We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 100 Brighton B&Bs / inns

The Downs Hotel

3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Warren Road | Woodingdean, Brighton BN2 6BB, England
Hotel amenities
The Downs Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com AMOMA.com Venere.com
44%
Ranked #69 of 100 Brighton B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
dupeyabu abu dhabi
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    18
    16
    18
See reviews for
13
22
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
abu dhabi
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Downs Hotel for 3 nights - Fri to Mon. In my opinion, it does not deserve all the negative reviews. I wondered what I was going to be faced with when I arrived after reading some of the reviews. However, I was pleasantly surprised. There was a warm welcome upon arrival, and the barman/receptionist carried my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I arrived tuesday afternoon on a lovely day and had no problem parking. We were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to our room right away. Lovely bright room with everything you need. Very warm at night, comfortable sleep and had en-suite with a hot shower. The floor of our room was rather squeaky, which didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here 1st March with my two daughters following a great evening seeing the Overtones at Brighton Dome :). It's a straightforward pub with ample parking. We booked a room for three but were kindly given a room for four so we all had our own bed; four-poster double and two singles. The room was comfortable, warm, decent bathroom, tv.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just got back from a good weekend at the Downs Hotel. Food and service were excellent - my friend Mandy and I were taken to our rooms straight away. We had a really good portion of fish and chips in the bar there when we arrived on Friday. Breakfast was excellent - cereals, toast, fruit juices, coffee or tea and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Falmouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

do not go there! 1st room was so small we had to unplug bedside light to plug in kettle which had to balance on a chair.no heating! staff packed up all our personal items and moved us to another room while we were out! 2nd room better but still no heating or hot water! there was a peeling damp patch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

my fiance(suffering from 3 brain tumors), myself, and baby Zachery(10weeks old) and 4 dogs were moving back to Brighton from Yorkshire to be around family to support us through my fiances illness. we arrived back in Brighton too late to collect the keys for the house couldn't stay at family as they had no room and also had animals themselves.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My friend and I recently stayed at The Downs Hotel and at a glance we were very happy. We walked into the very welcoming, friendly bar/pub and was greeted by friendly staff. The rooms were spotless and the decor was beautiful. We were both very happy with the rooms and the price, then the following day the breakfast just topped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Reasonably Priced especially to say where it is located, Good Hospitality and the rooms are of a fair to good quality and nice and clean, Breakfast is Excellent and the landlady is good looking which always helps, I would certainly stop here again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I liked everything about this short stay: pleasant welcoming, brilliant food in the evening, good beer, warm room(although quite small) and wonderful English breakfast done just right. And everything for a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

booked this for somewhere to crash on a lads night out in Brighton and price was the overriding factor. Room was not bad, clean and spacious. However, the hotel has a separate toilet and bathroom upstairs - neither of which you could lock the door! The toilets downstairs - again had no locks let alone broken locks!! The local bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
marilobrighton, Owner at The Downs Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Firstly may we thank you for taking the time to review us, as a family run business all feedback is very important. We were concerned about your comment on the locks not working, therefore we checked them and they are working, like the rooms they have a button in the centre of the handle that you push in and... More

Been to The Downs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs Hotel

Address: Warren Road | Woodingdean, Brighton BN2 6BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Downs Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Downs Hotel is set on top of a hill overlooking rolling countryside down to the sea. We are family run and pride ourselves on offering guests a warm welcome. With a bus stop outside that takes you into the centre of Brighton within 15 minutes you can leave your car in our FREE car park and enjoy our beautiful city leisurely. We have a traditional English bar which is popular with locals and has a pool table & darts board. We serve a variety of beers & ales (inc locally produced ones), alongside this our inviting restaurant offers homemade traditional dishes, and our head chef Brendan creates some wonderful weekly specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Downs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Downs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Downs Hotel to your Saves list