We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Swan

31 High Street | The Square, Swanage BH19 2LT, England
The White Swan
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    14
    11
    10
    8
See reviews for
5
35
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Found this place for something to eat. Looked lovely and inviting so we set up in the beer garden and ordered our food. After ordering a young tattooed barmaid ran out into the garden yelling to a group of guys opposite us that the chef had chopped his finger off!! This turned our stomachs and went straight to the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nicely furnished inside and has a nice beer garden, warm engaging staff I would use this pub as a local if I lived close by, I have not tried the food but the drink was OK. A lot of the pubs look a bit grim but you should be OK with this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

BBQ food cooked and served outside is top notch proper meaty burgers with rocket salad & balsamic vinegar (get the gist) and a very generous mackerel salad, all reasonably priced and cheerfully served.... However, food from the bar is extortionately priced so choose your lunch option carefully, not sure the bar star staff enjoy their work! Nuff said!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ate here last week. Kids had chicken nuggets and chips. The chicken was 100% chicken breast (not reformed) so that was good. But they did complain they tasted fishy. I guess they deep-fried them in the same oil they use for fish. I had a whole Cajun chicken breast. Meat was dry and simply dusted with cajun spices out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Visited here last weekend with friends. Started off well, the waitresses we coping very well in what was to be very awkward circumstances for everyone. A male employee, who was older, appeared on the scene and was certainly not sober! Made our experience awful especially when we had finished our mains he came over to the table and after asking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
east mids
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

good friendly staff comfortable rooms breakfast between 9 and 12 no rush full breakfast+ toast cereal etc live music most weekends (lots of places to eat at night if you want a change) car park quite small so get in last if you need to get out a.m would I stay again yes no problems

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to provide good food, service and entertainment, and are very pleased to hear that you sampled it all and enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again in the future! More 

Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Absolutely terrible staff were un organised didnt have what we wanted more interested in serving alcoholic drinks was rude to a disabled family member and had to wait over a hour just to have food delivered

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We're very sorry if you did not enjoy your visit. We don't always have everything in stock and apologise for any comments made by our staff. If you have any complaints about and particular member of staff, please get in touch with us through our official website. We humbly apologise if our service was not to your satisfaction and hope... More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

A good location pretty much in the center of town, with friendly staff who are polite and quick to serve drinks even when it's busy. I have eaten in here before (quite a while ago so i hope it has improved) and will never again, the menu is reasonable but not cheap and when my group had our food (mixed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We apologise if our food was not satisfactory, and appeciate the feedback! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our beer and pool table, and are happy to welcome you back anytime, either for a meal or a drink, or both! More 

Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 via mobile

Just went in for an early Saturday afternoon pint and had the Norman Conquest, superb, best pint I have had for a long time. We did not eat so I cannot comment on the food but every table was full. The hotel has a lot of history and Swanage can be traced back to the Romans.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We're glad to hear you enjoyed our beer! We strive to have a selection of locally brewed ales and cider, which changes throughout the year. Come back next time, and maybe we'll have something else that will wet your whistle! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 via mobile

Good- pleasant location, friendly staff who are helpful and usually quick to serve drinks even when it is busy. Bad- the bar food. Menu reasonable but not cheap. Slow slow slow. Yesterday the soup was hardly warm and the accompanying bread still frozen in the middle. This after a 50 minute wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We apologise if the food was not up to standard. We are often busy and sometimes things do slip through the net. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit with us, and we welcome you back anytime for a drink or a meal! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities