We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Bournemouth hotels

Elstead Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 14 Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QP, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Elstead Hotel to your Saves list
Elstead Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
83%
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
bobby s London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    121
    39
    11
    5
See reviews for
81
84
30
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I've stayed in quite a few hotels in the area and the Elstead is best for quality and service and yet competitive rates. The only problems we had was with the bathrooms and as soon as we mentioned it, the manager Tony, quickly sorted things out. Rooms- clean, well decorated and spacious. Food (dinner and breakfast) very good, service excellent.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
9 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A traditional English hotel which to be fair may need a bit of tender love and attention in a few places but which busy hotels don't? Our room was large and comfy with TV and tea and coffee making facilities with a lovely en suite with piping hot water. Only downside there was the restriction on the bath / shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review. Your kind comments will be passed to all concerned and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Graham Phillips More

London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's central, clean, welcoming, friendly and, even compared to so-called budget hotels, cheap. The restaurant food is good - and good value - and there's something decent to drink even at the northern reaches of the wine list. The food from the bar is perhaps less good judging by my two visits, even though it comes from the same kitchen.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tripeadvisor, Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. You have made a couple of constructive remarks which I agree with and we will look into them immediately. Thank you again and we hope to see you back again soon. Kind regards, Graham Phillips More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We held a Lone Worker course at The Elstead last week and feel that I must thank Graham and his very attentive staff for excellent service during our two days. Nothing is to much trouble for this hotel, Graham is always making sure that everything is just how it should be and his staff are just the same as he... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Goldie Thank you very much for taking the trouble to write a review. We are delighted that we were able to deliver great service. Your kind comments will be passed to our staff who will be pleased to read that their efforts are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Graham More

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My first visit to this hotel was as a family in 1963 and have stayed at The Elstead on a number of occasions since then, the latest being for a long weekend from 5/9 to 8/9/2014. Although I'm afraid to say my last visit was in 2004, I'm pleased to report that the high standards still remain. This is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nigel M Thank you for posting a great review on Tripadvisor. It is wonderful that you have been staying at the Elstead periodically over fifty years and we are delighted that we are still managing to give good service. We look forward to continuing that standard over the next fifty years! Kind regards, Graham Phillips More

Benidorm, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As I only stayed briefly one night I can only review my experience on the room. Very old indeed. The furniture was dated. The bathroom looked like it had had a revamp but the sun trap was all cracked and covered in very old seagull droppings. I was called by reception who asked me to turn my telly down at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Riweb, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay. I investigated the complaint from your TV being loud at midnight and discovered there were complaints from two other rooms who could not sleep for the music from your room. We never receive comments regarding noise penetration as our walls have good insulation so I am... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night to attend a friend's Hen Do. Our room was comfortable & clean & the hotel was in a great location & accomodated our needs. I would definately stay in this hotel again & would recommend to a friend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carly Thank you for your kind remarks here on Tripadvisor and for recommending The Elstead to friends. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Graham Phillips More

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed over the air festival weekend and found this hotel to be within easy reach of the sea front, just know the short walk routes and plentyful busses in the area making it an easy commute to other local areas. We were put in a room facing the seafront though you can't see the beach or the sea you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ross Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review on Tripadvisor and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The air show is a fantastic weekend and we recommend everyone to come along next year. If you book direct we are doing some fantastic deals and we encourage all our guests to stay an... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a family room for 3 nights. Decent size room, well furnished, very clean and airy. Good sized bathroom with shower and lots of towels supplied. Used gym, steam room & pool which were brilliant. It rained at some stage every day, so good to have these facilities. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was very good and value for money especially,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Badpagga Thank you for posting such a fantastic review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and a little concerned that the weather was poor because at The Elstead we usually manage to arrange great weather too! Never mind, we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Graham Phillips More

Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We liked the location of the hotel in a quiet neighborhood. We weren`t too keen on hanging around the pier and the party-crowds in the city center, so It suited us just fine to be in a quiet neighborhood with the beach within a short walk. The hotel has a well equipped gym, a swimming pool and bar with tables... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I note that you were provided with a twin room which is what was requested on your booking, so if you return, please request a double room if that is what you prefer and we will always oblige. The room you were given is also... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Elstead Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Elstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elstead Hotel

Address: 12 - 14 Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elstead Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Elstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elstead Hotel Bournemouth

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bournemouth with
any amenities