We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 Brighton hotels

Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Hotel amenities
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel to your Saves list
51%
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
CityGirlCH Switzerland
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    272
    221
    88
    57
See reviews for
113
364
25
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (772)
  • Mar-May only
    (180)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (292)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (162)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (138)
All months
Switzerland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A lovely hotel, old-fashioned hotel building with central staircase. We were upgraded to a sea-view room which was great - you could lie in bed and look at the sea! The bed was exceptionally comfortable, and we got a welcome drink too! Breakfast was a little bit chaotic - I think they were understaffed or a huge party had just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights over a weekend with my sister and brother-in-law. This hotel is lovely, staff very friendly and always eager to help. We up graded to a Privilege Room and it had fantastic sea views, the room was big and very clean. The bar was great with a sea view and lovely cocktails made by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Sandra0661, Thank you for taking time to provide myself and the team with your recent online review! We are delighted to read that you have an excellent stay with us - the sea view rooms that the hotel has to offer are a very popular choice and a great way to enjoy the sea views from the comfort of your... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked a short weekend break to celebrate Tony's birthday and enjoyed our stay, particularly the cheerful service. Fine room, good comfortable bed, clean bathroom/loo, pleasant surroundings. The hot food I had for breakfast on the first day was excellent but on the second morning the hot buffet was not available and the English breakfasts were delivered straight from the kitchen.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Denis M, The team and I thank you for your feedback and we were delighted that you chose to celebrate Tony's birthday with us here at the hotel! We pride ourselves in delivering a first class service to all out guests and it was great to read that the team provide service with a smile and a few laughs and... More

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First time we stayed in this hotel. Well had a wonderful stay. Friendly helpful staff. Great meals and breakfast. Lovely comfortable beds large room. Clean and tidy. Nice bathroom. Bar girl was great. And waiter was brilliant. Thank you for making a great weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Shazzzzzzzzz, The team and I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your recent review. We were all delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Regards, Ms Kuldeep Badesha Operations Manager More

Cambridge, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel dates back to the times of "Upstairs, Downstairs," when people brought along the help - a maid and butler to take care of their extensive wardrobes and grooming, nanny for their kids. Today's cheaper rooms were yesteryear's servants quarters. A big part of my visit to Brighton was about its history. This hotel is part of that history.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

zedzded, The team and I would like to thank you for your recent online review. As you will have explored during your recent visit, Brighton and the hotel itself is steeped in history and much like yourself, the team and I enjoy learning all about Brighton and what the hotel was like when know as the Norfolk Hotel. I was... More

Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I liked the room assigned to us, but it was hot for summer stay without cool air conditioning. Beachfront location, walking distance to shopping mall, many nearby restaurants and enjoyed walking along the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

FionTanFamily, I would like to thank you for your recent feedback. Brighton did experience some unusual weather this summer and to assist guests we provided fans within the bedrooms to aid in cooling down. The hotel is a firm favourite with guests as only a stone's throw from the beach and a short walk to all the attractions. We look... More

Coventry
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been lucky enough to go away on a regular basis had many wonderful experiences . But this hotel was dated and expensive buckets in the hall collecting the rain coming through the ceiling. The view from the window was just an old fire escape , although we went 11/1014 for two days and it's was raining and windy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

David M, The team and I would like to thank you for your recent online review. I would like to apologise that you feel the hotel did not meet your expectations and for any inconvenience that this may have caused to you during your stay. I thank you for your comments relating to breakfast and the team that you encountered... More

poole
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Probably worst hotel ive ever stayed poor room poor decor poor breakfast totaly give this place a serious think first £125 one night stay rip off !!!!!!!!!!! location very good but hotel is very tired staff wer very friendly not there fort stayd in much better b&b

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

PooleKevin, The team and I would like to thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed to read that you felt the hotel did not meet your expectations. In order to allow for me to investigate this with the team I would ask that you contact me on 061op@jupiterhotels.co.uk. I look forward to hearing from you. Regards, Ms Kuldeep Badesha... More

London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a sea view room which was certainly not cheap. Our keys didn't work so we were already a bit frazzled before we got in. Granted it was an unusually warm day for early October but the room was like an oven. The window was all of 1 m wide and only opened three inches at the bottom -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Aisling 0, The team and I would like to thank you for your feedback. The Sea View Rooms here at the hotel are very popular and I would like to apologise that you feel that the room allocated to yourself did not meet your expectations. Brighton as well as several other areas of the UK did experience unusually warmer weather... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel multiple times now. It has become a tradition for my partner and I to spend our anniversary here and we intend to do so again, on New Year's Eve. We have stayed in a family room, privilege room and classic rooms and always found them to be lovely. The service is wonderful and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

ChloeRackham1987, The team and I thank you for providing us with your review. As regular guests it is great to hear that on each occasion that you have stayed with us, the team and I have exceeded your expectations and the service has been our usual first class performance. We have noted your comments about your return visit this December... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay