We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 Brighton hotels

The Courtlands Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 - 27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Courtlands Hotel to your Saves list
The Courtlands Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
42%
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Paul H Sutton, null, United Kingdom
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    67
    56
    40
    43
See reviews for
39
96
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I arrived at the Coutlands hotel on Monday15thSeptember and was greeted by Lynn who was pleasent and helpful. She gave me an option of two rooms,and i chose the one at the rear of the hotel room129. It was very clean and tidy and so was the bathroom, there were extra pillows in the wardrobe and a blanket and hangers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Depressingly hideous bedroom decoration from the 1940's. Unbelievably uncomfortable beds!! Shower cubical and shower valve in dire need of replacement, almost impossible to flush the WC. Old basin taps & antiquated bathroom. Carpets should have been replaced 15 years ago. I feel pity for the staff who have to show loyalty to the hotel & make feeble excuses. Breakfasts are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Clearly if this guest felt as strongly as they are now indicating all they had to do was return to reception and we would have suggested alternative accommodation Happily we have a loyal and hardworking team who have been truly disheartened by this review with the consensus being that this guest elected to bring their own problems into our hotel More

Essex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Courtlands as we were attending a wedding locally. Having read the reviews, I was a little apprehensive am I think it is worth pointing out that this is not a chain hotel - which so many of us are used to staying in- and therefore isn't perhaps as 'clinical' or 'corporate'. Each room therefore is slightly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Well what a super review, detailed, fair and with some excellent feedback which we have taken to heart The thoughtful remarks of our Senior TripAdvisor patrons are truly important to us and we are really pleased the Courtlands was able to play her part during your special weekend We loved the term "forest green" and hopefully we can welcome you... More

Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading so many terrible/poor reviews, my expectations for The Courtlands Hotel were very low. However, from arriving to leaving, I didn't really have anything to complain about. As other reviewers have pointed out, the rooms could do with some TLC, with paint peeling off, wooden bath panels than could do with varnishing, but 3 decent nights sleep in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciated this no-nonsense review and are always pleased to hear from Senior TripAdvisor contributors, so many thanks and for your custom and heartfelt views. We have a clear plan for the Courtlands to further upgrade the bedrooms while not losing the hotel's 'bygone days' charm and as you say, the location and parking are huge plus points Hopefully we... More

Constanta County, Romania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was friendly and very professional and very helpful. The location is quiet and peaceful and very closes to local attractions, sea promenade, beach and bus stations. The rooms are large and comfortable with complimentary Wi-Fi and the breakfast was perfect. Everything was perfect above our expectations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

What a super review and thank you so much for visiting us from Romania The Courtlands strives to provide value for money and we were truly humbled by the warmth of your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel Renewed thanks More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for one night, stayed in one of the 'basement rooms' The decor is so old that Jesus Christ himself probably hung the doors there, not a particularly nice character to the room! The bathroom was poorly maintained, the toilet seat couldn't be lifted all the way because the (broken) flush handle restricted the lid from opening fully,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked one night only through late rooms and were greeted by appallingly rude man at reception. He told me off for not having the same card on me as booked with (not had problem before or since) and advised my husband to put a note in the window of our car in the car park (which we had the audacity... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

While we always value and relish feedback from senior Trip Advisor contributors, reading between the lines, it sounded like things started off on slightly the wrong foot and we are sorry if this then coloured the guests full enjoyment of the hotel With parking such an important issue in the City, we are obliged to have our car park patrolled... More

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had tickets for a show in Brighton and chose this hotel because of price and free parking at the back. Be aware this hotel is not in Brighton but in hove but we walked into Brighton within 15-20 minutes. We arrived before our 2.00pm check in but were welcomed in anyway and we were free to park in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

What a fun way to spend your time in Brighton and hopefully the show was amazing We were equally delighted, more so as a Senior Trip Advisor contributor, with the warmth of your review and that you would stay again. There can be no higher honour. Your feedback is much appreciated and we will look forward to your next visit... More

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Brighton has always been a popular place to visit in the UK, and finding a hotel that was a short distance from the sea-front felt like a great idea... Unfortunately, the reality wasn't all that special at all. After arriving at the hotel, the car park was completely full so we had to abandon the car to go and speak... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

This review effectively duplicates that of the previous patron as it refers to the same booking and room. Sadly by these guests not making their concerns known at the time the hotel was denied the chance of suggesting alternatives. Sadly worst outcome for all parties More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed on 29th august. He booked through late rooms and got the room for £115 plus £7.50 each for breakfast. The Receptionist, Lynn I believe her name was, was extremely friendly and very helpful when we had questions about the Brighton Centre and parking. Whilst the hotel location is good the room was very disappointing. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

We are naturally sorry this guest experienced some challenges during their stay though overall we were pleased to see there were a number of positive aspects. Unfortunately by not making their concerns known at the time [which this patron has kindly acknowledged] we were denied the opportunity of reaching out to them and hopefully finding them a different room As... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Courtlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Address: 19 - 27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Brighton with
any amenities