We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 149 Bournemouth B&Bs / inns

The Winter Dene

4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   11 Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Winter Dene to your Saves list
The Winter Dene
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
91%
Ranked #47 of 149 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
MrsB070 Worcester, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (49)
  • Photos (15)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    5
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is within 10 mins walking distance of the town, parking was easy with plenty of spaces. Excellent breakfast choices, one small negative point was the size of the room my husband and myself were allocated, it was on the top floor with a sloping ceiling and very little floor space. A tall person might have problems avoiding banging... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your breakfast. We did discuss your room being on the top floor before you made the booking. If you had raised your concerns about fire safety we could have showed you that we are fully compliant and certificated in all areas. All doors are fire retaining doors and negate... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in the Winter Dene for a single night. Room smallish but clean and comfortable, with all necessary facilities. Bed very comfy. Per-person pricing meant superb value for solo traveller, with good breakfast included. Friendly hosts. Good car park. Nice garden. Easy walks to town, beach and cliffs. WiFi worked throughout hotel, though a bit slow at popular times.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
High Wycombe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An excellent find. Spacious room with all facilities. Good breakfasts. Plenty of parking but anyway only 5 to 10 mins walk of beaches and town centre. Very fairly priced for such good quality accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed two nights, perfect room, over looking garden, huge & comfortable bed, immaculately clean. Hosts very helpful especially during breakfast service! which was excellent with plenty of choice. Would highly recommend for your next stay in Bournemouth.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Beautiful building, easy to park and a short walk to the beach and restaurants. Highly recommended. The room was big (room #11) and clean. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice (juices, coffee, tea, yogurt, cereal, full english, jam, marmelade, toast, etc). The view of the back garden from our window was beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genoa, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed for a week in a family room, which was very comfortable, clean and great for a family of 4. Fantastic food- we had breakfast and evening meals, lots of choice and generous portions and even special hot chocolate for my son. Heather and Renzo and all their staff made us feel very welcome and went out of their way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The room was very good, thought the idea of separating wall was ingenious for travelling friends, breakfast was very nice but was sad to see there was no dinner at non-peak times as the reviews looked good Customer service was brilliant, everything was catered for!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just had a three night stay at the Winter Dene Hotel, very warm reception from Renzo. The Winter Dene is a very clean and comfortable hotel, set in beautifully maintained gardens with adequate free parking. Many thanks to Heather for providing an excellent good quality full English breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for Heather and Renzo, will definitely stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here in July for a long weekend, fantastic breakfast and I had 1 evening meal, all home cooked, great portions. Car parking and a short walk into town or down to beach. A great find as my normal B&B was fully booked. Wifi was hit and miss

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

3 night stay here over the Air Show weekend. Excellent hotel - very clean and lovely bedroom. Liked the bottles of water provided in the room. Breakfast was very good. Great location as well - very easy to walk to the beach, town and bus stops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Winter Dene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Winter Dene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winter Dene

Address: 11 Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winter Dene 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Winter Dene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Victorian villa which has been lovingly refurbished to offer comfortable surroundings for your holidays. Situated in a quiet area of the West Cliff, just 5 minutes walk from beach and 10 minutes walk to Bournemouth International Centre and town centre, pier, etc.All rooms are en-suite with bath and/or shower, TV with freeview/radio, hairdryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities.Large car park within hotel garden. Free WIFI.Bed and Breakfast with optional Evening Meal. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

See which rooms travelers prefer