We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SoBo Brighton

11 Seafield Road, Brighton BN3 2TN, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SoBo Brighton
Professional photos View all
SoBo Brighton
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    6
    12
    35
See reviews for
2
7
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Good possibility to meet people without the urge to start drinking so much. Dorm was originally not ment to be a dorm. you don't have your own socket. Too bad! Hostel itself is in walking distance to down town. Walk from bus /train station is also very easy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I passed through Brighton before travelling on to Bournemouth and stayed at Sobo for 3 nights for £57 based on management photos, location and price. So far so good...... Ok for £57 I don't expect premium hostel accommodation and I can turn a blind eye to dust under bunks or lack of soap in the bathroom/toilets however what I find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SoBoBrighton, Manager at SoBo Brighton, responded to this review

Hi Jo, Thanks for the review and glad to read that the location and price suited you So to address your concerns With our dorm beds starting from as low as £7 what we can’t be doing is spend on layers of management staff watching over our customers like hawkes What we do have is a comprehensive CCTV system (communal... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this is one of the worst place to stay in Brighton and they have no manners what so ever, dirty and generally a hole to stay in, the locals or cleaning staff steal, I'm phone was taken from my locked room while on charge, these people aren't professional and would not help me with details of the staff or checking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SoBoBrighton, Manager at SoBo Brighton, responded to this review

Hello Brandon Halligan, You arrived and decided you wanted less days than you actually booked and began an argument with staff when informed you would be charged for the full stay as you hadn’t given adequate notice Our senior manager has to intervene and we came close to calling security as you refused to calm down You eventually calmed down... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived late in the evening, and the receptionist was nice and polite as well as helpful. The room was basic, there was visable pubic hairs on the toilet floor and in the shower. There was supposed to be vending machines but all i could find was two broken machines. I was woken in the morning by shouting, sounds of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i stayed, there last September 2014, a traveler came in with bed bugs. and they were in my room, the traveler went upstairs, to a dormitory, and took the bed bugs, with them. the staff do not care. please do not use this hostel. it may well have bed bugs, also, i had an accident, i was pushed down the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SoBoBrighton, Manager at SoBo Brighton, responded to this review

This review is false and was left by Christine Oldham Her recent booking made was declined by us because of past issues during her last stay On being told her booking had been cancelled she threatened to write a bad review on tripadvisor Please remove this review as it is totally false Thanks Woman banned from calling 999 A Sussex... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was invited to stay at SoBo by a friend who was celebrating her birthday in Brighton. The hostel itself is a 30min walk from Brighton, and is situated close to Hove station so the name was a little misleading. I was quite disappointed that the hostel charge DOUBLE when you stay on a bank holiday weekend, regardless of whether... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My post is about the staff. I went there for an interview, what was circa 5 minutes.. They promised I'll get a call the next day, but they did not call me. I think the whole hostel is working like this. The place looks awful, inside and outside as well. I love to travel, so definitely not recommended as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SoBoBrighton, Manager at SoBo Brighton, responded to this review

This is not a review - it has been written by someone who is unhappy that she was not called back for a second interview for a receptionist position Please remove this comment Thanks More 

Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Agree with all the other reviews here. Not worth the £99 for a double bedroom - we could have stayed in the Royal Albion for £10 less. The only plus point was friendly reception staff (who were probably foreign students or similar, working there part-time to subsidise their studies). It's a very poorly kept youth hostel in Hove (not Brighton).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

The hostel provides friendly, helpful service and are happy to help however they can. The prices are unbeatable and as long as your willing to be considerate of others during your stay, I think this is a great place for anybody just needing a cost effective place to stay which I would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

me and my two bandmates have been in sobo for a month now, It's great. you get to know all the chilled out people of brighton. very down to earth and friendly. easy going place sobo. main disapointment is i'm not the ping pong champion yet! :D Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
3:26
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities