We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 Dorchester B&Bs / inns

Churchview Guest House

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Winterbourne Abbas, Dorchester DT2 9LS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Churchview Guest House to your Saves list
Churchview Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
80%
Ranked #21 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
A recent review
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I spent the night here and couldn't fault it. The owners were friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay more comfortable and enjoyable. They seemed to have an endless mental library of things to do, see, and places to eat nearby. The recommendations lived up to their descriptions too! The accommodation was full of character... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this establishment several times and always found it friendly and comfortable. Good location for walking and cycling. The owners are very nice and the cooked Breakfast is to die for! Mick and Jane the owners have always been very helpful and Mick is especially good at telling us where to go! The area has lots of lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amersham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I agree with the previous two reviews. The traffic noise is terrible and goes on till early hours and then every 15 mins or so until 5am when it all starts again. Do not stay there, the owner was not at all helpfull when I asked to switch rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChurchviewGH, Owner at Churchview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that you were dissatisfied with your stay and that you are urging others not to stay with us. As you say, following booking in you asked if rooms were available at the rear. I apologised and pointed out that the guest house has no rear facing doubles, adding that we... More

Leatherhead Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had booked a month before arriving for a 3 night stay, so were only offered a double rooom to the front of this lovely character building. It is on the busy A35 but the double glazing kept out most of the noise which builds up by about 7 a.m. Michael and Jane are wonderful hosts who have many years... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very friendly hosts. Calm relaxing atmosphere. Nice setting. Clean rooms. Nice cooked breakfast with a good selection of cereals and homemade marmalade Wifi internet is v.slow but this is due to location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Church View B&B. It has a great location and there is a lovely pub with great food just down the road, as well as the Nine Stones Monument - tiny and a little hard to find but worth a visit (past the Little Chef nearby). The landlady was so welcoming on arrival. She... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Read what the other people have said, and it is all very true, we booked very late, just for one night, from the initial telephone call to our arrival to our leaving, Jane and Michael (the owners) were extremely helpful, Jane is fantastic at giving precise directions, and Michael is very chatty, and full of all kinds of information, these... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked this guesthouse through late rooms.com. We stayed only one night, but wished we could have stayed longer. We were given a warm welcome, our room, though small was cosy and clean. We had everything we wanted inc tv, DVD player etc. breakfast was very good with lots of options, but we had the full English which was nicely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Lovely guest house, warm welcome, we had a lovely twin/en-suite room to a high standard. Great Breakfast with lots of options. Some very handy hints/tips for visiting the area. Off road park a bonus and good local Pub for evening food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Lovely guest house. We had a cosy, clean room and the owners made us feel at home. One thing that could do with improvement is to have bigger beds otherwise everything else was fantastic. It's on a main road but we weren't greatly affected by it. Great pub just down the road. Breakfast was lovely with hot and cold options... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Churchview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchview Guest House

Also Known As:
Churchview Guest House Dorchester, Dorset
Address: Winterbourne Abbas, Dorchester DT2 9LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Churchview Guest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Churchview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Churchview Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.