We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 100 Brighton B&Bs / inns

Artist Residence Brighton

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   33 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2GG, England (Formerly Malvern Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Artist Residence Brighton to your Saves list
Artist Residence Brighton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
90%
Ranked #25 of 100 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
HarrietBark London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    143
    15
    10
    18
See reviews for
46
207
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Myself and a group of friends have just spent the most amazing weekend at Artist Residence in Brighton. From the moment you walk in the door it feels cosy, friendly yet quirky with all of the gorgeous art and furniture to admire. We were a large group of people and therefore quite noisy, all of the staff were incredibly accommodating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived and got a great welcome from staff, very friendly. Family room lovely, not the biggest but spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. Enough room for 2 adults and a littl'un comfortably. Shower room nice and again, spotlessly clean with nice toiletries and plenty of towels. Tea and coffee facilities good with chocolate available which went down well. The breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Lolaspop, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear you found your stay friendly and comfortable. We hope to see you again in the future for another of our mini English breakfasts. Kind Regards Chamane, Noemi, Mel & The AR Team More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I found this on VisitBrighton.com and checked it out on other sites such as TripAdvisor. Word of mouth was excellent. I got a double room for a single and was amazed. This is not a cookie-cutter hotel. Bathroom was small but shower was a decent size, meticulously clean and fresh and brilliantly lit. Bed and linens were excellent. Room temperature... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Margaret L, Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities we have to offer, we are very proud of the art collection we have on display here in the hotel. We hope you find the opportunity to visit us again, don't forget your 10% returning guest discount. Kind Regards... More

Pewsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here with my daughter.It was amazing. From booking it was all perfect. Lovely lady on reception who had relocated from Penzance. Very clean , actually spotless bedroom, fresh white linen and thick towels. Gorgeous toiletries. Mineral water, cakes and a variety of teas etc. Friendly staff, funky décor, locally produced breakfast and complimentary cocktails. Best coffee in Brighton.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear JuliaSmart, Thank you for writing us such a lovely review. We are glad you and your daughter had a perfect time here in Brighton! Our coffee is also roasted locally, we are very lucky to be able to use local suppliers! We hope to welcome you again soon for some more cocktails in the cocktail shack. Kind Regards Chamane,... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Wanted to go to Brighton for a short break by the sea and found the Artist Residence online. It is very quirky and warming and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was one of the small ones, but this didn't matter at all as the space was used very well. The best feature was the balcony, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Stephen O, We are glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and managed to make use of our balcony, we are very lucky to have such a beautiful view of the sun set. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Chamane, Mel, Noemi & The AR Team More

Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This comment regards the booking process: the direct booking through the hotel website does not work and booking.com gives misinformation regarding the availability of rooms. When contacted directly, staff proved to be utterly useless in helping to complete the booking process. It took them two hours to find out that the hotel was in fact completely booked out on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Ullere, We appreciate your feedback and can not apologise enough for the bad experience you had whilst trying to book. We pride ourselves in our great customer service and are sorry that in this case it was not to our usual standard. This was due to an unfortunate temporary problem with our online booking tool which has now been... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved it here, my friend from London brought me here for one of my many hen do's! we had a great time, such a beautiful lovely place to stay. right opposite a large grass green square opposite the old pier. great location. fab place. very clean. loved it. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear sasrose89 Thank you for writing us a lovely review, we are happy to hear you loved your stay. All the best for your wedding! Kind Regards Chamane, Mel, Noemi & The AR Team More

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose to go to Brighton for a night on a whim and found a room here. We are so glad we went. The room was beautiful, the beds, spacious and comfortable and the linen was very nice and clean. The breakfast and coffee were perfect. It was near faultless. As an added bonus they have just opened a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear benembery We are glad you and your family enjoyed our breakfast and your overall stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future for some more cocktails. Kind Regards Chamane, Mel, Noemi & The AR Team More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can not find a single fault with my stay at AR Brighton, I arrived late in the pouring rain having left my car in the clever car park underneath Regency Square, to receive a warm welcome, efficient check in and shown to my fabulous room, with a large floor to ceiling window with wooden shutters, overlooking the sqare and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArtistResidenceTeam, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear jennifer-brown-16, Many thanks for writing us such a nice review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and after a long drive and late arrival in the pouring rain you managed to have a relaxing time. Hope next time you will have the chance to try one of our house original cocktails too. We hope to... More

Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This a lovely find - it feels more downtown Manhattan than in a British seaside town. The rooms were really funky - it was nice that they were priced according to size and view, so you could pick what you want and make a saving if you like. The brekkie was amazing - it was so nice to have choices... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArtistResidenceTeam, General Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Alliemargiotta, Thank you so much for writing us a lovely review. We have recently given our breakfast menu a make over so we are delighted you enjoyed your breakfast. We hope to see you again in the future in Brighton, or our sister hotel down in Cornwall. Best Regards Mel, Chamane, Noemi and the AR Team More

Been to Artist Residence Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Brighton

Also Known As:
Artist Residence Brighton Hotel Brighton
Artist Residence Brighton Hotel
Address: 33 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2GG, England (Formerly Malvern Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist Residence Brighton 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun and quirky rooms with imaginative design, free WI-FI, a cocktail shack bar and cafe deli are featured at this unique townhouse hotel in the heart of Brighton. Located on the seafront in the historic Regency Square this hotel is a 10 minute walk from Brighton train station. Each of the 23 guest rooms at Artist Residence are either individually designed by an artist or by the house and feature vintage and upcycled furniture, limited edition prints, graphic murals, flat screen tvs and en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms have sea views overlooking the West Pier. In addition to being a home from home and unique place to sleep, The Artist Residence serves as a gathering place and hub of community activity for locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Artist Residence Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artist Residence Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.