We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 Brighton hotels

Imperial

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1st Ave, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Hotel amenities
Imperial
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Imperial to your Saves list
49%
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
jennifer632014
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    94
    64
    43
    33
See reviews for
23
89
40
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Room and service provided at the Imperial Hotel both excellent. Staff very professional and helpful and all amenities provided within the room as well as clear instructions regarding any queries. Hotel within easy walking distance of Brighton main shopping area and buses just a few minutes walk from hotel. Also parking available close by with a permit. Very happy to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We've been coming to this hotel off-and-on over the last ten years and it has been steadily improving. That's not to say that's it's perfect (the shower in room 103 calls for balancing skills due to small bath, no bath mat) but is definitely value for money. Weirdly there were 5 towels in the room - all hand towels. Maybe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

An overnight for two cost £90 for a top floor attic room with over half of the room unusable (unless you are very short) because of a sloping ceiling though it did have a dormer window in part of the slope. Breakfast (£6.50 per person) was delayed because the buffet (fried egg, sausage, bacon and cold baked beans on cold... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We always like to hear from Senior TripAdvisor reviewers though by equal measure were sorry you experienced some challenges during your stay. The Imperial, as a Victorian building of some standing, has bags of character and the rooms do vary in terms of their layout - of course the fourth floor has magnificent views over the roof tops of Hove... More

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as a family of five taking a double and a triple for our three teenage children. The hotel was perfectly situated near the sea front and close enough to walk into brighton. Rooms were clean and comfortable and staff always friendly happy and helpful. The rooms are basic, with all essentials that you need. The bar is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We have said it many times before but we always relish hearing from senior TripAdvisor contributors so thank you so much for such a delightful review. Daina and her team are over the moon and are very much looking forward to welcoming you all back as you were a delightful family The Imperial strives to provide value for money and... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In the astoundingly overpriced world of the hotel industry, the inexpensive cost of a room for two nights at the Imperial was welcome and that pretty much overrides everything. Nothing to shout about but everything did work (bar that other staple of today's hotels - no plug in the bathroom) and a leaky shower mechanism that didn't detract from a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We always relish the opinion of senior TripAdvisor contributors and appreciate this no-nonsense review. The Imperial strives to provide value for money and as you say is well located I am not sure which room you stayed in but perhaps you mentioned the shower, especially, to reception so that we can have this checked We hope you will choose the... More

Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 1 night in a single room. Would definitely recommend. Very clean, nice room. Slight disturbance from people walking past outside, but no worse than any other hotel. Lovely bar attached. Good cheap parking outside in road, just watch where you park (only allowed on one side of the road or you'll get a ticket). At the nicer end... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

This was a delightful review and we greatly appreciate your kind words, especially coming from a Senior TripAdvisor reviewer Hopefully we can see you back from Swindon before too long. The Imperial strives to provide value for money and as you say, the Hove end of the City has plenty to offer Renewed thanks More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I needed a bed for the night and was anticipating arriving after midnight so my options for hotels was fairly limited. Booked via a booking web site and that was very easy. Arrived at 12:30am and was made very welcome by the night manager. Lovely man. No issues with checking in. The room was very clean and the bathroom sparkly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We always like hearing from Senior TripAdvisor contributors and thank you for giving us your feedback. We will certainly take a look at the bed as we have a rolling program of upgrading our mattress stock The night porter was delighted by your kind remarks and we appreciate your pointing out the value for money the Imperial strives to provide... More

nottingham
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is in a good location, however when we finally found our room after going up and down various staircases, our room was small although the bathroom was very large, the view was that of a fire escape literally adjacent to the window and the rest was brick walls and the backs of other hotels. The bed was so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We were sorry to learn that you experienced some initial challenges during your stay but were equally pleased that Daina and her team were able to rectify matters, to your entire satisfaction The Imperial is midway through an extensive external refurbishment program and once complete we will be turning our attention ,increasingly, to the interior Hopefully you will notice further... More

Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Back again and very happy as usual.The two girls who have been on reception since I first started staying here have moved on to do new things and we have new staff on reception who are looking after us are doing a great job. I will head to Cape Town for the winter in Oct. and report in in due... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for such a positive affirmation of the reception team, old and new. It is much appreciated as it your continued support of the Imperial. There can be no higher honour for us than a returning guest Cape Town sounds delightful and a perfect antedote to the English winter Renewed thanks More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Worst Hotel EVER! Checked in, paid £295 for two night, ordered a double, got a twin, asked for this to be changed, said they'd zip the beds together, no they pushed them together, it was 2am couldn’t do much, ended up FALLING INBETWEEN THE BEDS!! Asked for a refund, got a reply of they don’t do refunds! Manager upgraded us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

This review is a sad reflection on these 'guests' who, as far as we can see, were motivated solely by the desire to 'strong-arm' a refund from the hotel with all the usual 'threats' if we did not comply. So be it Our staff [who all wear name badges] really tried to go the extra mile here, as would our... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial

Address: 1st Ave, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Brighton

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay