We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Palace Guest House

7 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England (Formerly Budgies Guest House)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Old Palace Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Guest House was well priced and in a good location. We just found it very loud at night. We were by the front door, therefore it was very cold , as there was a constant draft, and very loud, as you could hear people talking outside our room at night. There was also an odd dripping noise coming from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

This place is a dirty dive more like a hostel than a b and b. Tiny bathroom and worn out furniture. Stains on the bed.the breakfast was served next door and was very poor quality. Please don't stay in this dump

Helpful?
Thank 629robert
oldpalace a, Manager at Old Palace Guest House, responded to this review

I dont know if you have stayed in this guest house or somewhere else but you are so harsh with your review i couldn't believe what i read and my staff told me we didnt have any complain. I can assure you we are one of the cleanest guest houses in Brighton. We have a decent guest house with lovely... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

When being taken to my room in which I was sharing with my partner, it was clean, all looked ok and the mattress was comfy. So we then headed out for the day, coming back to no hot water, we waited until the morning and still it had not been sorted. They said they were sorting it and to give... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank summer11x
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015 via mobile

The staff was friendly and even helped us to carry our heavy luggages to our room. The room was quite big but the toilet was quite small and sometimes there was no hot water at all, so we had to shower using cold water. Even so, there was free breakfast everyday so it was a good thing. On top of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SharonTMY
St. Albans Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

they are gonna get this taken down so they look good so please read asap the room was tiny the shower had dirt in the bottom there was stains on the floor if you was on the larger size you would have no hope of the showers as they were really tiny a child would manage it fine the view... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank U8938BOdanielh
oldpalace a, Manager at Old Palace Guest House, responded to this review

hi there i hope this response finds you .im answering you for my other lovely customers who really deserve to know the truth. you checked in on sunday we took you to your room showed everything and you were okey with it. and you went out came back and you were so unhappy with eachother so you didnt want to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

Stayed at the Old Palace Guest House for two nights and we were very happy upon arrival. The staff were very friendly and our room was perfect. We had a view of the Brighton Wheel and the sea from our window. The room was spacious and clean and in the perfect location when it comes to going to the Sea... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky W
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015 via mobile

Stayed overnight on a quick visit to Brighton and paid £70 for bed and breakfast for three. Rooms spotlessly clean and hosts could not be any nicer. They really go beyond the call of duty to please their guests. Only downside is parking meters everywhere and we had to park the car a walk away from the room. Well worth... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona M
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

Spent a long weekend here to celebrate my birthday. This year I wanted something closer to the main areas and found a good deal at this B&B so decided to try it out. After reading some the the reviews I was unsure what to expect, however. We found the staff very accommodating and they seemed quite keen to make sure... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank medway808
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Brighton is a great place and here you are right in the middle of all the action, The hotel couldn't be better situated if you like to sample the bars cafes and other venues of kemptown. It was a short walk (100m) to the beach, pier, and two short blocks from town center and very close to Bond street and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Fornowsky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015 via mobile

We received a warm welcome and found everything we needed here & in a great location. It was clear that the owners and staff were interested that we enjoyed our stay and they try to make the very best of their facilities. The room, although a little basic and slightly rough around some edges, was spotlessly clean and the beds... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank K26W
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Umi Brighton Hotel
Umi Brighton Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 1,161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#62 of 97 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay