We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Sherborne B&Bs / inns

The Bakehouse

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Acreman Street, Sherborne DT9 3NU, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Bakehouse to your Saves list
The Bakehouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
74%
Ranked #10 of 17 Sherborne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
255BookerV London
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    41
    13
    10
    20
See reviews for
27
50
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (161)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The house is period, and being run by ex-antique dealers, is fitted with choice pieces of furniture that create a charming feel. Great value room, large bathroom, strong shower. The welcome was helpful and house-rules few. Very helpful and friendly manner. Breakfast was delicious, generous, and the dog delightful. A great little place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Despite arriving 6 hours before check in the owner met us use a free room to get ready for the wedding we were attending. He was very friendly and accommodating! Supplying us with plenty of tea and coffee as we got ready. The place was clean and the food was good! A very friendly dog as well! Would definitely stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly enough welcome, but while I went away to park the car, my wife was shown to a room that bore no resemblance to any photograph on the website. The squadrons of flies circling the light fitting were dispatched by spraying as the swat could not be found. When asked for decaff tea, the best option was a grubby box... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we went to sherbourne to visit family thought we take our dog as well so we found the bakehouse online and seemed a good option as they accepted children and pets and looked nice and clean from the pictures on their website. so we booked a family room. the pictures on the website could not be more false if they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice bed. Wonderful breakfast. Delicious local food, What more do you want? If you want shy, retiring and discreet staff, standard modern furniture, bright lighting and bland food, go elsewhere. Mine host is somewhat ever-present.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The pictures on both the Bakehouse website and the professional pictures on here are a far cry from what I walked into. I was shocked. It was dirty, unkept, dark, dingy, bits of carpet missing, stains in the carpet that was there, stains on the wall, cup marks on mantel piece, noisy, unable to open the window which would have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Arrived on Monday and was greeted by Malcolm and Charlie. Malcolm is a great host and made us feel at home immediately. Our room was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed, good food and value for money. If your looking for something different and homely, this is the place for you. We will most certainly be back. Great to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brighton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 05/07/14 as we were attending a wedding in Sherborne. I stumbled across this B&B on my phone and decided it would be a great place to stay as it had brilliant value for money. Malcolm (the owner) is fantastic and did everything he could to make our stay very pleasant (even offering to drive us to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barnsley
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

This is the worst place I have stayed in. Clearly going downhill. First room smelt of rotten cabbages, moved to second room consisting of a bunk bed and camp bed. Room was a mish mash of old furniture, floor half covered in wood, sink hanging off wall in the bathroom, bathroom floor filthy. Felt itchy from the time I stepped in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

sorry this is worst place you have stayed, we do various types of rooms from £20 per night for one night , (to 89 per night for better rooms ) but they are shared accommodation like a hostel and we are reliant on other people being tidy and clean ,sometimes you pull the short straw and end up with pig... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Booked on my phone after seeing the location, once I arrived my expectations were met. After I left I'm convinced this is the best value accommodation I've stayed in, centrally located, good food, great service and cheap. Not sure what people expect for the price but I couldn't ask for more, the B&B is run by a chap who enjoys... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Do you own or manage The Bakehouse?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bakehouse

Address: 1 Acreman Street, Sherborne DT9 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bakehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Bakehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bakehouse Hotel Sherborne
The Bakehouse Sherborne, Dorset

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Bakehouse

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Sherborne Abbey
Sherborne Abbey
Architectural Buildings