We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Applewood Hotel

Hotel website
7 Durley Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JQ, England (Formerly Kingswood Hotel)
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Applewood Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Applewood Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    86
    21
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
10
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (122)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Absolutely brilliant, great hotel and amazing breakfast too! Very friendly welcome by all the staff was very happy with our stay here for the weekend. I would say this hotel was suitable for what we needed on our hen party! I would most definitely stay here again and I believe my friends would too

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tien-Charlene T, Owner at Applewood Hotel, responded to this review

It's was great having you ladies stay with us and we are glad you all had a fab time. Hope to see you all again soon with your friends and family. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just returned home from our first visit to The Applewood Hotel , absolutely loved it , very clean ,very friendly and nothing was to much trouble , check in was easy ,rooms are plenty big enough and the hotel is situated in good walking distance from both beach and shops , The owner is accommodating as our mini bus was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tien-Charlene T, Owner at Applewood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we really enjoyed all your company. It has been a pleasure and we hope to see you and your family again soon. More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Needed a place to stay en route to visiting with family during the summer. The Applewood Hotel fit the bill nicely given the price point and its location to our family a few towns over. Located near the beach, the hotel seemed conveniently located in Bournemouth, as many amenities and activities were easily within walking distance. A full English breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were visiting Bournemouth (me, my husband and our 10 month old) to watch the annual coastal rowing regatta and wanted a good standard of accommodation at a reasonable price, and on paper this hotel seemed to fit the bill. However, our hopes of a good hotel were soon diminished. We had previously requested a quiet room as we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tien-Charlene T, Owner at Applewood Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry we were not around during your stay as we were away at my brother's wedding. We unfortunately were unable to move you to another room as the rooms were fully booked weeks in advance. The hotel is set back from the road with surrounding gardens but unfortunately we cannot completely avoid all road noise. We are glad that your... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for two nights in a single room. The check-in was a complete shambles with staff although fairly friendly were completely incompetent. Unable to access booking system, unable to take payment, and needed to be prompted to tell me where my room was. The whole process was painful taking far too long and very unprofessional. Probably the worst... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tien-Charlene T, Owner at Applewood Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that we did not get the chance to meet you. We were away at our brother's wedding in Greece that week. Our new receptionist which just started unfortunately is still learning the ropes so apologies if check in didn't go as smoothly as it should. The room is a compact single room and this is clearly shown... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked in here to stay for two nights in July while we were in Bournemouth for a weekend kitesurfing. Overall it was clean and cheap but the room was tiny, the area is very noisy and the bathroom (although spotless) was barely adequate. Although noisy, the location is great for the town centre, beach or Triangle. Don't book if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
farnborough
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and the Wife decided to take our Son to the Seaside for the first time and make the most of the Sunshine. We booked the Applewood to save on driving both ways (1 1/2 hours) in one day. The Hotel was very close to both the town (5 mins) and the beach (5 mins), our room was spacious and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our weekend was brilliant! The Applewood hotel is simply Devine!! The new owners have not let us down -the staff were friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent and the rooms are of a high standard, we really couldn't fault anything about our two night stay. We arrived to a warm welcome & were immediately relaxed. It was such a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an economical option but nothing elaborate. Room and bathroom were clean. It appears to be family owned and operated, and couple and employees were nice. You get key to front door and room. Breakfast is okay, but there are other options within 5 minutes walk. Easy to walk to beach, town, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well what can I say? I was in town for a conference and needed something last minute. For the moment I arrived I felt that I was in a quality establishment which had recently been refurbished. The room was light, airy and had an amazing ensuite. The hotel is about a 15 min walk to the BIC or town in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#7 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central
0.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay