We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Journeys Brighton Hostel

33 Richmond Place, Brighton BN2 9NA, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Journeys Brighton Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    20
    13
    11
    34
See reviews for
4
3
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was massively worried when I read the reviews on here. I took 18 lads on a stag and booked here through amazing weekends. We had the room of 18 which are basically bunk beds stacked on each other but it was great fun being a room with all your mates and it was good laugh. I think people are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gonesse, Île-de-France, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Asked for the most interesting price for a night. I was said a price of £10 and that the check-in time was 2PM. I entered the dormitory at 5PM. The place was messy, stinky, and dirty. The light above my bed was not functional. I stayed until 9PM talking with others but when I noticed that the window in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

I have stayed in some hostels in my time travelling some good some bad but this is another level of awful! I don't normally write reviews but felt i had to this time.. Firstly the rude staff seem to think they are above cleaning, the whole place is a tip, dusty, grimy you name it its there. I stayed here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
journeysbrighton, Manager at Journeys Brighton Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you was disappointed on your last visit to our hostel. We are very upset that you felt this way. Our staff are from Nigeria, France, Czech Republic and Spain working for us. They are working for us not only because of their ability to do the tasks assigned... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Checked in on Saturday July 11. The "secure coded" room was left unlocked, propped open by a ladder. Was woken during the night by another traveller, staff had incorrectly booked us into the same bed. I found a spare bed in the same room and reluctantly moved, but avoided a confrontation as the traveller was very tired and couldn't speak... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
journeysbrighton, Manager at Journeys Brighton Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed on your last visit to Our Hostel.We are very upset that you felt this way on your last visit. During the check-in process, we inform guests of their room number and bed letters and trust that the guests stick to their own respective guests. On a weekend in our hostel,... More 

London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

I decided to ignore all the other bad ratings and go here regardless, because I thought "how bad can it be?" Let's just say, it was the worst hostel I've ever stayed in - especially the bathrooms! Completely flooded! The other hotel guests were also incredibly inconsiderate. Obviously hostel management doesn't have much control over who stays there but just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

I've read some terrible reviews about this place; personally I thought it was ok. Sure, it's very basic, but it's not a hotel. Prices for Premier Inn, Holiday Inn etc. are up to £200 on a weekend in Brighton, so this place is a steal; and the quality reflects that. I found the rooms to be basic but clean, with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

Just seriously don't go here, awful rooms nothing was clean. My bed was basically falling apart. Smallest room was an 18 sleeper and was pretty much a hallway. The bathroom was gross and the light made ot feel like you where at a rave. Seriously just don't go here

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

Failed to point out a cancellation fee and conditions, so I ended up paying £100. The "manager" is rude and doesn't even understand English or speak it fluently. Didn't introduce himself on the phone, very blunt and unwelcoming. The place is disgusting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
journeysbrighton, Owner at Journeys Brighton Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Mason, According to our cancellation policy, any cancellations made at a minimum of 24 hrs before the arrival date are fully refunded if paid for or not chargeable at all. The deposit is not refundable in any case. Since you called us on the day of arrival which is clearly less than 24 hrs, we had to mark your... More 

Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Overall, it was handy to count on this hostel to stay but this time round, flaws outweighed good sides. The atmosphere is still relaxed and friendly, however cleanliness has become a problem and some member of staff act as if it wasn't theirs. Bins in rooms or kitchen are often overwhelmed by trash, toilets and bathrooms are dirty. The kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
journeysbrighton, Owner at Journeys Brighton Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Fred, Thank you for your review and your feedback, Feedback about how we run our business is very important and we do our best to action and resolve the issues and areas of improvement to the best of our abilities. Since your review, we have had the following changes implemented: 1) Rigorous Housekeeping checks in place to make sure... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#14 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre
Ibis Brighton City Centre
#13 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#8 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,680 reviews
0.7 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#17 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#11 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay