We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Sherborne B&Bs / inns

The Bakehouse

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Acreman Street, Sherborne DT9 3NU, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Bakehouse to your Saves list
The Bakehouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
75%
Ranked #9 of 17 Sherborne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Elizabeth B Surrey, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (156)
  • Photos (36)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    39
    13
    10
    18
See reviews for
26
47
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The pictures on both the Bakehouse website and the professional pictures on here are a far cry from what I walked into. I was shocked. It was dirty, unkept, dark, dingy, bits of carpet missing, stains in the carpet that was there, stains on the wall, cup marks on mantel piece, noisy, unable to open the window which would have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived on Monday and was greeted by Malcolm and Charlie. Malcolm is a great host and made us feel at home immediately. Our room was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed, good food and value for money. If your looking for something different and homely, this is the place for you. We will most certainly be back. Great to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brighton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 05/07/14 as we were attending a wedding in Sherborne. I stumbled across this B&B on my phone and decided it would be a great place to stay as it had brilliant value for money. Malcolm (the owner) is fantastic and did everything he could to make our stay very pleasant (even offering to drive us to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barnsley
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

This is the worst place I have stayed in. Clearly going downhill. First room smelt of rotten cabbages, moved to second room consisting of a bunk bed and camp bed. Room was a mish mash of old furniture, floor half covered in wood, sink hanging off wall in the bathroom, bathroom floor filthy. Felt itchy from the time I stepped in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

sorry this is worst place you have stayed, we do various types of rooms from £20 per night for one night , (to 89 per night for better rooms ) but they are shared accommodation like a hostel and we are reliant on other people being tidy and clean ,sometimes you pull the short straw and end up with pig... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Booked on my phone after seeing the location, once I arrived my expectations were met. After I left I'm convinced this is the best value accommodation I've stayed in, centrally located, good food, great service and cheap. Not sure what people expect for the price but I couldn't ask for more, the B&B is run by a chap who enjoys... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

very disappointed, generally it felt like a real let down, although Malcolm was nice and the breakfast was tasty I felt like I was staying in a single man's hostel! He was not there to meet us and all the blinds were drawn, I had to knock loudly and phone twice before I got entry.We were given an attic room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

i am very sorry you were not happy with your room , the attic family room is in my view is well kept and spacious , most of our guests seem to be happy with us , we can not be held to account for other guests smoking in an outside area , i dont like smoking full stop but... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I had read all of the previous reviews, and granted Malcolm is wonderful, what a warm and generous individual. Malcolm offered to watch our dog after she wouldn't settle for the evening so that we could enjoy an evening out. Breakfast was nice and made to order as every one commented on On the other hand, despite the lovely welcome... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

i am sorry you had problems with our code system ,we have used these for almost 10 yrs ,this system in our view is easy to use but we understand when people are elderly and poor sighted it can be a problem , as for other guests returning back late and being noisy ,,this i know is very boring ,... More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I was working in the area, and needed a cheap friendly place to stay, this was perfect. After working a hard week i was able to arrive at a time that was convenient for me,, was shown my clean room and bathroom. Was offered a glass or two of wine (on the house) Breakfast was great and made to order,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Staying for a family event in the town, we were told that we could arrive at our convenience and we received a very friendly welcome from Malcolm. The room was warm, but not too hot, with all the usual facilities you would expect at a B&B including a large screen TV and a nice shower. Amazingly, you can order an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Arriving early evening in Sherborne for a family occasion, we received a lovely greeting from the owner & his beautiful golden Labrador 'Charlie'. Our room was clean and warm, with a large bed, big flat screen TV, & the requested view of Sherborne Abbey. The ensuite shower was nice and hot with excellent power (morning and early evening). Bed comfortable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Bakehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bakehouse

Address: 1 Acreman Street, Sherborne DT9 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bakehouse 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your The Bakehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bakehouse Hotel Sherborne
The Bakehouse Sherborne, Dorset

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sherborne with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
18th century bakehouse stone built with 10 rooms, courtyard garden, dog friendly, wi-fi, evening meals, intimate and friendly, a pleasant alternative to a large hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bakehouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer