We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SoBo Brighton

11 Seafield Road, Brighton BN3 2TN, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SoBo Brighton
Professional photos View all
SoBo Brighton
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    9
    8
    14
    40
See reviews for
2
9
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Worst hostel I've stayed at. Showers are terrible, beds way too squeaky, had people doing coke and other drugs in my dorm and there was nearly a fight at 4am. Hostel doesn't even have a map and charges for bad breakfast. And it's not in brighton either it's in hove. Took us 30 min to walk from the coach station... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just come back from an overnight stay at this hostel. It was probably the worst place I have ever stopped. For over 50 years I have stopped at youth hostels throughout southern England and always had pleasant experiences. This was something else. On arrival we were greeted by a small reception area crowded with left luggage. Check in was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

This place cost us over €100 per night for a double room stinking of old smoke with windows needing enormous strength to open and covered with milky foil to avoid looking out or looking in - the top part of the windows was absolutely filthy. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and I wouldn't be surprised if the bedding hadn't been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

Interesting to see this place has so many negative reviews. Because it cost about £4 more than a campsite to stay here. Just saying... The fact is, the place is very cheap if you go for the basic option. This means that it will inevitably attract tramps. However, I would have serious objections to giving money to any organisation that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights in May. We are both 17 and read that it was a 15 minute walk from central Brighton but it was NOT. We both have trekked through jungles and are prepared to walk however it took us 45mins-1 hour. However apart from this and the pictures definitely not matching what it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SoBoBrighton, Manager at SoBo Brighton, responded to this review

Location – is 2.4Km from club land – 22 minute walk or 5 minutes bus ride – hostels slap bang in the town centre have extortionate parking fees and the noise at night can be high - The City of Brighton and Hove are a unitary authority and have been for years http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g186273-d1986903-r159826235-SoBo_Brighton-Brighton_East_Sussex_England.html# More 

South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Good possibility to meet people without the urge to start drinking so much. Dorm was originally not ment to be a dorm. you don't have your own socket. Too bad! Hostel itself is in walking distance to down town. Walk from bus /train station is also very easy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

I passed through Brighton before travelling on to Bournemouth and stayed at Sobo for 3 nights for £57 based on management photos, location and price. So far so good...... Ok for £57 I don't expect premium hostel accommodation and I can turn a blind eye to dust under bunks or lack of soap in the bathroom/toilets however what I find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SoBoBrighton, Manager at SoBo Brighton, responded to this review

Hi Jo, Thanks for the review and glad to read that the location and price suited you So to address your concerns With our dorm beds starting from as low as £7 what we can’t be doing is spend on layers of management staff watching over our customers like hawkes What we do have is a comprehensive CCTV system (communal... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

this is one of the worst place to stay in Brighton and they have no manners what so ever, dirty and generally a hole to stay in, the locals or cleaning staff steal, I'm phone was taken from my locked room while on charge, these people aren't professional and would not help me with details of the staff or checking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SoBoBrighton, Manager at SoBo Brighton, responded to this review

Hello Brandon Halligan, You arrived and decided you wanted less days than you actually booked and began an argument with staff when informed you would be charged for the full stay as you hadn’t given adequate notice Our senior manager has to intervene and we came close to calling security as you refused to calm down You eventually calmed down... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

We arrived late in the evening, and the receptionist was nice and polite as well as helpful. The room was basic, there was visable pubic hairs on the toilet floor and in the shower. There was supposed to be vending machines but all i could find was two broken machines. I was woken in the morning by shouting, sounds of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

i stayed, there last September 2014, a traveler came in with bed bugs. and they were in my room, the traveler went upstairs, to a dormitory, and took the bed bugs, with them. the staff do not care. please do not use this hostel. it may well have bed bugs, also, i had an accident, i was pushed down the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SoBoBrighton, Manager at SoBo Brighton, responded to this review

This review is false and was left by Christine Oldham Her recent booking made was declined by us because of past issues during her last stay On being told her booking had been cancelled she threatened to write a bad review on tripadvisor Please remove this review as it is totally false Thanks Woman banned from calling 999 A Sussex... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
3:26
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre
Ibis Brighton City Centre
#13 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 823 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#14 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Myhotel Brighton
Myhotel Brighton
#8 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#10 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,770 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
#1 of 22 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smart Brighton Beach
Smart Brighton Beach
#14 of 22 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Ready to book?