We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 97 Brighton B&Bs / inns

Kemp Townhouse

5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Atlingworth Street, Brighton BN2 1PL, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kemp Townhouse to your Saves list
Kemp Townhouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
91%
Ranked #32 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (298)
  • Photos (51)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (54)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    55
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
18
189
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Location on a narrow street with noisy neighbours and no sea view. Fit out was very cheap and already looking very tired. Food at breakfast was okay - but not what it should have been given the prices - especially the coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review for your last visit. The hotel is located on a quiet street as suppose to the main seafront, therefore we are a lot quieter than most seafront based hotels. All of our interior fittings are of very high standard and not cheap, with high quality dark brown glossy oak finish... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I spent one night at this lovely guest house in July 2014. We stayed in a comfy king room, which had everything we needed, very clean, with a great shower and comfortable bed. Breakfast in bed was a bonus, and the food was delicious with a good selection including pancakes. Little details such as a decanter of... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Trish, Thanks you so much for your comments. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will make sure to pass your comment on the team and on their behalf would like to thank you for your stay with us, and we wish to welcome you again in the nearest future. Best Regards Kenny More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A well located pleasant hotel making the very best of space given. Gorgeous breakfast menu, swift reaction of staff to minor problems at any time of day and night. Downside: our room was a bit too hot due to nearby boiler which resulted in our wardrobe being an airing cupboard.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here from Friday to Sunday. On arrival on the Friday we parked right outside on the street and were able to collect our permit from the hotel as requested. The hotel is situated in a brilliant location with the pier the lanes and the shops all a short stroll away. The hotel staff very attentive indeed we stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We've stayed in Brighton every year for the past ten years and this is the best hotel by far. We had the 'Tiny Double' (which is only really big enough for one person) as it was the only room left in the hotel due to a conference. Putting aside the size of the room, and the seagulls that (in June)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Matt K, Thank you so much for your detailed review of your stay. I'm glad to hear you had a lovely stay with us. We look forward to your next visit with us. Best Wishes Kenny More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Highly recommend Kemp Townhouse in Brighton as a lovely place to stay - rooms to very high standard with port, dressing gowns, slippers, and all manner of drinks in your room - could not want for more. Great central location - wonderful selection for breakfast - and not forgetting the very friendly and helpful staff who were always there if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future. Sorry about the seagulls, you nailed it on the head there, they can't be avoided in Brighton unfortunately. Best Regards Kenny More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

A find! I stay a lot in Brighton and this is the best boutique guest house I have stayed in. The downstairs Single room was snug but finished to a high standard. Nice staff and fab breakfast. I Will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul L, General Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear graffhamboy, Thanks a lot for your kind words. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us .I'll make sure to pass your comments on to the team. We hope to see you again in the nearest future. Best Regards Kenny More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Townhouse was in a great location and provided terrific service. The breakfast was delicious and the room was beautifully presented. The bath in the room was a lovely way to relax after a big day of walking. There was quite a bit of noise from the room next door to us but that's to be expected of older houses.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Christine, Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and that you were happy with our overall service. The team will be happy to hear your thought. Thanks again Kenny More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Very helpful staff - smart, clean decor - bathroom recently re-done, by the look of it. There was a shortage of hot water for the shower, but the staff were helpful - I think it was just because I was showering in the morning - a popular time, I expect... This didn't detract from our stay. It's close to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Kemp Townhouse. I am glad you had a great stay with us and we appreciate your recommendation. Thanks again for your stay with us. Best Regards Kenny More

Amsterdam
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Located in Kemptown, not too far from the town centre and up a side road across from the beach, this hotel is convenient for the main attractions in Brighton. It is tastefully decorated and furnished and there is much attention to the details of breakfast (wide choice on menu) and in-room provisions such as tea, coffee, biscuits (home made), bottled... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kemp Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kemp Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemp Townhouse

Address: 21 Atlingworth Street, Brighton BN2 1PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kemp Townhouse 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Kemp Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemp Townhouse Hotel Brighton

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kemp Townhouse: "Brighton chicest new hotel. The IndependentKemp Townhouse offers luxury boutique accommodation at affordable prices. All 9 bedrooms have stylish en-suite wet rooms and boast their own individual features such as bay windows with sea views, beautiful antique fireplaces, free standing bath or indulgent four poster beds. The Regency style listed property is found in a quiet location, just off the seafront, close to the beach as well as restaurants, shops and Brighton’s thriving nightlife. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
9

See which rooms travelers prefer