We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Durley Dean Hotel

28 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5HE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Durley Dean Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    90
    136
    51
    17
    18
See reviews for
52
172
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (312)
  • Mar-May only
    (93)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location, and nice to stay in a period property with high ceilings and features such as stained glass etc. We stayed in a family room with our 8 year old twins, but they were only given what seemed to be camp beds and they couldn't sleep on them as they were so uncomfortable! However, as soon as we informed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Only stayed a single night at the Hotel, but in this short time I was made welcome by all staff... Pleasant and polite at all time and very accommodating during our family visit to Bournemouth. Would definitely use this hotel again in the future for pleasure or business....

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Love this hotel, my hubby and I have been twice. First time on our anniversary second with our two younger kids. The rooms are fashionably decorated..modern. The beds are comfy. We made used of the swimming pool and sauna. Booking in and out was easy process. Breakfast great! Love itt! !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul F, Owner at The Durley Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you all had such a good stay with us. More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Could not believe the shocking customer service. Witnessed a customer being told off by the head receptionist on our arrival. No one could even offer a smile when we arrived! Waited for over 20mins at reception without even being acknowledged. For the price our room was unbelievably small and poorly arranged. No air con and room was very hot indeed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a Hen party. We stayed in a twin room which met all of our needs, even though the room was rather warm. The facilities in the hotel were really good, especially the pool, sauna and steam room. The breakfast was to a good standard and the staff were helpful and friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paul F, Owner at The Durley Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for spending the time to write such a lovely review. Hope to see you again soon! More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just returned from a one night stay for the air weekend . Had booked a superior room but was left feeling disappointed - certainly didn't feel like a superior room , carpet was tired and worn - the room had no air con and was unbelievably hot even with fan on , we had two cups in a room for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul F, Owner at The Durley Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed that we did not have air conditioning although we do provide fans. As luck would have it the weather for Air Festival was fantastic which was great for the displays but does mean as is the case in a home it made for warm evenings.. I wish I could... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I chose this hotel as I was searching on Expedia for somewhere which had connecting rooms for the kids to sleep. I will now check any hotel bookings between Expedia and the hotel directly as the costs were for room only - if I had gone direct through the hotel breakfast would have been included. The hotel offered for me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul F, General Manager at The Durley Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us and I hope the children enjoyed the air festival. You are correct that if you book direct with us we reward you with breakfast. This is due to us not having the cost of paying a % of the room cost in commission to the... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Nice place to stay very handy for the town centre and beach However the parking is a pig needs improving or free use of NCP car park Hotel rooms are nice and clean but stuffy at times Very busy hotel but friendly Loved the pool Would go back again great location

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul F, Owner at The Durley Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad you had a good stay and would return. Our parking situation is limited which is why we make so clear everywhere so it should not be a surprise to guests on arrival. The same is true for 90% of the hotels in Bournemouth. As you know unlike many hotels in town... More 

Blaenavon, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a 5 day break at the Durley Dean Hotel. It was a very nicely presented hotel,good reception staff and a lovely twin room and bathroom. Spacious dining room and quite a good selection for breakfast and evening meal. I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul F, Owner at The Durley Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am very pleased you had an enjoyable 5 days with us. More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited on a Groupon offer spa day which was brilliant value. I had a massage and a facial with Lucy both of which were excellent and left me very relaxed. A delicious lunch - the sea bass was superb and glas of prosecco. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. As everyone has said the pool, sauna and steam... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul F, Owner at The Durley Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your Spa Day with us. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#7 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#35 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelrest Bournemouth
Travelrest Bournemouth
#47 of 76 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#40 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
1.1 mi away
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay