We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bakehouse

1 Acreman Street, Sherborne DT9 3NU, England
Hotel amenities
The Bakehouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #14 of 20 Sherborne B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Peter T Leicester, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    87
    44
    13
    11
    26
See reviews for
35
53
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (181)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Faversham, United Kingdom
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Bakehouse for a wedding. We had booked 2 nights in the lovely Sherborne and were very happy to have found a B&B close to the venue. On arrival the owner greated us warmly. Unfortunately, this was the high point of the stay. The room smelt like someone had smoked in there, it was also grimy and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

i am sorry you didnt like your stay and thought your room was below standard , we want everybody to enjoy their stay , we have a no smoking policy here so am surprised at smoking comment as our fire alarm system is very sensitive , yes when you arrived early at 11 am there was washing piled on the... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It seems to me that the Bakehouse has had more than its fair share of dubious reviews. I found it to be clean, comfortable, unpretentious, friendly, down to earth. It's not for the precious, as some of the reviews demonstrate. A pleasant experience. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

thank you , i am glad you enjoyed your stay More 

Loughborough
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a well located friendly place to stay. It has the feel of a home from home with wooden tables in the breakfast room, beautiful stone flag flooring in the downstairs bedroom where I stayed. There is a calm labrador called Charlie who meanders around. A boon for dog lovers. This is not a flash kind of a place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

thank you for returning to the bakehouse for a second visit ,we have tried to keep the spirit of this grade 2 listed property , it has wonderful flagstone floors so a pity in our view to cover them with carpet ,as an old antique dealer i furnish rooms with furniture that reflects the age of building , you could... More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found it very conveniently positioned base from where we could walk to the center of Sherborne within a few minutes. We booked on short notice and Malcolm was most helpful in accommodating our needs when he was already nearly fully booked and gave us every possible support to make us comfortable and guide us on the facilities and places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

thank you for returning to the bakehouse for a second visit ,we have tried to keep the spirit of this grade 2 listed property , it has wonderful flagstone floors so a pity in our view to cover them with carpet ,as an old antique dealer i furnish rooms with furniture that reflects the age of building , you could... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have used this establishment on a number of occasions and Malcolm is always helpful and accommodating. Sherborne is a beautiful place and for the money charged you get a great breakfast and right in the centre of the town. Having seen some of the reviews placed I think people must have stayed at a different location,there is just no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nothing was too much trouble for Malcolm Browne, the owner. He was very flexible about checking in and out times, and weekend breakfasts. The overriding informality was refreshing and very relaxing. Our stay was for a celebration of a series of end-of-year school events over a 3 day period which we shared with other family members. We need to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

thank you for your kind review ,of course we accept we are not going to be the ultimate b and b , but the rooms are clean and comfortable , the place is friendly and well run and we have a genuine desire to make your stay a good one . for us consistent quality and value with a friendly... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here for a short break and were very disappointed. Sherbourne is a lovely town, with a wonderful Abbey and surrounds, our stay was spoiled by this establishment. A tatty, end terrace property, with very tired décor. First impressions count for a great deal and the owner reflected his business, scruffy, untidy and unshaven. It is not suited to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

tatty end of terrace, best for tradesmen , builders and working people sometimes you dont have to do anymore than repeat what they have said , as for my new beard i think its rather fetching , have a good day sir and next time remember its tradesmen and working people that built this country More 

Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

He took £237 of us, insisting on half the money up front for 3 rooms we had booked.Three days before we were due to stay we rang to confirm the details, as we were coming over from Northern Ireland for a wedding. We were told that the rooms had been double booked. He maintained he had E-mailed us on several... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

this lady made a booking some months ago and paid a deposit by bank deposit, she left me her email but no telephone number and i confirmed her booking , nearer to the booking some 2 weeks before i emailed her again and asked her to respond and asked her to confirm her booking , subsequently i sent her 4... More 

Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

This B&B could be great, sadly let down by a level of hygiene that will prompt a complaint to trading standards and an owner with the scruples of Fagan. Whilst my wife and my booking was at least honoured, family who had come from Ireland and saved for the weekend, were turned away with no refund of their deposit. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

as you see one of the irish ladys friends has now weighed in ,in order to get some revenge , this week the third guest in a row complimented us on our rooms and helpfulness , people continue to return to the bakehouse , thank you to them , we are grateful for your support More 

Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015 via mobile

This place is disgusting, I wouldn't keep a dog here. The bedding is filthy,the kitchen is a dump, the food awful and owner is very rude. I will not stay here ever again. I sympathise with anybody who does...................

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this review

clearly this guest was not happy if he ever stayed here , which i doubt , of course we are not The Ritz but the majority of guests have a comfortable stay here and have no problems , our kitchen has 5 star rating from local council , sheets always changed , this i think stems from a customer who... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
0.1 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 4 in Sherborne
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Grange at Oborne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Sherborne Hotel
The Sherborne Hotel
#4 of 4 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
2.2 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
5.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay