We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Churchview Guest House

4.0 of 5 Winterbourne Abbas, Dorchester DT2 9LS, England
#21 of 47 hotels in Dorchester
39 Reviews 4.5 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Churchview Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Churchview Guest House
  • Overview
  • Reviews (39)
  • Photos (19)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Save Saved
You added Churchview Guest House to your Saves list
true
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
21
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After searching online for a short break in Dorset we stumbled upon Churchview guest house. Reading the reviews it sounded just what we were looking for and we was not disappointed. The guesthouse is over three hundred years old with exposed beams and uneven floors but this all adds to the houses charm.We had a very warm welcome and Jane... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
clacton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Picked this B&B as it was central along Chesil beach, very pleasant and welcoming owners. Excellent breakfast clean and comfy room, local pub was a bonus just up the road and although we didn't eat there the food looked good,definitely come back when the fishing picks up.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for just one night, but wished we could have stayed longer. The owners were very welcoming and put on a lovely home cooked breakfast the next morning. The old building itself is gorgeous with hallways which are not completely level (rustic charm) and exposed beams throughout. Our room was spotlessly clean, with well catered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St Albans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Decided at 24 hrs notice to go see my dad and hunted for cheap B&B, found Churchview and they were more than happy to put extra small bed in a double room for my son. I was worried at staying at an unknown B&B as last time I did this I turned around and walked out of another place. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

A lovely building which is 300 years old in parts, which has been sympathetically converted so it retains character whilst providing modern facilities. Very convenient location and very friendly hosts. A good hearty well cooked breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We made a fairly 'last minute' decision to take a short holiday to Dorest over the May Day bank holiday (2014). We weren't particularly worried about the location as long as it was within a short drive to the coast and it was dog friendly. We had tried a few places prior to the Churchview, but they were fully booked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My wife and I spend two nights an Chrchview. Our hosts were very helpful, friendly and hospitable. The room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were tremendous. The guesthouse is situated on the main A35 to the West of Dorchester. Our room overlooked the road and although occasionally we could hear traffic it was never enough to disturb us or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and I spent the night here and couldn't fault it. The owners were friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay more comfortable and enjoyable. They seemed to have an endless mental library of things to do, see, and places to eat nearby. The recommendations lived up to their descriptions too! The accommodation was full of character... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChurchviewGH, Owner at Churchview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review More

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this establishment several times and always found it friendly and comfortable. Good location for walking and cycling. The owners are very nice and the cooked Breakfast is to die for! Mick and Jane the owners have always been very helpful and Mick is especially good at telling us where to go! The area has lots of lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChurchviewGH, Owner at Churchview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are both very pleased that you have continued to enjoy staying at Churchview. More

Amersham
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I agree with the previous two reviews. The traffic noise is terrible and goes on till early hours and then every 15 mins or so until 5am when it all starts again. Do not stay there, the owner was not at all helpfull when I asked to switch rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ChurchviewGH, Owner at Churchview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that you were dissatisfied with your stay and that you are urging others not to stay with us. As you say, following booking in you asked if rooms were available at the rear. I apologised and pointed out that the guest house has no rear facing doubles, adding that we... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Churchview Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Churchview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchview Guest House

Address: Winterbourne Abbas, Dorchester DT2 9LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Churchview Guest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Churchview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchview Guest House Dorchester, Dorset

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Dorchester with
any amenities

Amenities

Hotel Class
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Churchview Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer