We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 55 Swanage B&Bs / inns

The Castleton

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Highcliffe Road, Swanage BH19 1LW, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Mid Week Offer
Save Saved
You added The Castleton to your Saves list
The Castleton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
99%
Ranked #8 of 55 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
4rach2110 Haslemere, England, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (159)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (36)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (35)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
85
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I loved this place. Really friendly welcome, fantastic breakfast and service and beautiful comfortable room. Convenient location for the beach and local restaurants and onsite parking was very handy. I would definitely stay at The Castleton again and I don't think the Keeshans could have done any more to improve my stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swanage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were made welcome from the start by melvin,the hotel was very clean throughout,breakfast excellent nothing was to much trouble for Rebecca or melvin, have already booked for return trip next year, very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for the wonderful feed back. Rebecca and I look forward to seeing you again next year. We are also happy to offer the same rate for any friends that you wish to invite at the same time to join you. With kindest regards Melvin More

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A most enjoyable stay, The room was comfortable, spacious and the decor first class. The en suite bathroom was a very good size with storage space not normally found these days. Breakfast was excellent service quick, staff friendly and helpful Highly Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you had a lovely time and look forward very much to welcoming you/looking after you, here again at The Castleton. With kindest regards Melvin & Rebecca More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were made welcome from the start, both Melvyn and Rebecca couldn't do enough for us and always very helpful. From carrying heavy luggage to using the car park, guidance on places to eat, walk and even buses to catch home again! Our room was tastefully decorated and furnished and the breakfast, which was delicious, kept us going all day!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for the wonderful feed back. Rebecca and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to next time. With kindest regards Melvin More

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have had a very enjoyable short stay at the Castleton, Rebecca was very welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. It was very clean and tastefully decorated, we enjoyed the guests' sitting room in the evenings, amply supplied with books, magazines and DVDs. The breakfasts were excellent including a wonderful fresh fruit salad. The bedroom hospitality tray was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review, a lovely one too... We hope to see you down here again in sunny Swanage very soon. With kindest regards Melvin & Rebecca More

Brackley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First time to Swanage and we chose The Castleton because of the availability of a family room (Room 5). So glad we did! Great B&B and Melvyn and Rebecca made us feel so welcome right from the moment we rang the doorbell, to the point where leaving on our last day felt like leaving old friends. Lovely clean room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and kind comments. We are all very pleased that you found The castleton and hope to see you down here again very soon. A lovely family, pleasure to look after. With kindest regards Melvin & Rebecca More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In order to give my partner a well earned break and to celebrate his 'big' birthday, it took a lot of research to find the perfect place. We were not disappointed. Melvin was so helpful right from the start enabling me to organise some birthday surprises and went out of his way to accommodate us. When we arrived Rebecca was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the positive review. It was a pleasure to look after you both and we are very pleased that the birthday celebrations were a success. We look forward very much to welcoming you here again at The Castleton Hotel in Swanage. With kindest regards Melvin & Rebecca More

Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have known and visited Swanage for many years and stayed at various types of accommodation in the area. This was just a one night stop on a journey through five counties last week but we would come back and stay longer. Melvin and Rebecca are a warm and friendly couple, very happy to adapt to our needs to make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful feed back. We look forwards to seeing you again soon. It is always lovely when guests decide to stay another night. With kindest regards Melvin & Rebecca More

Hooglede, Belgium
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we had a last minute trip to England, Swanage, in the Castleton Hotel. Very warm welcome, perfect host, 2 nights was really too short! The room on the top floor was rather small, small bed too but clean and fresh. The bathroom had a small shower. The breakfast was fantastic. Nothing was to much trouble for Rebecca. The evenings we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feed back. it was lovely to meet you both. Should you return we'd be delighted to offer you one of our larger rooms such as a Superior King at the same rate as our standard double if you email us directly. Hope to see you again here in Sunny Swanage. With kindest regards Melvin... More

Farnham, Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I must just say before reviewing the Castleton that I have spent many happy childhood holidays in "Swanage" and still visit as often as possible. There are draw backs to the area in as much as good accommodation is at a premium and although we love going back in time and nothing changes a large part of accommodation needs freshening... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet you and it must be lovely to jog those wonderful childhood memories when returning to Swanage. The shower is less than two months old. I will ask the plumber to check the pressure and adjust accordingly, thank you for letting us know. We look forward very... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Castleton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castleton

Address: 1 Highcliffe Road, Swanage BH19 1LW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castleton 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Castleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castleton Swanage, Dorset

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
3:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Charming & Luxurious 4 star gold award winning Victorian Guest House, full of character, on the stunning World Heritage Jurassic Coast and located just 100 metres from Swanage's glorious sandy beach and a short level stroll along the seafront to the Town Centre with its many attractions. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer