We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Ansty, Dorchester DT2 7PN, England
Hotel amenities
The Fox Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Fox Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #26 of 49 Dorchester B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Capability186463 Newport, United Kingdom
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    45
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
20
89
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (159)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Fox at Ansty is surrounded by Dorset..... Dorchester, Cerne Abbas, Sherbourne all a hop and a skip away. It's a rebuilt house, from the burned down home of Mr Hall of the Hall and Woodhouse Brewery which started off in the village. Or was it Mr Woodhouse? Anyway, it is still a brewery house and their beers are good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 12-14th November 2014. A very friendly staff met us upon a late arrival. We had phoned to say we would be late but had a lovely supper awaiting us! The game fair menu was superb!!! Our room was very clean and very cosy. Could find no fault with this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sutton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Impressive and quirky. Good service from a courteous youthful team, backed up by great food and a really lovely fresh room including new shower area. The chef produced some really inventive food at dinner and breakfast was good too. Lovely experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southampton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Sunday lunch buffet here was quite good but the overall experience was rather marred by the intolerable noise levels, coming mainly from a number of young children who made it very clear indeed that they would rather have been somewhere else. Unfortunately, the parents were the hands-off type, seeing it perfectly OK to allow the kids to alleviate their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Keith D, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Please accept our apologies that your visit was marred by children making noise etc. Unfortunately, you are correct in mentioning that we do not know in advance how many of a party are going to be children, or to what extent how unruly these children are going to be, however, it would be impossible to... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
61 hotel reviews
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I think the Sunday lunch buffet at the Fox is worthy of commendation as it is good value and well prepared. I'd have liked to give more stars but have a problem with the service we received. Most of servers were young, inexperienced, untrained, were ignorant of the menu and gave the wrong information to us about some of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Keith D, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Firstly, many thanks for your positive comments about our Sunday Carvery, however, I am saddened to hear of your unfortunate experience with our waiting staff. You are correct in your assumption it is difficult to recruit staff, and we did have two members of staff working on Sunday who were only on their second shift. This is no excuse however... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great Inn. Friendly staff. Good quality home cooked food...our steaks were delicious & the cheese board for 2 was impressive; great cheese selection and accompaniments. We stayed on a Friday night on an impulse to 'get away' for the evening. Will definitely be back! Have already recommended to several friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at the Fox a couple of times, this time we had the delightful super king bed, the sheets were so clean and crisp in fact the room was really clean.....you rarely get this. The bed was so comfy and had a fab nights sleep. The breakfast was locally sourced and the bacon was really tasty ....remember real... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we came across the advert by chance looking for a couple of days away, what a pleasant place, we found the staff welcoming and friendly, the room was spotless ,food was good and the beer was also good, prices reasonable in all great, we hope to return soon, Dave and Wendy (kent)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on the way to Kent and it was an excellent choice. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The dinner menu was great with some lovely specials listed, I had the rabbit stew which was superb! The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast menu had a good choice and everything selected was well cooked to order.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stouport on Severn
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent two nights at the Inn with a group of friends. The Inn is about as remote as you can get in Dorset, but is well signposted from the main roads. There is able parking. A little quirky and needing some updating within the bar and restaurant arrears. We were allocated Room 15 on the second floor, which was modern,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Address: Ansty, Dorchester DT2 7PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Dorchester
The Fox Inn Dorchester, Dorset

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Fox Inn

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby