We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Imperial

1st Ave, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Hotel amenities
Imperial
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Asta2013 Reykjavik, Iceland
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    125
    74
    51
    40
See reviews for
33
124
47
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (342)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (108)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

my husband & I stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The room allocated 408 was really disappointing, small, dirty, wallpaper coming off, a bad smell, dirty nets, stained carpet, not really habitable in my opionion, this really upset as I had researched many hotels in Brighton and chose the imperial. I asked to be moved which they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
England- Essex
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We did not start of very well , with a double booking, but it was quickly sorted out and a refund made to my card, so two rooms booked instead of one, this was blamed on booking .com. I had booked a sea view room at £100.00 per night accessible from 3pm on the day. The receptions was ver friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for 4. nights, got at very nice room and comfortable bed. I booked a single room but was offered a double room on the first floor. The staff was very helpful. Very quiet hotel good for relaxing. The room was clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting us from Iceland and for this delightful review. We were so pleased we could make your stay special and needless to say, would love to see you back before too long More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for two nights (Friday and Saturday) in April. It was a late booking; £120 - which I thought was good for a weekend in Spring. The room was basic and clean and everything worked...TV, lights, shower... Parking not really a problem. In the street outside £1 one hour/£2 two hours max No charge 6/8pm(depending upon bay) until 9am.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Many thanks for this no nonsense and positive review. As you say the Imperial is well located for both the seafront, the amenities of Hove and our fabulous County Cricket Ground We aim to provide value for money and it was kind of you to echo these sentiments Hopefully we can see you back from Bristol before too long. Meanwhile... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My card was used fraudulently through booking.com. I received an e-mail from the Imperial Hotel stating I had been charged £160 deposit. I immediately called them and explained it was not me who made the booking, to cancel the reservation and refund me. The lady Audrey said that was fine but would need written confirmation from booking.com and to call... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

This review is nonsense. An advance purchase booking was made though our partners booking.com and in good faith we honoured it. There would be no reason not to with the terms of the booking that it is non-refundable When the prospective "guest" then suggested the booking was fraudulent [or did one merely change ones mind - it happens], rightly a... More 

Upchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this within 2 weeks prior to the Brighton marathon, after I had made a mistake and booked another hotel, but for the wrong night! So knew it was going to be tough, and also expensive, which this was!!! But we desperately needed somewhere to stay the night before. The hotel was very tired looking and dated, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

The Imperial always relishes supporting the Brighton Marathon - a signature event and by equal measure we were glad we could help these guests. The hotel is midway through an extensive refurbishment externally and we and our many loyal patrons are pleased with the progress. As these works come to natural conclusion we will turn our thoughts to further upgrading... More 

Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a terrible hotel for a business trip! We were unfortunately booked in various single rooms at this hotel. Do not make the same mistake as we did. The Imperial has definitely seen better days. If you've got business in Brighton, expect an at least 30 min walk to town center. The hotel is NOT in Brighton, it's in Hove!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

This guest did not, regrettably, make their concerns known in house so what are we expected to do after the event? Their comments about the cleanliness of the room have made Lenia and her housekeeping team aghast, given their diligence and professionalism The location of the hotel is a matter of fact and record and of course we offer a... More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is exceptional value for Hove and Brighton... the superior rooms are large, bright, very clean, king beds and large windows.Its not modern or trendy, but its a comfortable, relaxed place to stay, moments from the sea and the shopping area of Hove; maybe 15 mins walk to Brighton centre. The staff are all helpful and polite.The hot breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review - Alvis and his team are really chuffed and are very much looking forward to your next visit from along the coast As you say the Imperial strives to provide value for money and is well located Renewed thanks More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Will visit this hotel again. Very clean...good size rooms..comfortable beds...breakfast very good sets you up for the day. The only set back to anyones stay is the parking which is not the hotels fault its a problem throughout brighton however i do feel the hotel should explain this on arrival as after spending £6.00 on parking for a few hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for such a stellar, five star review. You were a delightful guest and we are very much looking forward to your next visit Meanwhile, renewed thanks More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My stay at the Imperial is consistent with most reviews I read. Dated décor and friendly staff. Two poor points to note: We were sold a parking permit for £7. The pay and display outside the hotel is available at £5. Investigating further the Brighton and Hove Council sell the permits for £2.60 (and prohibits the resale of the permits).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

It is regrettable this guest did not research matters more thoroughly as the scheme to which they appear to be referring is for residents and nothing to do with hotel guests The Council are kind enough to provide hotel guest permits to encourage tourism in the City and we in turn offer these as a service - equally guests are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question