We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Langfords Hotel

8 - 16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Langfords Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    46
    101
    57
    39
    59
See reviews for
48
94
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (302)
  • Mar-May only
    (99)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

when we booked we were told that breakfast would be included, that was not the case. We were asked to pay extra, we were given a room on the third floor, there was no lift, and my wife found it very tedious climbing the stairs everyday, the staff was not very cooperative at all. i will never go there again,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Good to be back at the Langfords again for a super [well apart from the weather today] Bank Holiday break. All was as expected, with the usual crisp clean bedding, helpful staff and great value for money. Wifi awesome. Reception were telling me there is a new manager there and you could tell things were that bit more ordered and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for returning to the Langfords and for this smashing piece. Just what the doctor ordered after some pretty drab reviews There can be no higher loyalty for an hotelier than that of a returning guest so our heartiest thanks. Nik and his team will be over the moon More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is filthy and generally shoddy. There were cracked windows in the rooms and one of the plug points doubled as a headboard.We also had no privacy in the bathroom due to the lack of a curtain or blind. Do not expect anything from this hotel other than somewhere to sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Dishearteningly, for all concerned, this guest did not say which room they were in anymore than did they verbalise their concerns whilst 'in-house'. To be clear we can trace no "Tara B" staying over the Bank Holiday weekend so we are left with trying to contact this dear lady through TripAdvisor The Langfords strives to provide value for money and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On Arrival they had lost my booking. Poor english spoken by the reception staff. They eventually found my wife and I an out of service room. I attended a reunion function. There was a dispute over the quality and cost of the meal. The organiser deducted a small amount and asked for dicussion paying by bacs into their account 80%... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

We cannot comment in detail on this review as it is the subject of a pending claim Suffice it to say a contract was signed and rightly we sought to enforce that contract - there was no misuse of any card and we are surprised this gentleman has sought to leave what is clearly an inappropriate review More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No hotwater in shower. Toilet didnt flush properly. Shabby carpets. No aircon no ventilation at all. Seagull colony keping us awake for two nights in a row. We needed the room for two extra hours on departure day and had to pay 10pounds per hour extra! Old shabby place. Dont go there....

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Regrettably this guest did not articulate their concerns whilst in-house and with the scant information provided here we are left somewhat in the dark in terms of addressing their concerns. The hotel is not air-conditioned and nowhere does it say otherwise - the seagulls are very much part of life in the City and are protected. Rightly, if a guest... More 

LONDON
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having read some of the negative reviews, I arrived with some concerns and apprehension. None of the staff I met had English as their native language, but were willing friendly and could communicate. The single room was adequate but basic. The breakfast buffet was excellent and good value. Enjoy the locally sourced butcher sausages. I slept well. I will return.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

We really appreciate your kind words and like your solution for 'sound proofing' the seagulls which tend to rise earlier than we do! You are right to mention easy access though the southern wing of the hotel does have a lift. For those guests with potential mobility issues it is always best to ask reception at the time of booking... More 

Northolt, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my friends had 3 rooms in total all priced at 185 a night...quite an expensive night but the weekend we chose to go was when an event was on so this was expected. However very disappointed to then see that two of our rooms was a vey nice decent size one with even a four poster bed in,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Reading between the lines here, overall this group of friends had an enjoyable night and have acknowledged that there was plenty going on in the City. Importantly and unlike many hotels in Brighton & Hove the Langfords allows Saturday night only bookings. Our rates are market driven It would appear there was something of a frosty reception and naturally we... More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel has a nice reception area but the access beyond and room was a bit tired although very clean. Room was on third floor ( I did not see a lift, so be prepared to climb the stairs.) It was at the rear of property and was nice and quiet. The room had plenty of towels, the bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

I am sure other readers will appreciate your thoughtful review for which we thank you most heartily. Parking is fine but it is important to ensure this base is covered as you suggest, for we all know how a parking ticket feels and it can ruin the best of trips! As you say the Langfords lies contentedly along Third Avenue... More 

New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very no-frills place with creaky floors that is easy to hear through. The parking situation can be a bit frustrating to the unacquainted. Depending on what time you have to leave you might be better off paying the meter in the morning. The staff was nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

The Langfords aims to provide value for money/budget accommodation with the vast majority of our patrons appreciating this fact. As such a prolific TripAdvisor contributor we welcome your highlighting this important point Interestingly, the hotel can trace its heritage back over 100 years. As such it is less likely to meet the needs of customers looking for a homogeneous offering More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in the Room 601 from 6 August 2015 ~ 8 August 2015(two nights). When checking-out, I left my laptop in the room. When I returned, the reception staff, Christina(Tina), and the boss of the hotel helped me find back my laptop which is very important for me working as a scientist in the University of Cambridge. Huge thanks!

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

It was our pleasure both to host you and help in resolving the issue with your laptop. Nik, Cristina and the team are really chuffed everything ended so well Needless to say we are very much looking forward to seeing you again and meanwhile, thank you for taking the time to post this review from what must be a very... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 45 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#33 of 45 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#22 of 45 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#31 of 45 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 928 reviews
0.9 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#19 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre
Ibis Brighton City Centre
#13 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay