We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 149 Bournemouth B&Bs / inns

Charlesworth Hotel

35 Tregonwell Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5NT, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (70)
  • Photos (6)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Charlesworth Hotel
Ranked #98 of 149 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    12
    4
    10
See reviews for
7
48
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arriving in our room we realised that the toilet wasnt flushing properly, when we addressed this with the owners, Brian immediately became defensive, rude and abrupt insinuating that we were the cause of the problem. He would not listen to anything we had to say, continuously speaking over us, when we asked him to leave the room because he... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Brian and Wendy were very welcoming and hospitable. Great breakfast. ROOM where do I start apart from the 18 inch TV that did not work and the en-suit that was a cupboard that you had to open the door to turn around to get back out off. The door into our room had two holes in it where previous guests... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
boat999, Owner at Charlesworth Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that over the two days you stayed with us you were unhappy with your room. If I checked into a Hotel that I was unhappy with, I would have immediately expressed this to the owner and been offered another room or given a refund to stay in another Hotel. It is difficult to fix a TV when... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel for 1 day, I booked 2 rooms with breakfast. Every request I wanted to ask seemed like a big problem for the owner, like for example: Replace breakfast for a sandwich to take in the checkout (I couldn't be in the hotel for the breakfast), or leave the car in the car park for few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
boat999, Owner at Charlesworth Hotel, responded to this review

The gentleman booked a double room as he was here to compete in a Triathlon. After he checked in, he carried his bicycle up to his room. He did not feel the need to ask if this was OK. Then around 30 minutes later he brought two more bikes into the Hotel with the intention of putting them into his... More

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We would like to say thank you to brian and wendy for another brilliant relaxing comfortable enjoyable stay. This is our second stay within a month it has everything we needed, both brian and wendy are fantastic they treat us like old friends and do everything to help, i would recommend this hotel to everyone, and brian and wendy when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A return visit by us and we had a great stay; lovely comfy bed and scrumptious brekkies!! Wendy and Brian are friendly and very welcoming every time we stay. Great location for all that we want to do in the area...handy for pubs and restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
brighton
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friend and I booked a double room for one night to stay, upon arrival we were met by a very scruffy owner and told that they don't accept stag and hen parties and we weren't welcome to stay, as we had been stupid by not reading the small print. After trying to explain to the owner Brian we weren't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a two nights stay at the Charlesworth, the hosts were warm and friendly. The hotel is situated in an ideal location and is very clean. Breakfast was fantastic, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were scrumey, my partener was in heaven when Wendy the host offered him black pudding with his cooked breakfast.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Made very welcome from start to the finish by Wendy & Brian (ps first time here never met the owners before but First name terms so friendly) The English breakfast was very nice freshly cooked.Location short walk to the pier and shops. ps our small dog Cassie also welcomed for a small fee. Will recommend and stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Just stayed 2 nights at the Charlesworth as part of a short break to celebrate my partners birthday. Nothing was too much trouble for Wendy & Brian the couple who own this B&B & we were made to feel very welcome , we would certainly reccommend this B&B to anyone. PS, the home cooked breakfast was lovely 10/10 !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My friend and I stayed for one night at the Charlesworth hotel to attend a concert at the local BIC, which helpfully was a 5 min walk from the hotel. Upon arrival I was greeted by Wendy one of the hotels owners. She gave me a very polite and friendly welcoming asking about my journey and inquiring about my stay.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Charlesworth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Charlesworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesworth Hotel

Address: 35 Tregonwell Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Parking
Number of rooms
14

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Charlesworth Hotel to your Saves list