We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 150 Bournemouth B&Bs / inns

Chelsea Hotel

32 St. Swithun's Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3RH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Chelsea Hotel to your Saves list
Chelsea Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
47%
Ranked #96 of 150 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jak L
  • Overview
  • Reviews (123)
  • Photos (25)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    10
    8
    50
See reviews for
3
5
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went here with a stag party. Found the stay to be pleasant apart from my hangovers.! staff were very good and welcoming and left us alone to our own accord. No moans on my behalf. Worth a stay. Check it out

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We do let our guests just get on with enjoying there weekends, but our here to help if they need help. More

Northfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were placed in this hotel by a company that organised a hen weekend for us. I would class it more as a b&b than a hotel but we enjoyed our stay. when we arrived we had some people that had dropped out so Chrissy, the owner, had to change some of our rooms around which she did without a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Its nice to hear that some people enjoy are Hotel, all our hard work to make sure our guests are looked after goes now well, thank you. More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a family of five we were fortunate enough to have found a nice small family en suite at this hotel as our stay was unplanned. Owner was kind enough to allow us to rent this room at almost midnight. Room was clean with a mini fridge a plasma tv and a shower. We also got to vacate the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to have you. More

Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Charged us for something that was already broke in the room. £128 for a head board. The woman is a con artist, she is rude and is never there. They say the bar is open yet the bar was closed the whole Saturday that I was there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Yet again this is part of the same group who caused damage, he decided to add another £ on. If he had listened to me, I explained on arrival that the Bar would not be opened on the Saturday evening, due to my granddaughter being in a concert. It is not normally a problem and the other 2 groups staying... More

Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed in this so called hotel this weekendwith some mates manager was never there had plenty of people turning up asking the customers how to check in etc.the bar was meant to be 24hrs and it was actually til 8 which is clearly a lie.have to pay for your breakfast and being charged 30 a night to stay in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Its sad when people have to add on, to make out the Hotel is really bad. There are no more unsavoury people out side my Hotel that aren't outside any other Hotel. We are NOT in a bad area, just a few minutes from the train station, so you will get all sorts of people walking around.This review and the... More

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

this has to be the worse b&b I have ever stayed in with the owner out to make as much cash as possible. charged £127 for a broken head rest on the bed that we believe had already been broken when we arrived and £100 for smoking that also never happened may I add. the owner had accused the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Sadly we did have a broken headboard with which he did see it, and refused to look at the computer where I had found a new one in the sale. Also the housekeeper could not get into the room for the smoke, there was ash and tobacco everywhere. Kept the rest of the guests up from 3am in the middle... More

Thatcham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

If you are planning a stag or hen party in Bournemouth... I can not recommend this hotel enough! The land lady (and her family) were attentive and welcoming. The bedrooms, although a little cramped, were clean, well decorated and had their own en suite. A cut above your usual stag-party bunk houses! It is in a great location too -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words, but you were a great bunch of guys, and I enjoyed the weekend and much as you did. More

Sussex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Having looked high and low for an inexpensive room for just one night, I found the Chelsea Hotel. For the price asked I wasn't expecting to much, just hoping for a clean bed,etc. I was more than pleasantly surprised. The room, bathroom, bed etc. were quite pristine and the welcome from the Chelsea's owner Chrissy was professional and very welcoming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

My staff and I are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Chelsea Hotel. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in the family room with 2 children. For the Easter weekend. We had a fantastic time received a warm welcome upon arrival and all staff were more than happy to help and they were all polite. The hotel is clean and modern and the dining / bar area has everything you need including a juke box. The town... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Danielle, I'm please you and your family enjoyed yourselves. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

I spent a few nights here and had a really good time! Chrissy and staff were very welcoming and friendly my en suit room was very clean and bright..the location was great for visiting town center only 10 min walk with train station only 5 mins away,would definitely recommend this hotel great value for price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Chelsea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Chelsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel

Address: 32 St. Swithun's Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chelsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bournemouth with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chelsea Hotel is ideally situated only a three minute walk from the Bournemouth train & coach station, and the bus stop, and eleven minutes to the cliff top with its fabulous views across the bay, the cliff lift and Zig Zag path to the famous nine miles of sandy beaches.All rooms are fresh and clean, and constantly upgrading. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
11

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chelsea Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer