We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 97 Brighton B&Bs / inns

Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B

2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   330 Kingsway | Hove, Brighton BN3 4LW, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B to your Saves list
Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
65%
Ranked #58 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Samuel T Norwich, England, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (137)
  • Photos (31)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    26
    16
    9
    23
See reviews for
18
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on the Friday of the Pride weekend in Brighton as every other hotel in Brighton was packed and overpriced. Pleasantly impressed with the whole experience, one thing this place is not is a hotel, but it never pretends to be one. Its a great, family run, bed and breakfast. Didn't eat or drink in the bar but it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This b&b is one of the worst places we have ever stayed!! There were no toiletries available, no bath, no hair dryer, no breakfast on a Monday which doesn't state when booking!! Noise is terrible, couldn't sleep all night from the traffic noise, couldn't leave window closed as room too small, so needed air, we stayed two nights, and never... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ladybrighton, Owner at Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B, responded to this review

I'd like to address each of your comments as I feel your expectations of a B&B might be that of a hotel. Firstly, we provide hand soap dispensers in the room. We do not offer shampoo and conditioners, this is quite typical of a hotel. We do not pretend to be a hotel, we are very honest that we are... More

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We fortunately spent just one night at this place. We were first given keys to a storage room. While we stared in stunned disbelief, my husband went to the front desk to see what was going on. They exchanged the keys and gave us the smallest room I've ever seen. I had the fish and chips in their restaurant. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ladybrighton, Owner at Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B, responded to this review

I would like to apologise for the fact that you were given the wrong key. The Staff member was in training and got the numbers muddled up, I'm afraid sometimes these things do happen. The room you booked was our triple with a bunk bed and shared bathroom. This description is clear on all of our booking sites so yes,... More

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We didn't stay at the Blue Lagoon Bar we just came in for some dinner. The place is nice, great location and has a good atmosphere.. And cheap pool! The good was average, pizza undercooked and very doughy and don't bother ordering garlic bread, for £2.95 you'd expect more than what was basically the size of a normal slice of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ladybrighton, Owner at Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will speak to the chef about the pizza and make sure that the base is a little more well done. I will also review the portion size of the garlic bread, thank you for pointing this out. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Just returned after staying here for one night (Saturday) The place is located on the front in Hove, which is a lot cheaper and ideal for visits to Brighton. The bus runs til pretty late into Brighton and the stop is about a minutes walk away, or you could take a coastal walk into Brighton which took us about half... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ladybrighton, Owner at Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice review. More

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Firstly I dont mean to be critical of any staff at this establishment but just to be more informative to other travellers who wish to stay here. the rooms are quite big and include a double bed and a sofa a flat screen TV with freeview and coffee/tea making facilities with an en suite, however the en suite is on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ladybrighton, Owner at Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We advertise some of the rooms as sea facing. Directly opposite the bar and the rooms is the sea, the lagoon is slightly to the left and the port is to the right. Fat Boy Slim, David Walliams.....amongst other celebrities actually live directly in front of this port. We are to the side of it but... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Firstly a word of note that there is no breakfast provided on Mondays - unlike what might be stated on the booking sites. We were not informed of this until our arrival at the B&B and check-in. It was not clearly stated in our booking or any of the correspondence that was initially made. This was hugely disappointing as we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ladybrighton, Owner at Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B, responded to this review

I appreciate that people are confused by the breakfast situation, we don't have a problem with anyone booking direct but it seems to be people booking through agency websites. They tend to just label you as "with" or "without" breakfast and then add notes to the general description. I will show you one of the sites that I have copied... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I just came back from this B and B and I loved it.... The staff were all friendly and welcoming, the room was great, clean and fresh the bathroom big again very clean. Also there is someone there and awake 24 hours which made us feel very safe. coming down for breakfast was amazing as it was like waking up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The value for money was 5 stars (as above), however there were some plusses and minuses, as indicated below. The rooms were generally very clean, and of a reasonable size. The only down-side was the size of the bathrooms. It was also slightly noisy as this is on the main road and there is a works area to the rear,... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here with 9 others on a stag weekend. Friendly staff and cheap booze. The cooked breakfast was abit ropey and the night security was abit of a jobs worth. But all and all it was a great place. Would highly recommend this place for people going on stag/hen weekends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B

Address: 330 Kingsway | Hove, Brighton BN3 4LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Bar Hotel Brighton
Blue Lagoon Bar And Bed And Breakfast

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Brighton with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the only Bed and Breakfasts in Brighton & Hove with FREE parking. "You will be welcomed to the Blue Lagoon by our friendly and polite team so grab your things and come and join us…don’t forget to pack your sense of fun!" We pride ourselves on providing not just a room for the night but an experience, with nice rooms, two bars and a great food menu we have everything you need all under one roof. We are not a hotel, we are a B&B and very proud of the fact. We do not provide room service/ trouser press/ mini bar (we go "LARGE" on our bars), so don’t expect a stuffy or formal greeting and a huge bill to go with it. We offer clean comfortable rooms for great value. The Blue Lagoon has 15 rooms. Choose from Twins, Doubles, Triples, Quads, Family rooms for 5 or 6 and Group rooms in the "group wing." The family room for 6 is the house favourite! With a very large balcony looking out over the Lagoon and sea front you wont be disappointed. En-suite Rooms:*Plasma TV with freeview*Tea & coffee making facilities*Ironing board*Shaver point*Towels and hand soap*En-suite bathroom with power shower. Group Rooms – Group wing (can be booked for exclusive use):*Plasma TV with freeview*Tea & coffee making facilities*Ironing board*Shaver point*Towels and hand soap*Group "Getting ready area"*Shared bathrooms with power showers. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer