We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Bournemouth hotels

Elstead Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 14 Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QP, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Elstead Hotel to your Saves list
Elstead Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
83%
Ranked #14 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
MTripUK Middlesex, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (278)
  • Photos (31)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (62)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    112
    35
    11
    5
See reviews for
72
80
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First time on "Trip Advisor" but felt had to mention this hotel!! Just got back from a remarkable weekend away staying at The Elstead Hotel, Bournemouth. Where do I start..... arrived with great service from reception Manager, told us all about facilities at the hotel, greeted at the same time by Assistant Manager, who made as feel at home straight... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MtripUK Thank you for taking the trouble of writing a detailed and complimentary review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and in particular that you found our Team to be helpful and friendly. You have singled out some staff in particular and I will ensure they are all aware of your kind remarks.I have also noted your... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Over all it was a nice stay but this hotel really needs some modernisation if wants to be a really 3 star hotel. Very nice staff really saves the place . Very close to the station and asda store but quite far from the beach and town centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roselyni22 Thank you for your review and I appreciate your constructive remarks. I am pleased to report that we are slowly making improvements to our decor in a staged programme of refurbishment so as not to cause disruption to the hotel guests and hope you will return to see the finished product. Thank you for your kind comments regarding... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is very clean and the rooms are well equipped and hair dryer, and the usual tea/coffee/biscuits. The decor is coming back into fashion with a very vintage style tile situation in the bathroom which I did really like! Although the mixer tap shower failed to work properly. The staff are friendly and polite. Breakfast includes the standard English... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Family R Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologise for the lack of Wifi. Good free internet access is very important for our guests so last week we were making some alterations to our Wifi system to strengthen and to make it more accessible. On that day we had to turn... More

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ive just returned from the Elstead today July 19th, I found the hotel, staff, room and food very pleasant. My room was 109 on the first floor and whilst the room was spot on the first couple of days there was a very heavy footed guest above, so I could hear the floor squeaking above me at bedtime but only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Conrad, Thank you for your great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate you taking the time to mention staff names, each of whom will be acknowledged. I note that you showed interest in our staff team entry for the rowathon in support of Dorset Blind Association so you will be plaesed to hear... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small Hotel that belies it's smallness...a veritable Tardis. Spotlessly clean everywhere with spacious Lounges and Dining Rooms. Fine dining in the evening and perfect Buffet Breakfasts. My room 301 was perfect for a single guest...no room, in the room, wasted....great en-suite...and again spotlessly clean. Close to all Transport systems and five minutes from Cliff views. Bournemouth is as charming as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anthony Thank you for your great review. Feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that your stay was an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Graham Phillips More

Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here from Friday 4th - Monday 7th July 2014 for a weekend away with my partner and parents. Overall hotel was nice. Room was very clean albeit a tad small. My parents paid for a bigger room to suit them. Hotel staff very friendly. Pool and gym facilities very good. Buffet breakfast was great, so much on offer. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louca Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear about the disruption during the World Cup football match and thank you for your understanding. I hope to see you again soon. Regards, Graham Phillips More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose this hotel after reading the good reviews on Tripadvisor, & we weren't disappointed. It's in a quiet location about halfway between Bournemouth & Boscombe. We booked a twin room & were pleasantly surprised to find that the decent sized room had a double & single bed. The staff were very friendly, food was very good (decent portions, no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen Thank you for your kind review. It is always pleasing when our guests take the trouble to let us know about their experiences. You will be pleased to know that we are embarking on a refurbishment programme of the Ground Floor soon to include new carpets so please come back to see the changes. Kind regards, Graham Phillips More

Cirencester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel. The location is a bit out of the action but is in a very nice location in a tree lined street. It took us about twenty minutes to get to the town but that was at a leisurely pace.( the benefit of this is that we had no problem whatsoever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RosG Thank you for your wonderful review. As you rightly say, we do not allow Stags and Hens to stay here and that helps to avoid the problem of noise at night. I do remember your daughter's Birthday party and I am glad we were able to lok after you on this important occasion. Don't forget to bring your... More

Didcot, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

we have stayed her 5 times and have never had any problems the Staff go out of there way to help nothing is to much trouble for them the rooms and beds are very comfortable and clean the food is very good and excellent staff cant fault anything as is the leisure centre would recommend it and will be going... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roger Thank you for taking to trouble to write a review. It's great that this is your fifth stay with us and we very much hope to be welcoming you back for your sixth trip. Kind regards, Graham Phillips More

Chatham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just returned from a 4 night break here. It is the second time we have stayed at Elstead and would recommend it. Rooms are clean if a bit on the small size. Staff helpful and cheerful. Only problem we had was first night at dinner we waited about 30 minutes for main course after finishing the starter. Think we got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Elstead Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Elstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elstead Hotel

Address: 12 - 14 Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elstead Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Elstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elstead Hotel Bournemouth

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#10 Business Hotel in Bournemouth #20 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth #21 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
50

See which rooms travelers prefer