We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 46 Dorchester B&Bs / inns

Churchview Guest House

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Winterbourne Abbas, Dorchester DT2 9LS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Churchview Guest House to your Saves list
Churchview Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
84%
Ranked #20 of 46 Dorchester B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
steve o clacton
  • Overview
  • Reviews (38)
  • Photos (19)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
20
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
clacton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Picked this B&B as it was central along Chesil beach, very pleasant and welcoming owners. Excellent breakfast clean and comfy room, local pub was a bonus just up the road and although we didn't eat there the food looked good,definitely come back when the fishing picks up.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for just one night, but wished we could have stayed longer. The owners were very welcoming and put on a lovely home cooked breakfast the next morning. The old building itself is gorgeous with hallways which are not completely level (rustic charm) and exposed beams throughout. Our room was spotlessly clean, with well catered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St Albans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Decided at 24 hrs notice to go see my dad and hunted for cheap B&B, found Churchview and they were more than happy to put extra small bed in a double room for my son. I was worried at staying at an unknown B&B as last time I did this I turned around and walked out of another place. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

A lovely building which is 300 years old in parts, which has been sympathetically converted so it retains character whilst providing modern facilities. Very convenient location and very friendly hosts. A good hearty well cooked breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We made a fairly 'last minute' decision to take a short holiday to Dorest over the May Day bank holiday (2014). We weren't particularly worried about the location as long as it was within a short drive to the coast and it was dog friendly. We had tried a few places prior to the Churchview, but they were fully booked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My wife and I spend two nights an Chrchview. Our hosts were very helpful, friendly and hospitable. The room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were tremendous. The guesthouse is situated on the main A35 to the West of Dorchester. Our room overlooked the road and although occasionally we could hear traffic it was never enough to disturb us or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dorset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and I spent the night here and couldn't fault it. The owners were friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay more comfortable and enjoyable. They seemed to have an endless mental library of things to do, see, and places to eat nearby. The recommendations lived up to their descriptions too! The accommodation was full of character... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChurchviewGH, Owner at Churchview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review More

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this establishment several times and always found it friendly and comfortable. Good location for walking and cycling. The owners are very nice and the cooked Breakfast is to die for! Mick and Jane the owners have always been very helpful and Mick is especially good at telling us where to go! The area has lots of lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChurchviewGH, Owner at Churchview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are both very pleased that you have continued to enjoy staying at Churchview. More

Amersham
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I agree with the previous two reviews. The traffic noise is terrible and goes on till early hours and then every 15 mins or so until 5am when it all starts again. Do not stay there, the owner was not at all helpfull when I asked to switch rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ChurchviewGH, Owner at Churchview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that you were dissatisfied with your stay and that you are urging others not to stay with us. As you say, following booking in you asked if rooms were available at the rear. I apologised and pointed out that the guest house has no rear facing doubles, adding that we... More

Leatherhead Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had booked a month before arriving for a 3 night stay, so were only offered a double rooom to the front of this lovely character building. It is on the busy A35 but the double glazing kept out most of the noise which builds up by about 7 a.m. Michael and Jane are wonderful hosts who have many years... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Churchview Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Churchview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchview Guest House

Address: Winterbourne Abbas, Dorchester DT2 9LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Churchview Guest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Churchview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchview Guest House Dorchester, Dorset

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer