We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Swanage

20 Cluny Crescent, Swanage BH19 2BS, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
YHA Swanage
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
YHA Swanage
Rate this Hotel

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
5
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Heathrow, London
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This old house that was built by the Captain who laid the first telephone cable under the Atlantic and so kick-started the telephone and our modern mobile age! So they can't do much to change the building. So accept it -- and enjoy a really nice stay. Now a possible bad bit; note that it is on top of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went last summer after my exams with a couple of friends. This was the first time we were staying away from home! It was easy to find, a short walk from the high street. When we got there the staff were very welcoming. I can't comment on the meals as we used the self catering kitchen for meals to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us last year. It's great to know you had an memorable time staying with us and enjoyed beautiful Swanage. We very much hope to see you again this year. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

A group of 40 of us spend the weekend hiking around the Jurassic coast. The hostel can sleep up to 100; it offers great kitchen facilities and spacious dining. The living room is its greatest feature; a warm room, with walls covered by wood panels creating an friendly atmosphere. The only slight disappointed were the showers which can benefit from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Stayed here couple of nights just after New Year 2015 in order to do some walking. It is as you may expect. We had private room with twin beds, bunk beds. The room was ok and beds were fine. The room lacked some clothes hanging facilities. It did have a sink. The showers and toilets were ok, enough hot water,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and it's good to hear you enjoyed your short walking break in / around Swanage. There are some real stunning walks that the staff and I ejoy as well & we are only to happy to point out the amazing places people tend not to go. Thank you for letting us know about teh hooks... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

I liked staying in swanage the railway is great I went to pools splashdown too! The breakfast was lovely and a self catering kitchen as well. As its a youth hostel you have to make your own beds! You have to share the television! The staff are nice and the prices are good value. I recommended this hostel to everyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Wow, it realy does sound if you have a fantastic holiday in Swanage. The Steam railway is a joy with its big steam Loco's, then there is the pleasure of playing on the only Blue Flag beach along the Dorset Jurassic Coast. You will also be pleased to know that teh next time you stay at the hostel you will... More 

Chinnor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Heading to YHA Swanage tomorrow, looking forward to it. Very helpful email sent with map of the area including location of hostel, document about the hostel helping us prepare tonight, and an email invoice. Will help me get some more rest tonight as I don't have to search around for all that information.

Was this review helpful? Yes
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a pre-stay review and we are pleased to find that the information we send out is helpfull. We very much hope you enjoyed your stay and welcome any further reviews you write. More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

I found my two day stay at Swanage a very pleasant experience.The staff were helpful and informative and the atmosphere was relaxed which was great for me to get awy from it all. The food was very good and I enjoyed the very pleasant small room with a view of the sea which I was given.Thankyou once again for everything!

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Was this review helpful? Yes
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are all pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at YHA Swanage and very much look forwar dto welcoming you again soon. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Only stayed in this hostel for one night, however I wish I could have stayed for longer! The building this youth hostel is situated in is beautiful and there are some lovely views looking out at the sea in the common room. The rooms were clean, had plenty of space and the beds were made (unlike other hostels we stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review. You are most certainly correct in that the views over the bay from the lounge is a delight. Better still is the bedrooms at the front of the house, which on a sunny morning is a delight to wake up to. More 

Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

The staffs are very friendly and helpful. They pointed out where to visit in this area, and kindly waited until I arrive quite late (due to road closure). The location is great - high on the hill with very nice view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at YHA Swanage, you comments about the staff were very much appreciated at our last team meeting. More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

not the best hostel we have used - room needed overhaul - light fitting for bunks off the wall, window frame mouldy, floor not thoroughly hoovered - several showers needed heads cleaning - power very poor staff indifferent - variable - surprised to overhear staff moaning about colleagues whilst on phone outside our room! Then again a friendly lady doing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
garry h, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that your stay at YHA Swanage was not as enjoyable as it should hve been. I very much value your feedback and will discuss your review at our next team meeting to avoid further dissapointment for future guests. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question