We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Bournemouth hotels

The Cliffeside

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Cliffeside to your Saves list
The Cliffeside
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
66%
Ranked #37 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
berrybaker Surrey
  • Overview
  • Reviews (478)
  • Photos (112)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (128)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    168
    82
    50
    43
See reviews for
88
198
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is quite a small, elderly hotel. It is deficient in only one respect and that is that it has only one, small, somewhat erratic lift. Though having said that, the hotel was full when we were there this month and we never had to wait more than a couple of minutes. It did sometimes take us up rather than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Herts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights having booked through Avios. Were not given a sea view room even though several were available. The hotel is beautifully situated on the sea front but we had a lovely view of the car park and bins. First thing we noticed was that the whole hotel was stiflingly hot, the room was like a sauna and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barton under Needwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I read a few reviews about this hotel before we went, tired, dated, in need of a refurb, these were all comments made and I cannot argue with any of them. It is far from a dump but needs modernising. The outdoor pool is dirty and green giving a very poor first impression. The breakfast was fine and plenty of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tcornish, Manager at The Cliffeside, responded to this review

Richard B Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on your experience with us. I am very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your time with us, concerning noise complaints there is very little we can do to prevent this however our night porters will always intervene so I was surprised to see that the porter was so... More

Cambridge
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at the hotel on 9th august. I asked for a double room and was given two twins joint together. Hardly good for a couple especially when theres a gap in the middle. Worst of all the beds had springs which could be felt. My wife ended up with severe bruising the next day on her arm. When reported... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tcornish, Manager at The Cliffeside, responded to this review

Shazyb86 Thank you for your review, Some of our rooms hold zip and link beds. these are becoming more popular within the hotel trade as it gives us the flexibility to sell the room as a twin or double. I have never heard of a guest being bruised by a mattress. The management agreed the mattress was soft but we... More

London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night in August . Room with a sea view was a bit small, but had good views out to sea. Bed was very comfortable, at breakfast there is a vast choice, from a fried breakfast to cereals. Yogurts, juices and ham and cheese. The staff were very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tcornish, Manager at The Cliffeside, responded to this review

Steve R what a short but sweet review thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, I feel sometimes people rarely mention the good but focus on the bad where as your review is balanced and i am glad you enjoyed many aspects of your time with us. Thank you... once again More

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this property for business. I was booked into a single room which had just a single bed and barely enough room to turn around. I was exhausted from an overseas trip and didn't care about the quality of the bed which was typically european hard. The restaurant was lovely and getting to chance to walk alongside the sea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room we were allocated was more exhausted than "tired", disgusting bathroom, shabby bedding, dirty marks on the walls! We asked to be moved and were shown 3 other rooms of equally disgusting standard. Eventually the staff offered to move us to their sister hotel The Suncliffe situated next door and we began the whole process again, finally the third... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed for one night on our trip around the south coast but my husband and I were most impressed by this hotel. We enjoyed the sea view, the room was clean and comfy. Being right by the beach was great and for walking into Bournemouth itself. Wi-fi is a must for my husband and he had consistent access... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
guildford, surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived on 26th July for two nights. First impression, hotel tired. Room overlooking the sea but with a seating area under the window. Was kept awake all night by rowdy 40 year olds. Screaming women and lots of swearing. As the hotel it only manned by one person during the night it was no good complaining during the night. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for only one night sadly. Although the decor is a little dated, the room was spotlessly clean. The beds were very comfortable. The views were fantastic. The staff couldn't have been better and the breakfast was fab with all the bits you'd expect. I really enjoyed my stay here and would love to go again, that's not I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Cliffeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Cliffeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffeside

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliffeside 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, WHM Global Ltd., getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Cliffeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffeside Hotel Bournemouth
Cliffside Hotel Bournemouth

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
2:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bournemouth with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#7 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fantastic Bar and Terrace overlooking Bournemouth's beautiful coastline. Superb Swimming Pool with sun loungers and modern outdoor seating. Brilliant new bar menu launched, serving a great selection of Fresh Salads, Light Meals and HOMEMADE BURGERS. An excellent location for a comfortable stress free break in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
64

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Cliffeside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer