We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 44 Brighton hotels

Kings Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 - 141 Kings Rd, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kings Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
48%
Ranked #27 of 44 hotels in Brighton
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
maccaderby242 Derby, UK
  • Reviews (662)
  • Photos (118)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (137)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    218
    178
    105
    86
See reviews for
65
281
43
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good location, about 10 mins seafront walk from the centre of Brighton. It seems that car parking needs to be arranged in advance because we originally parked in the hotels car park but were asked to move by a member of hotel staff to a car park in Regency Square which cost £20 a day. The room was of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sidcup, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived to discover no parking facilty available, yet was told on the telephone there is .....was taken up 4 sets of stairs because the lift was not working, to a small dark dismal room with filthy carpet and chipped damaged furniture. I asked to change the room and said to the man that I had requested a sea view room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review

I was disappointed to read your review. The hotel has limited parking which is on a first come first served basis. This is highlighted on our website and all other third party websites. Having reviewed your booking there was no request for a sea view and in advance all sea view room carry a suppliment. Unfortunately the lift was out... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly Welcome and accommodating my requests with a smile. Well cooked breakfast. Don't skimp. This is a must at the price. Rooms beautifully clean and all the facilities worked. And the bonus of a good nights sleep. I will definitely use this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and I look forward to you returning in the future. Iain Lindsay General Manager More

Earby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we chanced upon this hotel by accident - we saw people enjoying the sunshine outside and thought 'lets try this one'. We are glad we did, the last hotel we stayed at in Brighton was shall we say 'basic' and yet this hotel was less per night and included breakfast!!! The staff are very friendly and helpful, yes the lift... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words about the team who do try to make every guests enjoy their stay. I apologise the lift was out of order but pleased to say all back working again. I look forward to you returning in the future. Iain Lindsay General Manager More

Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and a friend stayed here when attending a friends event last year. I have never experienced such a disgusting hotel room/staff. The list of faults with our room was shocking! When I complained to the manager she accused me of lying! I refused the offer of 5% off my stay which she offered and I took the matter to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response however referring to a stay a year previous it is very hard to make comment. The hotel does not have any basement room and is a privately owned hotel without an Area Manager. Perhaps you are reviewing a different hotel from where you stayed. Iain Lindsay General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my friends picked this hotel for a 1 night stay as it had a quadruple room. Not too far away from the pier, pleasant reception and bar area with ok prices in the bar. Our room flooring was rather uneven causing the furniture to shake and rattle. Unfortunately the lift was not working so after a word with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you fr your review and I apologise that during your stay our lift was out of order. This has been repair and back in working order. Unfortunately the few car parking spaces we have are rented from the adjacent flat and we could not absorb this cost into our room rates. i hope you will come back to the... More

Northampton, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was booked on the day of our stay on a very sunny weekend in Brighton, so I think we were fortunate to find such a convenient place to stay. It's right on the sea front and not far from the NCP on Regency Square. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was what I was expecting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review

I was pleased to read your review and that this was a second visit and you had the same room on both occasions. Great to read you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again. Iain Lindsay General Manager More

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this hotel for a nights stay. Upon arrival the reception staff were most friendly and helpful. We had arrived slightly early so they let us check in there and then. The room was fit for purpose although did look a little tired. White sheets which for me is a must! Could not fault the cleanliness and the bed was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review after your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to read you found the staff friendly and you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Iain Lindsay General Manager More

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would say overall, i would be happy to stay here again but realistically it would not be my first choice. The reception staff on arrival were friendly and the lobby was appealing. The lift is quite old and takes a while to transport you! The interior was nice however was starting to look worn down, but have definitely seen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the hotel and I was pleased you enjoyed your stay and would return in the future. Iain Lindsay General Manager More

Workington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel for a week and found it to be pretty average. The staff were friendly and would say hello when passing on the stairs etc which I think is a basic requirement from your staff when running a business. The only time we had a bad experience on a staff related issue was one morning at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review after your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and found the staff pleasant. The apologise about the WIFI issue and was please to read this was rectified. We have been upgrading the WIFI to insure that we are offering free WIFI in all rooms and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Address: 139 - 141 Kings Rd, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (103)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
84

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer