We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gather Inn

330 Kingsway | Hove, Brighton BN3 4LW, England (Formerly Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Gather Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited Brighton for a girls night out to celebrate a birthday.. This hotel was perfect for us a room where we could all stay together... On arrival the staff were friendly. The hotel Was clean and tidy and our room was great... The shower room was clean and so too was the room... There were lovely little Touches such... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kellie-jo H
ladybrighton, Owner at The Gather Inn, responded to this review

What a fantastic review! Thank you so much, too often people will only write a review when they are disgruntled over something... and then become story tellers! So I do appreciate you taking the time to write without any motive other than a good time and good service. From a small family business we can't thank you enough :-) Hope... More 

Newport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After reading the positive reviews on this B&B online I thought I would book it for my Hen Weekend. As soon as we arrived I realised I'd made a hideous mistake. The whole place is stuck at around 1979, and not sure it has been decorated since, or the bed linen updated. We had to leave our luggage under a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison B
ladybrighton, Owner at The Gather Inn, responded to this review

I don't understand the 1979 decor comment, the Bar has been redecorated many times and most recently last year, it is cream, olive green and dark wood with chalkboards and pictures. The Guest House is decorated every year, it is blue and white with a beach/ nautical theme... I guess if this is typical of the 70's then we are... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I am so disappointed to be writing this review. We were staying for a hen weekend so we weren't asking for perfect but got far from that. The rooms were badly kept with stains on sheets, a dead spider in the bed, very cheap and uncomfortable mattresses, fittings and tiles/flooring missing from the shower, paper thin walls so we could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
ladybrighton, Owner at The Gather Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed, our bedding is changed every time someone stays so I can assure you that it is completely clean. I will look into the mattress in your room if you could kindly e-mail me and advise which of the three rooms you were in. I am also unaware of all the other things you... More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This B & B is used by a mixture of people from holidaymakers to lorry drivers on a stopover. It has a pool table and a good bar, good food and friendly helpful staff. Room was small (cosy) but a nice touch to the decor was the seaside theme! Good view from window to sea park and lagoon.TV kettle tea/coffee... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 41jeanette
ladybrighton, Owner at The Gather Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review, we really appreciate it :-) More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Nice hotel bit far from Brighton centre, booked another hotel for this year for 5 nights instead of 3 for this year at same price as it was for 3 here, I have stayed here twice & food was nice staff nice just a bit to far

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alybayes
ladybrighton, Owner at The Gather Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice review. I'm sorry you felt it too far but did you know that the number 700 runs every 10 minutes and gets from us to the centre of town in 15? It even runs throughout the night, not as frequently but right up until the morning. We are also one of the very... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Throughout my stay, I was constantly made to feel welcome, nothing was to much effort, the management and all the staff were always smiling and happy, offering advice on the best places to visit and how to get there. The menu for the food in the evening had lots of lovely options and the food was superbly cooked and presented... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank twilson2016
ladybrighton, Owner at The Gather Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review, you have made us all very happy! Hope to see you again soon. More 

BASILDON
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Staff very friendly. Room spacious and clean. Maybe longer and thicker curtains to keep the draft out but good value for money. £5 for full breakfast can't be bad. Would stay again. Parking over the road was plentiful but was January

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank helenwood
ladybrighton, Owner at The Gather Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review, I will take your feedback on board and act on it as soon as possible. More 

Hove
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

We have eaten at the Gather Inn restaurant several times. The food has always been excellent and portions are very generous. The staff are helpful and very friendly. I have been shown the accommodation but not stayed there myself as I live locally but have recommended it to colleagues needing accommodation for visiting relatives and feedback has been very positive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sue_brill
ladybrighton, Owner at The Gather Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. More 

Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

The rooms are a bit stuck in the 80s but it was perfectly adequate and catered for all our needs, Staff friendly and helpful. We had an evening meal in the restaurant and it was all freshly made an dcooked. It was excellent and very reasonable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank melanielynn54
ladybrighton, Owner at The Gather Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review :-) More 

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015 via mobile

Staff very helpful room with seaview very cosy breakfast cooked fresh when ordered and served in main bar piping hot with toast and tea or coffee enjoyed very much free parking outside main bar I would recommend as perfect for b b outside Brighton

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
ladybrighton, Owner at The Gather Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I appreciate the time you have taken. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,541 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 2,002 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre
Ibis Brighton City Centre
#15 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
3.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#37 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay