We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

San Simeon

52 Wimborne Road, Bournemouth BH3 7AE, England
San Simeon
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (18)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We stayed overnight on our way down to Cornwall for the third time and found the standards of the hotel were as good as our first visit 2 years earlier. The room was very clean and tidy, breakfast was superb with everything available that you could have wished for, our hosts were very welcoming and friendly, only minor blip was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Stayed for a couple of days and despite the friendly staff we were quite the disappointed with the cleanliness of the room. There were quite a few cobwebs around the place and one of the teacups was left with stains from the previous guests, which isn't always a welcoming extra.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
woodman709, Owner at San Simeon, responded to this review

Sorry we failed with an unwashed cup, guests on rare occasions use a cup and replace it upside down on the tray and we assume it was not used. A rating of 2 was rather harsh for your minor complaint. More 

Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Comfortable, en-suite rooms. TV, tea and coffee and free wi-fi. Very good value and a tasty breakfast. The owners are friendly and the rooms have character. We had a pretty garden view. We we're very happy with our stay as a group of five renting 3 rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
woodman709, Owner at San Simeon, responded to this review

Thank you Rebecca, it was a pleasure to have you and your friends stay,hope to see you if you in Bournemouth again. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Staying for our second visit we were treated like old friends. Steve and Sarah are great characters and really care for our comfort and ease. The rooms are spacious and clean, our two priorities. Jim.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
woodman709, Owner at San Simeon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure having you staying again. More 

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights, great location for me as visiting my daughter in Winton. Walking distance of bus/train station and the beach is only a 20-30 min brisk walk. viewed some mixed reports but to be honest I had no problems yes my first impression was dated but me room (single No 10) was fine, clean, enough room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
woodman709, Owner at San Simeon, responded to this review

Thank you for review, we hope on your next visit we have one of larger rooms available for you. More 

London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This B&B needs a good facelift and thorough clean between customers - surfaces were dusty and grimy, bed sagged. Breakfasts are generous but poorly cooked and served - how can you get a breakfast wrong?! All the same it was situated near where I needed to go and I would stay again if necessary.

Was this review helpful? Yes
woodman709, Owner at San Simeon, responded to this review

We would really like to know what you found wrong with your breakfast, many of our repeat guests say they come back for our freshly cooked full English breakfast. As you waited two months before submitting your review we cannot remember what you had for breakfast. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The most enjoyable stay we've ever had, it is on bus route to the town centre, train station & beach, which takes approx 10min. There is a beautiful sheltered garden in which you can relax & the rooms are very spacious.Sarah & Steve are wonderful people they make you feel straight @ home, we will be going

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
woodman709, Owner at San Simeon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review , we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Worcester
Level Contributor
198 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had room with garden view and able to access garden from room. Quiet and clean. Breakfast excellent. Nice comfortable bed. Stayed here as close to daughters and will definitely stay again. No trouble to walk to sea front as flat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
woodman709, Owner at San Simeon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and staying with us again More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This B&B is in the heart of the burbs of Bournemouth - a 20 minute walk to town or the bus stops outside. It's on a busy main road but rooms are mostly away from this and we couldn't hear traffic noise in our room. Walking back late at night, it also seemed that the road quietens down. There are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I booked a twin room for one night and paid full bed breakfast rate. I Advised the lady on the phone we would be leaving early as my son was attending a exam locally. On arrival i asked the man who served us if it was possible to get some breakfast for my son left out as we were leaving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
woodman709, Owner at San Simeon, responded to this review

You are correct that I said the dining room would be opened early for your son to have some cereal, in fact it was opened but you did not appear until it was nearly time for your taxi, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#7 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,354 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelrest Bournemouth
Travelrest Bournemouth
#45 of 73 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Mayfair Hotel
The Mayfair Hotel
#23 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central
1.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities