We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 56 Swanage B&Bs / inns

The White Swan

Save
You added The White Swan to your Saves list
31 High Street | The Square, Swanage BH19 2LT, England
Hotel amenities
The White Swan
Ranked #51 of 56 Swanage B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanage
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    9
    9
    5
See reviews for
2
32
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just went in for an early Saturday afternoon pint and had the Norman Conquest, superb, best pint I have had for a long time. We did not eat so I cannot comment on the food but every table was full. The hotel has a lot of history and Swanage can be traced back to the Romans.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good- pleasant location, friendly staff who are helpful and usually quick to serve drinks even when it is busy. Bad- the bar food. Menu reasonable but not cheap. Slow slow slow. Yesterday the soup was hardly warm and the accompanying bread still frozen in the middle. This after a 50 minute wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Me and my wife and parents were looking for a lovely pub boy did we find one. staff are so FRIENDlY would highly recommend steak&piddle pie so much filling had to leave some once again thank you for making us feel so welcome

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We're happy you enjoyed your meal, and are glad you enjoyed our service. We would be happy to welcome you back at any time! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

My fiancé and I went for a romantic dinner and had the crab and prawn carbonara and the Cajun chicken. We were both very pleased with the service from the red headed waitress and the quality and speed our food presented to us. Overall I'd say this is a very friendly local pub with excellent service and is very cost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zoe M, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We have had a lot of work to dao and are working hard to improve our customers experience. I will pass on your comments to the staff member. Hope you may make a return visit. More 

Limassol, Cyprus
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

If you are after traditional and good pub food then this is not the place for you, if you are ok for microwave like & out of the packet food then it might be alright. Service is good though and staff are friendly and the pub is right in the middle of town two minutes from the beach front. As... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We apologise if you didn't enjoy your meal. We were in the process of redesigning our menu, and we are sure that if you returned again, you would be pleasantly suprised by our locally sourced and freshly cooked offerings on our new menu. We are glad you enjoyed the service and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Wouldn't stay there again if you paid us. Food is ok, but room was in need if a spring clean. Beds comfortable and clean though. Bathroom clean but extractor fan not working - can of air spray left on top of toilet instead. We stayed three nights and our beds were not made once in that time, nor was our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. After a busy summer, and with the pub fully booked throughout, along with a change of management, it has been very difficult to find time to perform a thorough clean. However, since then, all rooms have been thoroughly cleaned and necessary maintence has been carried out. We would... More 

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

we went for lunch here and were extremely disappointed. We ordered a lemonade and a coke and couldn't drink them- how can you ruin a soft drink?? We also ordered 2 main meals . The sausages were hard and nasty and both meals were in a bowl which was just as well as they were swimming in gravy. There are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your meal. All our soft drinks are provided by pepsi, so we apologise if it was not what you expected. Also, we apologise if the sausages were overdone, however, we have never had a complaint before about too much gravy! Our new menu was rolled out in October, and we are sure you would be... More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We had limited choice due to our late booking and it being a bank holiday weekend, so we chose this pub for a couple of nights away in Swanage. We knew it may be noisy being a pub, which t was, but that was not an issue really. We had requested a room with a king sized bed, but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

WE are sorry that you found the room facilities inadequate, however, with the building being Grade II listed, there's not a great deal we can do to expand the bathroom facilities. However, we are in the process of refurbishing the rooms,so we hope you'll be pleasantly surprised if you choose to stay with us next year. More 

Norfolk
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We were booked here for 2 nights by Contours Walking Holidays and were thoroughly disappointed following our previous experience of their choice of accommodation. Our first room ( 3) was small and located above the kitchen so we could hear the chefs talking. It overlooked the beer garden so we had to close the blind. There was also a huge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay here. August was a very busy and confusing time for all of us at The White Swan. Not only was this the busiest summer ever for us, but we also had recently taken over management in the middle of it, due to the conditions the last management had left it... More 

Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Spent two long nights here. Room was dirty, bathroom dirty, toilet seat broken, shower trickled out, noisy till four in the morning.. We asked to move rooms but they said they were fully booked but still advertised rooms available. Had to buy ear plugs so we could sleep. Breakfast was ok, dirty floors, tables. A good clean throughout needed. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

i'm so sorry to hear this, but you are completely right. I took over only a matter of weeks before your stay. I was also so shocked to see what a bad state the pub and letting rooms were in and only now after the one of the busiest summer on record, are we cleaning up the act of The... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Address: 31 High Street | The Square, Swanage BH19 2LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The White Swan Swanage, Dorset

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay