We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Swanage B&Bs / inns

The Castleton

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Highcliffe Road, Swanage BH19 1LW, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Mid Week Offer
Save Saved
You added The Castleton to your Saves list
The Castleton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
99%
Ranked #9 of 54 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Pamela T Warwickshire, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (155)
  • Photos (36)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (33)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
83
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have had a very enjoyable short stay at the Castleton, Rebecca was very welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. It was very clean and tastefully decorated, we enjoyed the guests' sitting room in the evenings, amply supplied with books, magazines and DVDs. The breakfasts were excellent including a wonderful fresh fruit salad. The bedroom hospitality tray was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review, a lovely one too... We hope to see you down here again in sunny Swanage very soon. With kindest regards Melvin & Rebecca More

Brackley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First time to Swanage and we chose The Castleton because of the availability of a family room (Room 5). So glad we did! Great B&B and Melvyn and Rebecca made us feel so welcome right from the moment we rang the doorbell, to the point where leaving on our last day felt like leaving old friends. Lovely clean room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and kind comments. We are all very pleased that you found The castleton and hope to see you down here again very soon. A lovely family, pleasure to look after. With kindest regards Melvin & Rebecca More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

In order to give my partner a well earned break and to celebrate his 'big' birthday, it took a lot of research to find the perfect place. We were not disappointed. Melvin was so helpful right from the start enabling me to organise some birthday surprises and went out of his way to accommodate us. When we arrived Rebecca was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the positive review. It was a pleasure to look after you both and we are very pleased that the birthday celebrations were a success. We look forward very much to welcoming you here again at The Castleton Hotel in Swanage. With kindest regards Melvin & Rebecca More

Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have known and visited Swanage for many years and stayed at various types of accommodation in the area. This was just a one night stop on a journey through five counties last week but we would come back and stay longer. Melvin and Rebecca are a warm and friendly couple, very happy to adapt to our needs to make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful feed back. We look forwards to seeing you again soon. It is always lovely when guests decide to stay another night. With kindest regards Melvin & Rebecca More

Hooglede, Belgium
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we had a last minute trip to England, Swanage, in the Castleton Hotel. Very warm welcome, perfect host, 2 nights was really too short! The room on the top floor was rather small, small bed too but clean and fresh. The bathroom had a small shower. The breakfast was fantastic. Nothing was to much trouble for Rebecca. The evenings we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feed back. it was lovely to meet you both. Should you return we'd be delighted to offer you one of our larger rooms such as a Superior King at the same rate as our standard double if you email us directly. Hope to see you again here in Sunny Swanage. With kindest regards Melvin... More

Farnham, Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I must just say before reviewing the Castleton that I have spent many happy childhood holidays in "Swanage" and still visit as often as possible. There are draw backs to the area in as much as good accommodation is at a premium and although we love going back in time and nothing changes a large part of accommodation needs freshening... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet you and it must be lovely to jog those wonderful childhood memories when returning to Swanage. The shower is less than two months old. I will ask the plumber to check the pressure and adjust accordingly, thank you for letting us know. We look forward very... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I plus two small children (2 and 4) just had a very pleasant four nights at the Castleton. They are in a great location with the beach one side and the Crows Nest Inn on the other! Town is a leisurely 15 minute stroll along the beach front. Rebecca was the perfect host, breakfasts were splendid and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the feed back and your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again here in sunny swanage. With kindest regards Melvin & Rebecca More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked online because phone went straight to voicemail each time I called! Arrived to find nowhere to park, the front door locked and no room available for us either! Not interested in IT problems/excuses! Thanks for the apology but we won't try to stay at the Castleton again!Wee

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

We are very upset that this has happened. Whilst it happened as a result of a new software system allowing a double booking via a channel partner that we were not informed of we understand the buck has to stop somewhere. We are also very sorry that you had to go through such upset at the beginning of your weekend.... More

Bedford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I have just returned from a very pleasant three nights in Swanage when we stayed at The Castleton. Melvin and Rebecca were extremely good hosts and nothing was too much trouble even though they were rushed off their feet at times. My husband has a bad leg and Melvin kindly made sure that we got a parking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind and positive comments. It was a pleasure to meet you both, and we look forward to seeing you again here in sunny Swanage.. With kindest regards Melvin & Rebecca More

Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just completed a very enjoyable 3 night stay at The Castleton. Comfortable room, pleasant airy guest lounge and well appointed breakfast room. Nice touch with bottled water in room and a little fridge to keep it cool. Also a fan which came in handy as the days were hot. The hosts, Melvin and Rebecca have a great "can do" approach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely to meet you and we hope to be able to look after you again in future. The fridges are always well received during the warm weather along with our fans. With kindest regards Melvin & Rebecca More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Castleton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Castleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castleton

Address: 1 Highcliffe Road, Swanage BH19 1LW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castleton 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Castleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castleton Swanage, Dorset

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
3:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Charming & Luxurious 4 star gold award winning Victorian Guest House, full of character, on the stunning World Heritage Jurassic Coast and located just 100 metres from Swanage's glorious sandy beach and a short level stroll along the seafront to the Town Centre with its many attractions. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer