We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Swan

31 High Street | The Square, Swanage BH19 2LT, England
The White Swan
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    10
    9
    7
See reviews for
3
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited here last weekend with friends. Started off well, the waitresses we coping very well in what was to be very awkward circumstances for everyone. A male employee, who was older, appeared on the scene and was certainly not sober! Made our experience awful especially when we had finished our mains he came over to the table and after asking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
east mids
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

good friendly staff comfortable rooms breakfast between 9 and 12 no rush full breakfast+ toast cereal etc live music most weekends (lots of places to eat at night if you want a change) car park quite small so get in last if you need to get out a.m would I stay again yes no problems

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to provide good food, service and entertainment, and are very pleased to hear that you sampled it all and enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again in the future! More 

Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Absolutely terrible staff were un organised didnt have what we wanted more interested in serving alcoholic drinks was rude to a disabled family member and had to wait over a hour just to have food delivered

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We're very sorry if you did not enjoy your visit. We don't always have everything in stock and apologise for any comments made by our staff. If you have any complaints about and particular member of staff, please get in touch with us through our official website. We humbly apologise if our service was not to your satisfaction and hope... More 

Travelers are raving about these Swanage hotels

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
44 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

A good location pretty much in the center of town, with friendly staff who are polite and quick to serve drinks even when it's busy. I have eaten in here before (quite a while ago so i hope it has improved) and will never again, the menu is reasonable but not cheap and when my group had our food (mixed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We apologise if our food was not satisfactory, and appeciate the feedback! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our beer and pool table, and are happy to welcome you back anytime, either for a meal or a drink, or both! More 

Ferndown, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
53 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 via mobile

Just went in for an early Saturday afternoon pint and had the Norman Conquest, superb, best pint I have had for a long time. We did not eat so I cannot comment on the food but every table was full. The hotel has a lot of history and Swanage can be traced back to the Romans.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We're glad to hear you enjoyed our beer! We strive to have a selection of locally brewed ales and cider, which changes throughout the year. Come back next time, and maybe we'll have something else that will wet your whistle! More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 via mobile

Good- pleasant location, friendly staff who are helpful and usually quick to serve drinks even when it is busy. Bad- the bar food. Menu reasonable but not cheap. Slow slow slow. Yesterday the soup was hardly warm and the accompanying bread still frozen in the middle. This after a 50 minute wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We apologise if the food was not up to standard. We are often busy and sometimes things do slip through the net. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit with us, and we welcome you back anytime for a drink or a meal! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Me and my wife and parents were looking for a lovely pub boy did we find one. staff are so FRIENDlY would highly recommend steak&piddle pie so much filling had to leave some once again thank you for making us feel so welcome

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We're happy you enjoyed your meal, and are glad you enjoyed our service. We would be happy to welcome you back at any time! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

My fiancé and I went for a romantic dinner and had the crab and prawn carbonara and the Cajun chicken. We were both very pleased with the service from the red headed waitress and the quality and speed our food presented to us. Overall I'd say this is a very friendly local pub with excellent service and is very cost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zoe M, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We have had a lot of work to dao and are working hard to improve our customers experience. I will pass on your comments to the staff member. Hope you may make a return visit. More 

Limassol, Cyprus
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

If you are after traditional and good pub food then this is not the place for you, if you are ok for microwave like & out of the packet food then it might be alright. Service is good though and staff are friendly and the pub is right in the middle of town two minutes from the beach front. As... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We apologise if you didn't enjoy your meal. We were in the process of redesigning our menu, and we are sure that if you returned again, you would be pleasantly suprised by our locally sourced and freshly cooked offerings on our new menu. We are glad you enjoyed the service and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Wouldn't stay there again if you paid us. Food is ok, but room was in need if a spring clean. Beds comfortable and clean though. Bathroom clean but extractor fan not working - can of air spray left on top of toilet instead. We stayed three nights and our beds were not made once in that time, nor was our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. After a busy summer, and with the pub fully booked throughout, along with a change of management, it has been very difficult to find time to perform a thorough clean. However, since then, all rooms have been thoroughly cleaned and necessary maintence has been carried out. We would... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities