We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 Brighton hotels

Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Hotel amenities
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton to your Saves list
Ranked #43 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    278
    345
    320
    718
See reviews for
198
726
88
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1759)
  • Mar-May only
    (425)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (536)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (430)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (368)
All months
Surrey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night with friends. We have been here a few times and knew what to expect. It is an old hotel and needs TLC but as it is in such a lovely spot we like to stay there and watch the world go by. Unfortunatly we could not do that this time as it was so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoyalAlbion715, Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review

Dear sir/madam Unfortunately due to the age of the building we do sometimes have problems with heating; Please accept my apologies, I have my maintenance team working on the central heater for public areas. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the manager who spoke to you in that manner, I can only apologise for his behaviour. Please if you... More

Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Didn't book, just took a chance and turned up in Brighton. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and offered a couple of rooms but we paid extra and went for the sea-view on the 3rd Floor. Paid £119 for room only (one night) whereas our friends paid £141 for 2 nights although they didn't have a sea-view. The reception and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoyalAlbion715, Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review, room prices change depends on business level, please accept my apologies if you were not advice with it. We are under a major refurbishment program with work being done on the outside and the inside of the building. The scaffolding is being erected since the 2ndNovember and the outside works are currently on... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel does not deserve a rating, old and tired is the polite way to describe it, paid £109 for a room and no breakfast, I was in room 179, below pavement level, felt like you were walking down into the bowels if the titanic, room had painted over damp patches on wall, bath had hair left from previous occupant,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoyalAlbion715, Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory. I take your comments about our staff very seriously and I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the levels of customer service. You have mentioned the rooms are filthy, damp and dirty. There may have been an issue with your particular room but I... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed 2 nights, the first night i was kept awake ALL night by a noisy generator outside room 255. When i asked to change rooms the guy at reception actually laughed at me!!!!!!! The rooms are filthy,the staff are rude and the food is average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoyalAlbion715, Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Madam, I am very sorry to hear of your bad experience at the Royal Albion Hotel. I will be talking to my reception staff after reading your comments about their lack of customer service. As a company this is not something which we see as acceptable. I am also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Currently under refurbishment so scaffolding all over the place, hotel receptionists are about as rude as they come, parking within the area of the hotel is a nightmare although you may get lucky and get one of the 10 parking spaces adjacent to the hotel, oh that's if you want to park for a maximum of 2 hours that is!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

If I could give a rating of zero I would. This hotel is so bad it makes Fawlty Towers look like the Savoy. To make it worse the room rate would indicate that it is a reasonable place to stay. The room was dirty and dated, the bed was small and uncomfortable, the sash windows let in howling winds making... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RoyalAlbion715, Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory. I take your comments about our staff very seriously and I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the levels of customer service. You have mentioned the rooms are filthy, damp and dirty. There may have been an issue with your particular room but I... More

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed for 1 night, we booked a superior sea view room. The room we were given was grubby, dirty, dull and dreary and in serious need of renovating. We complained because there was no way this was a superior room, we were shown another room which was a bit better but no sea view (we paid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoyalAlbion715, Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, I am very sorry to hear of your bad experience at the Royal Albion Hotel. I will be talking to my restaurant staff after reading your comments about their lack of customer service. As a company this is not something which we see as acceptable. I am also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast... More

London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Royal Albion is sadly stuck in the dark ages, both in terms of performance and outfit. Yet it still commands reasonably high room rates. And people (like me) still pay because it's cheaper than the boutique B&B's. The room I stayed in was adequate, but still with problems. I mean, if you're going to charge extra for a sea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoyalAlbion715, Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you very much for taking the time to leave comments about your recent stay at The Royal Albion. We are under a major refurbishment program with work being done on the outside and the inside of the building. The scaffolding is being erected since the 2ndNovember and the outside works are currently on process. We calculate that... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have clearly stayed in some crummy hotels in my time as after reading reviews on here I was expecting the worst. I was pleasantly surprised. The positives: the location is brilliant; it's reasonably priced; the room was clean; the bed comfy and the staff were on the whole friendly and helpful. The negatives: this place is clearly long overdue... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoyalAlbion715, Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our product and service, and it looks like we came up trumps on both aspects for your stay. I hope you get the chance to come stay with us again soon. Kind regards The Royal Albion Hotel Management More

norwich
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just came home from an enjoyable weekend We had no problems with our check in a friendly member of staff took our luggage while we parked knew that the hotel was being refurbish and aware of the scaffolding when booked we had 2 nights half board the buffet dinner was nice fresh and hot with ample choice breakfast was also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoyalAlbion715, Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review

Dear sir, Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our product and service, and it looks like we came up trumps on both aspects for your stay. I hope you get the chance to come stay with us again soon. Kind regards The management More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

572 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (566)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (157)
Viewed
Bathroom (62)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (44)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (235)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay