We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 146 Bournemouth B&Bs / inns

The Claremont Hotel

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   89 St. Michael's Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Claremont Hotel to your Saves list
The Claremont Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
92%
Ranked #66 of 146 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013
fendermanbass Gloucestershire
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    50
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
27
105
50
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just got to the hotel we noticed how filthy it was outside fag buts everywhere then you go inside to find a desk crammend in the hall way which is the reception the owner and staff are very friendly the only good thing!! Then you enter the bedroom which looks very dated looks like your Nan's decorated it then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colyton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We booked a "superior" double room via the Venere.com website for one night. On arrival, we were shown to our room which was on the top floor.. We were extremely disappointed and upset - the room was damp, had a musky smell, the curtains were hanging off the curtain pole and there was no way I could open a window.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClaremontBournemouth, Manager at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to disappoint you and not being up to your level of standard but we are in the process of refurbishment and decorations. More

Gloucestershire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at the Claremont for a weekend break and can truly say we wished it were for longer. The staff were really friendly and the hotel itself was nice and clean in all areas. Our bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep as the hotel was really quiet at night, unlike some that we have stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel could do better. Staff good, but rooms only adequate, had a conference in the area recently so had not refilled hotel bar, also staff not apparently available. The staff were willing to provide transport support for the area, by ordering cabs and knowing how to get to places of interest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
12 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel is nice and clean. Staff were very helpful and smily. Rooms were small and clean. Location was very good. City is near just few minutes walk. The most beautiful beach is just behind the corner. I enjoy my stay and recommend to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have just spent a long weekend at this B&B (not for the first time) and found all the staff and owner very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and well maintained. Breakfast is cooked to order as and how you request it. There is plenty of parking and it is also very central to Bournemouth centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Ok, where to start? Firstly, the last hotel i was in was the Cumberland, Marble Arch, but that was a fair few years ago, large, grandiose and impersonal (and damn expensive for 10 on a weeks business trip costing 33k). This is poles apart, I wanted a short break and clocked on to the fact that there was the yearly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

When we first arrived we were greeted by the owner who made small talk with us and told us breakfast times while finding our keys. The public areas of the hotel were always kept very clean. The rooms were also kept clean with clean towels provided everyday. A small bottle of shampoo and conditioner are also in the bathroom for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked a long weekend in this hotel in may and paid our deposit. We arrived as planned on 26 july to be told, by a very unfriendly owner, that we were not booked in and the hotel was full. At 8pm on a friday night we had nowhere to stay. He was very awkward about refunding our deposit .... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ClaremontBournemouth, Manager at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

Beware!! thats what we inform all Hotels in Bournemouth of those people. Obvious blackmail. Those people had No booking, No confirmation, No receipt, and did not stay with us … etc and we opened an investigation with Tripadvisor. More

England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I found the staff here to be very friendly and helpful. The room was very small but it was kept clean and was well set out with a flat screen TV. The bed was firm and comfortable. Everything was in working order, including the shower, but I did notice that the wash basin was cracked (not leaking). I didn't use... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClaremontBournemouth, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your partily good review but I checked the “cracked basin” and it was a dark line not a crack. In regards to noise If you did not experience any noise yourself then why do you complaint about it? When other people stayed at the same time with you didn’t complaint. I have stayed in many hotels different... More

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Address: 89 St. Michael's Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claremont Hotel is a non-smoking hotel ideally situated conveniently close to the town centre, vibrant nightlife, beaches & conference centre. Recently refurbished to a very high standard. Ample free parking. All rooms TV/DVD & free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Claremont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.