We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Brighton accommodations

SoBo Brighton

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   11 Seafield Road, Brighton BN3 2TN, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added SoBo Brighton to your Saves list
SoBo Brighton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
  • Overview
  • Reviews (42)
  • Photos (17)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    5
    8
    21
See reviews for
Families
0
3
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with friends and it served it's purpose. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was nice. The decor is a bit gloomy but you don't go to youth hostels for the decor. The price was cheap for Brighton but I still thought it was too expensive for what you actually got.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was charged £70 (last minute booking) in a Mixed Dorm of two double bunks with no bathroom between about 40 people on the second floor. I decided to leave and drive through the night instead of staying. Fridges were frosted up and hadn't been defrosted for years. The room was stuffy and airless and the bedding poor. Despite the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SoBoBrighton, Manager at SoBo Brighton, responded to this review

Helloooooooooooo Jenny No No No – once again a review littered with assumptions We do not have one bathroom between 40 guests – how on earth did you come to that conclusion? – you had access to only one room and the rest of the hostel - it’s simply impossible for you to know the exact number of bathrooms –... More

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at SoBo at various times over the last year, mainly when I have been between flats. It’s cheap and cheerful and does what it says on the tin. It’s safe and I’ve never felt threatened or unsafe there. The kitchen could have some more implements, and maybe a few more knives, forks and spoons, but staff have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hostel for 3 nights, reception is very rude once they have ur money, the room smelt, they moved me to another room and that one was just as bad, people staying there did not bath and smelt, the food I paid for was unedible, when I complained about it, was told that I had come during a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SoBoBrighton, Manager at SoBo Brighton, responded to this review

Cooker times – cookers are turned off overnight as advised by East Sussex Fire and Rescue – we have found in the past that cookers left on all day simply meant we could not send in house keepers to clean as it was constantly in use When the cookers are off we have a microwave, toaster and sandwich toaster that... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I've stayed in better hostels for the £23.00 I payed for 1 night. There was mould on the wall near my bed and the room smelt like thd bed sheets hadn't been washed in weeks. It was just a place to rest my head after a night out, I didn't stay for breakfast, I just quickly got up and left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paraty, RJ
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I am understand that the Sobo Guest house has their cancellation policy, however I don't understand why they didn't call me back when I called them the day prior to the check-in to let them know that there was a mistake on the dates. They said their systems were down and that they would could me again. They never did!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oslo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Slept her for two nights, and that is only because it was cheap!! Didn't look like it was cleaned EVER! The rooms was to tiny, the shower was flooded and the toilet stinked. If you're not desperat - dont go here!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

It was nasty soon as you walked in the smell hit you.walls and floor seemed so dirty firer alarm going off in night people running up down stairs to sort it out the bed were ok but pillows stunk not sure if beding was fresh I paid 38 for the bed discussing. Never again

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed at this hotel last weekend as i was attending the Brighton Fringe Festival. I understand that things get busy and market conditions dictate, but £165.00 for a room with four bunk beds is a bit rich for the room i was given. although the bed was comfy, the room was small, the en suite bathroom filthy and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I only stayed here one night, booked a private room, which ended up being a 4 bed dorm with just me in it. Ensuite was tiny, so if you sat on the loo the pipework under the sink would jab into your leg. Forgot to take a towel so didn't sue the shower. Room was clean and bed fairly comfortable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage SoBo Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to SoBo Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoBo Brighton

Address: 11 Seafield Road, Brighton BN3 2TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SoBo Brighton 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your SoBo Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sobo Brighton Hotel Brighton

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
3:26
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
3:26
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Brighton with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
SoBo provides self catered accommodation in the style of a budget Hotel / Hostel / Backpackers. We are located in The City of Brighton & Hove and just a few minutes walk from the seafront. Everyone welcome! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
27

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from SoBo Brighton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer