We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Suncliff Hotel

3.0 of 5 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Suncliff Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Suncliff Hotel
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    340
    155
    99
    55
See reviews for
214
430
45
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (991)
  • Mar-May only
    (240)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (272)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (292)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (187)
All months
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and 19 ladies saw Lea Martin a singer and entertainer on the curry night, he is very talented,humbling and a great laugh. It is excellent value for money and I would certainly recommend it. The curry is delicious with 3 options...veggie, spicey meat one and mild meat one then poppadoms and naan bread. Cannot recommend enough. Sadly Lea is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tine 1971, Thank you so much for your review and recommendation. Lea is totally committed to create unforgettable moments to our guests so thank you for recognising his performance. I hope you allow us an opportunity to serve you and the ladies again real soon. Yours sincerely, Adam Ruff General Manager More 

hailsham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we have just had an extended long weekend the Suncliff Hotel from Friday 12th Dec. to Tuesday 16th Dec. we have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and have always been very satisfied, but this time we were a bit disappointed, the room we had was very good and with a sea view and comfortable, as its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear peglex, I am really sorry to hear that we were not able to make your stay a memorable one. Also, I sincerely apologise if you were not informed about the Christmas parties while booking our hotel and hope we have an opportunity to serve you again. Yours sincerely, Adam Ruff General Manager More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently spent a few days at the Suncliff Hotel for a Turkey and Tinsel holiday arranged by our local Senior Citizens Retirement Club. Both myself and my wife want to say how much we enjoyed out time at the hotel and how well we were treated by staff during our stay. The quality of the food and service by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alansandra, I’m really glad to hear that you’ve recognized our efforts while coping with a major power cut which effected hundreds of homes in Bournemouth. Our team members are passionate about making sure our guests have a memorable stay with us in all circumstances and it pleases me when I hear that we have delivered that exact experience. Thank... More 

Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

38 of us have just returned from a fab weekend at this lovely hotel. It was my 50th birthday so we had booked a party night with B and B. We all had a fab time and the staff could not do enough to make our stay comfortable and memorable! 10 out of 10!!'

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BristolJules, A belated Happy Birthday to you! I thank you for choosing us and I hope we will see you once again and soon. Yours sincerely, Adam Ruff General Manager More 

Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a 4 night stay.Overall a pleasant stay,room 331 was very comfortable which had been refurbished recently,with a sea view.Entertainment in the evening was good,with different acts each evening.The act on Wednesday evenings being the most enjoyable,and also the lady that entertained the party on Thursday afternoon with a tea dance must also be praised too.All the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear david r, Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am glad that you found our breakfast, rooms and entertainers to your liking and that our team members were hard working and helpful. I would appreciate greater details regarding your dissatisfaction with the evening meals as the specifics of your experience are important when we are looking to... More 

Whitstable, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From checking in the staff were very pleasant and, polite. We had a beautiful room which we thought must have been an upgrade. Very clean, and well equipped . Breakfast was exceptionally good, one of the best we have had in any hotel. Would highly recommend this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear michael r, I am very happy to read about your recent and positive experience with us. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back – hopefully sometime real soon. Yours sincerely, Adam Ruff General Manager More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Its A nice hotel by the sea with great food Sunday Lunch is very good here its on the East cliff in Bournemouth a nice hotel to be at any time Great value please try it out at any time all year round.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear keith s, Thank you for appreciating our product and service - hoping to welcome you back very soon! Yours sincerely, Adam Ruff General Manager More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I used an Agency to make a booking,(a mistake, as my Credit card was debited) Due to unforeseen circumstance, I could not make the date booked. This meant that my Credit card would be debited the full amount, plus a cancellation charge. I was not a ‘happy bunny’. The reservations Manager (Lucy Klimova), showed an understanding of my situation. When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eric C, Thank you for your kind words, especially those directed towards Lucy, our Reservations Manager for her professionalism. We all look forward to seeing you and your family back here early in the new year! Yours sincerely, Adam Ruff General Manager More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were upgraded to the most glorious room and the view was stunning. Standing in the room we had infinity pool - view. Staff was pleasant and helpful special name Fotini - Greek young lady.:) Food was very tasty presented nicely and how did the staff managed to serve so promptly and flawlessly about 150 people I don't know. Wonderful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear veselinkasekabecejac, It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and service from our team members. I appreciate you highlighting your positive experiences with Foteini, our Receptionist – she will be delighted to know. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Yours sincerely, Adam Ruff General Manager More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay at the Sun cliff Hotel was very pleasant, the staff were lovely very helpful and friendly. The food and service in the dining room was brilliant .We stayed in a pent house room which was lovely. The view from our balcony was amazing. Just a couple of moans 1,The hotel needs to get the water supply sorted half... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AdamRuff, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear john w, I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It is always great to hear our team members highlighted in providing good service. I also appreciate your time for sharing a positive experience in our resort as well as some constructive feedback. Please come back soon! Yours sincerely, Adam Ruff General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth

327 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (247)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
View from room (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (63)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay