We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Imperial

1st Ave, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Hotel amenities
Imperial
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
MY_Ex_Libris London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    128
    76
    51
    40
See reviews for
33
124
49
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (349)
  • Mar-May only
    (87)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (108)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A clean and friendly hotel. A bit far from Brighton Centre but it is a nice walk along the front. The council's pedantic parking rules are a frustration but this is not the hotel's fault. I would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sussex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 1 night in triple bed room. All very clean, room could do with some tlc (carpet stained etc) however overall large bright room. Proper sash windows for ventilation. Quiet location, @20/25 minute walk from centre so no noise but perfectly strollable. Beds comfy, additional pillows/blankets if needed. Staff were great on reception upon arrival, directing us into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Firstly, be careful if you think you are staying in Brighton - this is a good couple of miles out of town. The hotel itself is just fine for a night's stay. Friendly staff, tidy (albeit tired looking) room. There is free wifi - but to be honest, it is so slow I ended up tethering to my phone. Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

As a Senior TripAdvisor contributor your feedback is especially welcome though were sorry you found the WIFI to be less than fast. This is strange as we offer our guests a complimentary fibre service in partnership with Liveport, so we will check if there have been any one off events which would have slowed the connection As you say Imperial... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The imperial is a large Hotel on second avenue it has on street parking free between 6pm and 9am But I warn you its busy. The hotel ground floor has recently been refurbished and the lounge bar and restaurant are very fresh & welcoming. The rooms are still very 1990's and starting to look tired but my room was spacious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for this no-nonsense review. The hotel has been very busy with the Brighton Festival and last week especially so with both boxing and darts tournaments in the City Imperial is ideally located in First Avenue and thank you for commenting on our work in the reception and bar. The lounge is next and we are very lucky to... More 

Saint Julian's, Malta
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was my second stay at this hotel, and I as very happy to be back there. Had a great room, could not fault the room at all. As for the staff, they are great. To be greeted with their smiles and genuine hospitality, what more could one want ? I am already looking forward for my next stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for such a smashing review and for visiting us from afar We too are looking forward to seeing you again and meanwhile, renewed thanks for your custom and kind words. Both mean a great deal More 

Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff were friendly - very helpful in responding to questions, room and communal spaces were clean. For more quiet room ask for a room away from the small lift, which was a bit cranky. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We really enjoyed hosting you from Malta and thank you for such a positive review Needless to say we are very much looking forward to seeing you again, when your travel plans allow More 

United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the third time I have stayed at this hotel. The standard was as before was excellent. I was in room 206 which is a great room and bathroom. Parking is easy and for Brighton/Hove pretty cheap. On the main bus routes into Brighton and its fantastic bars and restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

What a super review and thank you so much - there can be no higher honour for a hotelier than that of a returning guest. We also take very much to heart your views as a Senior TripAdvisor contributor Needless to say we are very much looking forward to your fourth visit. Kindest regards More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

my husband & I stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The room allocated 408 was really disappointing, small, dirty, wallpaper coming off, a bad smell, dirty nets, stained carpet, not really habitable in my opionion, this really upset as I had researched many hotels in Brighton and chose the imperial. I asked to be moved which they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We were sorry to learn of your disappointment and given the importance of the occasion were only too pleased to move you to the first floor. The Imperial has a range of rooms which are showcased on our own website and those of our booking partners. Even so we were sorry you felt somewhat deflated at the outset More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
England- Essex
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did not start of very well , with a double booking, but it was quickly sorted out and a refund made to my card, so two rooms booked instead of one, this was blamed on booking .com. I had booked a sea view room at £100.00 per night accessible from 3pm on the day. The receptions was ver friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Clearly there were some issues with your stay though we were heartened your new room hit the right note. While our builders have endeavoured to keep the disruption to a minimum, we are coming to the end of a substantial external refurbishment program. Once complete we can turn our intention to upgrading further the interior space The parking situation sounds... More 

Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 4. nights, got at very nice room and comfortable bed. I booked a single room but was offered a double room on the first floor. The staff was very helpful. Very quiet hotel good for relaxing. The room was clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting us from Iceland and for this delightful review. We were so pleased we could make your stay special and needless to say, would love to see you back before too long More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities