We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

3.0 of 5 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    294
    357
    328
    732
See reviews for
203
742
90
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1813)
  • Mar-May only
    (425)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (536)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (433)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (419)
All months
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked for one night with a groupon voucher and only read reviews after booking. Ignore some of the awful reviews...if I had read them first I would not have booked, however, so glad I did. The hotel is in a great location, within easy reach of local attractions. Our room was clean and tidy. We had lovely food. Our voucher... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My daughter and I stopped in this hotel weekend 17 January on a coach trip-after reading the reviews we were dubious of what to expect- we were welcomed by polite receptionist and staff-our room was No 0336 and had panoramic view of the pier- the room was large and everywhere clean and immaculate - food was buffet style and good-all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have read many reviews before staying at this hotel, and to be honest was dreading it. Well what can I say is that it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay. When you think of what you pay when travelling with National coach holidays its only pennies . Please dont rate or expect a hotel as a five star when you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We came here with high hopes. I had seen the hotel over the years and thought it looked like a lovely old fashioned seaside hotel. On arrival the first impression wasn't great with a window in the bar boarded up and a generally shabby appearance. We booked in. Nice staff, then went to the room allegedly with a sea view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hartlepool, england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed as part of a National break, large room, very clean, comfy beds, good shower and plenty of hot water. Weather was wild outside, wind, rain, so the windows leaked a bit ... they are refurbishing and have a huge task on their hands but staff remain polite and friendly. Had a problem with shower control - repaired quickly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I spent a few days in this hotel, and less waiting for the price to pay, I had a pleasant surprise. Cozy and clean room, and the best for me, the staff attentive and always friendly. Good deal and a nice stay, which has exceeded my expectations. I will back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoyalAlbion715, Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our product and service, and it looks like we came up trumps on both aspects for your stay. I hope you get the chance to come stay with us again soon. Kind regards More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I visited the hotel last week for my birthday due to the location. I am an electric wheelchair user after an accident and the hotel were aware of my needs. The guest I was staying with arrived before me and was not allowed to go into the room as it had not been paid for even though I had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Folkestone, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had read the reviews before we booked and were aware the hotel may be a little shabby.. However we were really impressed with just about everything! Our room (118) was spotlessly clean, beds were very comfortable, the spa bath was amazing and the view off the balcony of the pier was outstanding. The staff were friendly and courteous and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoyalAlbion715, Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your recent stay. We welcome all comments from guests regarding their stay, and yours showcases the kind of service we provide to the vast majority of our customers. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, The management. More 

Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Came with national holidays. Good value for money. Self service breakfast and lunch but staff very attentive. Although the hotel needs updating they are beginning the long job of restoration. Being here in January rooms lovely and warm. Rooms cleaned every day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoyalAlbion715, Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. I was pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to Brighton in the future, Kind Regards, Hotel Management More 

East Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I suspect the 5* rating for location has prevented this hotel from displaying an average score of below 2* The communal areas are dated and more than frayed. There are crudely printed A4 sheets of paper stuck to walls of reception advertising £10 late checkout fee. Another advertising their terrace, which is in dire need of a hose down, paint... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RoyalAlbion715, Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory. You have mentioned the rooms are filthy, damp and dirty. There may have been an issue with your particular room but the majority of our rooms are not any of these things. I am sorry that you experienced this and that we were not able to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton

585 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (578)
Viewed
Room/suite (176)
Viewed
View from room (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (65)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (212)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay