We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ocean View Hotel

East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AR, England (Formerly Ocean View Hotel Bournemouth)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Ocean View Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    55
    97
    59
    21
    23
See reviews for
50
109
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (255)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked for the air show. We gave one star for the sea room and one star for the handling of our complaint. The price for the stay was significantly increased due to the air show and for the price we paid we did expect to be made to feel welcome and to be able to use the facilities. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Although only 3 star, the pictures marketed looked pleasant so we booked for the airshow weekend despite extortionate pricing. Throughly disappointed with the cramped, dirty, and seemingly falling apart room which hosted an unusual damp smell, of which looked nothing like the pictures. Overall the hotel is adequate if you're looking to lay your head on an uncomfortable bed.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay whilst visiting friends. On Arrival at the hotel, my first impressions were " oh dear !" The outside is in dire need of a repaint and the L was missing from the sign Hotel. On entering the hotel through the back where the swimming pool was I arrived in the bar area.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my husband booked room for 3 nights 1st day arrived receptionist was really nice and welcoming. Bar girl was rude and with bad attitude when we complain to manager she wasn't good mannered either and couldn't manage the issue left us by not resolving the problem and just said " I will leave it there" and then she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GEllaway, Manager at The Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taken the time to post a review on your recent stay at the hotel. From your brief review I am confident I am fully aware of the situation you encountered at the bar in the hotel when you went to purchase an alcoholic beverage. The young lady behind the bar was in fact carrying out... More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were looking for a last minute booking for my boyfriend's birthday. Due to it being August the accommodation was quite expensive. However, the hotel upgraded to a sea view free of charge and even left a birthday card in the room. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel was clean, although some of the furnishings and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GEllaway, Manager at The Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taken the time to post a review on your recent stay at the hotel. I'm so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and found all the staff friendly and professional, and you managed to take full advantage of your quite spectacular sea view from your room. We look forward to welcoming you back to the... More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely hotel with very nice staff. We had a twin room with patio. Worth going for a sea view, especially if the weather is nice. Spacious, clean room and very comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast. Only thing missing would be to make better use of the patio area , a couple of sunbeds and a small table would have made it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GEllaway, Manager at The Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found all the staff friendly and accomdating. We will certainly have a look into the potential of adding some further furniture to the balcony rooms. It sounds like you had the perfect weather also to take full advantage of the spectacular sea... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice friendly service, clean and quiet. We really liked the breakfast. I highly recommend, its a great start to a day in the sun. All you can eat and not overly crowded. We also really liked the bar/ lounge area of the Cottonwood Hotel next door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GEllaway, Manager at The Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taken the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and took full advantage of our facilities in both our hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

Well arrived friday afternoon and on arrival was not expecting the best external damp and poorly painted but remained optimistic. Went for a pint at the bar to admire the view. The water feature in the corner of the bar was disturbing water from the heavy rain was pooring onto the sill. As my lip ran over what i can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GEllaway, Manager at The Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taken the time to post a review on your recent stay at the hotel. I'm sorry to hear we did not exceed your expectations during your stay. We were aware of the leak in the corner of the bar on the day in question which was due to the very heavy rainfall we had that day and... More 

Essex/London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Its a budget hotel, but clean, good rooms, nice food and amazing staff. Ok its not top end, but hey you aren't paying top end prices. Have to say the staff at the sister hotel next door (Cottonwood) could learn a lot from these guys! Service with a smile... top team at the OV.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GEllaway, Manager at The Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found all the staff so accomdating and friendly. I will be sure to look into your comment regarding the staff at our sister hotel as this is very surprising to hear as in fact it is one team that work across both... More 

Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Very friendly staff beautiful sea view spacious room and good food very clean and in a quiet location,,,, a lovely break away however no diet coke served in a bottle or can only cheap tap imitation flat tasting liquid therefore we had to go and find a local shop to buy proper diet coke

Was this review helpful? Yes
GEllaway, Manager at The Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found all the staff so friendly and welcoming, and managed to take full advantage of the magnificent sea views. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

409 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (339)
Viewed
Accessible Seaview Double Room (36)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (30)
Viewed
Family Sea View Prime Room (29)
Viewed
Family Standard Room (29)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (40)
Viewed
Sea View Double Prime Room (28)
Viewed
Other (28)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#8 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,405 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
#30 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#39 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth
0.0 mi away
The Cliffeside
The Cliffeside
#38 of 76 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chine Hotel
The Chine Hotel
#23 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay