We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Imperial

1st Ave, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Hotel amenities
Imperial
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
DavidBowman Maidstone, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    56
    133
    83
    55
    46
See reviews for
38
135
51
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (373)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (125)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked this hotel as we wre going to Grandslam Madness in Hove - great looking character buiding and we got an immediate upgrade to a sea view room which was lovely - out most of the day but bar was welcoming in the evening and despite 10.30 closure this did not seem to affect the flow of drinks. Left on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We thank you for this super view, especially given your status as a level 4 TripAdvisor contributor What a fun reason to visit Brighton - the concert sounded amazing and we really appreciate your choosing the Imperial. Where we have capacity we will always try and do our best for our guests and it is kind of you to acknowledge... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not The Ritz, but doesn't claim to be. Reasonably priced, well placed for everything in Brighton and Hove and just moments from the seafront. Staff were very helpful, particularly Savita on reception, and happy to help out with anything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Great, punchy review and thank you so much Needless to say we are very much looking forward to your next visit as you were a delightful guest and thank you too for mentioning the staff More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We attended last year after the London to Brighton bike ride and decided to return (due to convenience and cost). Last year the frontal exterior was wrapped in scaffolding, this year most of the back is under works. Fortunately this year I was not woken by a drill going off yards from my window. However what has not changed is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

In thanking you for visiting us again and supporting such a worthwhile event as the London Brighton bike ride, please rest assured we are fully aware [sometimes painfully so] of the opportunity to improve further the guest rooms which will happen over time. Absolutely our first priority has been to ensure the outside of the building is in the best... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have just checked out of this hotel and only checked in a couple of hours before hand. Booked in for four nights this week but it was so so bad we decided to cut our losses and loose money rather than stay a single night there. Grossest shabbiest building iv been in for a long time. Listen to all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

This review is histrionic and unhelpful as a result - more so as I was party to the dialogue with our manager. These so called guests did not give the hotel an opportunity to offer them an alternative and in any event, the room they had been allocated was one of our executive rooms and is always reserved by our... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is right by the colourful beach bungalows and a 15 minute walk from the pier, the rooms and bathrooms were nice, but the service was TERRIBLE! Every single member of staff, apart from the Italian lady who checked us in, was grumpy, snooty and downright rude. My family come from South Africa where parking is very different from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

While no one likes receiving a parking violation, given the business of the hotel and the fact that many or our guests buy permits, what is being said regrettably makes no sense We make it crystal clear that patrons park at their own risk and have to observe the street notices as issued by the Council [which are subject to... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am a hove resident who wanted a local hotel for mother's visit. Location excellent for this. Still easy walk to Brighton, or buses if needed. This review based on her feedback and my observation. Pros are definitely location, room size good, tea/coffee making in room. Decoration not bad at all for the age of the building. Clean. Cons are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We appreciate your critique and were heartened that the Imperial could be there for your mother during her visit Alvis and his team will act on your feedback and thank you for highlighting the excellent location the hotel commands. If guests are likely to need help with the intra-corridor stairs we will of course allocate a room next to the... More 

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Could be a very nice hotel with a little care and attention. Appreciate an old building but floor boards creaked on corridors. Everything seems to have been done on the cheap. Room 117 was a nice size with a view of the sea. However wall paper peeling off, poor lit room. Found bed side lamp not working on further inspection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us from Norwich, Delia Smith country. While we were sorry to learn there were some issues with the room, please rest assured we are investing serious money in the hotel with our external works now drawing to a close at a cost in excess of £200k. Thereafter we will make further, selective improvements to the interior... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I visit Hove for LVCC Cricket matches 2 or 3 times a year, alternating our stays between the Courtlands and Imperial Hotels, both under same ownership and management, both of very similar type. Our last two visits in September 2014 and last week were at the Imperial. My review of the Imperial would be similar to my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for such a super review. You are spot on with your remarks regarding the windows at the Imperial and now that the major external works are drawing to a close our next task is to decorate internally those windows not replaced and at the same time ensure the nets and curtains hit all the right notes. Chef has... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Imperial will never satisfy all guests but if you're after a 'no nonsense' clean and hospitable hotel then it ticks all the boxes. Situated a couple of minutes from the seafront, and walking distance from many bars and restaurants. Rooms vary considerably in size but having stayed there on many occasions, just ask, and the staff will always try... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you so much. This review took our breath away and really we could not have said one word better ourselves. Alvis and his young team are making great progress and allied to our refurbishment program, the hotel is in good heart and has more to give As you rightly say, the Imperial is not for everyone and it is... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is just up First Avenue a short way from the seafront and about 30 minutes walk into Brighton Centre, or there are bus stops quite close. We did expecta restaurant but there is not one but they gav eus a 15% discount voucher - which we did not use - for their "Sister hotel" about 15 minutes walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We were very pleased that you were able to visit us from Delia Smith country and of course we always welcome hearing from Top TripAdvisor contributors From your detailed critique, it is clear you felt a little underwhelmed with certain aspects of your stay and naturally, we were sorry to read the about the toilet rolls; these are in no... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay