We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Courtlands Hotel

3.0 of 5 19 - 27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Courtlands Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Courtlands Hotel
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    90
    71
    48
    52
See reviews for
43
124
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (302)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars NEW

Staff are polite, greeted by one of the room attendants. breakfast was lovely. Room wasn't great, looking out the window at scaffolding and ceiling stained (leak??) but comfortable and clean. Room needs re-painting along the ceiling. Lighting in the corridor between 206-209 needs fixing. I would still visit but stay in a different room facing the road maybe

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this no-nonsense review and for your honest critique. Please let us know direct when you next make a booking and we will ensure you receive a lovely room facing the Drive Meanwhile, please accept our renewed thanks for both your custom and positive words, which have not come amiss More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

On arrival the hotel surroundings were very pleasant and was very much looking forward to my stay. The room we stayed in was very nice. In the morning the continental breakfast was ok and I was looking forward to my cooked breakfast. Unfortunately, my scrambled eggs were unpleasantly cold. Everything else was good. I politely ask the waitress to change... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

There is little we would wish to say about this colourful review and for whatever reason, the issue of breakfast seems to have tainted an otherwise positive experience. It all seems to be rather out of proportion, which is totally disheartening for all our stakeholders More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have stayed at Hove's Courtlands Hotel a few times now. The breakfast is a delicious and good value extra, the rooms comfortable, and the hotel is a short bus ride from central Brighton. The sea is but a short walk away

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

There can be no higher an honour for an hotelier than that of a returning guest so thank you so much for your custom and kind words Needless to say, Julian and his team are very much looking forward to the next visit and meanwhile offer their heartiest good wishes More 

Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
99 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I didn't even try for the carpark this time as it is quite small for my van, just parked on the street and paid. A sort of a hello greeting from the receptionist, told me what I needed to know. The bedroom was okay a typical looking suite. The bed was comfortable enough, wifi is excellent thought out the hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful critique. Coming from such a prolific TripAdvisor contributor your words mean a great deal. We are also delighted you will be staying with us again at some future time and hope that we can continue to improve all the while We will certainly consider what you have said about some background music as in certain... More 

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

+ Wifi was good Good location Bed was comfy (albeit not clean) - Room not that clean - hairs in your bed doesn't scream cleanliness.. Very cold in room even with heating on, had to sleep with multiple thermals on. No stand up shower - just a hose connected from the bath with no stand to put it on. Little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

While we appreciated your choosing the Courtlands, by equal measure we were sorry to read you experienced some challenges, occasioned by both the current cold snap and the issues you encountered in your room, for which we are sorry Please rest assured that had we been aware of your concerns we would have made every effort to find you an... More 

La Cala de Mijas, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the beginning and end of a UK trip to visit family. Chosen because they had parking but actually the staff were very friendly an helpful. The decor is a little tired but the beds were comfortable and thre were plenty of towels, tea etc. Our daughter loved the old fashioned feel to the place,, particularly some of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

We were truly heartened to read your review, particularly coming from a Senior TripAvisor contributor Hopefully we can look after you when you next visit from Spain - meanwhile thank you for both your custom and kind words. Both have not come amiss amongst the greyness of winter More 

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The desk staff changed our room when they saw my elderly mother on our arrival to give a lovely large room with en suite by the lift. Throughout our various stays all staff very courteous and restaurant prepares excellent food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

What a delightful review from equally delightful guests. It was our pleasure to find a room better suited to your needs. Our staff are over the moon too including Chef Gregory and his team Hopefully we can see you back from Suffolk before too long. Renewed thanks meanwhile More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here because our car broke down so to our surprise that we were able to get a room and a family one at that .room was clean spacious quiet with en suite bathroom and small room for our teenager son . Loads of towels tea and coffee and toiletries .felt so relaxed after such a stressful time of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

While we were sorry to learn that your car caused you trouble, by equal measure we only too pleased that the Courtlands could be there for you and thank you for such a positive review Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back under less stressful circumstances and meanwhile, many thanks for your kind words and custom More 

Brandon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

I liked the welcoming and helpful staff who made sure that I was satisfied with the booking, which indeed I was as they gave me a free upgrade, always a good move in my book. When I pointed out that a chair was missing, one was soon provided. I met the owner later on who seemed quite friendly, and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a positive affirmation of the Courtlands, more so given your status as a seasoned TripAdvisor contributor Your kind words have meant a great deal and we are very much looking forward to your next visit from Suffolk which is a quite delightful part of the world More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

After visiting this hotel I was interested to know how they came about the information on the website and why they don't provide a truthful image or reflection of the accommodation. As a senior reviewer on Trip Advisor and seasoned traveller. Luckily I chose to go elsewhere and as a regular visitor to Brighton will be avoiding this place. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

It is not at all clear if this [Senior] Reviewer even stayed at the hotel so we are unsure on what basis they would seek to comment? Perhaps they would care to email us so that we can deal with the matter properly and professionally The Courtlands offers patrons a range of value for money accommodation from the more traditional... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Address: 19 - 27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay