We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Bournemouth hotels

The Durley Dean Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5HE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Durley Dean Hotel to your Saves list
The Durley Dean Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
57%
Ranked #43 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
pandabeast Brighton, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (524)
  • Photos (103)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (157)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    170
    106
    72
    51
See reviews for
68
208
22
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Over priced,dirty and over rated. Needs decorating and new carpets. Never again. Must be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Double bed was two twins pushed together. Meant to be a superior room. Hate to think what the normal rooms must be like. Bathroom was dirty and tiny.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed in a 'compact double room' for two nights in mid august. The reception staff were very friendly. We arrived slightly before check in time but were booked in promptly. The room was small (as expected). I had seen a few negative reviews of this size room before booking but if you are just looking for somewhere comfortable to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My 24 yr old son booked this hotel for a two night stay. He wanted us to have some quality time together. Argh bless him. At first I was a bit worried leaning him to do all the bookings, so when he told me he had chosen this hotel based on other people' s reviews and pictures I prayed he... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in a superior double family room for two nights and paid £97 per night (breakfast £8.50 extra per adult). The hotel itself is in a good location just a walk to the end of the road takes you to a park and a path leading down to the beach on the West Cliff. Parking will always be an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
southampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dirty sheets left outside are room for are stay,the bed was like sleeping ona wardrobe 4 foot in the air,its in bad need of redecorating,are groupon deal said pool and spa but when we got there its closed and we have to go to another hotel,been nice to tell us when i booked if they could,the shower and breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul F, General Manager at The Durley Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for the dirty sheets by your room on arrival. This was due to you checking in early prior to Housekeeping finishing for the day. Although you mention they were there during your stay our records from 3 floor walks by 3 different people including the Night Porter record that... More

Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had three days in Bournemouth at the Durley Dean, this was a special deal from Amazon and was well worth it. Staff were polite and helpful, the room was quite small, but clean and comfortable. No problem parking, and our friends who came to visit us were allowed to use the car park as well. The breakfast was amazing,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed here for one night as we had a wedding to go to the next day. At reception we heard guys from a stag do that had just checked in moaning about the size of their rooms. We knew we had booked the cheapest room so weren't expecting much. When we got in to our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ludlow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Durley Dean for 2 nights using a special deal voucher and were perfectly happy with our stay. Our double room was clean and had everything we needed - although because of the heatwave it was a little stuffy. The room had a fan though which helped. The staff at reception and in the restaurant were efficient... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights on the 23rd and 24th of July with my brother in law and his wife as a Xmas present the kids had given us. I must say we were a little apprehensive after reading some less then positive reviews. None the less we decided to give it a try anyway and I am glad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Room 116 adequate for our purpose. However some lamps did not work, tv remote also and mirror dirty. None of these things were put right after asking. Room could have been cleaner, including bath. Parking a nightmare and disabled spaces usually taken up by non blue badge holders. Reception assured me the car park was checked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Durley Dean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Durley Dean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Durley Dean Hotel

Address: 28 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Durley Dean Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Durley Dean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durley Dean Bournemouth
Durley Dean Hotel Bournemouth

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bournemouth with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#20 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Victorian townhouse offers bright, modern rooms, located just 5 minutes' walk from Bournemouth's award-winning beach. With a restaurant and lounge bar, there is also free High Speed WiFi and limited free parking with additional on road parking close by. The hotel has just completed its final phase of refurbishment with all bedrooms fully refurbished and a £100k refurbishment of the hotels Leisure |Club The Durley Dean's rooms boast contemporary design, and each features a flat-screen TV, tea and coffee facilities and a work area. All rooms also have a private bathroom with a hairdryer. The hotel is well-placed, 0.3 Miles from the bars and shops of the town centre. 10 Minutes' walk brings guests to Bournemouth International Centre and Bournemouth Pier. Residents have free use of the swimming pool, gym, sauna & steam room that make up the hotel Leisure Complex. There is also a golf club within 5 minutes' drive. The menu of British cuisine is made using local produce, and served in the stylish No. 28 Restaurant. The Durley's bar offers Dorset Cream teas, beverages and snacks during the day ... more   less 
Number of rooms
115

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Durley Dean Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer