We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Certificate of Excellence
16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Best Western to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Panoramas (9)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bath
Level Contributor
233 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Modern reception, lounge and bar in this well located hotel conveniently sited to get to the sea front and town centre. A tree lined location in a quiet area of Bournemouth, the hotel offers car parking at £2 per night. The restaurant is pleasant and offers a good choice of well presented cuisine at realistic prices including the wine list.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keithbath D
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Located a few minutes walk from the beach and pier in a quiet road with off street parking (£2 supplement) this established hotel offers good value for money. Check in and check out were simple and quick and the room was ready well ahead of check in time. Room 105 was small but clean and equipped with all the basics.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TMWe
Pat G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear TMWe, thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review and you positive comments are much appreciated by all. I am delighted to read that you plan to come and stay with us again and I suggest you check out our special Winter rates as we have some fantastic deals currently. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed 1 night B&B for around £40 which was a bargain, nice classic hotel in a quiet area, large room, clean & tidy, relaxed staff that were happy to help. Would stay again for sure. Lots of choice for breakfast also. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Alex-IOW
Pat G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Alex, Thank you for your very positive review and I am pleased that you will recommend us in the future. We hope to see you again soon Patricia Green More 

Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Recently back from couple of nights at the Best Western Hotel Royale, down in UK for business, as usual BW did not let me down. The high quality and friendliness of the staff combined with their professionalism make this hotel stand head and shoulders above the rest. The quality of the cuisine is excellent. I enjoyed my meals in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catelloo
Pat G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Catello, thank you for your great 5 star review, your kind comments are really appreciated and will be passed on to the staff. I am really pleased that you had such a memorable experience with us and hopefully we will see you on your next business trip to UK Patricia Green More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ideally situated for beach and pier in Bournemouth as only 10 minute walk away. Our room was excellent and the good sized swimming pool was perfect for my morning swim. Breakfast had everything your heart could desire and well cooked. I had dinner every night in the hotel and it was superb, plenty of choices yummy I will say, comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Francesco C
Pat G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Francesco, thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. It is always rewarding to read such lovely comments and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I hope we will have the pleasure of a return visit in the near future, Patricia Green More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Can't really complain too much for the price paid, but the 'double' room we had was hardly big enough to swing a cat (not that we tried); and the bed was certainly a very small double at best. However it was clean and tidy - and for one night didn't matter! Staff were friendly enough; but didn't seem that 'on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert D
Pat G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Robert, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and you comments are noted and will be acted upon. I apologise that you were not served coffee late at night and will certainly investigate as this is not, and never will be our usual standard, Patricia Green More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had an amazing overnight stay here last weekend. The hotel was very clean and modern and the room was a nice size with large bathroom. Our deal included 3 course evening meal and breakfast. All the food was delicious and well presented with lots of choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed here in order to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
Pat G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Jackie C, thank you for taking the time to write your lovely positive review of our hotel and I am pleased you found the hotel to be great value for money. We are ideally positioned for anyone visiting the university and halls and we really appreciate your intention to recommend us in the future. I hope you will stay... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great stay in this very nice hotel! The room was good and well supplied with tea/coffee/milk & biscuits. In the bathroom there was complimentary toiletries. We ate in the Aqua Brasserie in the hotel for our evening meal and breakfast which were included. The evening menu was fantastic, I think they just started the new menu, fabulous choices the... More 

Helpful?
Thank giuseppe c
Pat G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Giuseppe, thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. I am delighted that you had such a great experience with us and especially your great comments about the new menu we recently launched. It's good to have such positive feedback. I hope we will see you again sometime Patricia Green More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

380 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (118)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (203)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (8)
Viewed
Standard Double Chalet (28)
Viewed
Standard Family Bunk Room (29)
Viewed
St Moritz Suite (44)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (29)
Viewed
Superior Family Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (12)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#10 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,615 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#35 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay