We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Swanage

3.0 of 5 20 Cluny Crescent, Swanage BH19 2BS, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
YHA Swanage
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
YHA Swanage
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
5
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here couple of nights just after New Year 2015 in order to do some walking. It is as you may expect. We had private room with twin beds, bunk beds. The room was ok and beds were fine. The room lacked some clothes hanging facilities. It did have a sink. The showers and toilets were ok, enough hot water,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and it's good to hear you enjoyed your short walking break in / around Swanage. There are some real stunning walks that the staff and I ejoy as well & we are only to happy to point out the amazing places people tend not to go. Thank you for letting us know about teh hooks... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I liked staying in swanage the railway is great I went to pools splashdown too! The breakfast was lovely and a self catering kitchen as well. As its a youth hostel you have to make your own beds! You have to share the television! The staff are nice and the prices are good value. I recommended this hostel to everyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Wow, it realy does sound if you have a fantastic holiday in Swanage. The Steam railway is a joy with its big steam Loco's, then there is the pleasure of playing on the only Blue Flag beach along the Dorset Jurassic Coast. You will also be pleased to know that teh next time you stay at the hostel you will... More 

Chinnor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Heading to YHA Swanage tomorrow, looking forward to it. Very helpful email sent with map of the area including location of hostel, document about the hostel helping us prepare tonight, and an email invoice. Will help me get some more rest tonight as I don't have to search around for all that information.

Was this review helpful? Yes
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a pre-stay review and we are pleased to find that the information we send out is helpfull. We very much hope you enjoyed your stay and welcome any further reviews you write. More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I found my two day stay at Swanage a very pleasant experience.The staff were helpful and informative and the atmosphere was relaxed which was great for me to get awy from it all. The food was very good and I enjoyed the very pleasant small room with a view of the sea which I was given.Thankyou once again for everything!

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Was this review helpful? Yes
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are all pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at YHA Swanage and very much look forwar dto welcoming you again soon. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Only stayed in this hostel for one night, however I wish I could have stayed for longer! The building this youth hostel is situated in is beautiful and there are some lovely views looking out at the sea in the common room. The rooms were clean, had plenty of space and the beds were made (unlike other hostels we stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review. You are most certainly correct in that the views over the bay from the lounge is a delight. Better still is the bedrooms at the front of the house, which on a sunny morning is a delight to wake up to. More 

Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

The staffs are very friendly and helpful. They pointed out where to visit in this area, and kindly waited until I arrive quite late (due to road closure). The location is great - high on the hill with very nice view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at YHA Swanage, you comments about the staff were very much appreciated at our last team meeting. More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

not the best hostel we have used - room needed overhaul - light fitting for bunks off the wall, window frame mouldy, floor not thoroughly hoovered - several showers needed heads cleaning - power very poor staff indifferent - variable - surprised to overhear staff moaning about colleagues whilst on phone outside our room! Then again a friendly lady doing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
garry h, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that your stay at YHA Swanage was not as enjoyable as it should hve been. I very much value your feedback and will discuss your review at our next team meeting to avoid further dissapointment for future guests. More 

walsall
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Just spent 4 very happy nights with my 7 year old at YHA Swanage. I've been youth hostelling for over 20 years and this is one of my favourites. It's not glossy but it's warm, clean with really friendly helpful staff. We'd booked a two bed room but were given a four bed room so it was great to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
garry h, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review & we are all pleased to here that you had a great time. Your comments about the shower curtains have been noted and some already replaced, unfortunatly due to water pressure issues, which is in the process of being addressed some showers are not fully working. We look forwar dto seeing you all again soon. More 

Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

I was not sure what to expect after a long time since I last stayed in a youth hostel. I was lucky to be able to share a room with friends, rather than a dorm. The room was clean, bed made up. Showers could have been more powerful, but they were clean. Food was good, plenty of choice at breakfast.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
garry h, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay after redicovering YHA. I am sure it was very differant from teh last time you stayed with YHA and hope you will continue to use this or one of the other150+ hostels throughout Endland & Wales. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

I'm not a seaside person, but Swanage is an ideal point from which to explore the Purbeck Hills, and the youth hostel offers reasonable accommodation and food at excellent value for money. Many of the facilities (toilets, showers) are fairly new, and the place is large enough and sufficiently staffed (by young, friendly hostel enthusiasts) to cope with a wide... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
garry h, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued feed back, especially in refrence to food and beverage. As previously mentioned in another reply there is not much we can do in reference to teh distenace between the SC kitchen and dining room, but do hope you enjoyed staying in a fantastic old building with lots of history. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Swanage

Address: 20 Cluny Crescent, Swanage BH19 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Swanage Dorset

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay