We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Connaught Lodge

4.0 of 5 32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Connaught Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Connaught Lodge
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    52
    18
    9
    1
See reviews for
26
90
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (166)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

me and my friend had a pre Xmas treat of a spa day , including a two course lunch and champagne, and a massage, we used all their facilities of pool, sauna and jacuzzi , it was all very clean and warm and the changing rooms had fantastic facilities, the lunch was fabulous and the champagne lush, very welcoming staff,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rolleston
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We needed a 2 night stay in Bournemouth near to the city, so chose this hotel more or less at random, as accommodation availability so near to Christmas was limited We arrived and realised that we were, in fact, in the annex of the next door Connaught hotel. The entrance looked fairly shabby, with storage bins, shabby ramp and litter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review Spysmum and my sincere apologies for the noise - unfortunately the whole of Bournemouth is in Christmas party mode during December.We have tried to contact you to discuss but to no avail so far. From the records I also noted that on your booking form you requested the top floor and you also booked the... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend and I had a really lovely Spa day at The Connaught, Bournemouth. The staff were all excellent, friendly, helpful and professional. We were welcomed with coffee to start our day, had a very nice lunch including a glass of champagne. Nothing was rushed and the Spa treatments were super. The staff at the Connaught really helped make our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review

We look forward to seeing you again Antony. Delighted you enjoyed your day and thank you for your lovely review. With best wishes to you and your family for Christmas David F Miller Managing Director More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere... More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner & I have recently stayed at The Connaught Lodge for the Dance Select weekend. We were a little apprehensive about staying in The Lodge as we have always stayed in the main hotel, however we shouldn't have worried. Room 215 more than exceeded our needs. The Lodge turned out to have the same high standards as the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your "Outstanding" review Jdubya, delighted the weekend dancing programme was such a success and we look forward to seeing you at Christmas Best wishes and thank you for choosing to stay with us. David F Miller Managing Director More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will... More 

Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked an overnight stay at The Lodge when visiting the BIC. I d originally wanted the main hotel,but there was no availability,so settled for the Lodge. We were a little disappointed, but our room was more than adequate for our needs and spotlessly clean. We dined in the Brasserie early evening and found the food just ok. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much Blondcase for your lovely review and yes, we are very proud of our team - they are simply the best!! Best wishes and thank you for choosing to stay with us. David F Miller Managing Director More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not... More 

St. Helier, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed recently with a large group for a birthday celebration. Hotel were very welcoming and accommodating. Service was good and all the staff were very helpful. Food was very good and the spa treatments and gym and pool area were excellent and very clean. Could not recommend more highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review JJM - hope to see you all again next year. Best wishes and thank you for choosing to stay with us.. David F Miller Managing Director More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else... More 

Hythe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I stayed in this Hotel for a long weekend recently. I was part of a group that had hired a Conference room for our Annual Scrapbooking Creative Memories weekend. The positives: The Hotel offers a warm welcome and a quick efficient,friendly check in. The staff provide you with a Map of the town, not that you really need it, because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review

Always a pleasure Lou and we look forward to seeing you all again next year. Many thanks for your most generous review and don't forget to book a room overlooking the garden next time. Best wishes and thank you for choosing to stay with us.. David F Miller Managing Director More and more guests are now booking direct with the... More 

Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

The Franklin Suite at the Connaught Hotel was perfect for our Family celebration of Uncle Sam's 90th birthday. Approx 60 guests were accommodated and we managed to fill the Connaught Lodge which is situated above the function rooms and therefore you feel quite exclusive in that you are kept apart from the rest of the world i.e. the other hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your excellent review Mark and delighted everyone had such a lovely time - our congratulations once more to your uncle. Have no fear about the building Mark, we have invested hugely and the bedrooms have all now been completed and we are finishing off the common parts and in particular the entrance which should all be completed... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

I like to think I give a fair review and there are many qualities of this hotel but it didn't,t quite hit the spot for me unfortunately. we have had a really nice two days for the graduation but I wouldn't,t choose to stay here again. It was convenient for us for the international centre. Good car parking. The lodge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review

Delighted you had a pleasant stay with us Spirerite but I was sorry to read that we didn't quite make it for you on this occasion. The common parts in the Lodge are currently being done and will look very modern, when done, to match the sister hotel next door. Really pleased you enjoyed all the facilities of the spa... More 

Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

A short break. Some good things but also some not so good. The hotel is in a somewhat downtown area but a five minute walk from the sea. Pleasant staff who were welcoming and helpful. Room was one of the better rooms and was OK. But the hotel has an old-fashioned feel about it with narrow corridors and a rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
David1007, Owner at The Connaught Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review RC and I'm sorry we didn't quite meet your expectations. As a 19th Century hotel we are never going to match the box rooms of the more modern hotels but the Lodge has character and it can't have escaped your attention that the entire hotel has had a makeover with the common parts currently being... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Connaught Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught Lodge

Address: 32 West Hill Rd | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connaught Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Connaught Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#27 Family Hotel in Bournemouth

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay