We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Bournemouth hotels

The Suncliff Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Suncliff Hotel to your Saves list
The Suncliff Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
Ranked #32 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
sue_chicken leics
  • Reviews (882)
  • Photos (298)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (260)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

882 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    295
    138
    90
    50
See reviews for
186
386
40
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
leics
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff at this hotel were impeccable. The hotel was very dated and stuffy with no air circulation. We were kept awake with noises people outside the sin reception until 1 a.m. When we reported it to the reception staff we were advised that we should have phoned the night porter. We could not be moved as the hotel was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
brighton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

never been to Bournemouth so we gave it a try, booked into the suncliffe hotel, we arrived and liked what we saw. There is plenty of parking in the hotel and outside on the main road.The room we had was adequate and the bed was comfy,so no complaints there. we met several of the staff mainly all were not English... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Suncliff hotel is a nice hotel with nice food and has a nice Sunday lunch and is good vaule for money with nice help full staff the hotel is on the East Cliff in Bournemouth give it a try I am saw you will like it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

keith s Short but sweet! thank you for sharing your comments and I am very happy to see you enjoyed your time with us. I hope you will be back soon. Best wishes More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We returned home yesterday from an Interchoice holiday. All hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our bedroom, even though it wasn't a sea view, was very clean. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and set you up for the day. The evening meal was varied and very well presented, always hot and tasty and the service in the dining room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

twinkle442 What lovely comments, thank you for taking the time to support the hotel and leave a glowing review of your experience. We do try our hardest to make sure everyone is looked after during their stay. It is always nice to make new friends while away on holiday and I am also glad to see the food and service... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at the suncliff hotel last year with my husband and parents as we were visiting my son who is studying at university in bournemouth. We found the staff to be very accommodating. The rooms although quite small and in need of decoration were clean and comfortable. The food was excellent with a great choice of freshly cooked bacon,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Sue C Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Suncliff, I am glad to see you enjoyed your time with us and will be back in the near future. As for the pool I do remember back in October we did have an issue with our pool boiler where we had to wait for a part... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for one night on a business trip on what was the hottest day of the year. No aircon, my cupboard of a room had a window that opened out onto the fire exit stair case so I couldn't leave the window open, there was an emergency light right outside my bedroom window that was on all night and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for three nights to celebrate my wedding anniversary. I booked directly with the hotel over the phone as I wanted to ensure I wasn't allocated a room on the first floor (due to poor reviews about this floor needing a refurb.) I was glad I did as the operator admitted that the first floor hadn't been renovated and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Emily D thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your stay at the Suncliff Bournemouth. I would always say to call and book direct as we give the best advice and price and on this occasion it really did save you a lot of £££ booking with the Hotel. the style at the Suncliff is a... More

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at a Westcliff B&B last July&it fell very short of the website promises. We dined at the Suncliff hotel &Josef persuaded us that they could give us a good deal, if we booked early- SO we did; our sea view room payment&booking 6 months in advance, also theatre show(as instructed by "her indoors"), I was happy to do this... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Downsmankent Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us at the Suncliff Hotel. I am very happy to see you booked with us again and were so impressed by our service. My team and I try very hard to ensure all guests are looked after and take pride in our specific roles.... More

London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked the Suncliff 5 months in advance and on arrival was unceremoniously shipped to the Cliffeside hotel next door to frankly a pretty awful room. Cue much protest from my husband and I and my two young children. The two duty managers, Andy and Rob? were outstanding. They calmed us down gave us a drink and arranged for us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Kristycody Thank you for your comments and leaving a fair review. We do operate as a resort with three hotels next door to each other, In the peak seasons and because we do accommodate large groups on occasion we do share bookings between the group as we are all of a 3 star standard and have the same policies and... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for couple of nights. We had a family room, which was spacious for the two of us. Bathroom disappointing, shower needed replacing. Fab view from our room overlooking the sea with outdoor balcony. Only down side this was not sectioned off per room, felt more like pub garden. Our room directly below the bar, very noisy and loud... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rcarley, General Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

sweetpea3008 Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your recent stay at the Suncliff. The terraces are having their dividers replaced this week, this has taken a little time due to being let down by our first supplier. When they will be put into place next week they will make a huge difference and the views are already amazing from... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Suncliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Suncliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth

298 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (238)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (60)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth #27 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
95

See which rooms travelers prefer