We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Norfolk Royale Hotel

Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England
Hotel amenities
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
steve t Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Review This Hotel

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    245
    134
    61
    39
See reviews for
146
289
16
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (739)
  • Mar-May only
    (168)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (216)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (169)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (186)
All months
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location for everything! From walking in to checking out the staff are so pleasant and helpful. The rooms are top class and booking on Internet only cost £55! Possibly the nicest hotel for the money I've stayed in, and I stay in hotels almost every week!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited last year and decided to return for a two night break as it is just such good value. Comfortable four star within easy walking distance of the beach and with a swimming pool which seems to be hardly used! Good breakfast and very enjoyable dinner. Staff were friendly and helpful. Afternoon tea with or without champagne seems to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Came here with a friend for champagne afternoon tea on a weekday. Very friendly and welcoming staff. We were seated in a very bright restaurant area, which was lovely, except for the fact that it was unbearably hot! Very nice sandwiches and cakes very good, the highlight was the scones: they were delicious- soft, warm and fresh, with clotted cream... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Returned to this hotel after a good weekend last year and we were not disappointed. Visited with 3 other couples on the Gold Voucher and everyone said what great value. Good food, great location, friendly staff ( particularly Jose' and Annabelle in restaurant) comfortable and clean rooms what more could you ask for? Hope to return next year to celebrate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is the second time my husband and I have spent a weekend at the Norfolk Hotel and whilst our room wasn't quite as spacious as last time, it was a very comfortable stay. The room had everything we required, was clean and bathroom well equipped with lovely Molton Brown shampoos etc. Nice black-out curtains, so no worries about street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's 11pm iam currently trying to sleep in my non queen size lumpy bed, this I could get past but the noise coming from outside my room is hideous!! Either a noisy fan or heating system it is unbearable!! Have tried ringing reception but there is no answer!! 4 star hotel this is not!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Seamans1 I am so very sorry that you had a disturb night with us at the Norfolk, I am currently having my maintenance team look into this problem and rectify. It is not our intention to have anyone disturbed whilst sleeping as we want to make things as comfortable as possible for all our guests. If you wish to... More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have visited all bar one of the Peel Group hotels..some more than once....the Norfolk meant a long rail trip.... upgraded to a "deluxe" room - cost £100. extra..........however on arrival at 3.30..the room was not ready...please wait 30/35 mins... duly waited room was made up wrongly....wait until 4.45 for the room.....not a good start...the upgrade was ASTONISHINGLY POOR ...yes a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Denise K I am so very sorry to hear you were unhappy with your recent stay with us. We do aim to make all our guests happy and comfortable whilst staying with us and I can see we have failed on this occasion. We have many deluxe rooms, with room 224 being one of the most popular, I will... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here a number of times most recently with a group of friends while visiting bournemouth for a night out. The hotel is in a great location and is quite striking from the front. Personally I think the lobby could do with a overhaul as its beginning to look dated and the floors creak. Rooms are clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike S Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We have a continuing refurbishment programme at the hotel as you can appreciate this is a lengthy process, however we have been looking into the lobby of the hotel and what can be done, we hope this will take place shortly.... More 

Winchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Iwas deghted when I discovered that the Gold Letter scheme applied to Wheel-chair accessible rooms True we had to pay a premium for a larger room and disabled bathroom. The Bathroom was disappointing in the extreme if not to say lethal, the wheel-chair could not fit through the door, the 'disabled shower was in the Bath itself. and the Red... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lelius I am very sorry that you found the hotel not to be suitable for wheelchair users, we have 4 accessible rooms at the hotel, 2 of which have wet rooms, all of these rooms have larger doorways to the rooms and bathrooms than other rooms at the hotel. All parking at the hotel is chargeable for all guests,... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great value for afternoon tea. Served with a chilled glass of bubbly, delicious sandwiches and tasty cakes. Sitting in the lounge area is preferable to the restaurant area.Friendly staff too. A lovely hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear micsha0623 Thank you for you recent review of our afternoon tea, it was lovely to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found the staff friendly. The staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to our guests. We hope to see you at The Norfolk again soon. Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

356 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (257)
Viewed
Double Deluxe (31)
Viewed
Executive Double (38)
Viewed
Honeymoon Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (33)
Viewed
Standard Double (30)
Viewed
Standard Suite (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question