We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 149 Bournemouth B&Bs / inns

Chelsea Hotel

32 St. Swithun's Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3RH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Chelsea Hotel to your Saves list
Chelsea Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
48%
Ranked #94 of 149 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014
tinylittlefella Thatcham, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (119)
  • Photos (23)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    9
    8
    50
See reviews for
2
5
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Charged us for something that was already broke in the room. £128 for a head board. The woman is a con artist, she is rude and is never there. They say the bar is open yet the bar was closed the whole Saturday that I was there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Yet again this is part of the same group who caused damage, he decided to add another £ on. If he had listened to me, I explained on arrival that the Bar would not be opened on the Saturday evening, due to my granddaughter being in a concert. It is not normally a problem and the other 2 groups staying... More

Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in this so called hotel this weekendwith some mates manager was never there had plenty of people turning up asking the customers how to check in etc.the bar was meant to be 24hrs and it was actually til 8 which is clearly a lie.have to pay for your breakfast and being charged 30 a night to stay in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Its sad when people have to add on, to make out the Hotel is really bad. There are no more unsavoury people out side my Hotel that aren't outside any other Hotel. We are NOT in a bad area, just a few minutes from the train station, so you will get all sorts of people walking around.This review and the... More

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

this has to be the worse b&b I have ever stayed in with the owner out to make as much cash as possible. charged £127 for a broken head rest on the bed that we believe had already been broken when we arrived and £100 for smoking that also never happened may I add. the owner had accused the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Sadly we did have a broken headboard with which he did see it, and refused to look at the computer where I had found a new one in the sale. Also the housekeeper could not get into the room for the smoke, there was ash and tobacco everywhere. Kept the rest of the guests up from 3am in the middle... More

Thatcham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

If you are planning a stag or hen party in Bournemouth... I can not recommend this hotel enough! The land lady (and her family) were attentive and welcoming. The bedrooms, although a little cramped, were clean, well decorated and had their own en suite. A cut above your usual stag-party bunk houses! It is in a great location too -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words, but you were a great bunch of guys, and I enjoyed the weekend and much as you did. More

Sussex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Having looked high and low for an inexpensive room for just one night, I found the Chelsea Hotel. For the price asked I wasn't expecting to much, just hoping for a clean bed,etc. I was more than pleasantly surprised. The room, bathroom, bed etc. were quite pristine and the welcome from the Chelsea's owner Chrissy was professional and very welcoming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

My staff and I are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Chelsea Hotel. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in the family room with 2 children. For the Easter weekend. We had a fantastic time received a warm welcome upon arrival and all staff were more than happy to help and they were all polite. The hotel is clean and modern and the dining / bar area has everything you need including a juke box. The town... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Danielle, I'm please you and your family enjoyed yourselves. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

I spent a few nights here and had a really good time! Chrissy and staff were very welcoming and friendly my en suit room was very clean and bright..the location was great for visiting town center only 10 min walk with train station only 5 mins away,would definitely recommend this hotel great value for price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very comfortable stay at the Chelsea hotel!! Very clean and close to the town centre and beach. Chrissy and the staff were very helpful and made our stay very pleasant indeed!! Would definitely recommend this hotel and we shall be very happy to stay again in the the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. More

Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I had a great stay at Chelsea Hotel, located close to the Bournemouth Rail and Coach Station. At first I only booked for 2 nights, to look around in Bournemouth. But I quickly extended to 3 weeks: I had a very quiet and clean en-suite room with a comfortable bed, so I slept like a log. Overall you will get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Christian, we are so please that you enjoyed your nice stay with us at the Chelsea. More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I see that the reviews of this place vary widely! I've been coming to Chelsea Hotel on and off for three years and think it's a great wee place and offers wonderful value! The place has really smartened up: the rooms are well-appointed and the bathrooms are absolutely fantastic. All is very clean and I've never found Sue and Chrissy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stays with us. It make it all worth it when our guests enjoy there stay. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Chelsea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Chelsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel

Address: 32 St. Swithun's Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chelsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chelsea Hotel is ideally situated only a three minute walk from the Bournemouth train & coach station, and the bus stop, and eleven minutes to the cliff top with its fabulous views across the bay, the cliff lift and Zig Zag path to the famous nine miles of sandy beaches.All rooms are fresh and clean, and constantly upgrading. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
11

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer