We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Bournemouth hotels

The Suncliff Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Suncliff Hotel to your Saves list
The Suncliff Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
70%
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
A recent review
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    316
    148
    95
    54
See reviews for
203
408
42
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manilva, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

During our five days stay at this hotel we were very satisfied with the staff in general be they at Reception at the Dining room or the staff responsible for the cleanliness of our rooms. We were also pleased with the evening Entertainment supplied .

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carlos M, I am very pleased to hear you had a great time in our hotel during your five days stay. Thank you for your compliments about our team members, cleanliness of our rooms and evening entertainment. Please come back soon for another memorable stay! Yours sincerely, Adam Ruff General Manager More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Staff were always ready to lend assisstance. Service in restaurant was always very good. Wide range of excellent food always well presented David Evans was very patient connecting me to Wifi when ever I had a problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear youngcazy, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our services, team and breakfast provided. It is a pleasure to hear that David made your stay a memorable one - he is truly asset to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Bournemouth.... More

St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Tired, dated, needs total updating,a lot of coach trips staying, not recommended.was transfered to sister hotel the cumberland which was good, nice lounge and outside area, nice room. clean ,buffet breakfast very good full choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AJTCAT, Thank you for sharing your feedback and I am sorry to read your disappointments. We are fully committed to improve the service experience and refurbishment immediately. I hope to welcome you back one day. Yours sincerely, Adam Ruff More

Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hotel on Bournemouth seafront. Very good inclusive all you can eat breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good inclusive indoor pool and gym facilities. Only down point is the single small lift, if you are on upper floors.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christopher L, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and breakfast especially. Please come back again the next time your are in Bournemouth. Yours sincerely, Adam Ruff General Manager More

West Row, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a little surprised by this hotel. Being 60 I was still one of the youngest in the dining room. It may have been the timing but it seems like the majority were OAPs that had been coming for 20 years. The food was adequate as was the service. Our room was disappointing. Paid an extra 60 pound for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my partner stayed in this hotel for 2nights what a mistake! We had to be moved 3times due to the rooms decor, mould, dust, rust and horrendous smells. The first room was dusty the wall radio was falling out of the wall with electrical cables hanging out. The bathroom was beyond dated and rusty fixtures and fittings. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NadiaGooden, I am disappointed to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations and sincerely apologize that we let you down. I have taken all of your comments on board and will personally look into each of the issues you have mentioned. I hope that we may have an opportunity to improve your perceptions of our services and... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I have visited at the same time for the last couple of years. The staff are amazing and really helpful, hearing José is leaving is sad. The food is great especially breakfast. Our second visit was paid for by my mum as a present. She sadly passed just before our visit. This spurred us on to have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steven P, We look forward to seeing you in October - thank you for your review and kind words. Yours sincerely, Adam Ruff General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Yes the hotel is in need of refurbishment but the staff cannot be faulted. Special thanks goes out to the Office Manager Victor who couldn't do enough for us and for the Restaurant Manager downstairs - her name escapes me. You are both a credit to the hotel. The only downside was that when I had booked I made specific... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maro31, Thank you for sharing your experience and highlighting the areas where you feel we could improve. We will work harder and we look forward to welcoming you back one day. Yours sincerely, Adam Ruff General Manager More

Cotswolds
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for the second time in three months and both visits were extremely restful and enjoyable. The staff without exception are professional, friendly and hard working, doing their best to help at all times in this large, rambling hotel. Breakfast is excellent quality and plentiful, with great choice and lovely, attentive staff. It is a shame though that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fanbo, Thank you for posting your positive review following your recent stay with us. Also, thank you for your compliments about our team members, and breakfast services. In regards the public areas, we are continually updating our product in the upkeep and redecoration of all areas, so I hope you will see this on your next visit. We look... More

Pontypool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at this hotel were friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean and the balcony was great especially as the weather was good. Location of the hotel, on the cliff top between Bournemouth pier and Boscombe pier was good for us, being about 15 minutes slow walk to Bounemouth. We only had breakfast at the hotel but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David H, Many thanks for your review! I am glad to hear that you found our team members friendly, and our rooms spacious and clean. However, I am disappointed to hear some of the facilities have let you down despite your positive experiences. We hope to welcome you back soon and provide you full enjoyment of the hotel in... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Suncliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

322 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (242)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (60)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bournemouth with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
95

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of The Suncliff Hotel and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Suncliff Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer