We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Applewood Hotel

Hotel website
7 Durley Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JQ, England (Formerly Kingswood Hotel)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Applewood Hotel
Why TripAdvisor?
  • Lowest prices from 200+ sites
  • 1.5 million hotels and accommodations
  • 225 million reviews and opinions
Save
You added Applewood Hotel to your Saves list

At a glance

87%
Positive reviews?
KEY AMENITIES
Free Parking
Beach
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
See all

HOTEL PHOTOS

Applewood Hotel
Professional photos

BROWSE NEARBY

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Check In Check Out
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Rate and write a review
    Roll over, then click to rate
      Click to rate
    Traveler rating
      87
      23
      7
      6
      3
    See reviews for
    25
    11
    3
    7
    Rating summary
    • Location
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Sleep Quality
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Rooms
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Service
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Value
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Cleanliness
      4.5 of 5 stars
    Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
    Date | Rating
    • English first
    • German first
    • Any
    English first
    • All months
      (126)
    • Mar-May only
      (34)
    • Jun-Aug only
      (64)
    • Sep-Nov only
      (22)
    • Dec-Feb only
      (6)
    All months
    London, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    5 reviews
    5 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

    Excellent hotel with free car parking facilities. The owners allowed us to continue to use the car park after we checked out and head to the beach which was only 5 minutes walk, staff and breakfast was great and it was very clean. I would definitely come back again and stay here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    London, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    25 reviews
    8 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

    We had a budget double room, which means a double bed only just fits with only one bedside table, i.e. tiny. The mattress was truly awful - so worn out you could feel every spring in it. The TV didn't work properly - the arial socket moved about in the wall and we got it working occasionally by wiggling the... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Tien-Charlene T, Owner at Applewood Hotel, responded to this review

    We are sorry if the budget room didn't meet your expectations in terms of size. We try to make it transparent by showing a picture of the room when customers book online. The mattress was purchased only last month, but we will definitely check to make sure that the springs are fine and will replace if faulty. Thank you for... More 

    Fullerton, Pennsylvania, United States
    Level Contributor
    3 reviews
    3 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

    Stayed for one night but would've loved to stay longer. Everything at The Applewood hotel was just perfect. Nicely decorated rooms, great shower, comfortable bed and tasty breakfast. Very good value for money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Tien-Charlene T, Owner at Applewood Hotel, responded to this review

    Thank you for your kind comments. We very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely meeting you and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

    Level Contributor
    8 reviews
    5 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

    I recently stayed here and would really recommend it for a short break in Bournemouth. The location is great for the beach and town centre with them both being a short walk away. It seems to have been recently taken over by the current owners and has been refurbished so it was very clean and nicely decorated to a good... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Tien-Charlene T, Owner at Applewood Hotel, responded to this review

    We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for letting us know about the delay during your breakfast. We have reviewed our processes and hope that next time you visit we can provide you with the 5 star service :) More 

    Eastbourne, United Kingdom
    1 review
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    Absolutely brilliant, great hotel and amazing breakfast too! Very friendly welcome by all the staff was very happy with our stay here for the weekend. I would say this hotel was suitable for what we needed on our hen party! I would most definitely stay here again and I believe my friends would too

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Tien-Charlene T, Owner at Applewood Hotel, responded to this review

    It's was great having you ladies stay with us and we are glad you all had a fab time. Hope to see you all again soon with your friends and family. More 

    2 reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    Just returned home from our first visit to The Applewood Hotel , absolutely loved it , very clean ,very friendly and nothing was to much trouble , check in was easy ,rooms are plenty big enough and the hotel is situated in good walking distance from both beach and shops , The owner is accommodating as our mini bus was... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Tien-Charlene T, Owner at Applewood Hotel, responded to this review

    Thank you for staying with us and we really enjoyed all your company. It has been a pleasure and we hope to see you and your family again soon. More 

    Level Contributor
    23 reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    Needed a place to stay en route to visiting with family during the summer. The Applewood Hotel fit the bill nicely given the price point and its location to our family a few towns over. Located near the beach, the hotel seemed conveniently located in Bournemouth, as many amenities and activities were easily within walking distance. A full English breakfast... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    1 review
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    We were visiting Bournemouth (me, my husband and our 10 month old) to watch the annual coastal rowing regatta and wanted a good standard of accommodation at a reasonable price, and on paper this hotel seemed to fit the bill. However, our hopes of a good hotel were soon diminished. We had previously requested a quiet room as we had... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Tien-Charlene T, Owner at Applewood Hotel, responded to this review

    Sorry we were not around during your stay as we were away at my brother's wedding. We unfortunately were unable to move you to another room as the rooms were fully booked weeks in advance. The hotel is set back from the road with surrounding gardens but unfortunately we cannot completely avoid all road noise. We are glad that your... More 

    Bath, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    54 reviews
    24 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    I stayed here for two nights in a single room. The check-in was a complete shambles with staff although fairly friendly were completely incompetent. Unable to access booking system, unable to take payment, and needed to be prompted to tell me where my room was. The whole process was painful taking far too long and very unprofessional. Probably the worst... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Tien-Charlene T, Owner at Applewood Hotel, responded to this review

    We are sorry that we did not get the chance to meet you. We were away at our brother's wedding in Greece that week. Our new receptionist which just started unfortunately is still learning the ropes so apologies if check in didn't go as smoothly as it should. The room is a compact single room and this is clearly shown... More 

    Level Contributor
    19 reviews
    5 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    We booked in here to stay for two nights in July while we were in Bournemouth for a weekend kitesurfing. Overall it was clean and cheap but the room was tiny, the area is very noisy and the bathroom (although spotless) was barely adequate. Although noisy, the location is great for the town centre, beach or Triangle. Don't book if... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    24 photos of this hotel

    Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

    Viewed
    All traveler photos (2)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (1)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (1)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All management photos (22)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (5)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (11)
    Viewed
    Dining (4)
    Viewed
    Other (2)
    Check In Check Out
    Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
    Show Prices
    Hotels you might also like...
    Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
    2.2 mi away
    The Strand Hotel
    The Strand Hotel
    #14 of 150 in Bournemouth
    5.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
    0.2 mi away
    Bamboo Guesthouse
    Bamboo Guesthouse
    #38 of 150 in Bournemouth
    4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
    0.0 mi away
    Cecil Court Hotel
    Cecil Court Hotel
    #68 of 150 in Bournemouth
    4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    0.3 mi away
    Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
    Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
    #72 of 150 in Bournemouth
    4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
    1.8 mi away
    Waves In
    Waves In
    #30 of 150 in Bournemouth
    4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
    0.0 mi away
    The Washington
    The Washington
    #53 of 150 in Bournemouth
    4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Amenities

    Enter dates for best prices
    Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
    Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
    Price Your Stay