We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Umi Brighton Hotel

64 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NA, England
Hotel amenities
Umi Brighton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Margaret C Watford, United Kingdom
Add Your Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    337
    195
    115
    116
See reviews for
104
402
57
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (945)
  • Mar-May only
    (212)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (243)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (250)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (240)
All months
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed overnight with a voucher, bought for us as a present. We were quite apprehensive after reading some of the reviews, but on arrival the reception staff were very pleasant & helpful, we were told our room was ready - although not 3.00pm & we had been upgraded. The sea facing room & en suite were clean & spacious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brackley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I stayed for a night recently as we were seeing a show at the Brighton Centre, We were very happy with our stay. Nice clean rooms, they were a decent size for what you pay and had everything you might need. The location was ideal, very very close to the Brighton Centre and also right on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wethersfield, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Umi Brighton from 7/March thru 17/March. We were visiting our son, who lives in Brighton and it was out first trip to Europe. The hotel was quaint and cozy. The exterior fits in with the local décor. The staff was excellent. They were extremely helpful with directions to the local attractions and were helpful in making motor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

great value for money, room was clean and well appointed and had everything you could need. The only negative was I didn't get a sea view had a view of a brick wall but then I was only there to visit the brighton centre and wasn't there on holiday so wasn't a major issue, but if you were on holiday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Thank you for your feedback and kind comments following your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you back in the near future. Regards GM More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night at this hotel on a voucher offer and was glad we had not paid full price. The hotel decor is a bit tired although our room was clean and the bed was very comfy. The bathroom was clean and shower efficient and hot. There was free wi-fi in the bedroom which was a bit hit-and-miss with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Thankyou for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor, your feedback is much appreciated Regards GM More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is great and the discount on the car park is brilliant.. Reception staff were really pleasant but sadly the positives end here. First room full of black mould and I mean a lot. Was moved to another room and there was no mould in the room, however bathroom was not particularly clean, and shower screen was filthy, bathroom had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies you were not satisfied with your recent stay and would appreciate your time in contacting the hotel at your earliest convenience to discuss this in more depth Kind Regards GM More 

Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose the Umi because of its location right next to the Brighton Centre. We had a good feeling about the hotel as soon as we checked in. Liam on the desk gave us a warm welcome and was extremely helpful. The room was clean, the beds were very comfortable and we had a great view of the seafront. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UmiBrighton, General Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your kind comments regarding our team, breakfast and building following your recent stay. Your time taken to post a review is much appreciated Regards Management More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, hygienic or well maintained hotel. Our room was badly maintained with cracks in the tiles in the bathroom, unclean bed spread, dirty bathroom, dusty fan, dusty and dirty radiator. Our view was of air conditioning units only and a wall. We paid the money by voucher but didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam On check in, you were disappointed in your room and complained to the Duty Manager. He apologised and offered to come to your room to re dust your room and hoover as per your feed back. You didn't allow the Duty Manager access, so he offered to room move you, which you declined when told it wasn't an... More 

Sudbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here last summer, was upgraded free of charge. Although the room was basic and a bit tired it was spacious, clean, full bathroom and had fantastic sea view. This time around totally the opposite. Room was dirty, the mattresses were appalling,very uncomfortable and one had a massive what looked like blood stain on it. (Only noticed as tried to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am appalled by your pictures, review and very disappointed you felt you couldn't bring this to anyone's attention. Please contact the hotel at your earliest convenience and ask for the GM so I can personally apologise and arrange a refund Kind Regards GM More 

Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked into the Umi on a voucher booking, not really knowing not to expect. The hotel is right on the seafront, overlooking both piers with great sea views from the front. We were upgraded on arrival to a sea view room. The beds were very comfortable. The room was very well equipped, tea and coffee making facilities, good TV,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sir Many thanks for your honest, accurate feedback on our hotel. Your kind comments regarding the team have been passed on and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

224 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (219)
Viewed
Room/suite (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
View from room (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question