We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 44 Brighton hotels

Kings Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 - 141 Kings Rd, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kings Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
47%
Ranked #28 of 44 hotels in Brighton
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
paullei Leeds
  • Overview
  • Reviews (669)
  • Photos (118)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (140)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

669 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    218
    180
    107
    88
See reviews for
66
286
43
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It's about 15 mins' walk from the main pier, and by the sea. Hence it is fairly central, but not as much as many other hotels available. As a result, and given the relatively basic standards of the hotel it's reasonably priced. Receptionists were courteous and helpful. Wifi was free. However, being at the back of the hotel I found... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at this little gem on our way from London to Southampton (overnight) it was the worst hotel on our 8 week trip, No place to park the cat to check in we had to park in a No Stopping zone to get our bags into the foyer (2 large bags 2 cabin bags and shoulder bags) then they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I can not fault this hotel in any way! We went to Brighton on a hen weekend and upon arriving at our accommodation we were disgusted! So much so that two of us refused to stay there! Desperate to find somewhere affordable last minute we came across the kings hotel! We wandered ten minutes up the road and were greeted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The husband and I nip off for a night or two in Brighton whenever we can and have stayed in seven or eight Brighton hotels over the past five years, ranging from the pricey to the budget: this was by far the worst. We gathered from the empty glasses and dirty ashtrays littering the tables outside the front entrance that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Found the staff very helpful polite. Room was good size, clean, tidy, side view of promenade, could do with air conditioning. Breakfast was good. Have marked as 3 stars, because there was no air conditioning, and it was a very warm 2 days. We knew about the car parking, so went by train.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surbiton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel should be closed down, having arrived with my girlfriend only to find the wanted £15 more to park my car.. Having paid £185 for a dirty room which had not been cleaned there was labels from the last person that had stayed, the windows would not close. They then asked me did I want to pay a extra... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location, about 10 mins seafront walk from the centre of Brighton. It seems that car parking needs to be arranged in advance because we originally parked in the hotels car park but were asked to move by a member of hotel staff to a car park in Regency Square which cost £20 a day. The room was of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sidcup, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived to discover no parking facilty available, yet was told on the telephone there is .....was taken up 4 sets of stairs because the lift was not working, to a small dark dismal room with filthy carpet and chipped damaged furniture. I asked to change the room and said to the man that I had requested a sea view room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review

I was disappointed to read your review. The hotel has limited parking which is on a first come first served basis. This is highlighted on our website and all other third party websites. Having reviewed your booking there was no request for a sea view and in advance all sea view room carry a suppliment. Unfortunately the lift was out... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly Welcome and accommodating my requests with a smile. Well cooked breakfast. Don't skimp. This is a must at the price. Rooms beautifully clean and all the facilities worked. And the bonus of a good nights sleep. I will definitely use this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and I look forward to you returning in the future. Iain Lindsay General Manager More

Earby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we chanced upon this hotel by accident - we saw people enjoying the sunshine outside and thought 'lets try this one'. We are glad we did, the last hotel we stayed at in Brighton was shall we say 'basic' and yet this hotel was less per night and included breakfast!!! The staff are very friendly and helpful, yes the lift... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words about the team who do try to make every guests enjoy their stay. I apologise the lift was out of order but pleased to say all back working again. I look forward to you returning in the future. Iain Lindsay General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Address: 139 - 141 Kings Rd, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (103)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
84

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer