We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Ansty, Dorchester DT2 7PN, England
Hotel amenities
The Fox Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Fox Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #27 of 50 Dorchester B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Joseph C Liverpool, United Kingdom
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    45
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
20
89
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (163)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

stayed Monday night after attending a funeral nearby. Rooms are large with a king size bed, very comfortable. Had an evening meal which was very good,cheap as well. Staff were very friendly and helpfull. Overall the inn is cheap very good rooms and the food is excellent. My previous review was the Hilton in Newcastle which was garbage compared to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Going to the fox with our friends for our Christmas meal was the best choice! on arrival we were greeted by friendly welcoming staff. As we shown to our table, it was lovely to see it had been decorated all christmasy. The food was absolutely outstanding, brilliant quality and there was lots of it. everyone in our party commented on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just visited The Fox for Sunday lunch with friends, we have been before and it does not dissapoint. Due to the nature of the buildings layout it can get a bit crowded whilst waiting for the carvery but the surroundings are great and so are the staff. We havnt stayed overnight as we live in a nearby town but its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed over for one night after visiting the tank museum. Very friendly staff, excellent room, and a good breakfast in the morning. The location is a bit off the beaten track, but is central for lots of Dorset attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a long 5 mile walk near the Fox Inn we had a lovely lunch at the Fox Inn. We were a group of 10 and had booked table for 2pm we arrived early and the place was packed but the man who runs the hotel soon got us seated at our table . This was the best carvery we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Fox at Ansty is surrounded by Dorset..... Dorchester, Cerne Abbas, Sherbourne all a hop and a skip away. It's a rebuilt house, from the burned down home of Mr Hall of the Hall and Woodhouse Brewery which started off in the village. Or was it Mr Woodhouse? Anyway, it is still a brewery house and their beers are good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We stayed 12-14th November 2014. A very friendly staff met us upon a late arrival. We had phoned to say we would be late but had a lovely supper awaiting us! The game fair menu was superb!!! Our room was very clean and very cosy. Could find no fault with this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sutton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Impressive and quirky. Good service from a courteous youthful team, backed up by great food and a really lovely fresh room including new shower area. The chef produced some really inventive food at dinner and breakfast was good too. Lovely experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southampton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

The Sunday lunch buffet here was quite good but the overall experience was rather marred by the intolerable noise levels, coming mainly from a number of young children who made it very clear indeed that they would rather have been somewhere else. Unfortunately, the parents were the hands-off type, seeing it perfectly OK to allow the kids to alleviate their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Keith D, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Please accept our apologies that your visit was marred by children making noise etc. Unfortunately, you are correct in mentioning that we do not know in advance how many of a party are going to be children, or to what extent how unruly these children are going to be, however, it would be impossible to... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
61 hotel reviews
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I think the Sunday lunch buffet at the Fox is worthy of commendation as it is good value and well prepared. I'd have liked to give more stars but have a problem with the service we received. Most of servers were young, inexperienced, untrained, were ignorant of the menu and gave the wrong information to us about some of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Keith D, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Firstly, many thanks for your positive comments about our Sunday Carvery, however, I am saddened to hear of your unfortunate experience with our waiting staff. You are correct in your assumption it is difficult to recruit staff, and we did have two members of staff working on Sunday who were only on their second shift. This is no excuse however... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Address: Ansty, Dorchester DT2 7PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Dorchester
The Fox Inn Dorchester, Dorset

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Fox Inn

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby