We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 Brighton hotels

Imperial

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1st Ave, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Hotel amenities
Imperial
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Imperial to your Saves list
49%
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Diane U Swindon, United Kingdom
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    93
    62
    43
    33
See reviews for
21
88
40
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (263)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 1 night in a single room. Would definitely recommend. Very clean, nice room. Slight disturbance from people walking past outside, but no worse than any other hotel. Lovely bar attached. Good cheap parking outside in road, just watch where you park (only allowed on one side of the road or you'll get a ticket). At the nicer end... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I needed a bed for the night and was anticipating arriving after midnight so my options for hotels was fairly limited. Booked via a booking web site and that was very easy. Arrived at 12:30am and was made very welcome by the night manager. Lovely man. No issues with checking in. The room was very clean and the bathroom sparkly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We always like hearing from Senior TripAdvisor contributors and thank you for giving us your feedback. We will certainly take a look at the bed as we have a rolling program of upgrading our mattress stock The night porter was delighted by your kind remarks and we appreciate your pointing out the value for money the Imperial strives to provide... More

nottingham
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in a good location, however when we finally found our room after going up and down various staircases, our room was small although the bathroom was very large, the view was that of a fire escape literally adjacent to the window and the rest was brick walls and the backs of other hotels. The bed was so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We were sorry to learn that you experienced some initial challenges during your stay but were equally pleased that Daina and her team were able to rectify matters, to your entire satisfaction The Imperial is midway through an extensive external refurbishment program and once complete we will be turning our attention ,increasingly, to the interior Hopefully you will notice further... More

Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Back again and very happy as usual.The two girls who have been on reception since I first started staying here have moved on to do new things and we have new staff on reception who are looking after us are doing a great job. I will head to Cape Town for the winter in Oct. and report in in due... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for such a positive affirmation of the reception team, old and new. It is much appreciated as it your continued support of the Imperial. There can be no higher honour for us than a returning guest Cape Town sounds delightful and a perfect antedote to the English winter Renewed thanks More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Worst Hotel EVER! Checked in, paid £295 for two night, ordered a double, got a twin, asked for this to be changed, said they'd zip the beds together, no they pushed them together, it was 2am couldn’t do much, ended up FALLING INBETWEEN THE BEDS!! Asked for a refund, got a reply of they don’t do refunds! Manager upgraded us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

This review is a sad reflection on these 'guests' who, as far as we can see, were motivated solely by the desire to 'strong-arm' a refund from the hotel with all the usual 'threats' if we did not comply. So be it Our staff [who all wear name badges] really tried to go the extra mile here, as would our... More

Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is great for an overnight stay when going out into Brighton for the night/weekend. Friendly reception staff to greet you, they explained everything we needed to know. They also have a handy 'taxi-line' phone which provided reliable, reasonably priced service which is a plus. Our room was fine for what it was, bed was comfortable; TV in room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for such a stellar review which means even more coming from a TripAdvisor Top Contributor. Daina and her team are over the moon and are very much looking forward to seeing you again Meanwhile renewed thanks for your kind words and custom More

Lefkas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently held my 80th Birthday Party at The Imperial Hotel.42 people came, most had rooms and dinner and breakfast. The management were very helpful as I kept having to change the numbers and I booked everything on line from Greece. The rooms were clean and ready for the guests even before check in time.. The Function room was nicely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We were delighted we could play our part in your special celebrations Daina and her team are truly humbled by your kind remarks and we wish you the very best in the year ahead More

London
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived at this hotel without a booking (had booked elsewhere but the accommodation was awful so we refused to stay). On arrival the reception staff (particularly Daina) were very friendly and helpful. It was bank holiday weekend so they were understandably really busy, however they did manage to find us a nice family room at a reasonable price which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We were delighted that we could help 'in your hour of need' and thank you so much for your super review - Daina and her team are over the moon Hopefully we can see you down from London before very long More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just a quick note to say that we have been staying at this hotel for a number of years now, and have always found it to be very pleasant with good staff. A particular mention to Dilyana and Victor who managed to give us our favourite room once again, making it the perfect bank holiday stay. We'll be back in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

What a lovely review and thank you so much. Dilyana, sadlyn is leaving us after three and a half great years but what a review to end with Needless to say, we are really looking forward to seeing you again in December More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Family visit ruined by unhospitality of reception staff. Requests made and agreed during booking were totally ignored. Questionable room hygiene, and draughty with tired decor. Poor communication skills of staff made visit uncomfortable and worse still, reception were far more friendly on departure than arrival? On the upside the location was great, close to the beach, great restaurants and shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

While we always welcome the thoughts of Senior TripAdvisor contributors, regrettably this guest has not given us much to work with. As such I would implore them to contact the hotel management team to discuss their concerns in more detail As things stand we have been denied the opportunity of reaching out to them, which is disappointing for all stakeholders More

Do you own or manage Imperial?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial

Address: 1st Ave, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Brighton

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Imperial

Enlarge Map