We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Imperial

1st Ave, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Imperial
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

397 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    60
    140
    89
    56
    52
See reviews for
44
139
53
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (397)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (148)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had no hot water at the tap for 2 nights and completed the complaint form as requested on leaving. Now 2 weeks later we still have not heard anything from the hotel and can only assume that this is their accepted standard!!! Alvis Greeves, you are the Manager, what are you doing about it?

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Thank you once again for a great stay. We have been staying at this hotel for many years now, and have always found it to be very pleasant with good staff. A particular mention to Audrey who was very helpful and friendly. The hotel managed to give us our favourite room once again, making it the perfect bank holiday stay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

What a super review and thank you so much. Audrey is such an asset to the team and we are lucky to have her working with us Needless to say we are very much looking forward to your next visit for there can be no higher honour for an hotelier than that of a returning guest Whilst we should not... More 

London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was disappointed about many things during my stay here. There was a broken drain outside the room that leaked all night and kept me awake. The shower attachment was broken and sprayed water everywhere. The bed was old and uncomfortable, decor tired, very basic toiletries. To be fair they changed the shower head the day I reported it; the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

The hotel check in and check out times are a matter of record and in any event we were more than fair as this gentleman did not leave until gone 1pm, yet we compromised by only charging for one hour late check out. At £10 per hour, this is an enduringly popular add on for our guests To be clear,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have just returned from a three-night stay at The Imperial Hotel, in Brighton & Hove, with my friend. When we arrived there at 2:30pm on the Tuesday, although check in wasn't until 3pm, the lady at reception informed us that our room was already ready for us. She handed us the keys and we proceeded to make our way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

What a tedious and disheartening review with the hotel management having done their utmost to accommodate these dear ladies. Eventually we placed them in the Adelaide suite which sleeps four and is newly refurbished. The photo they attach is of the outside vault and is meaningless as a result. It has no bearing on the room - in any event,... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked a triple room for £100 for a one night stay and I was amazed at the size of the room - plenty of space to unpack suitcases and beds not squashed together, each with their own light. Reception is small but functional and the staff are very friendly as well as being helpful As we arrived after 6pm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

What a smashing review and thank you so much. You were delightful guests from South Africa The Imperial strives to provide value for money and it is about the right guests making the right hotel choice Hopefully a return visit to the United Kingdom will be on the cards before too long but meanwhile thank you so much More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was clean, but a little tired and run down. Rooms were fairly basic, with uninspiring decor and amenities and soundproofing of rooms could have been better. Cooked breakfast was fine, but choice of other breakfast items waa limited. Having said that, I've stayed in numerous other Brighton hotels and they all seem a bit tired and run down,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for this no-nonsense review; we were truly heartened you enjoyed your stay. The Imperial strives to provide value for money and remains very much the Grande Dame of First Avenue with a super location We were excited today as the last of the scaffolding has been removed, marking the completion of the vast majority of our external works.... More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After some initial confusion regarding room rates, resolved by the helpful staff, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Imperial Hotel. My room was very clean and spacious and I slept very well. Easily could have stayed for longer. It is very conveniently located and makes for a great base. Thank you to Magdalena and colleagues for a very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for such a super review. Magdalena has not been with us too long but is such an asset to the team and is over the moon with your kind words. The Imperial is purring with delight too as in her long history as a hotel, nothing makes her happier than to host, to serve Hopefully your plans will... More 

cotswolds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked through hotels.com and offered upgrade when arrived at hotel by the very efficient and friendly reception staff. Very large light airy room (119) hot shower, crisp fresh bed linen and views of the sea from the side. One or two small niggles: bath towels rather small and the barrow long corridors would be unsuitable for disabled guests. Overall a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

The Cotswolds is a beautiful party of the country and thank you for prising yourself away for an anniversary break in our lovely City Alvis and his team here were only too pleased to upgrade you and please rest assured, should any of our guests have mobility issues, we always place them in the room next to the lift -... More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I made a booking for 13 people and the hotel reasonably priced us for this. 7 of us stayed in the Yorke room which was beautiful. We were all girls so we didn't mind sharing the one bathroom and two toilets. the other 4 stayed in a family room and were equally impressed. There seemed to be no or little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thanks for this smashing review and for visiting us from Devon; you were delightful guests and it was our pleasure to host, to serve The suites you were in are less than a year old and your feedback is such a joy. The only issue can be that being in the basement the mobile signal can vary - I know... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you like Character, you would like this hotel. Its a fair walk from the main station in Brighton, as in over 30 mins walk, so if you don't mind walking, then you will be ok. I stayed on the 3rd floor in a twin room with a friend for 1 night. The room was basic but comfortable, except for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for this review - fortuitously we have managed to find your booking from your TripAdvisor "handle" so can address the issues you have raised and also speak with chef - we are sorry the breakfast was underwhelming Even so, is sounded as if you enjoyed your August break in the City and while Hove based, the hotel is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#34 of 45 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#33 of 45 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#22 of 45 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#17 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre
Ibis Brighton City Centre
#13 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 853 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#12 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay