We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Whitehall Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Exeter Park Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AX, England
Hotel amenities
The Whitehall Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #62 of 152 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Tobywebb35 London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    102
    50
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
29
58
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (184)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Situated quite close to the centre, this hotel enjoys a pleasant position looking down over the park. On arrival we were made most welcome and found everything to our taste although the near monopolisation of the hotel by green bowlers was not entirely to our liking. The food was good but consistently notable were the starters with saumon roulade and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location and mostly friendly staff - the night porter lets the side down however listening to some of the elderly guests who have been visiting this hotel for many years, this chap has always been like this (grumpy). Limited parking could be an issue but staff try to help where they can. We were lucky enough to get a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel last minute..from the pictures the hotel from the outside looked nice and the inside looked ok. I went to Bournemouth with my Fiancé who's 21, my sister who's 19 and her Fiancé who is 23 to celebrate my 18th Birthday. Were all hard working, respectful people. We drove an hour and when we got there the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
318sarau, Owner at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

We're really sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel and that you felt you were singled out because of your age. We have guests of all ages who regularly stay with us and return again and again. We usually give everyone a warm welcome and on this occasion we got off on the wrong foot, not because... More 

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Our experience of The Whtehall Hotel could not be more different to the recent reviews we have read. Last year I stayed at their sister hotel The Arlington, next door which was excellent but unfortunately they were unable to accomodate my party of nine so I was recommended The Whitehall and it could not have been a better choice. Everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
318sarau, Owner at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this positive review. We appreciate that we can’t be all things to all people, but we do work very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay, and it is always a good feeling to know when we achieve this. Thank You! More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Oh dear, what can I say. We came home one night early as enough was enough! Right, loo didn't always flush first time, my bath water run brown so wouldn't bath, when you walk into a hotel and the fish tank is filthy , it shows lack of care with hygiene.as far as the breakfast is concerned, I'd rather be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
318sarau, Owner at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

Wow, that’s harsh! We employ a full-time maintenance team who are available to address any plumbing issues as soon as they are reported to reception. Whilst ours is an old hotel, with some idiosyncrasies of a 150-year-old building, one thing we can be sure of is the very high standard of hygiene. A professional contractor maintains our fish tank on... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We have just returned from this hotel and cannot wait to go back. Immaculate rooms and en suites. There are several comfortable public rooms where wi if is available. Excellent meals all served on time with plenty of choices. Our room was overlooking the gardens at the back and was very quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
318sarau, Owner at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review. Our staff are our greatest asset, and they are pleased to hear when guests appreciate them. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Aldershot, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

I picked this hotel from the 100's of others in Bournemouth as it appeared to provide all that I needed for a 1 night stay for myself and my partner. First disappointment on arrival was parking, There is at most parking for about 20 cars, this would include filling in the access between the parking rows. (I did actually get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
318sarau, Owner at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. We do try to accommodate late check outs where possible – please just ask! Also, we could have offered you a different breakfast table if we’d known you were unhappy. More 

Essex
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

This was my second stay at the Whitehall with a group of ladies attending a conference at the BIC. Location is excellent, sea, gardens, shops and BIC just a few minutes' LEVEL walk away. Rooms vary in size but mine on the 3rd floor was spacious and comfortable with a nice bathroom complete with corner bath and shower. It overlooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
318sarau, Owner at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

We are always pleased to receive good reviews about our staff. They are a hard-working team and we are very proud of them! So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in Bournemouth again. More 

Little Clacton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Spent 3 comfortable nights in this hotel. It is in a great location with shops across the park, the Bournemouth International Centre and the sea a short walk away. My friends from our Inner Wheel Club in Clacton On Sea who had stayed here previously recommended this hotel and for this year's conference 10 of us ladies came for another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
318sarau, Owner at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for this review. Nice to know you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for letting us know about the pillows – we’ve already replaced them! More 

Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

This was my 5th visit to the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it,staff are friendly and helpful,rooms clean and comfortable with lovely views over the park.Lovely patio area to sit and relax. Shops and seafront within walking distance.Sarah,bernard and dawn are very welcoming and will hopefully be back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
318sarau, Owner at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

We look forward to seeing you back for many more stays, and thank you for the lovely review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay