We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Bournemouth hotels

The Orchid Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Orchid Hotel to your Saves list
The Orchid Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
48%
Ranked #48 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
ammo321 Swindon, United Kingdom
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    79
    61
    52
    38
See reviews for
32
150
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for three nights and it was a palace in comparison with the other hotel we stayed in called the Wessex. I requested a lower ground floor because I suffer with asthma and have recently undergone knee surgery and a hip replacement . my request was fulfilled on arrival we were greeted by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We arrived on Saturday night after moving my son into Uni. We booked into the main reception and greeted by staff who were clearly flustered and overwhelmed. We were given a family room in the annexe across the road and met by a burly unhelpful man on that reception. The annexe looked very dingy, unfinished and I was worried about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay here staff was uncooperative and rude when asked to see the manager told not there ,as we arrive at 8 pm car park full the went to reception and given a slip to take over the road to a building site when entering building told room on 3 rd floor lift not working as I booked and requested rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very sorry for the disappointing stay you had with us. We do acknowledge we had starting up issue around the opening of the Orchid Gardens location. At no point was it our intention to deceive or miss-sell to anyone. We had issues with the advertising of the room which was completely out of our control. This... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What makes this place vile: - the very old dirty decor e.g paint all over side cabinet, plaster over curtains, stains on carpet. - NO HOT WATER, the hotel were fully aware it didn't work 2 days ago and knew they were unable to fix it yet continued with our stay. We were told to run it for an hour... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is actually the second time I have stayed at the Orchid as I have friends in Bournemouth. The hotel is fine for what it is. They are obviously making steps to improve it and the front entrance of the hotel had changed a lot even between my two stays (May and September) It is a nice hotel. We paid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a family room well in advance for ourselves and our grandaughter. Due to a wedding in the main hotel we were given a room in the Garden block (we were unaware of this until we went to check in) which was across a busy road. We checked in at the main hotel, given our room number and told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed here for one night last weekend, never again! We're led to believe we would be staying at the main Hotel, but were asked to go across the road to The Orchid Gardens.... Thought it would be of the same standard as seen in the web pictures... How wrong were we, as another review states ,,,,"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The main hotel looked lovely, but we were herded over to the 'Annexe'. The Annexe is a huge building, with no working lift, and seemingly no hot water. We stayed for a weekend and couldn't have a hot shower even once. We were told upon complaining, by reception staff, that management knew about the problem and had done nothing about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Llanbradach South Wales
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stay away every week with my job and over the years have paid over the odds for some rooms. How ever this takes the biscuit! I haven't written a review since 2008 Maldives trip but just felt I had to put something down on this place! I Paid £89 for a room here- Oh dear me! Web looks good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First visit and have to say that some parts of the hotel urgently need of a fresh coat of paint,the room we had had no draws and the room was small and dark.the bathroom was clean but could do with a lick of paint. the price was high due to the bournemouth air festival weekend which was great but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Orchid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: 34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Orchid Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bournemouth with
any amenities