We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Umi Brighton Hotel

64 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NA, England
Hotel amenities
Umi Brighton Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Peter J
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    342
    197
    117
    118
See reviews for
106
411
58
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (963)
  • Mar-May only
    (230)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (243)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (250)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (240)
All months
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for two nights In April. Glorious weather great sea view room, get what you pay for here with views to die for. Great staff , great welcome and great guy on reception Liam,,, thank you umi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir Many thanks for your great review and kind comments regarding Liam. Liam prides himself in his customer service, which makes it all the more rewarding when guests not only recognise this but feed back via trip advisor. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Umi in the near future Kind Regards GM More 

Burnley
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice position on centrally on the sea front. Looks clean and tidy from the front. Nice friendly greeting from reception. Upgraded our room to a sea view for an extra £25 per night even tho the night before when I called to check the booking they said it would be £20. Room was average. Bed was comfortable and facilities in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your informative and detailed review following your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you again at next years Marathon. Regards Management More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked the cheapest room for a friday night stay (which in general terms still wasn't that cheap.) It was horrendous. Firstly, the staff were too busy chatting to each other when we arrived that they looked generally annoyed that we were interrupting them. Secondly, the room, although a decent size, was in a shoddy condition. The bathroom looked very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Please accept my sincere apologies that you were far from happy with your stay. Whereas your comments are thankfully nothing like the majority of our reviews, we clearly got it wrong on this occasion. I have checked our Duty Manager Reports and there is no record of you bringing anything to our attention. I would be most grateful... More 

London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Umi having booked it through Wowcher and although I had to upgrade to a seaview room the overall cost and quality of room and hotel was superb. Thew staff were smiling and friendly upon arrival and seemed to like working there as opposed to many reception staff in hotels I have visited. My room on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your generous comments and positive feedback, which is much appreciated. Please accept our sincere apologies, that you were disturbed by some of our other guests and please make sure you book direct with myself for your next stay and by way of further apology will authorise a free upgrade to a sea view room Thank... More 

London, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights here, 7-9th April. Didn't know what to expect, but we were very pleasantly surprised. We received a very warm & welcoming greeting from Liam after our 2 hour drive from London. We did arrive a wee bit early & wasn't expecting any favours but he was so CHARMING he was gracious enough to book us in early,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UmiBrighton, General Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Thank-you for such a charming review and lovely comments regarding our receptionist Liam. It was great to hear that he looked after you and we look forward to welcoming you back next month Regards GM More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Umi hotel is situated right on the seafront in Brighton with easy access to the beach and shopping in the famous Lanes. The staff and in particular Liam were warm friendly and helpful. Our double sea view room was clean comfortable and with a fab view. The buffet breakfast served in Little Bay next door and worth a visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. Your positive comments and kind words regarding Liam are much appreciated, hopefully you will return to see us sooner rather than later Regards GM More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Umi is a pretty good budget hotel with some definite pluses. The location is excellent, right on the seafront, very close to everything, and the hotel makes it easy to park (at a discount) in the nearby multi-storey and then walk around the centre of town. The room was tiny but comfortable, the bathroom very nice and powerful shower.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UmiBrighton, General Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Thank you for your honest, accurate and positive feed back following your recent stay. Please make sure when booking your next stay you make use of your returning guest discount. We look forward to seeing you soon Regards UMI Team More 

Fulda, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We got a newly renovated seaview room on the 3rd floor. Free wifi (didn't work on the first night but we asked and Liam had it fixed the next day), spacious room, fresh towels daily if we wanted, friendly staff (the men at least). We avoided the weekend because we knew that Brighton would be very much alive. Our stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I was pleased to read that overall you were happy with your stay, but felt from your review that a female member of the team may not have been up to standard. We would much appreciate you contacting the hotel to elaborate on this,... More 

Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Warm welcome, smart/clean tidy room. Lovely see view of the seaside, very helpful and cheerful staff...pleasure to stay in a great location near all the bars/food and pier! Would recommend to all for that want a quick break away from home and work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor following your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future kind Regards GM More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here Thursday just gone. I was looking for a cheap hotel just a couple of days before we went and I saw this was the cheapest at around £47 per night on most sites. But I went on lastminute.com and saw the secret hotel deal (this just gives you a rough description of the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UmiBrighton, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. Your kind comments are much appreciated and very kind. Your feed back has been passed onto Jaymes and the team. Regards GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

236 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (231)
Viewed
View from room (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question