We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Swan

31 High Street | The Square, Swanage BH19 2LT, England
The White Swan
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    14
    12
    11
    8
See reviews for
6
36
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We always have trouble getting a b&b for a couple of nights for Swanage carnival so we decided to try a pub and this one had accommodation. Having a little one, we were worried that it would be noisy but figured we'd be so tired with active days that we'd sleep through anything! However, the noise on the first night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are thinking of staying here - please don't if you value your sanity. We were kept awake until 3.40 am on the first night by drunken youths shouting and singing outside, and the obscenities were appalling. The other three nights were not much better. The bed was comfortable - but that is useless if you can't sleep! There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Swanage hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

Found this place for something to eat. Looked lovely and inviting so we set up in the beer garden and ordered our food. After ordering a young tattooed barmaid ran out into the garden yelling to a group of guys opposite us that the chef had chopped his finger off!! This turned our stomachs and went straight to the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your comments are very much valued. I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences in which you decided to make the choice on having your food order refunded! Since you wrote to us we have looked into the issues raised & the member staff is no... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

Nicely furnished inside and has a nice beer garden, warm engaging staff I would use this pub as a local if I lived close by, I have not tried the food but the drink was OK. A lot of the pubs look a bit grim but you should be OK with this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding the enjoyable visit we value your reviews and hope to see you soon again . More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015 via mobile

BBQ food cooked and served outside is top notch proper meaty burgers with rocket salad & balsamic vinegar (get the gist) and a very generous mackerel salad, all reasonably priced and cheerfully served.... However, food from the bar is extortionately priced so choose your lunch option carefully, not sure the bar star staff enjoy their work! Nuff said!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write your kind comments on reviewing the BBQ food you had whilst at the pub, In regards to your opinion on the bar staff, we value our customers views but since reading your review we have taken management strategies with our staff, When you re-visit you will be... More 

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

Ate here last week. Kids had chicken nuggets and chips. The chicken was 100% chicken breast (not reformed) so that was good. But they did complain they tasted fishy. I guess they deep-fried them in the same oil they use for fish. I had a whole Cajun chicken breast. Meat was dry and simply dusted with cajun spices out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very sorry you was not 100% satisfied with your food order but we continually strive for excellence by improving our restaurant from having customer reviews like yours. We hope you revisit soon More 

Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Visited here last weekend with friends. Started off well, the waitresses we coping very well in what was to be very awkward circumstances for everyone. A male employee, who was older, appeared on the scene and was certainly not sober! Made our experience awful especially when we had finished our mains he came over to the table and after asking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Zoe M, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are deeply sorry you did not have an enjoyable visit but there are times when our guests may experience less than acceptable service or perceived value for their money. Please accept our sincere apologies for the service that was provided We have also recently changed the stockist off our meats... More 

east mids
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

good friendly staff comfortable rooms breakfast between 9 and 12 no rush full breakfast+ toast cereal etc live music most weekends (lots of places to eat at night if you want a change) car park quite small so get in last if you need to get out a.m would I stay again yes no problems

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to provide good food, service and entertainment, and are very pleased to hear that you sampled it all and enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again in the future! More 

Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Absolutely terrible staff were un organised didnt have what we wanted more interested in serving alcoholic drinks was rude to a disabled family member and had to wait over a hour just to have food delivered

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We're very sorry if you did not enjoy your visit. We don't always have everything in stock and apologise for any comments made by our staff. If you have any complaints about and particular member of staff, please get in touch with us through our official website. We humbly apologise if our service was not to your satisfaction and hope... More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

A good location pretty much in the center of town, with friendly staff who are polite and quick to serve drinks even when it's busy. I have eaten in here before (quite a while ago so i hope it has improved) and will never again, the menu is reasonable but not cheap and when my group had our food (mixed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We apologise if our food was not satisfactory, and appeciate the feedback! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our beer and pool table, and are happy to welcome you back anytime, either for a meal or a drink, or both! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.0 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#2 of 6 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Town Hall Lodge
Town Hall Lodge
#11 of 56 in Swanage
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#4 of 56 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Swanage
YHA Swanage
#3 of 14 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millbrook Guest House
Millbrook Guest House
#7 of 56 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities