We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 43 Brighton hotels

Imperial

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1st Ave, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Imperial to your Saves list
Imperial
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
50%
Ranked #30 of 43 hotels in Brighton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
snowy_ajw Bristol
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    71
    43
    31
    26
See reviews for
14
64
32
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

if you looked closely you can see things are neglected and on the cheap, bed was so uncomfortable and did wake up scratching with some bites on me, breakfast was ok (except for the expired cereal) - if you on a budget maybe it will do, I wouldn't revisit this establishment

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

This is a disappointing review and to be crystal clear we do not have any food or other hygiene related issues here at Imperial. We enjoy a 5/5 Food Standards Rating and take our responsibilities very seriously and have a superb Housekeeping team Imperial does however provide value for money - we offer fibre fast guest WIFI which is complimentary... More

Bristol
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was working in Hove and found a single room here at a very cheap rate. I was expecting much but was very pleasantly surprised. The place could do with a little spruce up but that didn't matter at all. It was clean and comfy, my room was more than adequate with a good shower. It was perfectly located five... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

What a super, well-balanced review and thank you so much for visiting us from Bristol The Imperial aims to provide value for money and we are investing heavily in the fabric of the building to improve further our guests' enjoyment As the Grande Dame of First Avenue the Imperial has much to offer and hopefully we can see you back... More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We popped in at about 11am but were unable to check in but the reception did take our bag for us until we were able to go back later on. We arrived back approx 8.30pm and sent to room 410. Small room with a small bathroom. Stray hairs on bathroom floor and a few in bath. And no hot water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We were sorry to learn your stay was not without some challenges and if you had mentioned the matter we would have tried to find another room for you, though we were heavily booked The room is a compact double but enjoys a great location on our top floor and is very light as a result. Sadly the second bedside... More

Ashtead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose the Imperial predominantly for it's price - We stayed on a Friday evening and it was half the price of the hotels closer to the pier and local amenities but with the beach just over the road. If you are looking for value for money and willing to be a little walk (or short taxi ride) from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We loved reading this review and thank you so much for your kind remarks and for visiting from Coventry, which is also a great city Thanks too for your mentioning the TV which we'll look at. The entire outside of the building it to be decorated this year which will make a huge difference and we are excited about the... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and another 2 friends found ourselves in brighton late at night trying to find a reasonably priced hotel room with 3 beds. We ended up staying here in a very lovely family room. There was a double bed and bathroom and an additional room with bunk beds and another bathroom. Good space, clean, nice water pressure and a slight... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a positive review. Room 117 has a great deal going for it and our receptionist really appreciated your kind remarks. Please come back and visit us soon Renewed thanks for your custom. Fantastic More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I loved every minute of it. I am in the trade myself, with 32 years in the catering industry in some of the most fashionable high profile establishments in London and English countryside Very nice and simply comfortable. I for sure will be back, as it is wholly convenient , and easy access to all of Hove and Brighton stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Well what can we say about this review other than thank you so much. Both Daina and Dilyana on Reception are over the moon and are really looking forward to seeing you again. Why not make your visits weekly rather than monthly!! The Imperial is purring with satisfaction too Renewed thanks and kindest regards More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in a twin room and it was lovely and quiet and close to amenities off street parking was available no problems didn't eat or drink here so no comment to make would return for sure

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting from Manchester and for your kind remarks. The Imperial strives to provide value for money and it is always great when a guest takes the time and trouble to tell us this. Daina and her team are over the moon and are very much looking forward to seeing you again Renewed thanks More

bracknell
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

stayed here as a group in February ok hotel but when we departed on Sunday and found we all had parking tickets on our cars it was the hotels opinion of nothing we can do about it! well let me help you there Imperial Hotel if you tell your guests to park in a zone and they do that and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We cannot accept the fairness of this review. Of course we understand parking is an emotive issue, especially if one is given a ticket [as was the author only last week at the local ASDA store!] but the truth is that it remains the responsibility of the driver to park within whatever rules are set by parking enforcement. We make... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Spent the weekend at this hotel for a friends birthday. Was cheap, comfortable and well positioned. The wifi was good and the bed huge. Our room was on the 1st floor and was larger than usual, our friends on the 3rd floor had a much smaller room yet had paid the same rate. Only complaint was the noisy window, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting from London and staying at the Imperial which as you say offers great value for money. There is no question the recent extreme weather and wind has been an issue, especially for the Imperial given her imposing position at the seaward end of First Avenue Our refurbishment program will gather momentum as soon as the weather... More

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed with my boyfriend for a special occasion and booked an executive double. I was delighted to find a massive jacuzzi bath in the newly refurbished and classy bathroom and a large four poster bed with elegant decor. The room was huge and was tastefully decorated unlike the garish carpets and curtains found in many old hotels. The staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you so much for an equally amazing review - a real 'cracker-jacker' and some great feedback. We liken the Imperial to a grand Victorian lady of some standing and while her age is her charm, equally we are always looking for ways to make improvements Guests like you make everything worthwhile and hopefully we can welcome you back from... More

Been to Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial

Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel Brighton
Address: 1st Ave, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel in Brighton & Hove mixes tradition and function with a light, fresh airiness. Its ideal position – at the end of the broadest of avenues – with its uncluttered outlook by the sea, is situated alongside Hove Promenade and The Lawns. This functional, exceptionally good value hotel is of the Regency period; its high ceilings and spacious bar and lounge are noticeable, as is its still, calm ambiance. The Imperial provides an excellent level of customer service and its conference facilities, coupled with a smart bar and an attractive restaurant, make it an equally popular venue for a variety of functions. Ample Parking is available on the street and surrounding areas using our low cost residential permit scheme at just £6.00 per day. We also offer spaces on a 'first come first served basis' on our hard standing area at £15 per day. The Imperial Hotel is the perfect choice whether you are visiting for pleasure or business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.