We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 Brighton hotels

The Grand Brighton

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Grand Brighton to your Saves list
The Grand Brighton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
69%
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
distantecho Indianapolis, Indiana
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    584
    328
    196
    100
See reviews for
270
985
47
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Grand is an iconic hotel dating back to mid Victorian times. More recently Sting was the bellboy there in Quadrophenia and the IRA tried to blow up the Thatcher government there in 1984. The hotel has an imposing façade and retains a certain charm but is showing its age. I had room 620, perfectly located one floor from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stafford
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just spent two nights at The Grand and found its in parts excellent and in others not so good. Wonderful atmosphere and great service from porters, waiters etc but dark rooms that needed an uplift. I will highly recommend the hotel for such a great stay but it needs a little bit more. Down side very slow lifts and silly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was a one night stay at the Grand in Brighton, dinner bed and breakfast. The outlook from the sea view room was perfect and the room size was generous and high quality. Slight drawback that the room had no aircon, but opening the double doors towards the sea helped. Dinner in the hotel's GB1 restaurant was informal with views... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us following your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed one of our deluxe sea facing bedrooms. We are very fortunate that over a 1/3 of our rooms overlook the seafront and those with balconies really make a stay extra special. In regards to your comments on air conditioning,... More

London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked afternoon tea for my friend and I to enjoy as my last day out before my baby arrived! We went on a Saturday at 2.30 sitting. I was really disappointed from the outset, the menu is left on each table printed on a single sheet of paper which is reused several times so looks quite grubby. The waitress... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback. I was incredibly disappointed to read that your experience of afternoon tea didn’t meet your expectations. We do pride ourselves on our afternoon tea offering and the comments we often receive from visitors are extremely positive. We strive to offer a very high level of service and quality of food that represents value for... More

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Been here a few times now over the past 20 years and every time we stay is a real treat. The hotel is wonderful and the service excellent. Rooms are always clean and we'll kept. Standards here have not slipped since my first visit. If you can afford the room rate then you must give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and it is great to hear that you are a regular visitor to The Grand. I appreciate your kind comments relating to our excellent service and the high standards of our bedrooms. We strive to continually maintain and exceed the customer experience, therefore it is fantastic to receive recognition of this. We hope to... More

Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

top class large room paid for and not disappointed. Everything in good order especially bathroom which is normally first place to show wear. Good TV with good reception and Sky channel package. Full sea view. Rest of Brighton swamped with vagrants/beggers but sea front is mostly clear of this problem. The lifts are very slow as staggered floors means you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor. I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed one or our Grand Collection rooms with the extra features included such as Sky TV and Verisimo coffee machines... I am sorry that you had a few issues with the lifts, however I am pleased that our maintenance team quickly resolved this. We hope... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a 4 day stay here for a course. First room was small and dated, the window wouldn't close properly as the bottom latch was broken. The noise in the room was horrendous as the air con for the kitchen etc was directly outside (the room was on the 6th floor overlooking the massive ducts). The maintenance man came and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When booking the Grand in Brighton my expectations were very high considering the price..on arrival the exterior looks pretty shabby and in desperate need of a coat of paint the staff were very attentive and helpful upon booking in the piano was so close to reception I could not hear what was being said and I have perfect hearing..the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, Yorkshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel was fantastic. Yes it's old and this effects the room size and decor but that's a great feature. I had a lovely room looking over the sea. The breakfast was amazing, loads of choice and all fresh ! The service was great also. The only odd thing is the room keys are a little faffy to use. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you had an excellent stay with us and enjoyed one of our refurbished sea view rooms. The kitchen/restaurant team will be delighted to hear your comments on breakfast. We work hard to offer a plentiful breakfast, with a choice for all so I am pleased... More

Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had afternoon tea at the Grand, the service was not what I expected from such a Brighton icon. Tea was fine scones and small cakes adequate, when it came to paying the bill I was short changed, I went to the staff at the cash register area ,the two female waitresses did not acknowledge my presence to begin with ,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Grand Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

562 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (529)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (87)
Viewed
Room/suite (163)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
View from room (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
2:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (172)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Brighton with
any amenities