We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Bournemouth hotels

Norfolk Royale Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Norfolk Royale Hotel to your Saves list
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
Ranked #33 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
demartino Clermont, Florida
  • Overview
  • Reviews (578)
  • Photos (92)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (139)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    188
    114
    49
    33
See reviews for
111
227
15
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

After an exhausting long haul trip from Florida, we were given a great welcome from John the manager and Charlie on reception true assets to this hotel !! they did everything yo make a guest very welcome and enjoy experience "top notch style" in thus hotel, although an older style property, it is spotless with a great charm the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My Now wife and I got married in the hotel. The day was absolutely perfect. The room was incredible and the staff were amazing! ! Everything from the initial wedding planning to our stay afterwards was taken care of with ease by all the staff. The planning was made to feel so simple and Nikki made sure we had everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 3 nights for.a.conference 8-10 July '14. No hot water to guest bedrooms for 2 days following basement flooding (bad storm) had knocked gas supply off. Only informed of problems via letter on final night. We were advised to use a kettle or get a taxi to their sister hotel 5 mins away- at their cost of course. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Briscoe Due to a sudden downpour in Bournemouth on the 8th July which flooded many areas in the town and the basement area of the hotel, which in turn cut off our gas supply affecting our hot water supply, this was not an issue until the tanks emptied on the 9th July, all guests were informed by letter... More

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Two days of discomfort in this appalling hotel! Despite advertising itself as a 4 Star hotel this appallingly maintained pile was utterly disappointing. COLD SHOWERS - we stayed 2 nights and the "boiler had failed" so there was no hot water. No wifi in rooms - despite the advertised claims there was no wifi in our rooms Broken lift -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear A P Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort you experiences during your recent stay with us, due to a sudden downpour in Bournemouth on the 8th July which flooded many areas in the town and the basement area of the hotel, which in turn cut off our gas supply affecting our hot water supply, this was not... More

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not a comfortable stay. The rooms are dated but the key problem is noise from traffic, room doors that have no closing mechanism on them so they slam, creaky floorboards and noisy staff. There is no air con so the rooms are stifling in the heat and the bed was rock hard. On the last morning there was no hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Avid traveller 57 I am very sorry you had an uncomfortable stay with us recently, there is an ongoing refurbishment programme in the hotel, as you can appreciate this can take a length time. I have spoken with maintenance team who will be checking all door closers to ensure they are in full working order. Unfortunately we do not... More

Hampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first bedroom was very noisy.It was above the kitchen with a noisy extractor fan which ran all night.The following morning, on request, we moved to a much better room. Overall food was good in restaurant & bar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geoffrey D Thank you for your recent review, I am sorry that you were disturbed on your first night by an extraction fan, I have requested my maintenance team look into this issue, I am glad we were able to change your room to rectify this for you whilst you were staying. It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to this hotel after finding a good deal on their website 2 nights bbd for 2 £296 and we like Bournemouth and the weather was lovely the room was a good size and very clean just a bit bland in colour but that is just my taste, both nights the dinner was faultless we choose from the set... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sunshinesue66 Many thanks for your review. I'm pleased to read that you had a great two night stay with us and found the staff efficient, the food faultless, and the gardens relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott More

Stoke on Trent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our third and last visit to the Norfolk Royale Hotel. See my previous review from July 2011. Most of what I reported then is still the same. We did have a much better room this time, which was comfortable and overlooked the swimming pool. There was a constant drone from what I presume is the air condition unit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
romney arsh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes, the first room was not nice so we were cheerfully moved by Darren. The food was good and the atmosphere friendly. I was disappointed by the rowdiness of some guests and not happy with the bags of rubbish left outside in the corridor consisting of takeaway food packaging. There were also bags of dirty nappies. Not good but not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hythe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let me say first of all that our experience of staying at the Royal Norfolk was enjoyable. The atmosphere was relaxed and the staff, with some occasional exceptions, were exceeding helpful and cheerful. We do have some small niggles which, I hope, will be taken 'on board' without rancour. 1, Shortly before we set off for Bournemouth, we were given... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Norfolk Royale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Norfolk Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Royale Hotel

Address: Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolk Royale Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Norfolk Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Norfolk Royale

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth #8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth #25 Family Hotel in Bournemouth #26 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bournemouth's premier AA four-star hotel, The Norfolk is Ideally positioned within a short stroll of the resort's major attractions - including its award winning gardens and golden sand Blue Flag beaches.Originally converted from two imposing Edwardian villas, The Norfolk Hotel today boasts 95 spacious and thoughtfully-equipped en suite guestrooms. The Norfolk Hotel's lounge and bar provide the ideal setting to relax and enjoy morning coffee, a new and innovative range of afternoon teas, or evening cocktails.Recently-introduced Friday Fizz events invite guests and non-residents alike to celebrate the start of the weekend with sparkling wines and Champagnes at half price between 4pm and 8pm.The lounge opens on to The Norfolk Hotel's impressive Art Deco verandah which, along with the hotel's secluded gardens alow visitors to eat, drink and be merry al fresco The gardens are also the Venue for The Norfolk Hotel's summer barbecue season which runs from May through September. From noon to 9pm, guests can lunch or dine in the summer sun or when the weather refuses to co-operate move into Echoes, the hotel's fine-sining restaurant. Guest facilites also include a glass-roofed heated indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna, while the Orchid Rooms Beauty Salon offers a wide range of beauty, holistic and clinical therapy treatments in a quiet and relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
95

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer