We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Connaught Lodge

4.0 of 5 32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Connaught Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Connaught Lodge
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    52
    17
    9
    1
See reviews for
25
88
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (162)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked an overnight stay at The Lodge when visiting the BIC. I d originally wanted the main hotel,but there was no availability,so settled for the Lodge. We were a little disappointed, but our room was more than adequate for our needs and spotlessly clean. We dined in the Brasserie early evening and found the food just ok. The staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed recently with a large group for a birthday celebration. Hotel were very welcoming and accommodating. Service was good and all the staff were very helpful. Food was very good and the spa treatments and gym and pool area were excellent and very clean. Could not recommend more highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review JJM - hope to see you all again next year. Best wishes and thank you for choosing to stay with us.. David F Miller Managing Director More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else... More

Hythe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this Hotel for a long weekend recently. I was part of a group that had hired a Conference room for our Annual Scrapbooking Creative Memories weekend. The positives: The Hotel offers a warm welcome and a quick efficient,friendly check in. The staff provide you with a Map of the town, not that you really need it, because... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review

Always a pleasure Lou and we look forward to seeing you all again next year. Many thanks for your most generous review and don't forget to book a room overlooking the garden next time. Best wishes and thank you for choosing to stay with us.. David F Miller Managing Director More and more guests are now booking direct with the... More

Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Franklin Suite at the Connaught Hotel was perfect for our Family celebration of Uncle Sam's 90th birthday. Approx 60 guests were accommodated and we managed to fill the Connaught Lodge which is situated above the function rooms and therefore you feel quite exclusive in that you are kept apart from the rest of the world i.e. the other hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your excellent review Mark and delighted everyone had such a lovely time - our congratulations once more to your uncle. Have no fear about the building Mark, we have invested hugely and the bedrooms have all now been completed and we are finishing off the common parts and in particular the entrance which should all be completed... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I like to think I give a fair review and there are many qualities of this hotel but it didn't,t quite hit the spot for me unfortunately. we have had a really nice two days for the graduation but I wouldn't,t choose to stay here again. It was convenient for us for the international centre. Good car parking. The lodge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review

Delighted you had a pleasant stay with us Spirerite but I was sorry to read that we didn't quite make it for you on this occasion. The common parts in the Lodge are currently being done and will look very modern, when done, to match the sister hotel next door. Really pleased you enjoyed all the facilities of the spa... More

Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A short break. Some good things but also some not so good. The hotel is in a somewhat downtown area but a five minute walk from the sea. Pleasant staff who were welcoming and helpful. Room was one of the better rooms and was OK. But the hotel has an old-fashioned feel about it with narrow corridors and a rather... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review RC and I'm sorry we didn't quite meet your expectations. As a 19th Century hotel we are never going to match the box rooms of the more modern hotels but the Lodge has character and it can't have escaped your attention that the entire hotel has had a makeover with the common parts currently being... More

Brighton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Connaught Lodge with my partner during October and we were both impressed with the levels of customer service, friendly staff and location. The room was huge, well appointed and very quiet, the hotel also has a great spa / health club which is free to hotel residents. The food in the bistro was ok, but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much Karen for your "Excellent" review. Delighted you managed to take advantage of the spa facilities and hopefully, next time around, you will have time to sample the delights of our award-winning restaurant, Blakes. Best wishes David F Miller Managing Director More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee... More

Horndean, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would first like to say that the staff at the Connaught are truly outstanding and the management should be very proud on how customer focused and how genuinely concerned that guests have an enjoyable stay, well done to them. Accommodation - The Lodge clearly has the AA Four Star plaque displayed outside , if the Lodge is four star... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks Reg for your very complimentary review about our staff which is very much appreciated. Reading between the lines your main gripe is about a small bathroom but the room itself is 140 sq ft, which is a standard size and both the bathroom and bedroom have just recently been refurbished to the same high standard as every room... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for one night as we were visiting our daughter in hospital who had just given birth to her first child. When checking the hotel on line the reviews and photo,s were very good but a little misleading. I can't see how it could be called an hotel as all of the amenities are situated in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review Paul and in particular for the review on the Best Western Connaught Hotel. I'm sorry you didn't like the Lodge but it is clearly marketed as a a separate building with all the facilities located next door and, as a result, is priced at a discount of approximately 15%. The rooms in the Lodge have... More

Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Wanted to book The Connaught but, sadly, it was full so we ended up next door. The Connaught Lodge really does feel second class compared to the main hotel as all facilities are in the Connaught proper which is just a short stroll away but would be a real pain on a cold winter's day in the rain. Our room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review

Apologies you didn't find the Lodge accommodation to your liking Paul. We are a town house hotel in the centre of Bournemouth so the views are of surrounding buildings not, unfortunately of the sea!! We don't have bins on that side of the hotel so not sure where the noise came from but apologies for the early morning disruption. Best... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Connaught Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught Lodge

Address: 32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connaught Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Connaught Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay