We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 44 Brighton hotels

Imperial

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1st Ave, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Imperial to your Saves list
Imperial
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
48%
Ranked #31 of 44 hotels in Brighton
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (251)
  • Photos (65)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (49)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    88
    60
    41
    32
See reviews for
19
83
39
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bromsgrove
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for one night, very quick easy check in. We had a lovely spacious room with lovely seating area. Hotel is so nice, clean welcoming and our room was very nice. We walked int Brighton, and got the bus back! After a tiring day -had lovely meal in Brighton and slept wonderfully well in super large brass bed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel in May as a weekend away for my partner's 30th birthday. We had a class booked in Brighton for 10am on Saturday morning and so I decided to stay close to Brighton so that we wouldn't have to rush in the morning. I paid extra for an Executive room and I was really disappointed. Our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Main plus - reception staff lovely - efficient and helpful , my single room spotless and comfortable with coffee making facilities, general feel of hotel - comfortable, well run and homely. Location excellent and part.of the Hove end with all its restaurants and nanoseconds from the beach huts and beach. Additional plus - being able to leave cases in hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is dated but it is very clean and well located. The staff are very professional, very friendly and accommodating. I had messed up my reservations, totally my own fault, these problems were dealt with swiftly and efficiently and I am delighted with the service i received. I would especially like to thank Dianah and Viktor. You were wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for such excellent feedback - the staff here are over the moon and were only too happy to help. Your kind words mean all the more, coming from such a prolific TripAdvisor contributor Hopefully we can se you back at Imperial before too long Renewed thanks meanwhile More

Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hotel, it is in hove not Brighton but very close to lots of restaurants and bars, a good walk along the front gets you into Brighton . The rooms are fine, a little dated but not bad. Good place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

What a super, no-nonsense review from a senior contributor which we always value Walton-on-Thames is a great part of the country and the Thames a delightful amenity. Even so, hopefully we can see you back on the coast before too long when you will notice further improvements Renewed thanks meanwhile More

Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival I was a bit disappointed as the scaffolding was somewhat off putting, but that aside when we got inside it seemed quite pleasant. I was travelling with two females and there was no way we could all get in the lift so the ladies took the lift and and I walked up to the second floor with my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We were pleased to read that the hotel management made every effort to make your stay comfortable which ensured you had a good nights rest The scaffolding is now down to first floor level and the Imperial is proudly showing off her new coat as a result. As we have made clear, once the £200k external refurbishment program completes we... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 4 nights, arriving on the 9th August and leaving on the 13th. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful and this applies to both Reception and room cleaning staff. The guy behind the bar was also, but only paid one visit. The standard of cleanliness is good, if you want clean towels each day you can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We truly appreciate hearing from such satisfied guests and thank you so much for both staying and your comprehensive review. The decorations to the front of the hotel will soon be complete allowing us to move around to the back of the building. In turn the interior will receive our full attention so we are confident by the time you... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly, can I urge you to check the response this hotel gives to every poor review. They deny everything or blame the guest for bringing their 'problems' into the hotel. They do not know how to handle a complaint. We booked to stay in this hotel for a weekend away. When we arrived although the scaffolding didn't look particularly nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

The Imperial Hotel, its staff and management will always endeavour to provide value for money and place the guest at the centre of everything they do. We are fortunate in having a dedicated housekeeping team [unlike most hotels which outsource this crucial service] who remain unstinting in their commitment, working closely with our laundry company. They are some of the... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Good 30 seconds from Hove Lawns and the beach. The staff are very polite. 2 minutes from Hove bars and restaurants. They looked after our bags, after check out, so we didn't have to carry them around all day. The Bad 1992 called and wants it decor back, patterned wallpaper, patterned boarders where a dado would normally be, patterned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We were totally disheartened and sorry to read this review which apart from being disrespectful could have been written as the basis of a farce. As such it is partisan and inaccurate, more so as the guest did not at any time express their disquiet 'in house' and in so doing the management team were denied the opportunity of reaching... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the imperial for 2 nights from 1st to 3 rd August . I was looking for a central base as I was attending brighton pride celebrations . The hotel does have scaffolding up as they are currently undergoing renovations, however , this was not a disturbance to us during our stay. The rooms are basic but spotless.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for such a stellar and well-balanced review. Pride was such fun this year and one of the top events on our calendar The Imperial provides a super alternative to the city centre - not too far away but just enough distance to be calm and the perfect way to recharge ones batteries inbetween the celebrations We are really... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial

Address: 1st Ave, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Brighton

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Brighton with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Imperial Hotel in Brighton & Hove mixes tradition and function with a light, fresh airiness. Its ideal position – at the end of the broadest of avenues – with its uncluttered outlook by the sea, is situated alongside Hove Promenade and The Lawns. This functional, exceptionally good value hotel is of the Regency period; its high ceilings and spacious bar and lounge are noticeable, as is its still, calm ambiance. The Imperial provides an excellent level of customer service and its conference facilities, coupled with a smart bar and an attractive restaurant, make it an equally popular venue for a variety of functions. Ample Parking is available on the street and surrounding areas using our low cost residential permit scheme at just £6.00 per day. We also offer spaces on a 'first come first served basis' on our hard standing area at £15 per day. The Imperial Hotel is the perfect choice whether you are visiting for pleasure or business! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
76

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Imperial and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Imperial staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

;