We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 Brighton hotels

The Courtlands Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 - 27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Hotel amenities
The Courtlands Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Courtlands Hotel to your Saves list
43%
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
uccollespu Cambridge, United Kingdom
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    71
    59
    41
    44
See reviews for
39
99
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (248)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here for a night after visiting a customer nearby. Found the hotel's free car park easily enough, but had a bit of trouble finding the hotel entrance which was a few buildings up the street. Staff were friendly and helpful; room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Breakfast was fine, and service started sufficiently early. I didn't try the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
u.k
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My one night stay was perfectly adequate. The staff were helpful, bar meal very good and room comfortable enough. I picked this hotel for it's location as it was near where I needed to go ( also very adjacent to bus routes into Brighton - do NOT attempt to drive onto Brighton as parking is impossible and horrifically expensive ).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

We really got a kick out of reading this no-nonsense review and thank you for your kind words and for staying with us The Courtlands tries to provide something different; as such your positive affirmation means a great deal to Nik and his team Hopefully we can see you back before too long. Renewed thanks meanwhile More

Walton-on-Thames
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived at The Courtlands, knowing exactly where it was situated (Hove), so had no problems there at all. The exercise was very much needed and it was a lovely walk into Brighton centre. The hotel delivered exactly what was offered in the description online. The staff (mainly female at the time) were friendly & attentive and gave out lots... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Walton-on-Thames is a lovely part of the country and thank you for staying for your girlie night away. What a fun reason for coming to Brighton & Hove! Well, needless to say the staff are on cloud nine and very much looking forward to your next visit. Meanwhile your feedback is much appreciated and please accept our heartfelt thanks More

Truro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights and not very good, attitude on the front desk from a young girl, breakfast was poor not worth the money on that front, the only decent thing is the location and the room, not much else could be said

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

We always enjoy welcoming guests from the West Country and thank you for choosing the Courtlands. Naturally we were sorry to learn you experienced some challenges during your stay and were not made to feel more welcome on arrival. In appreciating the candour of your remarks please accept our thanks for highlighting the great location the hotel enjoys and the... More

Hertfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a nice place that looks the part and feels relaxing. The bar food has been good and the staff helpful and polite. It is close to a number of restaurants if you wish to eat elsewhere, and just a short walk down the tree lined street to the seafront.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Great, no nonsense review and thank you so much for your kind words We greatly value the custom of our business patrons and your endorsement means a great deal Hopefully we can welcome you back before too long. Renewed thanks meanwhile More

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having read some of the previous reviews for this hotel ,we were a bit wary, But on checking in and a inspection of our rooms we were happy to spend two nights In this hotel. The room had everything we required, clean soft towels ,comfortable bed,tea/coffee Making facilities . hairdryer in the drawer. Plenty of piping hot water in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

We are humbled to have received such a lovely review and thank you so much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. The Courtlands strives to offer vale for money while retaining a certain individuality Hove too has much to offer and then there are the bright lights of central Brighton Hopefully we can see you back before too... More

Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed in nicer hotels in Brighton for same kind of room rate,the place is a little tired and in need of refurbishment,But good location to seafront and easy reach of Brighton centre,we found the staff friendly and the room clean. although the tiles in the bathroom floor were cracked and the coffee facilities poor,in general decor is very dated.Good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

We always welcome the feedback of Senior TripAdvisor contributors though we were sorry to learn you found aspects of your stay challenging. As we approach the end of as great summer season, it is a time for renewal and replacement You were kind enough to highlight that the Courtlands offers free guest parking; thank you for also remarking on the... More

Forest Row, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked last minute for a one night stay to go to a concert in Brighton. I booked online and was happy with the price. I arrived early before checking in time stated so I could explore Brighton and Hove and received a warm welcome from reception and a no problem to use the free car park response. I think... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

What a fun way to spend your time in the City and thank you for choosing the Courtlands. Hopefully the concert was memorable Nik and his team are over the moon with your positive remarks and thank you highlighting the quality of the room - we are working hard on this program We are looking forward to seeing you back... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On arrival our first impressions were dried dead flowers at entrance windowsill. A sign 3* Luxury Hotel which is a joke!! A dirty unkempt car park with old bed mattress propped up at rear broken window. I asked for another room as the settee in the room was dirty and stained and worn and torn. I did not unpack. No... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Something of a mixed review and we were sorry your first impressions were not more favourable. Equally there seem to have been a number of positive aspects to your stay and we were delighted by your affirmation of the staff and that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary parking the hotel offers its guests. Your new room... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a 'family room' without reading any reviews! I had a look on here, the day we were due to check in, and was rather concerned with what I read - and, in fairness, with the tone of some of the responses from the hotel toward any criticism levelled at them. (We all make mistakes, and aren't perfect, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Feedback from guests is always valued and the opportunity it gives us to learn so many thanks for your detailed, no nonsense and genuine review. With the busy summer season drawing to a close it will give the Courtlands a chance to breathe a little more and we can undertake further improvements to the hotel which are both ongoing and... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Address: 19 - 27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay