We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Applewood Hotel

Hotel website
7 Durley Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JQ, England (Formerly Kingswood Hotel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Applewood Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Applewood Hotel
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    18
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
8
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a hen party weekend in may 2015. We could not of asked for a better stay. The hotel has recently been refurbished and looks amazing. The rooms are extremely clean and were cleaned daily which was great considering we were only there for a couple of days. Again the rooms and bathrooms are decorated to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Four of us had a 3 night break and from our first phone contact to waving goodbye had a refreshing customer caring attitude, online booking process had a few issues which were quickly fixed and the whole hotel staff team had the same can do attitude. So many Bournemouth hotels have a musty outdated appearance so the new refurb with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel very clean and pretty. Staff were very friendly and helpful and made our stay in Bournemouth brilliant. Will definitely go back. Only a short walk to the town centre which has great shops and nightlife.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a super Hen Weekend. The very friendly staff at The Applewood hotel could not be more accommodating. The rooms were clean and newly refurbished and very comfortable. Plenty of great food for breakfast and service always with a smile. We would definitely recommend this Hotel to others

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Newly refurbished to a good standard, so pictures do need updating. Staff helpful, friendly and welcoming. Rooms clean and comfy. 7 people staying and everyone was happy. Would stay there again with the Mrs as the location is so close to centre and beaches (about 5 - 10 min walk).

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel has been refurbished to a high standard - needs new photos on the website as it now has a 'boutique' style and looks much better than the photos on there at the moment. Rooms very clean although the shower needs to be hotter and much more powerful - I would stay here again if the shower was improved.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

+ Staff, very helpful.. we arrived at late- around 11:30pm but they were waiting for us. Clean toilet/bath, nice breakfast area, easy access. - The same staff on reception were doing the breakfast preparation. They need some kitchen staff. Once they are in the kitchen- you don't find anyone else to ask for anything. Keep waiting until they come back

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015 via mobile

After turning up on a stag party of 20+ you can imagine our reaction when we turned up and the hotel was still under refurbishment. No sockets on the wall or any light fittings in the ceiling. They were having an inspection by the fire service when we arrived and they were told they had two hours to sort it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tien-Charlene T, Owner at Applewood Hotel, responded to this review

We are really sorry that the hotel was not ready by the time your party arrived. We were badly let down by the electrician who reassured us that the hotel would definitely be ready. We know its no consolation but we did arrange and paid for your alternative accommodation, not the stag company. We hope you had a great stag... More 

Plymouth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

I booked to stay with The Applewood Hotel. I recieved a call to tell me I had been moved to a Hotel over the road as The Applewood was being refurbished and would not be ready for when I arrive. I was a little disappointed but as they had organised another place for me to stay i did not complain.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tien-Charlene T, Owner at Applewood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kym, We would have loved to have accommodated you and your group that weekend. We are very sorry that you feel that there was a lack of communication on our part and any confusion regarding your transfer to Durley Grange. We did try to contact you several times and it was unfortunately that we missed each other during the... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

This is more what I'd describe as a contractors hotel or low budget b&b. It appears to have new owners who do not seem to be experienced hoteliers. With the exception of flat screen TVs and wifi it would seem that no money has been spent on this property since c1974. Breakfast was reasonable. I get wrankled when business owners... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tien-Charlene T, Owner at Applewood Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Phil, We are sorry that the hotel was below your expectations. We are aware that the hotel does need to be updated. As new owners we took over the hotel a few months ago and will be refurbishing the hotel this winter period. We hope that you will visit us again and this time the hotel will be more... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities