We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wessex Royale Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
32 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UP, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wessex Royale Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wessex Royale Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    76
    75
    42
    9
    7
See reviews for
30
95
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (209)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here as a base to be near family. booked at last minute over bank holiday weekend and arrived late on Friday night. Receptionist on duty went out of her way to make sandwiches for our party after a very long journey down to Dorset and nothing was too much trouble. This was reflected by all the other staff we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bodmin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for our anniversary in November 2014. We had a wonderful two night stay. Excellent food. Especially the evening meal which was prepared fresh with all fresh ingredients. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room we had was a four poster which was a surprise to us as we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here to do some family history research - great location for this task. The staff were friendly and courteous. My room was adequate for one person and it was lovely to find I could open the windows - not many hotels seem to sanction fresh air! The room was clean and my bed was comfortable and although the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager W, Manager at Wessex Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diane S Thank you for taking the time to rate the Wessex Royale Hotel. Lovely to read that you found your room to be comfortable and that you enjoyed your meal in the hotel's restaurant. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome on your return visit. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel on spec having seeing the other revues on tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The food is absolutely excellent and has not been bettered in our life time and we have lived a long time, we are in our seventies.Our room was equally comfortable and the staff were excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager W, Manager at Wessex Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cliff L Thank you for your lovely comments about the Wessex Royale Hotel. Good to read that you took full advantage of all we have to offer and that you were 'not disappointed'. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Staines
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned home from a two night stay at the Wessex Royale, it was lovely from start to finish, the staff were lovely, all of them, nothing was too much trouble and you were always greeted with a smile and cheery hello, the wifi, was barely there in the room we were in, so I rang reception and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager W, Manager at Wessex Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kelvinStaines Thank you for taking the time to rate the Wessex Royale Hotel so highly. Great to read your lovely comments about the customer service you received from our hotel staff and we look forward to giving you a warm welcome on your next visit. More 

Coleford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The star of this hotel, alongside its happy, helpful staff, is the restaurant. We enjoyed the antipasto to share as a starter - the quality of the ingredients and the flavour combinations made this into a heavenly experience beyond the norm and made up for having to miss out on other tempting starters such as Jerusalem Artichoke Veloute with black... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager W, Manager at Wessex Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beverley M Thank you for your lovely comments about your dining experience at the Wessex Royale Hotel and giving us such a high rating score. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome on your next visit. More 

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My firm has been using the hotel for a number of years, both for impromptu coffee/lunch meetings and our bi-monthly HK Top O'Town Lunch Club. Steve and his staff always bend over backwards to make us welcome and provide an excellent service with good value lunches. Can only recommend more clubs and business organisations to use the Hotel. You will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager W, Manager at Wessex Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barry W Thank you for taking the time to rate the Wessex Royale Hotel so highly. Your lovely comments about the hotel staff, facilities and food are most appreciated. We can cater for up to 120 guests with a buffet style reception and 80 guests for a banquet style reception in our William Barnes function room. In our Regency... More 

taff abroad
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent just one night at the hotel which was very comfortable. It was Sunday night so not many local eateries were open which made us try out the Hotel Restaurant. This turned out to be quite a bonus. The scallop starters followed by duck, in my case and lamb for my wife were of the highest order. Who is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager W, Manager at Wessex Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Moselman Thank you for your lovely comments and for rating the Wessex Royale Hotel so highly. We have regular guests who stay with us so that they can have a rest and enjoy the restaurant food. As you say a 'restaurant with a hotel'. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am reviewing the restaurant here because the Wessex Royale appears only under hotels in your listing, not under restaurants. The lunch I had here last week was very overpriced for what it was. We paid in the region of 15 pounds each for the main courses. My small piece of cod was OK, though the sauce it came with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager W, Manager at Wessex Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Travel1000glen Thank You for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed in the food you received and that you didn’t feel it necessary to bring your grievances to our attention when given the opportunity by the waitress (twice). Regarding the price of the Pollock, we use locally sourced fish which in... More 

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
496 reviews 496 reviews
80 hotel reviews
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A nice hotel with lots of character and great staff. Brilliant food - and really great breakfasts. My second time here - and on both times I have noted how noisy the rooms are - Walls are thin and the road noise at the front can be bad (Ambulances to the nearby hospital). Bring your ear-plugs and you will have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager W, Manager at Wessex Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Albia-Newton Thank you for your comments. Great to see that you enjoyed the hotel food. Your appreciation of the Wessex Royale Hotel's 'character' and 'great staff' is also good to know. Sorry you've found the rooms at the front of the hotel are not ideal for you, next time you book please request a room at the back. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay