the cab company so it would be usual for the guest to make the call themselves. However we do apologise if there was any confusion in this... More 

Virginia Water, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

No matter what the reply is to this post, I can't even justify how bad the customer service is in this hotel... So we had a pretty bad night, with the fire alarm going off for a good hour in the middle of the night, no-one came round to reassure us and no one was evacuated. The new member of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

As we have made clear on numerous occasions the hotel remains fully compliant with its fire procedures and employs a first rate fire engineer. All this is a matter of record with the well being of our guests paramount The alarm being sounded was down to the selfish actions of one guest which was clearly regrettable for all concerned As... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked Langfords as I was running the marathon and they are one of few hotels not to have a 2 night minimum over this weekend. The hotel is set off the seafront so much quieter than I expected which was perfect! We had a room at the back of the hotel so was nice and quiet and I'd advice asking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a detailed and positive review which makes running the hotel worthwhile. We would also like to pass on our congratulations for competing in this years event which is a highlight for the City The Langfords strives to offer value for money, it does not pretend to be something that it is not and we never fail... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As there was a marathon on today there was a minimum stay of 2 nights rather than 1 which we wanted. Website promised a hairdryer in every room, there wasn't & when I requested one couldn't be found so recommend you BYO ladies. Room distinctly average, bed clean & comfy but windows cracking wood&paint, bathroom damp black marks on ceiling.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us from London on what was a very busy weekend in the City and for your no nonsense review - the Langfords strives to provide value for money though by equal measure we were sorry to learn you encountered some issues, which detracted from your overall experience Bruno and his team will use your feedback to... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed back in January and did not have the best stay. I can't say I really want to go into depth about it, as we have written several complaints and emails and have yet to receive a single acknowledgement. (One of these was even handed into reception) To say the least we had fire alarm go off in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

As we have made clear on numerous occasions the hotel remains fully compliant with its fire procedures and employs a first rate fire engineer. All this is a matter of record with the well being of our guests paramount The alarm being sounded was down to the selfish actions of one guest and while regrettable for all concerned, in this... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

STayed in this hotel many times over the years and never had a bad experience. The rooms are always clean bright and spacious and for the price definetly can't beat it, plus the staff are lovely and always welcoming! Worth staying if ever in the area!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

What a smashing review and thank you so much for both your loyalty and kind words which mean a great deal, more so given the recent unkind and ill-informed guest comments Bruno and his team are very much looking forward to your next visit as you are delightful guests More 

spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

my husband and i went for a night stay for Easter break hotel room (box room) chipped paint bathroom smelt, all of the hotel needs a good paint and new furniture,bar needs staff that have knowledge my husband asked for a white coffee and a brandy to be told they had none and young lad asked how to make a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This is clearly a disheartening review and one where we are having trouble identifying the guest concerned. Hopefully we can reach out to them through TripAdvisor. Certainly the situation described insofar as the food and beverage issues are concerned is puzzling for the hotel remained excellently stocked with food over the Easter period, for very obvious reasons More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

had the best stay loved loved loved the hotel and the staff were all amazing very friendly, welcoming and very helpful 100% going back there didn't wanna leave can't wait to return for few days in the summer :) hotel also very clean with a great service

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Amazing review and thank you so much. We are very much looking forward to your next visit and given some of the unkind reviews of late, your words were just what the doctor ordered.....better in fact [and healthier] than an Easter Egg Renewed thanks - Bruno and his team are over the moon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question