We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hinton Firs Hotel

9 Manor Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3ET, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hinton Firs Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ashbourne,
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Mini Cooper Register has there annual dinner here every year infact next year is there 35th consecutive time visiting which speaks for its self all the Hotel is taken by members for 2 or 3 nights. the staff couldn't be more helpful the food served on piping hot plates very good. i did here that some of the rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank CaroleAshbourne_
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Low shower pressure on top floor - it's really hard to get wet! Bed was comfortable, rooms were warm. Food was below average with a significant wait for breakfast (even to just get served) despite only few people in the breakfast room. Hotel staff friendly and allow use of the lobby area even after checkout etc. Summary: good value during... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim K
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

For its star rating it is from the room point of view basic, very old crittal windows which let in an awful lot of draught and given the radiator was immediately below all heat was going out in the draught!! The bed was very hard and lumpy although I did sleep I woke feeling very stiff. Breakfast.... had been prepared... More 

Helpful?
Thank c_cook182
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are in the middle of refurbishing our rooms, and unfortunately there is still a few that we have not yet done. I would love the opportunity to show you the direction in which we are taking the hotel, if you contact me if you are coming to... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon returning to the Hinton Firs following two previous visits for the special offer, it was shocking to find after entering Room No 22; the carpet was threadbare in lots of places. The door of the wardrobe was hanging off; the bedsde lamps are so dim it is impossible to read a book. The heating was coming on too late... More 

Helpful?
Thank Henkyboo
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Silver thank you for taking the time to post your amended comments on trip advisor. You got my letter of reply to your own, guess you were not happy with my reply... sorry but I don't respond well to your demands for free holidays. Anybody can see we have made great moves forward in refurbishing rooms and public... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was a bargain price of £38 on booking.com. Mmmmmm......... Did I overpay ? No that's harsh. They are obviously trying to update the hotel. Everything is a bit shabby. Room 31. Big bed needs new mattress. Nice tv. Dust and shabby curtains. Tea and coffee facilities Room old and dated. Bathroom extremely dated ! Very cold as well as switch... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zena510
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. You are clearly led by price and I would say that we are very good value for the amount you paid. But your taste for the brand new Hilton Hotel that has recently been built in Bournemouth at the cost of tens of millions of pounds is not quite in the same price, style or same... More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited here with a group of friends.. The hotel itself is quite nice and in a great location and we received great service at the bar. The rooms are clean and fairly large - bigger than I expected actually. In the evening some of the group I was with were a little bit loud and the lady on duty had... More 

Helpful?
Thank LittleMissLate20
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. But I am very sorry to hear of your incident, I will of course be looking into these allegations, as this doesn't sound like the professional way we train our staff to deal... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

Hinton Firs is ideally situated very close to seafront and about a 20 min walk into town centre. Nick and Sue offer excellent customer service and make you feel very welcome Good facilities include an indoor pool and sauna making this hotel a comfortable stay and great value. Will def return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laura, thanks for the kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back. Sue sends her love. Hope you have a great Christmas and New Year. Take Care. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015 via mobile

Positives:- staff friendly, polite and helpful. Quiet, clean and roomy. Breakfast, sauna and spa. Parking spaces Negatives:- shower, rooms a little dated. Partner and myself had a 1 night stay here which fitted our requirement. Weren't happy with 1st room offered, which was 2 singles made into a double. The one bed looked like a big step, we voiced our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tbutty
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your valued comments on our hotel. I am sorry that the room you were allocated was not as you wished. We are in the middle of refurbishing our bedrooms, unfortunately it will be while before we do get them all done. But we are getting there, I will make sure this one is moved up... More 

Brill
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015 via mobile

Me and my partner had a lovely stay at the Hinton Firs hotel. Rooms were tidy and adequate. Bathroom could do with upgrading but nice and clean. Swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi lovely. Would visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Emily G
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emily, thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. So glad you enjoyed it, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We are doing ongoing refurbishments, and I will add that bathroom to the list. Once again many thanks, wishing you a Happy Christmas. More 

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

First time staying in Bournemouth, not the greatest weather!! But still had a great time. My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night, we had a fantastic welcome! We were recommended places to eat and had a great time at the aquarium. The room was lovely, clean and spacious. The staff were more than happy to help out and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz M
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Liz, Thanks for your review, So glad you both enjoyed your stay, we are lucky that Bournemouth is a good place to come even if the weather is not the best. Really hope to see you again in the future. Have a great Christmas and New Year. Once again thanks for taking the time to pass your kind comments... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#10 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Ocean View Hotel
The Ocean View Hotel
#52 of 76 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#35 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay