We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kemp Townhouse

5.0 of 5 21 Atlingworth Street, Brighton BN2 1PL, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kemp Townhouse
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kemp Townhouse
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    66
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
19
209
31
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (334)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (110)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (109)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having spent two nights at the Kemp Townhouse following a deal on Groupon. We were pleasantly surprised by the welcome from Kenny the manager. He was very helpful about parking our car and more than happy to prepare our room with the lovely added extras a bottle of prosecco to welcome us. A small and quiet hotel but would defiantly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Notts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Room spotlessly clean. Bedding has high thread count and is comfortable. Wet room on the small side but adequate. Lovely toiletries, including conditioner and body lotion. Slippers and robe in wardrobe. Fan was also very welcomed as it was very warm. Decanter of port was a lovely touch, as were the homemade biscuits, marshmallows and sachet of hot chocolate. Breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Terrible room and service,bad location,terrible condition in room,terrible bathroom. This is not hotel.is not 5 star hotel,is 0 Star!!!! Im not going never back in this hotel. Not have reception,not have nothing

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Albano L, Thank you for your review. I am sorry and disappointed to see you felt compelled to write such review of our establishment. We are a 5 star rated guesthouse (not a 5 star hotel), awarded by visit England, who regularly visit to inspect our facility. We offer a 5 star accommodation and personalised service. All of our... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a two night stay at Kemp Townhouse. Fantastic and peaceful location. What a lovely welcome we had, arrived early and was able to leave our bag there whilst we went out to enjoy the sun. When we returned the little touches we're amazing, homemade cookies, port, marshmallows for our mug of hot chocolate. We could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Louise C, Thank you so much for your stay and taking the time to write your review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's good to know you appreciated all the added extras adding to the comfort of your room and to know you'd like a return visit, we very much look forward... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a single room that was on the small side but the room was super clean and nice, as was the bathroom, even though the space was a little tight. But for the price, it's a great option for single travellers for short stays to Brighton as the location is fantastic - a couple minutes walk to the pier.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Nikki V, Thank you for staying with us and for writing your review. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to welcome you back in the nearest future. Best Wishes Kenny More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Should have read more into the previous reviews. It's not a bad b&b but it's just that and trying to look a little fancy. It's way overpriced. The 'wet room' is a joke. It makes the bathroom unusable after you shower and it stinks. The rooms are noisy. All the non 5 star reviews are spot on.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Jason F, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We truly value your opinion and apologise we did not meet your expectation this time. We try our utmost to provide our guests with the best possible hospitality and service, all at a very good value for money, but I'm sorry if you thought otherwise.... More

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Found out about this luxury guesthouse through one of the sites that email with special offers for get aways and booked the day before. Booking over the phone was straight forward and dealt with efficiently. We had a room on the ground floor, which was bijou and described as cosy, which indeed it was The room was spotlessly clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear beaniebaby2012, Thank you for such lovely comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us, we were very happy to have you. I will pass your comments on the the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes Kenny More

London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just came back from a two night stay in this lovely establishment. We were celebrating a special occasion and so pushed the boat out for the Grand King room which is 001. I was delighted to find it was just as it had been portrayed on their website (worth a look before you book to get just what you want)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Alanchandler, Thanks you so much for your very detailed review. I am pleased to know you had an enjoyable stay and we were very much happy to have you stay with us. I will pass your comments to the rest of the team. Thanks for your stay and we look forward to having you back in the nearest future. More

Den Haag
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Kemp Townhouse for one night and overall, enjoyed the experience. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The room itself was large and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was tiny and was basically a wet room - after my husband had a shower the bathroom was unusable because it was covered in water. It's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Den Haag, Thank you for your honest review. I'm pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay overall. We do stress the fact that we have a wet-room concept, beautifully designed as can be seen on our website, and sufficiently supplied with a great drainage system to allow for a fast water flow. Although some of our rooms are... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good points: Staff were friendly and welcoming, breakfast was very good, hotel was clean inside, style of hotel was good and the little things like port, radio, water etc in the room was a nice touch. Bad points: I gave a 1 for location but this refers to the specific street the hotel is on and not the area (which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Mr Hallam, Thank you for your recent stay, and for taking the time to write your review. Im pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay overall. I'm sorry to hear of your dislikes of atlingworth street. There are many businesses on this street and we all try very hard to keep our building and surroundings very clean and... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kemp Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemp Townhouse

Address: 21 Atlingworth Street, Brighton BN2 1PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kemp Townhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Kemp Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemp Townhouse Hotel Brighton

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay