We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Brighton accommodations

SoBo Brighton

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   11 Seafield Road, Brighton BN3 2TN, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added SoBo Brighton to your Saves list
SoBo Brighton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    5
    8
    24
See reviews for
1
4
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent two nights here in September on a weekend. It's just what I would have expected really - bunk beds (there were 3 of us), a desk, kettle and tea making goodies, toiletries for shower, towels and a TV. The room was clean and the shower worked fine, no noisy plumbing. The street was quiet and we parked in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Where do you start? The bathroom: It stank- the extractor fan did not work; the shower drain was blocked. The bedroom: The mattress was awful with indents and uncomfortable springs. The communal areas were uncarpetted which caused internal noise. Outside the window was a smoking area-it was noisy from other guests using foul language. The decor was bad, the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at SoBo Brighton on the 31st of July till 2nd of August 2014.. When we first arrived we were told the room hadn't ben cleaned yet but we could go put our bags in there so we did, the room was in a disgusting state so much so that I didn't even want to put my bag on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have seen many reviews about this place saying, it does what it says on the tin. Which in my opinion... It doesn't. From first glance, it does however the truth began to unfold. We were surprised that breakfast was included. The menu (which is in different sections) stated that you could have cereal, toast, a pastry, a scone, jam,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SoBoBrighton, Manager at SoBo Brighton, responded to this review

Breakfast – There are 4 different menu options available at different prices, yes the full English option is only available at the weekends, but there are 3 other menu options to choose from during the week. We do have scones and pastries, it is likely that they had all been eaten by the time you arrived to breakfast. However staff... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I stayed here with friends and it served it's purpose. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was nice. The decor is a bit gloomy but you don't go to youth hostels for the decor. The price was cheap for Brighton but I still thought it was too expensive for what you actually got.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I was charged £70 (last minute booking) in a Mixed Dorm of two double bunks with no bathroom between about 40 people on the second floor. I decided to leave and drive through the night instead of staying. Fridges were frosted up and hadn't been defrosted for years. The room was stuffy and airless and the bedding poor. Despite the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SoBoBrighton, Manager at SoBo Brighton, responded to this review

Helloooooooooooo Jenny No No No – once again a review littered with assumptions We do not have one bathroom between 40 guests – how on earth did you come to that conclusion? – you had access to only one room and the rest of the hostel - it’s simply impossible for you to know the exact number of bathrooms –... More

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have stayed at SoBo at various times over the last year, mainly when I have been between flats. It’s cheap and cheerful and does what it says on the tin. It’s safe and I’ve never felt threatened or unsafe there. The kitchen could have some more implements, and maybe a few more knives, forks and spoons, but staff have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hostel for 3 nights, reception is very rude once they have ur money, the room smelt, they moved me to another room and that one was just as bad, people staying there did not bath and smelt, the food I paid for was unedible, when I complained about it, was told that I had come during a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SoBoBrighton, Manager at SoBo Brighton, responded to this review

Cooker times – cookers are turned off overnight as advised by East Sussex Fire and Rescue – we have found in the past that cookers left on all day simply meant we could not send in house keepers to clean as it was constantly in use When the cookers are off we have a microwave, toaster and sandwich toaster that... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I've stayed in better hostels for the £23.00 I payed for 1 night. There was mould on the wall near my bed and the room smelt like thd bed sheets hadn't been washed in weeks. It was just a place to rest my head after a night out, I didn't stay for breakfast, I just quickly got up and left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paraty, RJ
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I am understand that the Sobo Guest house has their cancellation policy, however I don't understand why they didn't call me back when I called them the day prior to the check-in to let them know that there was a mistake on the dates. They said their systems were down and that they would could me again. They never did!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage SoBo Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to SoBo Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoBo Brighton

Address: 11 Seafield Road, Brighton BN3 2TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SoBo Brighton 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda and Venere so you can book your SoBo Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sobo Brighton Hotel Brighton

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
3:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Brighton with
any amenities