We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Bournemouth hotels

The Cliffeside

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Cliffeside to your Saves list
The Cliffeside
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
66%
Ranked #37 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
BillyWhizz0 Lancaster, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (481)
  • Photos (122)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (130)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    170
    82
    50
    43
See reviews for
89
199
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at the hotel for the Air show and the Steam Fair. on a coach tour My wife and I stayed on the first floor towards the back of the hotel,the room was a little tired but had been recently painted.The meals were very good,the staff were very hard working on the whole a good three day visit. My bro... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

You may well have read my previous reviews of this Hotel and this follows the same trend, as we yet again chose to stay at the Cliffeside for our annual visit to Bournemouth - this time our party was in excess of 60 people. I have read a number of other reviews with comments such as tired and dated recurring.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a very acceptable 3* hotel. The staff are extremely friendly, polite and helpful. We had an ocean view room for 4 and it was a pleasant surprise to find the boys' room was interconnecting. The room was big and can only be criticised for the tired bedside tables/dressing table and drawers. Hotel - please take note, these... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is quite a small, elderly hotel. It is deficient in only one respect and that is that it has only one, small, somewhat erratic lift. Though having said that, the hotel was full when we were there this month and we never had to wait more than a couple of minutes. It did sometimes take us up rather than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Herts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights having booked through Avios. Were not given a sea view room even though several were available. The hotel is beautifully situated on the sea front but we had a lovely view of the car park and bins. First thing we noticed was that the whole hotel was stiflingly hot, the room was like a sauna and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barton under Needwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I read a few reviews about this hotel before we went, tired, dated, in need of a refurb, these were all comments made and I cannot argue with any of them. It is far from a dump but needs modernising. The outdoor pool is dirty and green giving a very poor first impression. The breakfast was fine and plenty of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tcornish, Manager at The Cliffeside, responded to this review

Richard B Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on your experience with us. I am very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your time with us, concerning noise complaints there is very little we can do to prevent this however our night porters will always intervene so I was surprised to see that the porter was so... More

Cambridge
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the hotel on 9th august. I asked for a double room and was given two twins joint together. Hardly good for a couple especially when theres a gap in the middle. Worst of all the beds had springs which could be felt. My wife ended up with severe bruising the next day on her arm. When reported... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tcornish, Manager at The Cliffeside, responded to this review

Shazyb86 Thank you for your review, Some of our rooms hold zip and link beds. these are becoming more popular within the hotel trade as it gives us the flexibility to sell the room as a twin or double. I have never heard of a guest being bruised by a mattress. The management agreed the mattress was soft but we... More

London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night in August . Room with a sea view was a bit small, but had good views out to sea. Bed was very comfortable, at breakfast there is a vast choice, from a fried breakfast to cereals. Yogurts, juices and ham and cheese. The staff were very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tcornish, Manager at The Cliffeside, responded to this review

Steve R what a short but sweet review thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, I feel sometimes people rarely mention the good but focus on the bad where as your review is balanced and i am glad you enjoyed many aspects of your time with us. Thank you... once again More

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this property for business. I was booked into a single room which had just a single bed and barely enough room to turn around. I was exhausted from an overseas trip and didn't care about the quality of the bed which was typically european hard. The restaurant was lovely and getting to chance to walk alongside the sea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room we were allocated was more exhausted than "tired", disgusting bathroom, shabby bedding, dirty marks on the walls! We asked to be moved and were shown 3 other rooms of equally disgusting standard. Eventually the staff offered to move us to their sister hotel The Suncliffe situated next door and we began the whole process again, finally the third... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Cliffeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Cliffeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffeside

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliffeside 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, WHM Global Ltd., TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Cliffeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffeside Hotel Bournemouth
Cliffside Hotel Bournemouth

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
2:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bournemouth with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#7 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fantastic Bar and Terrace overlooking Bournemouth's beautiful coastline. Superb Swimming Pool with sun loungers and modern outdoor seating. Brilliant new bar menu launched, serving a great selection of Fresh Salads, Light Meals and HOMEMADE BURGERS. An excellent location for a comfortable stress free break in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
64

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Cliffeside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer