We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Hotel amenities
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
WendyStAlbans UK
Add Photo

1,001 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    163
    335
    295
    125
    83
See reviews for
140
490
35
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1001)
  • Mar-May only
    (292)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (322)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (189)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (198)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel on June 27th 2015 and thought we were going to a nice 4* hotel. Very disappointing by the whole overall experience. We thought paying £268.00 per night we would be getting a high quality room in a plush hotel. This was obviously not the case. The room 151 was very small you could just about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Bill M, The team and I thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologise that you felt that the hotel did not meet your expectations and for any inconvenience that this may have caused to yourself. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team and use this as a tool to assist in continuing to... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is best described as average. The location is pretty good - on the seafront - but that's about its best asset. The rooms aren't air-conditioned, and you might say that's not needed in Brighton, but if you are in a poky and stuffy top corner of the hotel, you really need some air of some sort. The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Lindy21s, We thank you for your feedback. The hotel is set right on the seafront and makes the ideal base for ensuring that you are close to all the local attractions. The hotel due to being a Grade Two Listed building does not have an air conditioning and with this in mind the hotel provides fans in all rooms to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My daughter lives in Brighton, so I visit from time to time. I have tried a few hotels around the town, and not yet found anything special. If my wife is travelling with me and we are staying for a few days we prefer to rent a flat in the Marina as they are quiet and include a reserved parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Mike S, The team and I thank you for your feedback and we trust that you had a lovely time in Brighton visiting your daughter. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team and use this to ensure that we continue to improve our service and standards offerings as required. We look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Irthlingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Mecure is a lovely hotel, wonderful friendly staff. When booking we made it clear that I was a wheelchair user, the bedroom was perfect for a disabled person but unfortunately the entrance to the hotel was extremely difficult. Steps to contend with so I had to walk up them, revolving doors also problematic as husband folded the wheelchair but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

19Lizzie54, We thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay however; you found the only issue to be that disabled access both into and out of the hotel. The hotel has two entrances and exits and this includes the door by the Reception Desk and also the door located close to the rear... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Booked this last year for two nights, but wife came not well had to rebook hotel for 2015. We booked this hotel because They would not give our money Back' got to the mercure brighton which was 4 star l don't thing so the bed covers had yellow stains on them very poor i thing they put cover on bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Alan G, We thank you for your recent online review. Upon cancelling your booking with the agent you booked through over a year again the hotel allowed for your stay to be rescheduled as an exception to the normal Terms and Conditions that your booking held; normally this would be non refundable or transferable and due to ill health that... More 

coventry,england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped here for 2 nights,17/18 june and had a great stay.the room was basic but very clean and tidy,the staff are fantastic and a shout out to Rory in the bar,a great chap and very helpful.Would we stop here again,without a shadow of a doubt,great place,great staff and well situated along the front.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

magsConventry_england, Many thanks for your recent review following your stay at the hotel. We were delighted to read that you had a great time here in Brighton and that you found that team to be fabulous; esp Rory who I know will be very thankful that you mentioned him by name! This will make his day - thank you. The... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just come back from staying here for one night which was enough. On arrival we entered the very tiny and run down carpark whilst two very unsmart members of staff was outside the male member of staff stood watching the female member mop the steps. On arriving into the hotel we was met with a revolving door which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Gilliann M, We thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologise that you felt that the hotel did not meet your expectations and for any inconvenience that this may have caused to you. The hotel does charge for car parking at time of check in 2 alternatives were offered to yourself should you wish to not park at... More 

Totnes
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A pleasant hotel on the seafront, very convenient for the Conference Centre which is just a short stroll along the seafont. The staff were very helpful and pleasant, they made you feel genuinely welcome. When I forgot my iPad charger they promptly sent it on the next day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

peterctotnes, The team and I thank you for your feedback. Located in the heart of Brighton we are an easy walk to all local attractions. I was delighted to read that you received your iPad charger in an timely manner. Regards, Ms Kuldeep Badesha Operations Manager More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A two night stay in June. Very much appreciated the seafront location, and the realative nearness of town - a brisk 15 mins got me to gorgeous trendy clothes shops and more places to eat than I could contemplate. I paid £160 for a two night stay, which is incredibly good value; my room was fine. That's it, just fine.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Lesley P, We thank you for your feedback. The hotel is located in the heart of Brighton and a great base for many of your guests. The hotel does charge for car parking and should guests wish to not use our facilities then alternatives in and around the local area. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

168 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (126)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay