We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Umi Brighton Hotel

64 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NA, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Umi Brighton Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,053 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    212
    367
    216
    129
    129
See reviews for
116
446
62
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1053)
  • Mar-May only
    (249)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (314)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (250)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (240)
All months
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

My friend and I have on two separate occasions been desperate to find a room in the early hours of the morning when we're in Brighton, and despite not having bookings or coming in at awkward times, the staff are nothing but helpful and have found us a room. I appreciate the help the gentleman at reception very much, he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at this hotel with a friend recently as part of a Livingsocial deal. We also paid extra to upgrade to have a sea view. Arrival was mid afternoon and reception staff were friendly and very welcoming. Hotel is directly on Brighton seafront a little way down from the pier. So for location it's great. There is no stopping outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham Uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here on a wowcher deal and found the hotel to be more than adequate. Rooms were a good size (we had 2 twins) and staff were helpful and accommodating. The room was hot, and because of location (right on main road) sleeping with window open not really an option, but ceiling fan was just about sufficient. Breakfast was slightly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have doen booking through wowcher code and called up for enquiries and Mathew answered all of my queries such patience and politeness , awesome customer service skills Mathew, you made us glad. And thanks for the arrangement made for us before we could check in on 31st august. Thanks a lotzz.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teddington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Umi Hotel is a decent, basic, budget hotel in an excellent location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately I stayed in a room opposite a backpacker's hostel and nightclub - the noise was REALLY loud until at least 3am. I accept that in a central location there will be some noise but this was unacceptable. I asked to be moved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Apologies you were disturbed by external noise, Umi is a city centre location and on occasion is effected by external noise. Our rates are in line with all other seafront hotels and was most surprised by your comment ' rooms were not particularly clean'. Our rooms are cleaned by a reputable cleaning agency daily and thoroughly checked by... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Berkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I left my Cool Bag in the room with a bottle of Moet Vintage Champagne in it. I called that day to say I'd left it and advised in which cupboard it was left. Apparently it was never found. How convenient!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Your room was checked for any lost property by the Housekeeper and Duty Manager and nothing was found. The maid that cleaned your room has confirmed ,there was not any guest property in the room. I have now passed your alleged theft onto our Cleaning company and will make contact with their findings. Regards GM More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have booked 3 Advanced rooms at the Umi Hotel for the 23/08/2015 to watch the Air show at Shoreham due to the tragic events today I phoned up to cancel the rooms and asked if I could have a refund under the circumstance and was told no as the rooms were booked at an advanced rate (non refundable) .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I think you have answered your own question. You clearly state you were aware you booked an advanced purchase rate and are aware of the T&C s The upside of an advanced purchase rate is the booker gets a lower rate. But it is clearly stated it can not be cancelled, amended or altered. I am at a... More 

Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel exceeded all expectation & it was a real treat to stay. We had a 2nd-floor, sea-facing room which was spacious, clean & comfortable. There was minimum street noise but we stayed mid-week so any whingers who complain about noise at the week ends should balance that out before they condemn a place. We were really delighted with our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. Your detail is much appreciate and sure future guests will find it beneficial. Great to hear you will be returning and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Kind Regards GM More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a room on the first floor - the pink floor. Not a good view but the room had everything we needed for an overnight stay. Car park was tight for our car but was cheaper then the local NCP. Our friend got a deal via the hotel with RCP car park - a 5/10 minutes walk which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. The RCP is only £10, which does make it, one of the best value car parks in Brighton and was pleased to read you made use of this offer. Hopefully you will be visiting us again soon Regards UMI Team More 

London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Breakfast is good, the staff are very helpful and polite but in one of the triple rooms at the back it was incredibly noisy until 3am. Shower OK and beds - well mine was uncomfortable but the other 2 in the room were fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review following your recent stay, please accept my apologies you were disturbed by external noise, something I often find with such central locations I hope it hasn't deterred you from visiting Umi again Regards GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

515 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (248)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (79)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Other (61)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (262)
Viewed
Dorm Room (29)
Viewed
Double Seaview (37)
Viewed
Family Executive (39)
Viewed
Family Quad (31)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (8)
Viewed
Seaview Suite (40)
Viewed
Single Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)
Viewed
Twin Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#11 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,793 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#14 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre
Ibis Brighton City Centre
#13 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 45 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 1,251 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 3,339 reviews
0.4 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#8 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay