We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bakehouse

1 Acreman Street, Sherborne DT9 3NU, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Bakehouse
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    91
    44
    13
    12
    27
See reviews for
36
57
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (187)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a nearby wedding and had a lovely time. Very long breakfast time meant we could have a genuine rest both days. And the breakfast was great too, with really good bread which is often not the case. A really good, unfussy no-frills B n B. And a friendly owner, who also has a very beautiful golden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Bakehouse for a Saturday night in order to attend a wedding. Although slightly nervous of some of the reviews below, I dismissed them according to Malcolm's replies and friendly email communication. I needed a bed and everywhere else was full. Although the staff (Malcolm was not there) were perfectly helpful and the room superficially clean, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night on the way to Cornwall and we could not have enjoyed a better stay. Comfortable room and bed, large screen TV, and a good en suite shower room. The shower was good quality with good flow/pressure and plenty of hot water. Radiator in the shower room kept a comfortable temperature. There were the usual Tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A warm welcome instantly from Malcolm and Charlie (labrador). A totally different experience from what we are used too but one we would do here over and over again.👍 Breakfast is more than enough and is a great set up for the day. Rooms are quirky amenities all here and clean. Really what more could you ask for? Thanks Malcolm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

thank you for your kind review ,i have been running this place for over ten years and as we are a little different from the norm we have had fair share of negative reviews , i respond to reviews so i can explain our ethos , we are not a boutique b and b and we are not interested in... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Many B & Bs can be a bit bland and inhospitable but not so The Bakehouse; the first time I stayed here I knew that it was different. Malcolm and his sidekick, Charlie the labrador, make you feel like family as soon as you walk through the door. The rooms are quirky, furnished with antiques, pictures on every wall and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

thank you for your kind review ,its true we are a little quirky , some people find it strange we have a dog in our b and b ,but for us it would be strange not to ! the previous guest found us tatty overpriced and dissappointing , i have done this for ten years so i have had a... More 

Dorset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were attending a wedding in Sherbonre and hadn't received much notice of the event. We searched and booked the Bakehouse as the only place that seemed to be available within walking distance of the venue. The Bakehouse states a booking in time of 4:00 but were very helpful in letting me book in much earlier in the afternoon, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

thank you for the novel ,of course nobody likes negative reviews , i am confident we offer clean and decent accommodation and value for money , yes there is a dog here , he sits on the sofa whilst you have you meal , , i am happy with the place i run , and dont think its tatty ,... More 

Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Bakehouse for a wedding. We had booked 2 nights in the lovely Sherborne and were very happy to have found a B&B close to the venue. On arrival the owner greated us warmly. Unfortunately, this was the high point of the stay. The room smelt like someone had smoked in there, it was also grimy and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

i am sorry you didnt like your stay and thought your room was below standard , we want everybody to enjoy their stay , we have a no smoking policy here so am surprised at smoking comment as our fire alarm system is very sensitive , yes when you arrived early at 11 am there was washing piled on the... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

It seems to me that the Bakehouse has had more than its fair share of dubious reviews. I found it to be clean, comfortable, unpretentious, friendly, down to earth. It's not for the precious, as some of the reviews demonstrate. A pleasant experience. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

thank you , i am glad you enjoyed your stay More 

Loughborough
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

This is a well located friendly place to stay. It has the feel of a home from home with wooden tables in the breakfast room, beautiful stone flag flooring in the downstairs bedroom where I stayed. There is a calm labrador called Charlie who meanders around. A boon for dog lovers. This is not a flash kind of a place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

thank you for returning to the bakehouse for a second visit ,we have tried to keep the spirit of this grade 2 listed property , it has wonderful flagstone floors so a pity in our view to cover them with carpet ,as an old antique dealer i furnish rooms with furniture that reflects the age of building , you could... More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

We found it very conveniently positioned base from where we could walk to the center of Sherborne within a few minutes. We booked on short notice and Malcolm was most helpful in accommodating our needs when he was already nearly fully booked and gave us every possible support to make us comfortable and guide us on the facilities and places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

thank you for returning to the bakehouse for a second visit ,we have tried to keep the spirit of this grade 2 listed property , it has wonderful flagstone floors so a pity in our view to cover them with carpet ,as an old antique dealer i furnish rooms with furniture that reflects the age of building , you could... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
0.1 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 4 in Sherborne
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Grange at Oborne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Sherborne Hotel
The Sherborne Hotel
#4 of 4 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre
0.1 mi away
The Britannia Inn Hotel
The Britannia Inn Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay