We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 150 Bournemouth B&Bs / inns

The Winter Dene

4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   11 Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Winter Dene to your Saves list
The Winter Dene
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
91%
Ranked #45 of 150 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
oge12365 Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    7
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

i would like to say what a great time we had staying at the winterdean hotel again friendly welcome great room and comfortable excellent breakfasts.and it a great place for transport links around bournemouth areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel end of August for 2 nights. Had a very Pleasant stay, room was very clean and cosy, lovely gardens and views from bedroom. Ample car park. Ideal location for short walk to beach and town. Plenty of restaurants nearby

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berwick
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Friendly welcome; room more than adequate, clean and comfortable. Really excellent breakfast, which set one up for the day splendidly. Convenient location - centre of Bournemouth easily accessed on foot or by bus. Excellent value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amersham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great location with easy access to the beaches and the town. Easy parking and very friendly and helpful owners. Excellent breakfast...well coked and wide choice. Evening meal available if required, although we chose to eat in the town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Princes Risborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We booked this hotel only 1 week before we stayed. We booked the family room for 2 nights. We arrived early (1pm) and the owner was kind enough to allow us to leave our car in the car park whilst we went to the beach with our 7 year old son, which we ealsily found - about 10 minute walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had a short long weekend break. Our travel to Bournemouth had taken much much longer than planned. Our journey down the A1 (A1M) was fine, but unfortunately after that it became horrendous as we endured long delays on the M25, M27, M3, A31 and finally the A338. It was a Friday after all! When we finally arrived, all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed 2 nights B&B. Chose this hotel because it is in walking distance of the BIC (about 10 -15 mins walk). The room was large, clean and well decorated, and the bed was comfortable. The en-suite was also large. The service at breakfast was very efficient and the food was good. Location was great. Will definitely stay at the Winter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Booked two nights, Monday 28th & Tuesday 29th July! Arrived early & was greeted by heather who instantly knew who I was.. Was early so knew room wasn't going to be ready, was given key & map of local area & could leave luggage with them till room available. Well room 14... A fantastic room, king size bed, plus 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words - it is much appreciated. We hope to welcome you again here sometime. More

Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is within 10 mins walking distance of the town, parking was easy with plenty of spaces. Excellent breakfast choices, one small negative point was the size of the room my husband and myself were allocated, it was on the top floor with a sloping ceiling and very little floor space. A tall person might have problems avoiding banging... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your breakfast. We did discuss your room being on the top floor before you made the booking. If you had raised your concerns about fire safety we could have showed you that we are fully compliant and certificated in all areas. All doors are fire retaining doors and negate... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed in the Winter Dene for a single night. Room smallish but clean and comfortable, with all necessary facilities. Bed very comfy. Per-person pricing meant superb value for solo traveller, with good breakfast included. Friendly hosts. Good car park. Nice garden. Easy walks to town, beach and cliffs. WiFi worked throughout hotel, though a bit slow at popular times.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Do you own or manage The Winter Dene?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Winter Dene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winter Dene

Address: 11 Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winter Dene 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Winter Dene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Winter Dene