We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Suncliff Hotel

3.0 of 5 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Suncliff Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Suncliff Hotel
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    348
    159
    102
    56
See reviews for
217
440
46
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1012)
  • Mar-May only
    (240)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (272)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (292)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (208)
All months
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well to be honest l was,nt expecting much but was l wrong, car parking great loads of space, went with my wife for a short stay with a groupon voucher. The staff were wonderfull and very helpful . The room we were given well, no 106 looked out on to a Sea view and had its own balcony could sea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This year (2014) I arranged the fifth anual Christmas Lunch at the Suncliff. As always, the complete event was wonderfully managed, the food and service both excellent. I cannot hear a bad word said about this hotel. Brian and his team are so professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned for a one night Groupon stay at the Suncliff with my girlfriends. The hotel commands an enviable position on the beachfront in Bournmouth. only a short walk in to town. views are truly breathtaking. this hotel clearly had its heyday many years ago, and it is now suffering from the malise experienced by many older large hotels. Despite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wend68, Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your recent stay at Suncliff. In all sincerity, although we can accept some criticism, on the whole your feedback is very unfair and mean, and serves for the main to upset hard working members of the Suncliff Team. Your Groupon voucher price of £59 for two people with Dinner, Bed and... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was to be a fantastic over night Groupon stay in the company of fabulous friends for an annual get together. What a shame it was spoiled by the poor standard of the rooms, cold grubby and so outdated it reminded me of a low cost holiday camp back in the day!! Thin and grubby towels in the cold bathroom,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ktpegg, You paid £29.50 per person for a 3 course dinner, bed and breakfast, and this is good quality and value for money. I note your last Groupon stay was also disappointing, and it may be a suggestion in future that to achieve the high standards you expect, that you look at booking a higher star rated hotel and... More 

Mercer Island, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing place, right across the road from the ocean. The staff are very helpful and kind. The breakfast is so good, and the use of the pool, gym and sauna were great. We really enjoyed our time here and will differently return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's that time of year again and the first full week of the new year found us back at the Suncliff. The only downside was we ended up in a rather small room on the 3rd floor and although it had a sea view and was nice and bright, it didn't really warrant the premium when there are other rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently stayed at this hotel for the second time spent four days here last year wasn't overly Impressed last time. What we experienced this visit was totally unacceptable.The hotel was very cold last year and there hadnt been much of a change this time.The radiators in the room we had didn't give off any heat at all in the time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed last night for bed and breakfast. Staff during check in were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was spacious clean and tidy. We slept well. Breakfast was a well stocked buffet with plenty of choice. Will def stay here again x

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amy F, We hope you will return real soon and look forward to that occasion – thank you for your review and kind words. Yours sincerely, Adam Ruff General Manager More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was another very good choice. Nice and clean rooms, good staff, fantastic view. Parking is a plus. Very good breakfast. Just a little bit far from pier, but lovely walk though. Definitely will come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sean D, Happy to know that your stay had went so well! Looking forward to have you back and I hope really soon. Yours sincerely, Adam Ruff General Manager More 

South East England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yet another fantastic weekend at the Suncliff for my large group, sadly it may be the last as the hotel may no longer be suitable for our function. However, despite the changes of staff (no one can replace Jose) they coped admirably and the weekend ran as smoothly as the previous 8 years. The new Maitre D' is still finding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear organiser2006, Many thanks for your excellent review and I’m really glad to hear about your 9th return to our hotel. I would also like to extend my thanks for appreciating the efforts of our team members, especially Claudia, Miguel, Zoltan, Michael and Hana. We are very happy to have them with us. We all hope that our hotel will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth

330 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (249)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (63)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay