We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Hotel amenities
4 people have started booking this hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    306
    255
    107
    69
See reviews for
124
431
30
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (894)
  • Mar-May only
    (214)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (292)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (190)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (198)
All months
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
78 hotel reviews
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Although the hotel is somewhat tired and could probably do with an extensive make-over, the rooms themselves were adequate with all usual facilities and the bed particularly comfortable. The food, for both dinner and breakfast, was 'OK', rather than great. So, I guess the hotel would have merited only an 'Average' marking were it not for the staff - each... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

loseapoint, Thank you for your recent feedback and will be sure to share this with the team. I was delighted to read that all team members that you encountered were helpful, friendly and efficient; we take great pride in ensuring that we achieve this time and time again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards,... More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Every member of staff from reception onwards was friendly, efficient and obliging. The refurbished room was comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast buffet had a wide choice and the poached eggs were perfectly cooked. All for a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Jan K, We thank you for your review. Here at the hotel, we pride ourselves in delivering a first class service to all our guests and it was great to note that once again we achieved this; I will be sure to share this feedback with the team. With all beds in the hotel having been replaced, this has allowed... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

No real complaints. Perfectly adequate for what we wanted i.e. Somewhere reasonable to come back to at the end of the day. We had a standard double room and this was quite big enough for our one night stay. Room was clean. As the name suggests the Hotel is right on the sea front. It is about mid way between... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Iant100, The team and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the location to all the local attractions; being only a stone's throw from the beech and a short walk to The Lanes, we are in the hub of the city. We look forward... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I and two close friends of ours had the misfortune to stay at this hotel on 17th to 19th March 2015. The rooms were pleasant with a sea view but were like a sauna really uncomfortable! I requested that the temperature in the rooms was too hot and could the heat be turned down but it seemed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

LynBedfordshire, The team and I would like to thank you for providing us with your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. I would like to apologise that you felt that the hotel did not meet your expectations and for any inconvenience that this may have caused to you. The temperature within the hotel bedrooms are individually controlled and... More 

London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed a couple of nights here, check in was fast, my room on the 4th floor was good but had steep steps upto the bathroom ( not ideal if like me you suffer a bit of age related knee pain ) - accept of course given its not a modern building it was not built with a private bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

omega65, The team and I thank you for your recent feedback. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay; please note for future bookings that due to the character of the building that some bathrooms do have stairs leading into them, this is not the case for all bathrooms. We have rooms to suit all requirements so please... More 

Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed as part of a 'Friday night affair' deal which included dinner, wine, breakfast and a nights stay in the hotel. It was a good price and a special deal but I'm not sure it was value for money. The hotel is in a good location and many parts of the hotel are gorgeous. Our room however was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Rachael C, The team and I would like to thank you for providing us with your comments. I will be sure to share these with the team and moving forward to ensure that action is taken to improve both our service and standards offering in line with all feedback received. Kind Regards, Ms Kuldeep Badesha Operations Manager More 

Lynsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fawlty Towers is alive and well although John Cleese was absent. Like a tired old Butlins style hotel this place is tired and poorly managed yet oversubscribed. The room wasn't too bad but nowhere near what we would expect from a 4 star. We had a meal package booked for a 24 hour stay to find half the items on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

donfowler, The team and I thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologise that you felt that the hotel did not meet your expectations and for any inconvenience that this may have caused to yourself. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team and make changes as and where required. Regards, Ms Kuldeep Badesha Operations... More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed at this hotel for 1 night and it was super , very welcoming and very comfortable the staff were very pleasant especially thomas , he was in the bar in the afternoon and evening and was a pleasure to talk to . and have him serve us , he was then at the restaurant for breakfast ,and again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Christine h, The team and I thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. The hotel prides itself on the first class service that we provide to all our guests and it was brilliant to read in your review that we achieved this yet again - I thank you for your very kind comments about Thomas... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a work trip & overall the hotel wasn't bad & the breakfast was brilliant, with a good selection of healthier options and sausages etc. The decor was fairly dated and the room didn't have some basics such as a kettle etc which I didn't feel would have been hard to supply. Fresh towels also weren't provided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Laura542, Many thanks for your feedback about your stay. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay; sea view rooms are very popular and therefore we always advise to ensure that this is pre booked to avoid disappointment. Regards, Ms Kuldeep Badesha Operations Manager More 

Tring, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friends of ours had booked to stay there and we booked for 2 nights to spend some time in Brighton with them. If I had read these reviews before going I probably would not have chosen this Hotel. The location was ideal for us a short walk from The Lanes. The staff were really helpful and the building has obviously... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

BarronvonCwinddell, The team and I thank you for your recent feedback. We were delighted to read that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay at the hotel and enjoyed Brighton and all it had to offer. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

146 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question