We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Bournemouth hotels

The Orchid Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Hotel amenities
The Orchid Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Orchid Hotel to your Saves list
47%
Ranked #49 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Léon R Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    79
    62
    52
    41
See reviews for
32
154
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (289)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (113)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stay in Bournemouth a few times a year and thought we'd try the Orchid. Air Show weekend so not much available and it looks ok from the outside, but we should have taken Tripadvisor reports more seriously. Website does not reflect accurately the hotel. It may have been boutique once, and may well be in the future, but currently it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bucks
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Possibly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. By all means see our pictures of mould in the room an on the bath. Loose wiring, dust everywhere, no way of blocking out the sunlight through the windows (via the dirt and cobwebs). Then there is the attractive skip and building work. You may on their website see the charming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I and my boyfriend went to this hotel mainly because it was relatively cheap compared to the other ones in Bournemouth. When we arrived there, we were greeted by an averagely friendly staff who gave us a room that was quite weirdly cut, but clean, so that was okay, since we didn't really care for much else as long as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well, we booked at the orchid hotel, ended up getting sent into some old tatty building with a skanky reception and a very badly presented receptionist. I nearly cried when I saw our "oriental themed room" that consisted of dirty old smelly carpet, cheesy paintings of a boat and bedding that quite frankly I wouldn't give to a homeless dog... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for three nights and it was a palace in comparison with the other hotel we stayed in called the Wessex. I requested a lower ground floor because I suffer with asthma and have recently undergone knee surgery and a hip replacement . my request was fulfilled on arrival we were greeted by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived on Saturday night after moving my son into Uni. We booked into the main reception and greeted by staff who were clearly flustered and overwhelmed. We were given a family room in the annexe across the road and met by a burly unhelpful man on that reception. The annexe looked very dingy, unfinished and I was worried about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stay here staff was uncooperative and rude when asked to see the manager told not there ,as we arrive at 8 pm car park full the went to reception and given a slip to take over the road to a building site when entering building told room on 3 rd floor lift not working as I booked and requested rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OrchidManagement, Manager at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very sorry for the disappointing stay you had with us. We do acknowledge we had starting up issue around the opening of the Orchid Gardens location. At no point was it our intention to deceive or miss-sell to anyone. We had issues with the advertising of the room which was completely out of our control. This... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What makes this place vile: - the very old dirty decor e.g paint all over side cabinet, plaster over curtains, stains on carpet. - NO HOT WATER, the hotel were fully aware it didn't work 2 days ago and knew they were unable to fix it yet continued with our stay. We were told to run it for an hour... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is actually the second time I have stayed at the Orchid as I have friends in Bournemouth. The hotel is fine for what it is. They are obviously making steps to improve it and the front entrance of the hotel had changed a lot even between my two stays (May and September) It is a nice hotel. We paid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a family room well in advance for ourselves and our grandaughter. Due to a wedding in the main hotel we were given a room in the Garden block (we were unaware of this until we went to check in) which was across a busy road. We checked in at the main hotel, given our room number and told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Do you own or manage The Orchid Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: 34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Orchid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Orchid Hotel