We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Bournemouth hotels

The Durley Dean Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5HE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Durley Dean Hotel to your Saves list
The Durley Dean Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
57%
Ranked #42 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Bondbagger England, UK
  • Overview
  • Reviews (515)
  • Photos (103)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (152)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    166
    103
    70
    51
See reviews for
65
203
22
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for two nights special deal at a very reasonable price. Found the hotel to be well placed for central bournemouth, clean and with very friendly staff. The evening meal was fabulous and our room was large and comfortable. Of special note is the indoor pool, sauna and steam room which have all been newly refurbished. Would happily stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We checked in yesterday - staff were very friendly & professional, we have a very spacious and comfortable family room with a nice bathroom, the refit in the leisure centre with the pool, steam room etc is fantastic... This is a lovely place and we are very happy to be here, we have stayed in many hotels in Bournemouth and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked this Hotel through my comoany many months in advance. Arrived at the Hotel at 1pm to be told check in wasn't until 2pm which was ok but fact that the receptionist never even checked if the room was finished and free was a bit off putting. Then she asked us to go ahead and fill out the check in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul F, General Manager at The Durley Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were unhappy that your room was not ready. Rooms are guaranteed and ready for 2pm. This time of the year when we are constantly full and with check out time at 11 it is a tight turnaround. The receptionist did not need to check as Housekeeping had not handed back... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having paid to stay for 4 nights we had to leave after 2, the room (131) is described as a double but it definitely isn't, The girl in charge on day 2 did try to change our room but the hotel was full. We were given a complimentary breakfast (no comment) and offered a bottle of wine as an apology... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent last Saturday night at the hotel and found it to be adequate after a worrying start. Initially could not find my reservation. Language appeared to be an issue as I had to repeat and spell out my very common surname several times. Then advised that the key coding machine was malfunctioning and to ask an employee on the floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hitchin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I booked this room based on reviews and prices. I have now learnt my lesson. After arriving at the hotel after a six hour journey, I was pleased to find that I was somewhat far back in a line of stag weekends waiting to check in. After hearing all about their expected shenanigans, including trying to grope my somewhat sweaty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We are staying here tonight as a family of 4 in room 202. It is so hot my children are laying naked with fans on and ice water. The management explains nothing they can do but give us fans and asks sarcastically what do we expect it's summer? Completely unacceptable this is a summer resort and we cannot get a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Paul F, General Manager at The Durley Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. I am sorry your room was hot during you stay. Unfortunatley as you will know we were in the midst of a heatwave last week with temps reaching 30 degrees in Bounrnemouth and the temperature staying higher than the norm during the night with still air. All of our rooms have fans and... More

Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would not even put my worse enemy in this hotel. Staff didn't care and were extremely rude and unhelpful, food was not edible, rooms were ok but shower did not work and could not be fixed! It was just so unorganised and I went to relax, which was never going to happen. Just a terrible experience that I never... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paul F, General Manager at The Durley Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt you had to write such a review. We have very friendly staff which is commonly noted by other reviewers and if our food as you put it was inedible then that would be an occuring theme in other reviewers reviews. We do have 6 steps into the hotel (... More

Oxford
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a two day stay in a terrible hotel 'The gervis court hotel' this hotel was a dream come true. The room was lovely so were the staff. The breakfast was very nice and we had a great time in the spa. Would definitely return to this hotel 👍

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul F, General Manager at The Durley Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted you enjoyed the hotel. More

surrey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked hotel with WoWcher offer £59 for BB, was apprehensive after reading some of the reviews. Check in was fine, fast and efficient, on arrival to our room (room 122 I think), shock, horror, the room was awful, it had a small double bed in what was barely a single room, it was nudged in close to the wall, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paul F, General Manager at The Durley Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not happy with your initial room but very pleased that we were in a position to offer you an upgrade which we did on this occassion at no exta charge. The original room you were allocated complies with the AA requirement for a 3 Star hotel and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Durley Dean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Durley Dean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Durley Dean Hotel

Address: 28 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Durley Dean Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Durley Dean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durley Dean Bournemouth
Durley Dean Hotel Bournemouth

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#20 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Victorian townhouse offers bright, modern rooms, located just 5 minutes' walk from Bournemouth's award-winning beach. With a restaurant and lounge bar, there is also free High Speed WiFi and limited free parking with additional on road parking close by. The hotel has just completed its final phase of refurbishment with all bedrooms fully refurbished and a £100k refurbishment of the hotels Leisure |Club The Durley Dean's rooms boast contemporary design, and each features a flat-screen TV, tea and coffee facilities and a work area. All rooms also have a private bathroom with a hairdryer. The hotel is well-placed, 0.3 Miles from the bars and shops of the town centre. 10 Minutes' walk brings guests to Bournemouth International Centre and Bournemouth Pier. Residents have free use of the swimming pool, gym, sauna & steam room that make up the hotel Leisure Complex. There is also a golf club within 5 minutes' drive. The menu of British cuisine is made using local produce, and served in the stylish No. 28 Restaurant. The Durley's bar offers Dorset Cream teas, beverages and snacks during the day ... more   less 
Number of rooms
115

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer